Back to Product

GUPPYFRIEND™ Washing Bag

Write Your Review

3.5 /5

Filter Reviews

All 6 Reviews

Clear All

GUPPYFRIEND™ Washing Bag

3.5
Kinda Large
May 11, 2020

Does what it says it does

Great at collecting the microfibers and keeping them from heading into the ocean. After about 5 months of use the metal zip broke and is now really sharp and will rip any clothing that touches it while in the machine. Sadly the bag is now waste unless we can find someone to repair the zip. This really surprised me and is a bit of a bummer really.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2020

We appreciate that you purchased this bag and are sorry to hear the zipper broke. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us and we are happy to get you a new one.

October 20, 2019

Good Effort

I appreciate the effort by Patagonia to undo the effects of using and washing these fibers. Pretty dismayed by the cost of the bag.

Response from Patagonia
November 8, 2019

Hi Kimberly! Thank you for your feedback. This item is actually made by one of our grantees, [STOP! MICRO WASTE](http://stopmicrowaste.com/), and we do not make any profit on the sales. We appreciate your support and efforts to reduce microplastic pollution.

October 8, 2019

Holds a ton and Works wonderfully!

To my surprise this bag is much larger and holds more than I expected. I put our poly items in the bag and then throw it in my front load washing machine with non-poly clothes of the same color. It’s super easy and everything gets very clean. Love it!

August 10, 2019

Works, maybe

I feel better about doing something to alleviate the microfiber pollution issue since it's quite the challenge (and waste) to throw out clothes made of synthetic fibers that are still perfectly good. However, I don't really like that you need to remember to fill the GuppyFriend bag only up to halfway. It also seems a bit subjective and li... Read Moreke wasted capacity. It's too soon to see any microfiber build-up in the corners of the bag, but based on what I've read about the bag, that's normal.

August 10, 2019

Good and not so good

The Guppy Friend bag does a good job at collecting microfiber -- but it leaves the residue all over the garment, especially if it is large, like a fleece bathrobe. I also made the mistake of washing two fleece vests of different colors in it and found the darker one had stained the lighter one. Also, it is hard to scrape out the microfiber residue ... Read Morefrom the inside of the bag. A cheaper paper towel (fairly coarse textured) seems to work best, and can then be put in the trash -- but where's the sustainability in that??

August 8, 2019

Every household should own this

Such a simple yet effective method of promoting change to a very real issue in direct runoff from our coastlines. Municipal water treatment only does so much, and this is a simple way to stop microplastics at the source. Of course, you can make an effort to reduce the amount of fleece you buy, but if you choose to wear fleece, you should own this.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches