Back to Product

Patagonia R5® Yulex® Round Toe Winter Surf Booties

Write Your Review

3.96 /5

Filter Reviews

All 25 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia R5® Yulex® Round Toe Winter Surf Booties

3.96
True To Size
September 16, 2020

I want to love these but can't even get them on

These are high quality and super warm but the ankle neoprene is so small that I cannot even come close to even getting them on.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2020

We appreciate this feedback, if you'd like please reach out to [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We're always happy to send over measurements to see what size would work best for you and we're happy to assist with a return or exchange as well.

January 3, 2020

Best boots I’ve owned. Period.

I’ve been a waterman my entire life. Growing up in Virginia, we chase winter swells to colder water in hopes of cold, uncrowded tubes. Ive spent 20+ years going through 7mm winter boots that either thinned in the sole, or leaked water and blew up like an inflatable pool toy. I cannot say anything about the YULEX round toe 7mm, other than no more qu... Read Moreestion of what boots will keep me in the water longer without compromising traction, or flexibility. After comparing the competition for years, it’s settled. These are the best deep winter boots you can get. I bought them at full price and could have easily gotten another brand at a much smaller price. Good boots aren’t cheap, cheap boots aren’t good. Bottom line. Thanks for the great product.

December 13, 2019

super warm but runs really

super warm but runs really small

December 9, 2019

Wetsuit Booties

These booties are so comfy! They are a Christmas present so we have not worn them into the water just yet, but are excited to do so. I read reviews prior to ordering and decided to size up. My hubby typically wears a 10-10 1/2, but I purchased the 12's for him and they fit like a glove. I wear a 9 in women's but decided to size up to a 10... Read More, and they are about a half size too big, not enough to cause issues, but a slight bagginess in the toes.

December 3, 2019

surf shoes and gloves

really good quality!

December 2, 2019

Winter Surf -- Gloves and Boots

To my surprise, Patagonia was the least expensive option for winter boots and gloves. Both are high quality and preform well.

November 26, 2019

Comfortable

They definitely run a size too small as all the overview stated. They are comfortable though.

November 26, 2019

Warm!

Love the boots. I feel invincible in the water as I’m usually focused on how cold my feet are but not with these. I wear an 8.5 and got a 9. I like the fit

November 22, 2019

Fuzzy Boots

These boots fit well, true to size. Only bummer is that I can feel water entering them. It does warm up quickly and act as more insulation, but a better seal would be nice. Also, I got a massive fin cut on these in my second time wearing them, and the repair that Patagonia did was AWESOME. Thanks!

November 21, 2019

Best Surf Booties There Are

Best boots for the frigid Lake Michigan surf that is upon us.

November 21, 2019

Surf’s up

I read other write ups about sizing and worried if the size 13 would fit. I’m not sure how shoes are sized. I have shoes that fit perfectly that are 13, but some 12 1/2 work. These 13s fit perfectly. Since I’m land locked I actually bought these to ride my bike on wet days to work and they are great. Dry and warm. Love them.

November 20, 2019

booties

I wear a size ten and a half shoe so I started out ordering a size 11 booties. When they came i couldn't even get my big toe in them. Id guess they would fit someone with a size 9 foot. So, i exchanged for a size 12 booties. These I was able to get my foot in, but, super tight. I'm not sure if a size 13 would fit or not, so im keeping the... Read More size 12`s, and hope that they stretch out. The water is not cold enough yet to try these out.....i got them for when the water turns really cold. So, the moral of the story is; the sizing of these booties is messed up I guy with a size 10 1/2 foot shouldn't have to order a size 13 booty. Anyway, Thats it. ( I got them on sale, so all in all its still a good day.).

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Dennis, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the sizing issues you've experienced. If the size 12 booties don't end up working out, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 19, 2019

Warm feet

I think this material is a little easier on/off than neoprene which is a godsend for booties. Female with slim feet wears women’s 9.5 shoe size and the 9 in these fits perfectly. Initially around the house I was worried too tight but in the water they were great nice and snug and didn’t get too heavy/full of boot juice. Warm in 45F can’t wait to tr... Read Morey colder!

October 11, 2019

Sizing a bit off

I ordered the Round Toe Booties hoping to use them for late fall rowing. BUT, even after ordering one size up, as the reviews suggested, they were too small. If they're still available I'm going to return these and re-order.

September 23, 2019

Fit great. Ready to surf

Fit great. Ready to surf

September 22, 2019

These booties run small so

These booties run small so order 1 size up. Otherwise they seem like they will be perfect for cold weather kayaking

September 6, 2019

Perfectly warm, very round small toe

I like the feel of these booties and they’re comfortably warm for the cold water but the toe is very small. If you have even an averaged size toe spread expect to feel crammed. After two days of surfing I had large blisters on both my pinky toes.

May 8, 2019

Warm, flexible, delightful

I bought these for the frigid Maine waters this winter when my old booties weren't cutting it. I'm so happy I invested - they kept my feet toasty in 34 degree water! Size up as they run pretty small. I wear a size 7.5 women's shoe and I ended up with a size 8 in these.

February 4, 2019

Great flexibility, a little colder

In 39 degree water in Maine, the new R5 Bootie is much more flexible that the previous R5 Bootie. It gives better foot feel, but isn't as warm as the last-gen R5 Bootie. The cold is most noticeable the top of the forefoot, but the lighter, flexible quality is worth the extra chill. And as others have said, it's a little tight on the toes,... Read More but never uncomfortable.

January 13, 2019

Amping

I'm someone who easily has a meltdown when my hands and/or feet get cold... Luckily it's not an issue with these boots. Extremely comfortable and extremely warm. I can't believe I (almost) look forward to putting on my R4 suit and these boots in 30 degree air temps and 45 degree water temps!

January 2, 2019

Size and warmth

I wear a size 12, the size 12 boot was too short - am trying the 13. As for warmth - was in 45 degree water and toes were toastie. No worries there.

September 19, 2018

Well... warm and perfect function

Got myself a set of these here r5 booties... and they fit my foot bang on. I wear an 11... the big toe just touches the end..when in the water once they swell up and hold water they expand and still fit well. Bottom line they are super warm. Out here on the canadian coast it's still not to cold (late Sept early oct) and these things were like... Read More having my feet in a warm bath water while I waited for wave sets. All the nice. Bottoms grip the board extremely well even when i nose ride (i dont wax the nose). Was worried when I got them with the softer thread but they work great. Negative... the strap works for me but it definitely should be less long.. alot hangs past the velcro pads. Ultimately these are on the highest end for price so how they nobbed that up I fail to see. The fit for my wife was to small so they are sending a size up... and she normally fits the size 7 in xcel. They dont dry well... so I mean... that's typical but these are worse than others for moisture retention and already have a good ripe smell. (That's life surfing cold) I love the tucked under wetsuit approach over other styles. I usually rock thinner boots for the split toe but I think these are worth it. Honestly never had a warmer boot. I recommend highly. Plus natural rubber for the win!

May 12, 2018

Faulty Velcro and Thin Soles

As the other two reviewers have remarked,the Velcro ankle straps don't hold. I've resorted to securing mine with safety pins. Ridiculous for the price. The soles are also thin and grip-less. Patagonia really needs to re-evaluate their Yulex products.

May 1, 2018

bad strap

the strap on the boot doesnt stay velcroed during surfing and constantly gets blown off by waves. poor design! did they even test this product before bringing it to market? Also neoprene is much thinner than 7mm. not nearly warm enough for new england winters.

March 14, 2018

Warm but the straps are too long/useless.

On every pair of these I've seen and worn,the cinch straps are 2-3 inches too long and hence the Velcro pieces don't match up. Please shorten the straps! Then we'd have the perfect bootie.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches