Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 3"

Write Your Review

4.21 /5

Filter Reviews

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Strider Pro Running Shorts - 3"

4.21
True To Size
September 1, 2020

My favorite shorts

These shorts are amazing. I love how well they fit and the range of motion I have in them. They are not restrictive in any way, no matter how much flex I need. I also have slight love handles and shorts usually look a little baggie In the rear or are too tight around my waist. These are a perfect fit all around! Seriously, they are my daily go to, ... Read Moreeven when its just to lounge around.

July 16, 2020

Great!

They are my new favorite shorts for running! Love the pockets and the light feel. At first I thought they ran a bit large at the waist but after running in them I think they are the perfect size, plus there is an elastic you can use to tight them up a bit if needed. The pockets are useful to put the extra food or gear that don't fit in my vest... Read More. I recommend them!

July 13, 2020

Very small

I have very thick thighs and legs and always need something to avoid the rubbing of my thighs. These ran small, and have zero stretch to them. I would go up a size if you have a similar issue as me. Overall I did like the print and style.

July 13, 2020

Great running shorts with lots of pockets

These shorts give me lots of storage which is very rare for womens running shorts. I bought both the black and blue in size medium and think the fit is great on the thigh but the waist is pretty large. Lucky the drawstring waist is a redeeming quality and helps keep the shorts high on my waist when I have things in the pockets.

July 13, 2020

Odd sizing between shorts and liner

I really wanted to like these shorts for trail running because of all the pocket options. However, I could not find the right fit. I normally wear an extra small in most shorts and shirts. In these shorts, the XS liner was too small and wouldn't stay put and the waist was just shy of being too big. I tried the SMALL size as well and the liner ... Read Morewas closer to the right size but too loose and the waist was much too big for me.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2020

Hi Reena, thanks for reaching out to us and we're sorry to hear that neither of the two sizes worked out. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase. Thanks for your review!

July 10, 2020

Perfect except for painful chafing :(

I LOVE these shorts and have a number of Patagonia's running shorts, but have 2 complaints that -- one which is causing me to look for a new go-to pair and possibly abandon these. 1. Not a deal-breaker, but the drawstring is a little odd. I just pulled it out really far and knotted it, so I've never adjusted it again, but it seems a litt... Read Morele odd to have things kind of drawstring -- maybe just two regular ends you can tie together would make sense? I actually thought these shorts were defective when I first got them. 2. The tab on the back always, always leads to terribly lower back chafing. I don't even know what this tab/loop is there for, but I've considered taping over it, sewing some fabric over it... My lower back is raw by the end of every run in these. Major bummer, as I otherwise love these shorts! The pockets are great for snacks, and I love the back zip pocket.

July 9, 2020

So comfortable it feels like you have nothing on

Wow I love these shorts so much. I feel so free in them, it feels like I'm wearing nothing at all. I can move and feel 0 restrictions. I'm never taking them off. Highly recommend.

June 21, 2020

Exceeds Expectations

The running shorts that wear so well, you can't tell that they're there! The thin waist band rides very comfortably, and the lack of bulk means that the shorts don't feel heavy when the weather is hot and humid. The bonus snack slots have been my favorite place to stash those tasty glucose-filled treats on the days I feel like burnin... Read Moreg down the candle. Highly recommended!

June 21, 2020

Amazing fit and breathable

Love the cut and fit and fabric of these shorts. Great design!

June 17, 2020

Exceeds Expectations

The running shorts that wear so well, you can't tell that they're there! The thin waist band rides very comfortably, and the lack of bulk means that the shorts don't feel heavy when the weather is hot and humid. The bonus snack slots have been my favorite place to stash those tasty glucose-filled treats on the days I feel like burnin... Read Moreg down the candle. Highly recommended!

June 17, 2020

Perfect distance short

Loving the pockets (especially the zippered one) and length on the shorts. The material is also nice for repelling a little rain. The only thing I would change is a longer slit on the sides to allow for *just* a bit more freedom in leg movement.

June 17, 2020

Amazing fit and breathable

Love the cut and fit and fabric of these shorts. Great design!

February 2, 2020

So comfortable!

These are my first pair of Patagonia running shorts and I am smitten! I love the stash pockets and the feel of the fabric (moisture wicking, soft and lightweight). I am 5'6'', 130lbs, wear a size 26 in denim and the size small fit perfectly. I ordered both the small and the medium just to make sure and the medium waist was too big (s... Read Moreynching them down wouldn't have helped). They are a lower rise which is different than most styles of the day but you hardly notice with how comfortable they are!

January 29, 2020

Great long-distance running shorts

The title says it all. These are comfortable, don't chafe anywhere, look good, and dry fast. I must admit that I own more than one pair in several colors, because I can struggle to find shorts that fit both my waist (25"), my hips (37"), and my thighs (can't be bothered to measure them), and these do. If I fluctuate weight sligh... Read Moretly, the drawstring waist can be tightened and doesn't rub. I will say, if you want leg coverage, these are not the shorts for you, but if you want great running shorts, these are definitely the shorts for you. They look good enough that I can wear them around town if I can't be bothered to change after a run, and they don't get any awkward sweat marks.

November 14, 2019

Light & comfy

Love these shorts and would definitely recommend for running, work at home attire, and the gym.

October 10, 2019

Very comfortable, Odd sizing

The shorts themselvles (length, liner, and material) fit and feel great. However, the band on the waist of the shorts seems to run a bit big. They do have a drawstring which helps.

October 1, 2019

Very happy

I have never invested in “nice” running shorts, always willing to wear what is available - the striders are so comfortable and wear very well - no bunching, and wick sweat well. I am happy these are my new go-tos!

September 22, 2019

Pretty dang dandy

I got these shorts for camping, hiking, or just bring active in general. They looked a tad shorter than I expected when I opened them, but they fit great and are very comfortable! Love the design and can wear them for any outdoor activity. Pretty stylish too!

September 21, 2019

Comfortable

Love how these look and feel. Very comfortable.

September 12, 2019

Best shorts ever!

I love the plenty of pockets to store energy stuffs which makes me having fun during the long run. It also very stylish, recommend it!

August 27, 2019

Comfortable, functional, stylish

This is the first pair of Strider Pros I've ever had, so I'm not sure how they compare with earlier versions, but I absolutely love them. They don't billow out like a lot of running shorts I've had in the past, and the 3" inseam is great for those of us with short legs. The zippered pocket on the back also fits my phone per... Read Morefectly; however, I have an iPhone 8 with a thin case. The pocket would be too small for a larger phone or an iPhone 8 with a heavy-duty case. The side pockets are also great for storing keys and some gels, although an ultrarunner would likely want larger pockets.

August 15, 2019

W's Strider Pro

The new fit and fabric in my all-time favorite running short is the best yet. The fabric doesn't cling when wet with sweat and the leg openings allow freedom of movement. Love the new waistband design, too! Super comfy.

August 12, 2019

Super comfy runnning shorts

Nice running shorts. These are my first running shorts from Patagonia. The length (which initially I was a little concerned with), the quality of construction and the fabric were great.

August 10, 2019

Strider

Runs small but I love all the compartments

July 10, 2019

Great running shorts!

I really love the style and overall fit of these shorts for running! I've been wearing them to train for my first Ultra. Pros: The shorts length is perfect, love the dry wicking material and the color. Cons: Would love to see a wider, flat waist band for comfort around the waist and so they aren't quite as low rise (similar to the strider... Read More short).. This could also help for storing a phone in the back zip pocket.

June 22, 2019

Very odd cut

The fabric is delightfully lightweight, and I was excited to try these shorts for hot-weather running. But. The waistband is SO large - it feels like it's almost cut larger than the rest of the shorts - that it hangs off my hips. Not even my waist (the rise isn't that high), my hips! There is a drawstring, but the waistband material is so... Read More thick and stiff that it bunches rather comically when I pull the drawstring. I use the shorts for PT but can't imagine running in them - I'd constantly be fussing with the waistband and trying to keep everything from falling down.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2019

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry for the sizing troubles. If you end up wanting to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those, please feel free to do so. We want to make sure you are satisfied and if you need any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with sending them back, please let us know.

June 18, 2019

Could be way better

I've tried A LOT of different Patagonia bottoms from the climbing pants, to the barely baggies shorts and have had issues with every single item i've tried. Either it's too low rise, or isn't stretchy enough, or it just doesn't fit right. I finally bought these running shorts because I was really excited about the pockets a... Read Morend they fit better than the other options in store.I'm usually an XS, but I tried on both the small and the XS and the small was much too big so I went with the XS. My first complaint is that they are still a little too low rise, however, they do at least stay in place on my hips- I didn't have to waste energy pulling them up. BUT, the lining in them was awful. The lining wouldn't stay in place and I was consistently fixing wedges which was super annoying. It started to stick a little better once I started sweating but still not well enough to make me feel comfortable running a whole marathon in these.

June 7, 2019

They ruined the pockets :(

I LOOOVE last year's strider pros and am an ultra runner, and I have put hundreds of miles on my old ones. The pockets are definitely the best part of the old version, so when they revised these and made the pockets SO tiny and no functional, I was SO bummed! :( I can no longer fit the items I used to for my runs. They can basically fit a coup... Read Morele of gels, but that's it. Good luck getting your cell phone in the back zippered pocket. Please change the pockets back to the old style, larger and stretchier fabric, SO much better. The only plus to these, is the leg openings are less restrictive and more flattering, but honestly, the pockets made these shorts and are the main reason I bought them, so I would not recommend :(

May 11, 2019

Flattering cut, just-right inseam, and

Flattering cut, just-right inseam, and amazingly lightweight fabric. True to size. My preference would be for an additional inch of rise - these are fairly low-rise in my opinion. Despite this, they do stay put while running and a phone stays secure with no bounce. I don’t love the inner drawcord for two reasons: It’s stretchier than I’d like it to... Read More be, and since it’s a continuous loop cord the knot ends up being bulky when tied. But really, minor complaints aside, these shorts are great!!

May 10, 2019

I think I miss the old Strider Pro Shorts

I was super excited to try the revised Strider Pro Shorts. I have three pairs of the previous version that I have worn for literally thousands of miles on nearly all my runs, and definitely on every race from 10k distance to 50k. I LOVE them, they are the BEST! Here's what I think of the new ones: PROS - I love the revised leg openings. They... Read More less restrictive, and the fabric doesn't flip up when I'm running like the older ones often do. Also, very flattering ;) - I also like the revised minimized waistaband. Definitely more comfortable and I like the elastic drawstring on the inside as opposed to the old one that is on the outside. CONS - The POCKETS are SO small! :( Not only that, but the fabric on them is NOT stretchy like my older pairs. I am used to fitting my iphone 7 in the side pocket, and it is so easy to get in and out. With these, there is no way it can fit, and while it does fit in the back zippered pocket, it's just BARELY fits, is a paint to take out, and if you have an iphone plus, forget about it. - I know complaining about a phone is lame, but I am also used to carrying various things in those pockets, so I was bummed to find out they are smaller and not stretchy. I like putting my empty collapsible water bottle in them, or a silicone cup (for cupless races :) ) as well as my dog's e-collar remote and GU/snacks, and I don't think that's going to work so great now :( Overall, I'm not super impressed with the revisions, but I will still give these a go during my next 50k. To the design team: bring back the stretchy pockets! :)

May 8, 2019

Like you're not wearing pants...in a good way.

Love these shorts! I'm 5'5", 100 lbs and the XXS fits perfectly. I live in the San Juan Mountains in Colorado (lots of sharp, jagged rocks) and trail run in these everyday in the spring/summer. They're durable, breezy and allow a comfortable full range of movement. Highly recommend trying a pair!

May 8, 2019

Great shorts!

Perfect for running trails and road!

March 27, 2019

Elastic in the liner not all there

I was really excited to see the women's strider pro shorts back with all the pockets. However, when I wore them for the first time the liner kept riding up and wouldn't stay around my butt. I realized there wasn't any elastic in the left side of the liner and sent them back for another pair. Unfortunately the new pair they sent me al... Read Moreso had a defect in the liner. I'm not sure if it was just with this shorts or just the two they sent me but the lack of elastic in the liner makes it really uncomfortable. I really hope Patagonia can fix this issue because these pockets are the bomb for ultrarunning. The men's shorts have all the pockets while most of the women's just have the zippered one in the back which is a pain to access while running. Patagonia was really quick in sending me a second pair and responding to my emails.

February 6, 2019

Great improvement for Strider pros

Fast drying material, super light, snug waistband, flattering cut. Surprisingly resistant to sharp rocks and heavy usage. The best trail running short out there.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches