burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

R5 Yulex Round Toe Booties Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

R5® Yulex® Round Toe Booties

4.7/5
True To Size
December 26, 2022

Very comfortable

These boots are amazing and by far the most comfortable boots Ive worn. Ive used another brand for the past 20 years and decided to try these because I love Patagonias products and what they stand for. Ive worn them a dozen or so times. I live and surf in the Northeast and The water temp is now in the mid forties and will be dropping to the mid 30s... Read More soon. The only reason I am giving them four stars is because theres seams to be a small entry point for water in the arches. It happens with both boots and seams to only happen upon entering the water. Once Im surfing and active I dont notice water coming in.

March 19, 2022

Very good boots

I have been surfing every day in the winter (39F water and sometimes 0F air plus windchill) and these boots are mostly warm. I do think the toes could be a lot thicker, and that would make them warmer. The seems on the boots are good, and they appear to not be really leaky. The Velcro broke however, which is strange but overall I am happy, and will... Read More be sending back for repair.

March 1, 2022

Winter Surf Essential

Customer Service: I signed up for an alert when they would be in stock and received the email when available. With shortages and inventory delays this option to be notified and then actually notified was awesome! Received pair and took out on first surf session to find the Velcro strap break where the two sides meet. Disappointed cause defect I re... Read Moreached out and could not have been happier by response. Within one week I had brand new pair and defective in return. Really appreciated the prompt action as it aligned with some great NJ winter swells In terms of the actual product, the R5 bootie? What can I say they are a difference maker when it comes to winter surfing. Im talking just above freezing Atlantic and air temps in teens. Toasty is not word I use lightly but the booties have kept my feet warm. They are tight fit. Im size 10.5 in everything so got size 10. But the tightness is form fitting and did not find uncomfortable. Being 7mm theyre thick so not as easy to get off as less thickness booties but again youre looking at this thickness because elements. Feel on board is great! Sleek style yet environmental conscience and feels like something that will last. Truly first pair defect I chalk up to anomaly Surprisingly they dry pretty quick for thickness! If you surf in water temps below 40 degrees and air temps in teens to single to negative digits you need these. Stay in water longer and enjoy it when winter is here!

January 23, 2022

Warm but flawed

Wanted to love, they do keep feet warm. However, both my and my partners pair have ripped in exact same place near heel by tab. Also they are really hard to dry. Were northeast winter surfers and its takes days for these to dry between sessions. Want to love but in practice they need some tweaks.

Response from Patagonia
January 26, 2022

Hello Jessica, thank you for sharing your experience with the booties. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will reach out privately with wetsuit repair/warranty process.

November 23, 2021

Saskatchewan Winter Paddling

I bought these to paddle year round on the river in Saskatoon, SK, Canada. I often have to step into the river to launch my paddleboard and my toes stay warm even when I am out for an hour in temperatures below 0 C. These booties are fantastic! Highly recommend

September 27, 2021

Good for Cold Water

I use these daily in 33-35 degree water while paddling my SUP in Fairbanks, Alaska. I wear a size 11 but have wide feet. 12 fit great, a wee bit roomy, with no problem getting on or off (I could wear a thin neoprene sock if I need to for extra, extra warmth). If your feet are submerged in water at those temps for more than a half hour, they will st... Read Moreart to get cold, but will retain enough warmth to stay flexible. So you won't be "toasty" as I read in other reviews if you are just standing still. That said, my feet stay comfortable for a 1-2 hour paddle at near freezing water temps, which is all you can ask for.

August 24, 2020

SUP AK

I wear these booties when I SUP the waters of SouthCentral Alaska, and my feet stay so warm! i LOVE them! Not so easy to get on and off, I finally bought a shoehorn, but I also have arthritic fingers. Happy customer.

May 20, 2020

Toasty and Easy On/Off

Toasty and Easy On/Off, used surfing the Great Lakes all winter 2020 down to water 32F. Still looking great and the bottom is holding up well even with a long concrete walk from where I park to surf. Only downside - they take almost a week to dry sitting in front of a dehumidifier in my furnace room. Any drying tips?

May 19, 2020

Extremely well executed bootie; my new favorite.

I have been wearing these for most of the winter 2020 season in the US Northeast Atlantic with waters hovering just above freezing. I am super impressed. They are extremely warm; my feet never showing signs of getting cold after multiple hour long surf sessions. They are really comfortable; only note is the width felt a bit snug/tight the first cou... Read Moreple wears, but they seemed to stretch & break in a bit quickly and have been perfectly comfortable ever since. Possibly my favorite thing about the booties: the sole. It's has a lot of movement and flex to it, being quite supple, and the board feel is enhanced due to that. They are a bit tough to take off after being surfed out, but that's pretty much the case for any 7mm bootie and a tired body. The only thing I can't speak to entirely yet is the durability, but so far they're showing no signs of wear. Stoked on these!

May 17, 2020

Extremely well executed bootie; my new favorite.

I have been wearing these for most of the winter 2020 season in the US Northeast Atlantic with waters hovering just above freezing. I am super impressed. They are extremely warm; my feet never showing signs of getting cold after multiple hour long surf sessions. They are really comfortable; only note is the width felt a bit snug/tight the first cou... Read Moreple wears, but they seemed to stretch & break in a bit quickly and have been perfectly comfortable ever since. Possibly my favorite thing about the booties: the sole. It's has a lot of movement and flex to it, being quite supple, and the board feel is enhanced due to that. They are a bit tough to take off after being surfed out, but that's pretty much the case for any 7mm bootie and a tired body. The only thing I can't speak to entirely yet is the durability, but so far they're showing no signs of wear. Stoked on these!

January 13, 2020

Great Pair of Booties!

Although I've only used them once since I purchased these, I love them already. Big upgrade from my previous pair. The lining on the inside is especially warm and my feet were toasty throughout my session surfing the northeast in January.

December 27, 2019

Great booties

I was skeptical if size 13 would fit my size 14 foot. However, they fit perfectly and I can’t wait to wear.

October 29, 2019

very warm

very warm

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches