Back to Product

Patagonia R5® Yulex® Wetsuit Mitts

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 7 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia R5® Yulex® Wetsuit Mitts

4.1/5
Kinda Small
December 12, 2021

No more numb hands!

I use these wetsuit mittens while swimming in (currently) 49 degree lake water. With a pair of gloves (purchased earlier in the season) my hands would be so numb that I could barely open the Velcro tab on my wetsuit. With these mittens my hands feel nice and warm the whole time. The sizing guide made me copies between width and length, so I went wi... Read Moreth width, because I figured they should fit snugly, like my wetsuit. They are really hard to get on and off, but I chalk that up to appropriate snugness. Also, Im not sure how Im supposed to dry them. I hung them up, and it took 2-3 days for them to feel dry on the inside.

November 16, 2021

Very snug!

These mittens are excellent for cold water surfing and have kept me very warm. Their snug fit and textured palms make them a perfect match for cold water paddling!

August 31, 2021

Grateful for these

So I have been using these to surf the bore tide in Alaska. Last week the current took me for about an hour longer ride than I had hoped for. I was wearing an R5 hooded wetsuit and R3 booties and these mitts, and was warm and happy the whole time until the current spit me out past Girdwood. Thanks, Patagonia! The thumb is a bit tight, and the finge... Read Morers a bit loose, but the water inside stayed warm and I was cozy and happy and looking for Belugas.

November 22, 2020

Cold water swimming

I use these for cold open water swimming. So far down to 38 degrees F. and they absolutely keep my hands warm. The only thing is that the thumb is a bit tight which so far is ok but if you have thicker thumbs it might be a problem. I'm planning on using these until it freezes over and sure that they will keep my hands warm.

November 21, 2020

Extremely strange, painful fit

By far the warmest mitts/gloves I've ever worn. At 48°, fingers are shockingly warm. Zero sensation of cold (same deal with the R5 boots -- phenomenal). But note I said fingers. The thumbs: my god! Excruciating compression that caused me to go in, twice. I do not have huge hands, but the XL thumb spaces were worse than skin tight. They hurt. T... Read Morehis was extremely frustrating as the rest of the hand had room and was Fiji-warm. I hope this was a manufacturing flaw, and feel it has to be. Bought mine at a surf store in Oregon (Clean Line Surf) so this won't come up a verified purchase, but trust me when I say these gloves are as wonderful as they are terrible. If you have thumbs like your pinkie, these are the mitts for you. I'd kill to have these with human-sized thumbs.

November 3, 2020

Yulex gloves

I was a little skeptical of the Yulex gloves at first but after wearing them once, I am completly sold. I may buy the winter wetsuit next.

December 24, 2019

Mitts

Hey all. Happy holidays This is the third pair we have bought in our family. They are comfortable, roomy for fingers, easy on/off yet don’t let in water. And of course warm. The rating is based on sizing. I usually wear a med. But in these mits I had to go to a large. No biggie but my son in law has slightly larger hands than mine and the xl are hu... Read Morege on him so we’ll try the large ( he tried them originally and found them to be a little tight) and hope they are not too restrictive. Bottom line is great mitts once you get the fit right.

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2020

Hi Lela, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Feedback like this is crucial in improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the trouble you've had with finding the right size. Don't hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=contact) if you need any assistance with your return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches