Back to Product

Patagonia Capilene? Air Balaclava

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 20 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Capilene? Air Balaclava

4.5/5
Kinda Large
March 11, 2022

Head hugger!

This balaclava is a soft hug for your head. It fits closely without feeling like a compression sock and slides on and off easily though it stays put when on. It is close fitting enough to fit underneath my helmet or hard hat and doesn't get in the way when I've slid it back onto my neck. It regulates heat well and I have worn it inside ju... Read Morest to enjoy the cozy factor. I highly recommend it.

February 14, 2022

Super warm & cozy

The material is fantastic, I really love the way it feels. It keeps me super warm and cozy, and thats just exactly what I had hoped for.

February 5, 2022

Weird fit and very thin

I'm a big fan of the brand and have purchased products for years. This is the first product I've been disappointed in. The material is incredibly thin so I can't use it in cold weather without wearing a hat. Forget about near freezing temps because it's useless. The fit is also very weird. It's unusually large and loose whi... Read Morech let's air into the large gaps, making it sort of useless. If it's a warmer day on the slopes I'll wear it under my helmet and it's ok. On a cold day I use an old heavier balaclava. This product is a dud.

Response from Patagonia
February 7, 2022

Hi Lucas, thank you for sharing your feedback on this Balaclava. Reviews like this are very helpful to our customers and to product team. We're so sorry to hear it was a disappointment! If you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

February 3, 2022

Perfect for sub zero days!

Skiing, running or walking it does not stick to my face like a buff does. My nose did not freeze, either!

February 1, 2022

Great piece of gear

I love this thing! It breathes so well not too tight. Just warm enough dog walking or under a helmet in my back. Other balaclavas Ive had are overkillonly for extreme weather. I am wearing this 3-5x/week.

February 1, 2022

Perfect

The balaclava is thin but very warm. I am a petite person so it is bitbig but with glasses snd a mask it is fine. The temperature has been in the teens and single digits and I aim very comfortable. It would be great for bike riders, hikers, skiers, etc. Patagonia has come e through again. Worth the price.

January 10, 2022

Not constricting, just what I needed

I've purchased many different balaclavas and neck gaiters to use during brisk, stormy days, as well as when the sun starts wreaking havoc. This one is finally snug enough to not constantly need adjusting or make me feel like I'm being suffocated. It's great to have a little extra layer for when the winds, snow, and even sun beat down... Read More on your face. Keep this in a pocket and you're well prepared for when things get a bit more dicey while out on the mountain.

January 5, 2022

Very nice and comfortable!

I never thought I would ever need/want a balaclava but am going to see the Northern Lights. Have "broken" this in while walking the dog in rainy/windy/freezing days and it is great keeping the elements off and keeping me warm. Have already washed/air dried it and it is just as good as new. Comfortable. Light weight. Not itchy.

March 4, 2021

Not what I expected!

These are definitely not like the old Balaclavas that you used to sell! The old ones from approximately 25 years ago were awesome and I was hoping to get something similar. No offense but I prefer your competitors Balaclavas now.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We're sorry to hear this wool-capilene blend balaclava has been a disappointment Mike! We do appreciate your feedback and hope you find the product you need. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return this one!

February 23, 2021

Very warm, but very lightweight

Great for most weather conditions even as lightweight as it is. Even when it gets frozen due to getting wet, it kept my face warm. Drys and thaws quickly.

February 7, 2021

Very soft and warm

I like that it's thin, so easy to wear and breathable on long hikes outdoors. And very warm and soft.

January 28, 2021

Super Super great...best on Market

Use for offshore sailing..winter...be far the best for super warm and comfort..

January 18, 2021

It works

Cuts the wind. Works for what I need it for. Easy trail hikes and walks on the beach. A little scratchy but better then having cold nose and ears.

January 14, 2021

Excellent Balaclava

Neck fit is nice and loose, no strangulation. I wear a large hat and this fits great, neck is a little long but i find this to be the case with most balaclavas. Would recommend and will purchase again if necessary.

January 10, 2021

Super Warm and Lightweight

If you have super short hair, this is a must have. So lightweight and easy to pull off and on. I wear this on cold days while walking my dog. Keeps my head and neck warm with no bulk.

January 8, 2021

Liked the old one better

I got this to replace one I lost that was purchased maybe 5 seasons ago. The fabric of this model holds moisture more and gets soggier than its predecessor. Still better than other balaclavas I have tried

Response from Patagonia
February 12, 2021

Thanks for the review! We'd recommend checking out our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) if you're interested in finding another past season version.

December 12, 2020

Very warm

Wonderful

March 12, 2020

Reliable performer in the right temperature zone

Added this piece to the Capilene Air bottoms & crew already used as base layers for winter cycling and hiking. Moisture build up during heavy exertion is minimized next to the skin keeping the comfort level high for temps near freezing .

December 31, 2019

Balaclava

Essential for the cold blustery Northeast winter. Niiiiice and warming.

December 2, 2019

Cozy warm and cute!

Love the pattern AND the quality! Perfect for a run in icy temperatures!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches