Back to Product

Patagonia R3® Yulex® Split Toe Surf Booties

Write Your Review

3.48 /5

Filter Reviews

All 25 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia R3® Yulex® Split Toe Surf Booties

3.48
Kinda Small
December 22, 2020

Warm but runs small

I ordered the 6 (Im a 7.5). Exchanged for a 7 and it was a much better fit. Feet are happy and warm in the water! Easy to walk in to the beach. Tab in the back heel area helps pull on quickly.

July 10, 2020

Cant fit!

Looks like the build quality is great, but since the sizing is inaccurate it doesnt really matter. They run way too small for their posted size.

June 19, 2020

Solid booties

These were comfortable and plenty warm enough for the Oregon coast in May. The Velcro strap is too long for sure as other reviewers have mentioned, but still functions properly. I would have been super bummed if I had listened to other reviewers saying to size up two sizes. I wear a 9 in mens shoes and I ordered a 9 in these booties and they fit pe... Read Morerfectly. Definitely snug, but thats how theyre supposed to fit. Really solid overall, the strap is the only bummer.

December 7, 2019

What isn't the best at Patagonia?

My little piggies and fingers will be nice and toasty this winter.

December 4, 2019

Should have paid attention to the other reviews.

These must be sized incorrectly. They must be returned and unfortunately the next size up would be way too large

December 4, 2019

If my feet get cold I'm done!

I'm happy to say that is not going to be an issue with these boots. Just like R3 full suit I bought last spring these boots fit great are super warm and flexible! Patagonia has just been improving there surf products in the last few years and these booties are proof. I have been surfing in north central California for thirty five years and a w... Read Morearm suit and booties is a must. I am also happy to support a company that is trying to re think and improve their products and care about our ocean and planet! Only one thing, I wear a size 9.5 shoe and I had to get a size 12 bootie. No worries though, as always Patagonia got me what I needed.

December 3, 2019

I would size up 1 size

Everybody says size up 2 sizes, but I am an 11.3, got a 13, and find them too big. You want a snug bootie for surfing. Going to return them for a 12.

December 3, 2019

R3® Yulex® Split Toe Booties

I appreciate the earlier reviews on here that recommend going 2 sizes up. I did that and the booties fit perfect.! I’m not a booties kind of guy but these are going to keep me from breaking toes @ San O. To just keeping my feet warm in the winter water.. Looks like longer sessions for me.

November 21, 2019

Bummed

The booties were too small. I ordered my usual size 9 and they fit like a size 7. Super tight. No chance to make them work. Not sure what happened with the sizing. I read the reviews and this is a common theme.

November 20, 2019

R3 Yulex Booties

These ran way too small ~ I am generally a women's size 9, these were mens (uni-sex) size 8. I gave them to my neighbor who wears a size 6.5 or 7 womens and they actually fit her??? Other than the size, the quality looked great.

November 12, 2019

Way too small and bad strap design

But it’s great for the environment I wear a 10.5 men’s shoe and originally ordered a 10 but it was child sized, I now ordered a 12 and they fit snugly but well. Very poorly sized nowhere close to reality. Size up 1.5-2 sizes. Also the strap hangs well over the Velcro pad and I’m worried it will get caught and pull off when I’m actually surfing.... Read More Not a great showing on this one.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

Hi Daniel, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback! Hearing from our customers is crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the booties. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 25, 2019

Runs waaaay tooo small

Nice spring booties but way too small (about 2 sizes). My husband is a size 12 foot but 13 was too small and no size 14 available. Too bad!

September 17, 2019

Armor for my feet

I am a US W Size 8.5. I ordered both a size 8 and a size 9, kept the 9. The booties feel cozy and protective. I haven't needed to use them yet, but look forward to their insulating power this winter.

September 6, 2019

Like ‘em!

Have not used in surf yet, but seems like quality product. I believe I wear an 10.5 in mens shoes, so went up to 11. Snug fit which i understand is recommended.

September 6, 2019

R3 Split Toe

Booties seem nice but run two sizes too small. Since booties are supposed to fit fairly snug and reviews indicated these run small, I ordered a 10 when I normally wear a 9 and had to return and request an 11.

August 31, 2019

booties

Ordered size 11 booties. I ordinarily wear a size 10 shoe.. the booties that came in the mail were marked a size 11, but would probably fit a size 9 or smaller.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2019

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the size didn't work out for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this process.

August 29, 2019

Split toe booties

I had a chance to try these last weekend. The toe pocket on both booties is small and pinched my big toe. I also found that when taking off the booties and rinsing them out water was coming out from a rubber joint on the top of the toe on both booties. Not a rubber to Yulex joint but rubber to rubber seam which I would think would be glued tight. I... Read More may return these and go for round toe. I've had split toe booties from O'neal and RIP curl without pinching problems. I want to support the Yulex as a material but am a bit disappointed in the fit. I'm usually an 8 and sized up to a 9 thinking the toe issue would be resolved.

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2019

We're very sorry you've had issues with the booties. Our surf team will reach out to you via email regarding this. Thank you for your feedback!

August 21, 2019

Great but runs small

Great for wearing during kiteboarding and getting to and from the water. I usually wear a size 9, ordered a 10 which was too small so exchanged for 11 which was perfect.

March 14, 2019

Size up

I'm a size 9.5 mens and ordered a 10. It was uncomfortably small so I exchanged it for an 11 which seems to fit great.

February 20, 2019

Fit issues with closure

Contrary to other reviews, I think if you don't want them to take on water they should be true to size, if a bit snug. I wear size 11 street shoes. I sized up one size, from 11 to 12, and they seem to take on more water than I'd like. The closure strap is NOT sized correctly(too long). I had to fold and sew out some length in the strap s... Read Moreo that it would still fall in the zone with hook and loop. Otherwise great booties, good grip on a board or anything else, warm, comfortable, but sensitive enough and with good mobility. The fleece feels good.

January 9, 2019

great bootie once I sized up

I'm a size 11.5 or 12 shoe. I even have some old Patagonia sneakers in size 12 (called FiveTennies or something like that) that I'll be very sad when they finally die...but back to the surf booties - I ordered size 12 and they were unquestionably too small. Sized up to 13s and they are snug - which is just right in a surf bootie. I have l... Read Moreow instep and narrow foot with skinny ankles, and despite that didn't have any trouble with extra water in the bootie. Comfortable and durable after a year+ of weekly surf sessions; they are holding up great. Have been warm year round in our chilly PNW waters. Very happy with these in the appropriate size.

October 6, 2018

Good - but some flaws

I’m a women’s 81/2 and the size 8 fits me perfectly. 2 problems - the hook and loop strap needs to have more “hook” surface so that those of us with narrower feet can tighten the boot to the correct tightness (had to pay my local wetsuit repair person to see on more hook material...) second- these booties tend to take on a little more water as ther... Read Moree is no hook and loop closure around the top of the booty - even if I tuck them under my wetsuit I tend to get more water in than with my old non-Patagonia booties - all that said - these are warm, comfortable and easy to get off and on...love the grid fleece!

May 7, 2018

These feel really nice!

They feel and look well-made. And I while I was waiting for them to come in,I was praying they would fit. When they finally arrived,I rushed to the front door,thanked my mailman,and went back inside. I then ripped open the package and pulled out the lovely box. (Disclaimer: I did recycle the packaging) I was moments from getting to play in the swee... Read Moret sweet ocean outside my house despite our cold alaskan coastal waters. And just as I opened the box,my exclaimed expression turned into a perplexed one. I looked at the boot and,heart beating faster,I nervously got that anxious feeling you get when something doesn't feel right. The boot itself looked small,like too small for my foot to fit in. My excitement turned to sadness very quickly. I knew I should have sized up,I kept telling myself. I had even emailed and spoken to their wetsuit department and was told that the size I was ordering would be a good fit for my shoe size. But like the other comment,I was hesitant. I had listened though,and now I was staring at this boot,terrified it was too small. As I went to put the shoe on,I held my breath. For a moment,I started to hope that their was some higher power looking out for me. I then put my right foot in. and it SLID RIGHT IN! it was actually a really easy slip on. but it felt tight. While it wasn't curling my toes,it also wasn't SNUG. it was definitely in between. I continued to wear them for an additional 20 minutes before I decided that they weren't going to work. If I was going to fall in love with these shoes,I needed to get the right fit. So I am really really sad that they do not fit,and will return them for a larger size. But I do imagine I will absolutelly love these boots once that happens. SO FAR ALL CONCERNING BUYERS,if you are a male then size up. I wear an 8.5 in men's,with an average width foot,and I got a 9 which is a little too tight. I would get a 10.

March 7, 2018

Fits perfect

I just got these but I was hesitant to get after reading the prior review. These are women's booties. I usually wear an 8 and half to a 9. (9 in Brooks which is what I used to compare size. I bought the 9 and they fit perfectly. I have not worn them in the water yet. They were easy enough to get one and have a pull loop. I have never worn a sp... Read Morelit toe so I am hoping they will be comfortable enough to wear for a few hours at a time.

August 13, 2017

Size chart is off

I think the size chart must be for the older booties,since they are now numbered. I ordered a size 6 - it seems like these are unisex,so I found my size (womens 8) and translated it to mens. They are extremely small - I'll probably go up 2 sizes to an 8. Also none of the stores around me stock this,so can't try it on! Patagonia,can you fi... Read Morex the sizing charts on this?

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches