Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.37 /5

Filter Reviews

All 322 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

4.37
True To Size
November 18, 2020

Super cute and super warm!

Love this jacket for its warmth, function, and nice fit. I have been wearing it everywhere. Perfect for fall in the Pacific Northwest!

November 11, 2020

Beautiful, versatile, perfect

I love my Patagonia jacket. It fits perfectly and regulates temperature well. It goes well with both my work clothes and my hiking clothes. Would buy again.

November 8, 2020

Great remote work sweater

Im always cold. This sweater is great for a non-bulky warm layer. Im 57, 120 and the small fits perfectly. I also own a medium to toss on over thicker sweaters. Washes well with no shrinking.

November 4, 2020

The best sweater ever!

I absolutely love this sweater! It is so warm, comfortable and looks great. I ordered size XXS and it fits perfectly (I am 90 lbs, 51ft). Thank you Patagonia for thinking of petite women like me! I just ordered a second one in a different color and will be ordering more.

September 26, 2020

Love the style

I have been looking for a stylish, comfortable and warm fleece jacket and I was so excited to get this product. I mostly use it at work but Im sure it will be beneficial for casual wear. Strongly recommend it.

September 21, 2020

Wise Purchase

Ive been eyeing this product for a while now and Im glad I finally bought it. I love the color, the fit, and warmth it provides. It gets chilly where I work and this keeps me warm

September 18, 2020

Excellent Jacket

If you had to have one jacket in your closet, this would be it. It is incredibly versatile, very comfortable and warm. It can be used as a baselayer for those skiing trips or used as an outer layer for those cold weather hikes. I highly recommend purchasing this jacket.

September 18, 2020

Great everyday sweater

Walks, hikes, yard work, its perfect for the chill in the air type of day. Its thick enough to keep warm but not heavy to be in the way.

September 17, 2020

Awesome!

Awesome! I have to for my work place! Great for business casual!!

September 16, 2020

Arms are too slim/narrow for me

Nice jacket except it doesn't fit me very well! Dont care for the slim fit! The arms are too slim & tight! My arms arent string beans, they have some muscles on them. I would have to size up then the arms are way too long & not cuffed at the bottom so they fall down over my hands. The medium fits better through the body. The large fits... Read More the arm width but is too big everywhere else. I didnt keep it for myself. Want something that fits better.

September 16, 2020

Super cozy, but size up

I typically wear a small and had to size up to a medium, since the jacket fit a little snug. Its super comfy though and I wear it all the time!

September 16, 2020

Really nice

Very warm and stylish. Only complain is that is tight around the elbow when bending your arms

September 15, 2020

Love these better sweaters

I already have (3) of the 1/4 zips and decided I had to have the jacket too. Love love love these ! Cozy comfortable warm but lightweight. Thanks Patagonia

September 15, 2020

Just right

Nice body and sleeve length. Warm but not hot, perfect thickness for fall and spring days. Love the color!

September 15, 2020

uncomfortable

I am a loyal Patagonia customer and have never had problems with their jackets until now. The armpits of this sweater are ridiculously high and cut into my armpits. The only way I could wear this is if I kept my arms above my head and that is not going to happen. Really disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Hello Nellie, I am very sorry to learn about the fit issues you experienced with the W's Better Sweater Jacket. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item at your convenience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

September 15, 2020

Wonderful Product

It fits great and feels amazing. It's perfect for the NW chilly days or perfect for layering in the Mid-West.

September 14, 2020

Comfortable

This sweater fits perfect for me. Soft and comfortable to wear for all day hiking here in Colorado mountains.

September 14, 2020

Just perfect

Wonderfully cozy and warm and perfect for the coming Fall season. Would work nicely as an under layer during really cold Winter days. My wife is 5 4 /115 lbs and slender. XS was form fitting and would work but the S gave her just enough room to feel slightly more comfortable but still keep a tailored style.

September 14, 2020

Super Comfy

This is extremely comfortable and warm. Great for fall. It fits well. I think I can get away with a single layer long sleeve underneath. Anything more would be very tight. For reference, I am about 5 foot 7, 125lb, and bought a size small.

September 14, 2020

Super Cozy

A great cozy all-purpose layer and my go-to fall jacket! Its perfect for chilly mornings. I found it to be true to size (am 57 and a size 10 so I got a large).

September 14, 2020

Warm

Great purchase

September 14, 2020

Extremely comfortable

Super comfortable. Very pricy but I would say it was worth it.

September 13, 2020

Perfect for layering!

Purchased S, which is my usual Patagonia size, but it was too tight in the forearms, medium fit perfectly

September 13, 2020

Lightweight and warm

This jacket had an elegant fitted look. Lightweight you can bring it everywhere while still providing the warmth you need!

September 13, 2020

Great sweater and is truly slim fit

This is a great sweater and I love the style. I am 5'6" and 126# and it will be a great fit with just a thin long sleeve under it, anything more and it will feel a bit snug for me. I like a little room when I layer. They large was too big and the arm length too long. I wish this came in a regular fit and then the medium would be perfect!!... Read More!

September 13, 2020

Runs small

Ordered a size small but it was uncomfortably tight with scrubs underneath. Bending your elbows and reaching over to grab items with the sweater on is quite uncomfortable. The sweater would not zip up. I exchanged it for a medium, but it was too large and fit awkwardly. Too large on the arms and off the shoulders. The material is good quality and t... Read Morehe sweater has plenty of pockets for your stethoscope, snacks, pens, phone, etc. Not worth the price if you cannot comfortably zip it up during cold nights in the hospital. A bit disappointed, to be honest.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2020

We're so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Women's Better Sweater, the fit is definitely closer to the body in comparison to some other styles we carry. We'd recommend checking out our [Women's Retro Pile Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22795.html?dwvar_22795_color=SGRY&cgid=womens-fleece) for a cozy alternative that isn't quite as snug.

September 12, 2020

Comfy sweater for cool weather

I love better sweaters. This is my second and I opted for the full zip so I could easily take it off and on. I usually wear size small but in this I opt for a looser medium fit for comfort.

September 12, 2020

Warm and comfy

Love this jacket! I ordered a medium and a large. The medium looked better and fit better everywhere except the shoulders. It was too snug in the shoulders. The large is pretty big at the bottom on me but at least Ill have room for layers. Now I just need some cooler weather so I can wear it!

September 12, 2020

Comfortable

Love the zip up part of this jacket and all the pockets. Bought to wear in the fall to walk the dog. Looking forward to wearing all this winter to keep me warm inside the house too!!!

September 11, 2020

Nice and Fitted

Great for the early morning walks. Morning here is around 60 degree, Kept me toasty. Its fitted and if you want a looser fit order one size up. For reference Im 5ft 2 and weight 118 pounds.

September 10, 2020

Great versatile piece

As a tall and muscular/athletic built woman, I appreciate the fit of this jacket. The sleeves fit my long arms and cut is flattering. There is enough room to wear this over a long sleeve T, turtleneck or other shirt. It is casual enough for every day wear but also dresses up nicely for a day at the office. Cozy and warm. Loving this new piece.

September 10, 2020

Nice!

Beautiful, just what I was expecting

September 10, 2020

Super warm

Very warm and comfortable, very good fabric.

September 10, 2020

Very soft and warm

Great material fleece jacket, fit true to size, and it feels very comfy and warm.

September 10, 2020

Nice for weather in the 50s

Had this already in the vest a favorite. Sleeves on this jacket, though, are long enough but very narrow -- not going to accommodate a sweater of any thickness underneath. Nevertheless, this item is useful for the transition weeks between autumn and real winter and then again during the cool Colorado Spring. Better than having only a puffer jacket... Read More to wear!

September 9, 2020

This is 3rd one!

This is my 3rd better sweater fleece. First zip up one I have 2 pullover 1/4 zipper ones. They fit great go with everything no matter the activity or weather. Love this so much I also bought one as a gift for my mother. Get tons of compliments on the colors I have. A made well product that will last a long time!

September 9, 2020

Super Comfy

Warm, soft, and fitted. Just order a size up because its slim fit. Is made to last. LOVE this jacket. Huge Patagonia fan.

September 8, 2020

Awesome!

Great fit and quality!

September 7, 2020

Better Sweater

Ive bought these Better Sweaters every year since you started making them. The length changes which is fine, and is a little shorter this year. My only gripe is that they pill so badly. Maybe this years will be better!

September 7, 2020

Comfy

It's just what I was looking for, a step up from regular fleece. The black is more of a dark charcoal, which I like and prefer.

September 7, 2020

Best sweater ever.

Love the weight, wind protection and fit. Have purchased for self, family and friends.

September 7, 2020

So comfy!!

Fit nice and snug was super comfy and soft. Perfect for cooler days!!

September 6, 2020

Súper warm

I love this jacket

September 6, 2020

Better Sweater-poor fit

After gifting many family members with Patagonia gear I finally gifted myself with the "Better Sweater". I am a little disappointed that the sleeves are super long and the fit is tight, although I purchased a large size.

September 6, 2020

Warm and comfy

This is my second Better Sweater but this jacket runs a little smaller than my gray one. Its really comfortable and versatile though. Would buy again.

September 5, 2020

Great but snug

This is a very practical jacket, and I bought it because of the zipped pockets--good for walking in cool weather without a bag/purse. It runs small through the torso, however; I am usually a Medium and the Large is snug, so there is only room for a light shirt underneath.

September 5, 2020

Awesome jacket

Love this jacket. Warm wears great. Well worth the money

September 5, 2020

Comfy and classy

Love this sweater! Own it it blue and grey. Its warm and super comfy but yet is still professional enough to wear to work.

September 5, 2020

Very comfortable and Warm

Super warm and comfortable. Absolutely love it.

September 5, 2020

Great jacket!

This jacket looks great on. I am very tall and usually wear a small, but needed to size up to a medium for the sleeves to be long enough. Its somewhat loose fitting in the body, so would be good for layering. Feels really nice and cozy to wear!

September 4, 2020

Super Warm!

Patagonia Better Sweaters are my favorite way to keep warm, inside (w/AC) or outside during cold weather.

September 4, 2020

Warm and cozy

I love this fleece. I have some 1/4 zip-up also and wanted the convenience of the full zip. Im 53 and 118lb with medium muscular shoulders, so this fits well with just a tank or thin shirt under it. I had a previous version in S which felt big, but this is great for what I want it for. Warm and cozy.

September 4, 2020

Super warm

Love my new sweater jacket. I do wish it was a bit longer for my 57 frame

September 4, 2020

Better sweater really is better!

This better sweater jacket is really warm, this is my second one. I use for casual wear but can use for any instance. I usually wear a medium but this runs small so I purchased a large and its perfect!

September 4, 2020

Very thick and warm

Fitted but comfortable.

September 3, 2020

Warm & fitted

Tailored fitting , warm zip up - good quality

September 3, 2020

Comfy

I go for comfort. This coat has met my expectations. It is very comfortable and I can hardly wait for Fall so that I can really take advantage of its usability.

September 3, 2020

Amazing Jacket.

I love my 1/4 Zip Better Sweater and decided to purchase a full zipper one to add to my Patagonia collection. My first sweater is a size Small, and I find it to be a little short for my frame. I decided to buy a Medium in this jacket and it turned out to be a great decision. It is a bit roomy, but in a nice way and allows for unrestricted movement.... Read More I definitely recommend sizing up if you are on the fence about which size to choose.

September 3, 2020

Best jacket

This is my go to jacket when its cold out! You cant go wrong with ordering this :)

September 3, 2020

Comfortable, good fit, lasts

I purchased another color (navy) even though there is nothing wrong with my current jacket (red). Fit is the same as the one I bought 7 years ago and it continues to work well and fit well. I wash cold and hang to dry.

September 3, 2020

Perfect Cool Weather Jacket!

This will be my "go to" before the truly cold gets here! Perfect for October through December here in the South!

September 2, 2020

SO GREAT

ADORE this sweater and would 10/10 recommend it to anyone. It is perfect for casual wear as well as somewhat formal.

September 2, 2020

Better Sweater Jacket

Love love love this jacket. Bought Two. Very comfortable& light. They do run super slim fit. Patagonia offers such great deals. Bought these 50% off. They are worth every penny. They arrived super fast. Very Happy

September 2, 2020

Perfect sweater

It is great for casual or active wear!

September 2, 2020

Light jacket

Light, comfortable, and warm. I wear it to work every day.

September 2, 2020

Almost Perfect

Love the material and comfort! Runs small so size up.

September 1, 2020

Love!

I have several better sweaters and I'm never disappointed. I had been debating whether or not to get the gray but when it went on sale I couldn't say no! These sweaters are a must for me here in SC.

September 1, 2020

Loved it but ran small

This was very tight in my arms. I felt that if I lifted my arms I would rip the jacket. I only tried this on wearing a tank top so layering was definitely not going to work. The fit on the body was very nice and the sleeve length was perfect.

September 1, 2020

Better Sweater

This is my second purchase I truly love this sweater I have it in different colors. The full zip sweater I purchase in a medium however the pull over I purchase a large. Really great quality and the fit is perfect. When I wash the sweaters I did not put them in the dryer Ill lay them flat to dry so Ive had no problems with shrinking

September 1, 2020

Versatile Year-Round Jacket

Perfect for Northern CA climate! I love this jacket - it's my 2nd one. I wear around town; hiking; to/from the gym; and use it as a layer when I go skiing. I love it!

August 31, 2020

Disappointing

I ordered this sweater and the 1/4 zip up, the material is so different from other zip up, this full zip is very thin, not great quality, I was told Patagonia was great quality but now I am really questioning it .

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to provide feed back, as always if you're not satisfied you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

August 28, 2020

Best jacket

This is the best jacket! It fits snug and feels very warm, but not too hot. The material is perfect. Recommend to everyone!

August 23, 2020

Arms are tight

I've had several Better Sweater products and for some reason, this one has very small arms - the body fits fine, but the arms are tight. That said, I often take an xs in patagonia jackets, this one runs smaller than others.

August 20, 2020

Nice but runs small

Was excited to receive it, but when I put it on, became disappointed! I wear XL and now going on large and this jacket is very snug! Especially around chest area (if you have larger chest) and in upper arms. I tried it on a T-shirt... sleeves are a bit big too... but I can live with it. Wish theyd have petite sizes...

August 13, 2020

Decent Jacket

I really wanted to love the Better Sweater but I can't. The sweater fits more like an XS so it is very tight throughout the arms and chest. The material also isn't very soft and doesn't have much give to it. It is a very nice looking sweater aside from those issues!

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2020

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your feedback on fit and fabric. Please note your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it for something that suits your needs better.

August 13, 2020

Super Warm and Comfortable!

My favorite "all-the-time" sweaters! Whenever I get cold, I find myself grabbing one of these while hanging out at home, inside or out. I'd also consider taking one car camping. Note: I wear these as casual wear, my Performance Better Sweater is the only one I'd consider wearing while hiking/climbing or under a ski coat, etc... ... Read MoreI get too warm while hiking, skiing, climbing or running and can be found running outside in a tank top when it's snowing or raining (WA State, mild-mod climate).

November 5, 2019

It has become one of my favorite jacket!

I love this jacket/sweater! It keeps me warm on chilly weather and it’s so comfortable to wear it. It’s not bulky or chunky and it’s lightweight. It’s definitely better than a traditional sweater!

November 3, 2019

Good one

Good one

October 27, 2019

Warm sweater for reasonable price.

Warm sweater for reasonable price.

October 22, 2019

Better Sweater Jacket

The jacket fits perfectly! It is very comfortable and is perfect for the ever changing Georgia weather! Very happy with the purchase!

October 18, 2019

It fits well and it

It fits well and it is warm

October 13, 2019

So great

Such a great soft sweater!! And the colors so cute!

October 9, 2019

Ws Better Sweater® Jacket

Five Stars - Love, love this jacket! It's so warm and I wore it travelling around Budapest and Prague where it was much colder there.

October 8, 2019

I just love my Better

I just love my Better Sweater. It my first piece of Patagonia that I brought. So well made. And the color pink flecked goes with everything. A nice change from always wearing black.

October 4, 2019

Best fleece ever

I love everything about this jacket - the color, the softness, the warmth, the thoughtful pockets, the quality of the fabric and stitching. It feels like it's made to last.

September 27, 2019

Size and fabric-not what they used to be

I’ve worn better sweaters for years and when it came time to order a new one, was very disappointed to find that the fabric less soft and forgiving than previous versions. Much more fitted than they used to be. It fits more like a ski sweater. Disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear the fit of this item wasn't quite right. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 25, 2019

Great color. Wonderful jacket!

I wear these endlessly so it’s nice to have a new color!

September 24, 2019

Very warm jacket..... just love

Very warm jacket..... just love it

September 24, 2019

Following other reviews recommendations I

Following other reviews recommendations I ordered a size up than my normal patagonia size. I am 5'9" 150 lbs with broad shoulders. Ordered size M and whilst I believe my usual size S would fit well too, I am keeping the size M as it is really cozy. It has a thick material and I wear it everyday as a casual fall cardigan.

September 24, 2019

Love it!

Love this jacket! I got the blue color (gorgeous) in a size L (I’m 5’5 and 150lbs) and it fits great! I should be able to wear long sleeves under it, but nothing bulky. It’s lightweight but definitely warm. Great for cool fall mornings!

September 24, 2019

Love it!

The Better Sweater is all I could have imagined and more! SO warm and lightweight!

September 23, 2019

Pretty Jacket!

The jacket is soft, well made, and really nice looking. I ordered the light blue which is very pretty. In fact, I searched out the sweater after seeing my friend's. I'm 5'2" and 116 lbs. The XS was too snug. The S is good all around except that the sleeves are a bit long on me.

September 22, 2019

Better sweater jacket

Love the color of my jacket . This is my second jacket and my last one lasted 7 years

September 22, 2019

4th and counting

I absolutely love this sweater. I’m someone who gets cold very easily and is always the first to complain of being cold. I love how fitting it is and how warm it keeps me. I’ve tried this type of sweaters from other brands, but there was always something I didn’t quite like about them. The fit and performance of this sweater keeps me coming back fo... Read Morer more. I have 4 different colors and have recommended it to several friends, who also love theirs! Highly recommend!

September 22, 2019

Exactly what I wanted

Super comfortable, soft, easy to layer and high quality construction.

September 19, 2019

I love my sweater, it

I love my sweater, it is light and not too heavy but keeps you warm!

September 19, 2019

Love it!

Warm, cozy, and cute! Perfect fit!

September 19, 2019

Great sweater

I saw a co- worker wearing this sweater and loved it. I immediately bought one for myself in grey. I still loved the blueish color of my coworkers so I bought one for a close friend of mine. The shipping was fast and of course my friend loved it.

September 18, 2019

Not better...BEST

My first better sweater was a gift. The second one I purchased as a gift to myself because I loved the shade of green. Better sweater are the best for comfort and warmth...a simple layer in Northern California winters.

September 18, 2019

Even Better

This sweater is actually a great jacket on its own. I especially love the little zipper pocket on the sleeve. The fit is true to size, but is slim fitting. I can’t get enough Patagonia!

September 18, 2019

Womens Better Sweater in Teal

I now own 5 Better Sweaters in various colors. That alone should speak to its versatility and quality. I love that they are just the right weight for a chilly day or even in the winter when I walk from my car into a building. I know these will wear well for a lifetime!

September 18, 2019

Perfect fit and handy pockets.

Perfect fit and handy pockets. It's been perfect for wearing with the cooler temps!

September 18, 2019

I have longer arms so

I have longer arms so the arms to my jacket are a little small. Other than more of a personal issue, the jacket is great!

September 18, 2019

Love thisjacket

Comfort plus stylish. Will wear it for cool fall days and it's perfect for layering under winter jackets when it's below zero outside. I am 5'8" 138 lbs. Perfect fit. Can fit a light weight long sleeve top underneath.

September 17, 2019

My 3rd one. First one

My 3rd one. First one pilled badly. Hoping for better. Love the look, feel and warmth.

September 17, 2019

Classy and warm

My wife enjoys the Better Sweater’s instant heat on chilly days. It’s ideal in Minnesota year round.

September 17, 2019

Love it!

The jacket is perfect for the "in between" days in Seattle. I've been wearing it regularly since it arrived a couple weeks ago.

September 16, 2019

Great sweater

This is an awesome, versatile and comfortable jacket/sweater. Really comfortable, warm and clean looking. I wore this to work, with a casual outfit, and hiking. It's an excellent layer and belongs in every closet.

September 16, 2019

Color as Expected Sizing runs small

Very much what I expected in color and texture but the sizing runs small. I’m 5’5 135lbs and the medium is snug. I’d really like a little extra room to maybe wear a sweat shirt under but that’s not happening.

September 15, 2019

Feel “put together”

I am 5’4 and 130 lbs. Size medium fits perfect. It’s not baggy or bulky and there’s enough room for wearing a sweater underneath. Slim fit makes me feel “put together” when wearing with leggings, jeans,

September 15, 2019

Soft & Warm

Beautiful color. Soft, slim fit, keeps me warm. Love it!

September 13, 2019

Love it!

I usually wear an xs but bought a small in this. It's love how I have a little extra room to wear a sweater underneath. For reference I'm 5'3 and 108lbs.

September 11, 2019

I love this jacket. Great

I love this jacket. Great color, great fit. Very cozy. Happy I got it!

September 11, 2019

Love my Better Sweater!

My third one! Love them all...this one seems a bit smaller than my last one though?

September 11, 2019

Warm!!

Very nice jackets! Warm and comfy!

September 10, 2019

Fabulously Essential Basic!

The perfect layering piece! Warmth without feeling smothered. Handwarmer pockets that are actually warm, yet not bulky. It's become my go-to for everything from dog-walking to the-office-is-chilly. A really wonderful basic. I'm between a small and a medium in Patagonia. Since it's "slim fit,"I went with the medium, which i... Read Mores perfect.

September 10, 2019

Awesome Jacket!

This is my second Better Sweater Jacket and I love them. They are perfect to throw on when its chilly in the morning in the house and nice enough to wear out to dinner downtown. I highly recommend this jacket, the fit and fabric are perfect too.

September 8, 2019

I love it but

I love this better sweater it’s super warm and looks great for office or going out, except Patagonia doesn’t really make a fit works with big boobs. If you are questioning, look at the measurements and size up. I have also purchased this in a men’s before and the men’s fit pretty nice!

September 7, 2019

W's better sweater jacket

I love the color (matcha green). Great quality!

September 7, 2019

Way too narrow

I have and love a Better Sweater vest. Fits perfectly. Jacket is much more narrow. Returned it.

September 5, 2019

Perfect weight & fit!

This better sweater is the perfect hybrid between a jacket & sweater! It fits perfectly & is so comfy. Perfect for a hike or chilly fireside chats!

September 1, 2019

Excellent!

The sweater fits well and I love that the arms are long enough. It’s the perfect combo of comfort and nice enough to wear to work.

August 31, 2019

Better sweaters are the best

I love, love my better sweaters. They’re the most comfortable and warm pieces I’ve owned forever.

August 31, 2019

Sizing up isn't an option...

Got this in a M (I'm 5' 5" 135 lbs). The bottom opening is way too tight. Overall fit is slim. (Not regular fit as listed) Taking it off is difficult. Would send back for a large except the sleeves are already 2" too long! Great color though. I wish it had pockets.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing on this. Thanks for providing us with that feedback and if you'd like [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with just [returning](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it for a refund, please let us know.

August 31, 2019

Better Sweater 2019

I do like these sweater jackets from Patagonia, but I have always thought the sweater would benefit from two design changes. First there needs to be a bit more room at the bottom of the sweater for those of us with hips. Just a slight flare towards the bottom of the sweater would help with fit for the majority of people. Secondly a two way zipper w... Read Moreould make this sweater perfect. The ability to unzip from the bottom would make sitting down much easier on the sweater and most people’s midriff. Otherwise it’s a gem!

August 31, 2019

Beautiful

I live in Florida and its in the 90s everyday so I haven’t actually put my purchases to the test, but I can tell you they fit beautifully, the lines are clean, the materials are impressive and I have no doubts that I will love wearing them and they will serve me well.

August 25, 2019

Perfect jacket

Love this jacket. It’s the perfect weight for fall and even perfect for me to wear in the winter for added warmth throughout the day. This is my second zip up fleece and they all hold up so well.

August 24, 2019

Fit is perfect

l’ve ordered size L before and have had to return it for the XL when believing the size chart provided. However, everything fits perfectly! Hugs in all the right places but not too much.

August 24, 2019

Perfect for hiking in the Canadian Rockies!

I am 5'3" / 110lb / chest 32B. I bought XXS and it was perfect. I wore this during my 10 days hiking trip to Canadian Rockies. It kept me warm when I needed extra warmth. It also kept me cool from the mid day sunshine too ! (I don't sweat much..) Very comfortable, stretchy, breathable, stylish, functional with zipped pockets. I am co... Read Morensidering purchasing another color!

August 20, 2019

Best fleece jacket for petite people!

I can’t begin to tell you how many fleece jackets I have tried. I work in a hospital setting and I just wanted a jacket to wear at work when it gets cold. I am 5” 102 pounds and this is the first jacket that has fit me perfectly. The length on the arms is right and it forms my body. I’m extremely petite and so most jackets do not work. This one roc... Read Moreks! I bought it in 2 colors. Love Patagonia.

August 19, 2019

great jacket that is form

great jacket that is form fitting and warm. the arms seem a little short but i can deal with it.

August 16, 2019

Well worth it

It's more than I wanted to pay, but it is such a great jacket - it's a warm and solid jacket. I wear it running errands, around the house and to work. I am usually an XL in tops, but bought down to a size L. I think it runs a bit big and a bit long, but not in an ill-fitting way.

August 16, 2019

Fits like a glove

This sweater fits like a glove. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I wish there was a little more room for heavier layers underneath. But this one is great for a closer-to-body fit.

August 15, 2019

The arms were too snug

The arms were too snug and the chest a little too tight.

August 15, 2019

Amazing!

Best fleece ever! Be sure to size UP at least one size. Great quality!

August 15, 2019

Excellent

Quality is excellent, light weight yet warm. Fit is a little snug so definitely go up a size. Wish the arms had a little more room, thought.

August 15, 2019

Light and perfect

I love my jacket. My office is always cold during the summer and this jacket has come in very handy. It is light and perfect for me. I receive compliments from colleagues everyday.

August 14, 2019

There is a reason everyone walks around San Francisco in this jacket

It is a cozy well-fitting jacket that is great for those never-quite-warm enough days in the Bay Area to go without a jacket.

August 13, 2019

Love this sweater

Love the Better Sweater - can be worn for so many different occasions. I would prefer the sleeves be a little longer, but other than that, I'm very happy.

August 13, 2019

Warm and cozy

This jacket is very warm and cozy. Usually standard size sleeves are far too long for me (but the petite sizes are too small for everywhere else on my body), so I went with regular size M. The sleeves are only about a half an inch longer than my arms, so that was a nice surprise.

August 12, 2019

Patagonia Full zip jacket

Purchased this jacket for my 87 year old mother in law. She was beyond thrilled with the look, feel and fit of the jacket! She will love wearing it. Thank you

August 12, 2019

A good sweater

I love the fit and styling although it’s fairly straight and narrow so I could see how that might require sizing up of you’re curvy. Although it’s comfortable and warm, there’s no wind resistance. If there’s any wind it goes right though this. I have the recycled cashmere sweater and that actually provides more wind protection. Still, it’s comforta... Read Moreble and warm given those limitations.

August 11, 2019

Love

I wear this sweater too much. It’s perfect for around the house, outdoor adventures. Well made, looks new after 100’s of hours of wear already.

August 11, 2019

Love it!

I’m 5’10” and 128 lbs and this jacket fits great! Sleeves are long enough! I have one in birch that I’ve had for year and now added black. Love it.

August 11, 2019

My new favorite jacket

Light weight and comfortable as well as stylish. Thinking about buying another one in different color! This is a slim fit so if you’re in between sizes ( let’s say you wear a L/XL), I would recommend sizing up!

August 11, 2019

Love!!

This sweater is fantastic! Super comfortable, warm, and flattering. I brought it on a trip to Portland and it was all I needed to stay comfortable in the 40s-50s. Washes really well and travels well too. Ordered a M - 5'7, 135, athletic w broad shoulders and muscular arms, and the sleeves are on the tighter side but comfortable. I might want a... Read More L if I needed to wear long sleeves underneath. Great sweater and I would absolutely buy again at that great F&F sale price!!

August 10, 2019

Love it

True to size. Comfortable. Warm. Had my eye on this for a long time and so glad to finally get it (on sale!)

August 10, 2019

Bestest sweater

Love these better sweater jackets and pullovers. Go with everything and they are the perfect weight or later play most of the year.

August 10, 2019

Sweater/Jacket

Beautiful sweater, very good quality. And it fit me perfectly; really what I had expected.

August 10, 2019

Perfect

It’s a great all round “sweater.” I wear a medium and this medium fits perfect. Would buy again and again.

August 10, 2019

Womans sweater jacket

I ordered my first one in gray and white, so comfortable and fit amazing, I promptly ordered 2 more in coral and green. They are warm, true to size fitting

August 10, 2019

Comfortable, versatile, flattering.

Comfortable, versatile, flattering.

August 10, 2019

Disappointed with the quality of the sweater

I discovered this morning one of the sleeves stitching is coming undone and i don’t think I’ve worn it for even a month

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that the stitching is coming undone. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back for a warranty return. We are happy to get you a replacement jacket. Reach out if you need any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with that.

August 10, 2019

Great Sweater

I truly love my Patagonia products, especially this sweater. The zipper pockets are a definite plus!

August 10, 2019

Perfect Fleece

I have a number of 1/4 zip, full zip and retool snap t style Patagonia’s. I get the most use out of the full zip. They do run pretty snug so if you want room underneath to put another layer I would suggest sizing up. Must have for New England seasons!

August 10, 2019

Size up

I have purchased several of these over the years, so I’m not surprised I love my new one. Based on other reviews, I sized up this time. I usually wear a small but purchased a medium. I am 5’4.5” 128 lbs with broad shoulders and an athletic backside. The fit allows for layers underneath but doesn’t look too big, so thank you to my fellow reviewers f... Read Moreor the tip. The fabric feels a little thinner than my old ones, but that could be because the new one has only been washed a couple of times. No piling yet. The grey marl color is a great neutral. I will be bringing this on a business trip next month for the planned out-of-the-conference room activities. I can’t imagine going anywhere without a Patagonia fleece!

August 10, 2019

Jacket is very comfortable and

Jacket is very comfortable and warm.

August 10, 2019

Size

I ordered an xl large making sure I had enough room especially when it’s cold. Well the xl large is still snug.

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear the jacket fit snug. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and let us know if you have any questions.

August 10, 2019

Great sweater

I purchased this sweater to take the place of my fleece jacket, that I wear most of the winter in VA. I love everything about the jacket, but just wish there was a tall option for sizing. The sweater covers my torso, but a little extra length would be nice.

August 10, 2019

Fit

Love style and color, but arms are skimpy. Should have returned it.

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

We are sorry that the sleeves aren't fitting well. Please note, though we ask returns be made as soon as possible, we understand it may take some time to determine whether the fit is right. Please feel free to still [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us.

August 10, 2019

Great Everyday Jacket

Versatile and comfortable. Fits great and very flattering!

August 10, 2019

Perfect layer

Color and quality is perfect. Runs a little small if you want to wear as your primary jacket, you'll need to layer underneath. I'll be using it over a long sleeve and under a ski jacket. So comfy!

July 8, 2019

Perfect for Layers

I got the Better Sweater Jacket for a recent trip to Scotland where layering was needed. It is supposed to be a more fitted style, but I went up a couple sizes to be able to layer better. It worked out perfect! The design is very flattering, and the quality was great. This is a very versatile jacket and perfect for layering while hiking or spending... Read More time outside.

May 29, 2019

Women’s full zip better sweater jacket

This is the best sweater I have ever owned!! Actually this is the fifth time I’ve purchased the better sweater and I love them all. The comfort and fit only get better with wear. This item is great all year round every season. I wear it at night for summer camping and it’s the first thing I reach for in the morning. (I’ve even slept in it on chilly... Read More nights). It is totally snuggly soft and has warmth with breathability. I cannot do without my better sweater whether it’s to the market, around town or up in the mountains. Totally awesome!!

May 20, 2019

Good jacket (slim fit means slim fit)

I have the 2018 hoodie version of this sweater, but thought I'd speak to the pilling issue since the material is the same. I held off buying this for years because of what I'd read about the pilling, and finally went into my local store this past winter and asked one of the store associates about it. He was very nice and said that it was ... Read Morea known issue and that Patagonia has been working on it, and that if I did decide to buy it, I could expect some pilling -- but also that if it got really bad, I could bring it back for a potential exchange. So I bought it and have been wearing it pretty much nonstop for the last four months. Here is my opinion, as someone who loves her fleecy-fleece blankets and clothing: I think that almost all fleece is going to pill, or mat, or a combination of the two, at some point. Mine is somewhat pill-y all around the bottom ... but it really isn't that bad compared to some dressier sweaters I have. And surprisingly enough, even though I usually have a backpack strap on my right shoulder, the shoulder area hasn't pilled at all. If you have the patience, I would recommend hand-washing the jacket inside-out and air-drying, just to get as much life out of it as you can. I would not put it in the dryer, even on 'no heat' -- the repetitive action of the washer or dryer is what mats/beats up the fleece. The cut: When they say 'slim fit', they mean it. I used the online size chart and tried on different sizes in-store, and the online chart was accurate. But the jacket is a little tight in the shoulders and the arms are slim -- that's just the way the cut is. I can wear two T-shirts (long-sleeve and short-sleeve) under the jacket and still move, though, so it's not crazily restrictive. The only con is that after I bought mine, I started seeing tons of people wearing the same jacket in the same color (Birch White). Men, women, on the bus, on the street, everywhere. You would think we were all finance bros or something, haha. So if you don't mind seeing others wearing what you thought of as "your" jacket... Overall, I'm glad I spent the money and would buy it again. I've read the negative reviews and I'd still recommend it! I can't argue with the reviewer who said that Patagonia is marketing this more as an "athleisure" jacket. (For the record, I like a good long sleeve and I would use this to go skiing in, so can't agree with her on those points.) But I still like it because it's very warm, very well-made and designed, and the sales associate was willing to talk honestly with me about the pilling issues and potentially accept it for an exchange/return. You can get a similar jacket from other companies, for much less money. But I think Patagonia puts enough effort into this one to make it worth it.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

We've also got a great "how-to" video on de-pilling your Better Sweater on our Twitter page [here](https://twitter.com/patagonia/status/670330626239688705?lang=en). Check it out!

May 10, 2019

Better sweater

Love my Better Sweater. Beautiful color (atoll blue), great fit and very warm.

May 10, 2019

Love the better sweater!

I had to go up a size from my usual xs to small. The xs is too tight under the armpits and top of back, but fits perfectly everywhere else. The small is a little bigger and longer in the sleeves, but I usually layer underneath, so it works fine. Other than that, I love it.

May 9, 2019

Women’s better sweater

Love this sweater. It’s very versatile. It’s soft and reinforced. It has great pockets that zip. I highly recommend!

May 8, 2019

Sizing is way off

I have two better sweaters (a zip-up hoodie and a pull-over) that are both small. They're probably 6-7 years old at least. I bought a small in the regular zip up jacket and it's way too tight. I could barely get the sleeves on and then when I finally did and zipped up the front, I felt like a sausage. I was sad it didn't work out bec... Read Moreause I've had such great luck in the past.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the sizing didn't work out! We'd be happy to assist you with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) if you'd like. Feel free to [contact](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) us for any help with that.

May 8, 2019

should be called The Best Sweater!

This is my second better sweater and the first one i bought over 8 years ago... only got a new one as i wanted a bit bigger one. The original is still great. it does pill a bit so i picked up a lil battery operated pill getter... the sweater is warm, looks great, just love it!

May 8, 2019

Love it!

I love my Patagonia Better Sweater Full Zip. It fits great and it is so snuggly warm. It is so comfortable and versatile. I want it in different colors!!

May 8, 2019

Wear it all the time!

Perfect piece for all kinds of weather

May 8, 2019

women's sizing issue

While I love all things patagonia and own several item, this last purchase has been frustrating. Being 5'7" and 130lbs, I ordered a medium, which was tight on the left arm because of the zip pocket and a little too snug across the shoulders. The large arrived and it's huge on me. I can barely get my windbreaker over it when needed. I... Read More get sick of making returns so I kept it, but will not be using for streetwear and it looks a bit too sloppy.

May 8, 2019

Love it!!

It fits me perfectly, love the color, Lobe Patagonia style!

May 8, 2019

Better Sweater is better than your average sweater

My green Better Sweater is lightweight and comfy, but does run on the small side. It's a great versatile piece. I use my Better Sweater as a layer under my wind/water layer and it's great keeping me cozy while I'm trekking thru the prairie facing the fierce winds as well as the perfect layer to peel off halfway into a hike.

May 8, 2019

I returned the Ws Better Sweater® Jacket...

...because the sleeves were waaaaaay too tight.

April 9, 2019

Even tighter shoulders/arms than the 1/4-zip

I own the 2017-2018 quarter-zip Better Sweater in XS (left a review on it but in summary, the arms and shoulders are insanely tight compared to the body which is fairly boxy). I tried this style on hoping for either an updated fit this year or more give because it's a full-zip. No luck. I actually think it's even tighter than last year&#x... Read More27;s style which is barely wearable. I couldn't even get the sleeves on all the way to try the XS (my upper arms are definitely muscular but not insane) and I couldn't lift my arms more than halfway in the S. I tried on men's sizes but they go down mid-thigh on me. I'm at the point of replacing my Patagonia gear from 2007-2010ish and am blown away by how much the fit has changed. The sleeves in all tops are no longer roomy (isn't that the point of athletic clothing--to be able to move and do athletic activities?) and tend to run at least 3-4 inches longer than older styles. It appears Patagonia is designed more for "athleisure" than for athletes nowadays. Hoping the fit changes next year before I have to switch do a brand suited to athletes who use their arms. Fabric quality appears to still be good...

April 2, 2019

Sweater jacket

Great product! My wife is in love with this jacket, to the point that I had to order two more of them!

April 2, 2019

Warm, cozy trim-fitting performance fleece

This is a great piece when your need to pack multiple layers for uncertain changing weather conditions. I brought it with me on a kayaking trip and the shoulders were comfortable for paddling and it's slim profile made it easy to layer under a rain jacket. This is great for outdoor activities but it looks nice enough for casual weekend wear wh... Read Moreen out and about. I haven't experienced the pilling others have complained about. The only problem, and the reason for one star off, is that the sleeves are a tight fit, so if you are layering over a long sleeved top, you better hold on tight to the sleeve of your baselayer or it will be up past your elbow when you pull this jacket on.

March 31, 2019

This sweater pills!

I agree with previous reviews. This sweater is way too expensive to pill. Looks cheap after worn only a few times. Fabric is scratchy too.

March 31, 2019

This sweater pills!

I agree with previous reviews. This sweater is way too expensive to pill. Looks cheap after worn only a few times. Fabric is scratchy too.

March 27, 2019

poor fit

this years made in Sri Lanka ones have a much smaller fit than last years made in Thailand Jackets. The quality seems poorer as well. I was very disappointed.

March 25, 2019

Not long enough ...

I’m wanting a fleece that hits mid thigh (32”) because I want my hips to be covered when it is cold, due to prosthesis/metal screws in both hips. When it is cold outside, I feel it in my hips — and I want them to be covered in Patagonia fleece! Please make fleece items optionally longer!

March 19, 2019

Simply amazing!

I love this! It fits me PERFECTLY!! I am tiny (4’9”, 88lbs) and the XXS is just perfect! I have such a hard time finding things that fit well, so this makes me to happy that I will likely purchase another one. The inside is so super warm. It’s like fuzzy (which I didn’t expect) and so comfortable. I can’t comment on the piling as others stated beca... Read Moreuse I haven’t washed it yet. I’m hoping this holds up well because it may be my new favorite jacket!

March 4, 2019

So much piling!

I love Patagonia and I want to love this but it is piling like crazy. I live in Southern California and I bought it in June 2018. I don't wear it often and haven't even washed it since its such minimal use, however the jacket is piling and it looks terrible. I bought a sweater stone and it helps but it changes the way the knitting looks. ... Read MoreOverall I'm disappointed in the quality simply because I don't wear it often.

February 12, 2019

Nice Lite Jacket

I was gifted a fleece pullover for Christmas from Patagonia and I'm not much of a fan of things having to be pulled over my head on and off several times so I sent it back for a credit and added money to it and purchased this jacket that was full zip instead. I got it and its a nice lite weight jacket...but I was under the impression he would ... Read Morebe a little bit thicker. I read reviews saying it fit slim so I got a large instead of my normal medium and it roomy but still fits well so I would size up if you want a comfortable fit looser fit. It honestly wasn't worth the money as far as quality but I know the price tag is more so for the Name. But when you think how Patagonia sells snow clothes and hiking apparel this isn't one of their super warmer items. But still happy with it I have it on now

February 11, 2019

Not a fan of the fabric

So I am 6'0" and always looking for a nice black sweater/jacket with sleeves long enough and came across this beautiful jacket in December 2018. I am a Medium in Tall sizes (if available) and a Large in regular so went with a large. Fits AMAZING for me but I am just not loving the fabric! I have a few other Patagonia items that are holdin... Read Moreg up well but this one started pilling and fraying fairly quick considering I haven't worn it too many times. Never wore it for anything other than casual light wear. I know this is polyester which pills anyways but I guess I wasn't expecting it to be so soon considering the price tag and brand. I'm careful when I wash it and do not put it in dryer and it just looks pretty bad. I did some research on Patagonia website and saw they recommend buying the sweater stone to remove the pills. I bought the exact sweater stone they recommend and it just made it looks worse. It took some of the pills and fuzz off but it made it look pretty bad where you cant really see the lines in the details of the fabric if that makes sense? It made it look almost fleecy almost as if stone changed the overall appearance of the jacket. Pretty unhappy with this purchase and will probably avoid this type of jacket in the future.

February 4, 2019

Warm and comfy but the arms are WAY too tight :/

I debated on sending this back but figure it will be great for the summer at work...I work in a studio that is an icebox...I ordered a small I'm 5'7 and 125 fits everywhere perfect but the arms...

January 29, 2019

Love the fit and warmth - disappointed in the pilling

I LOVE my better sweater. It is warm, fits well and looks great! BUT... I've had this for about 3 month now and it has developed CONSIDERABLE pilling around the pockets and under the arms. The pilling is also just starting to show on the chest. I am pretty disappointed as the jacket now is starting to look old and dingy. When I bought this it ... Read Morequickly became one of my go to items to wear to work. I am worried that by the end of this season the pilling will be so bad that the jacket will no longer be suitable to wear to work.

January 15, 2019

Material not as soft or thick as before.

I have several generations of the Better Sweater jacket & it seems like the softness of the material continues to decline. This past season, I bought the dark currant & unfortunately left it in a hotel. I liked the color so much I did get another in November. I noticed the fleece seemed to be stiffer & thinner than my first dark currant... Read More jacket. I wonder if it has to do with the complaints of the jacket pilling. In response to those complaints, as I've said, I own several generations of these jackets & have only started to notice pilling on my men's chestnut BSJ (early version with the nicer zipper pulls) recently. That's only because I wear that one the most & practically live in BSJ's. So, I don't think that pilling was ever a problem before. Getting back to the declining quality, I'd rather Patagonia return to the softer, earlier versions of material at the risk of decreased durability. Having said that, the durability of the earlier jackets was never an issue for me. The fit is okay. I am 5'3" & 120 lbs. The small fits me well although I prefer a boxier fit.

January 14, 2019

Super cute fleece!

I got this today and it is a super nice fleece, it’s true to size and is a slimmer fit bit is still roomy. I’m 5’2”, 114 lbs., and I got a size S. I got the birch white and it would be amazing to wear this to school campus walking from the car to class and back to the car.

January 12, 2019

Slim Fit, more like Straight Jacket...

I received this jacket as a Christmas gift. I love the color, the fabric, the style, and the features. I received a size S. I am old, and have always worn size S. I’m 5’3” and 120 lbs. the shoulders were very narrow and the armhole depth is too small. I was unable to even wear it over a tee shirt. I exchanged it for a M, and the fit through the sho... Read Moreulders is better, but still feels bunchy with a shirt on underneath. Also the torso is a little sloppy and sleeves a tad long, which I could deal with, but there’s just something off about the proportions of this jacket. I’m going to try another Patagonia jacket today. If I can’t find one I like, I’ll be looking at another brand. I’ve worn slim fit before, but this is all wrong. Can’t say don’t buy it, but I would recommend trying it on first.

January 8, 2019

Better Sweater is Best!!!!

I have purchased 4 of these since the holidays for myself!!! I love the fit and the look perfect for cold winter days on Ohio. I’m 5’8” straigh build, 165 lbs size XL.

December 11, 2018

Zipper broke off

Zipper broke after a couple months of regular wear. Was on hold for over an hour for customer service. Phone call never answered or returned. Completely unacceptable customer service. Buyer beware. Great jacket until the zipper breaks in two for absolutely no good reason. Will no longer be buying from this company.

November 23, 2018

Loved the old Better Sweater. Fit has totally changed.

The old model of this sweater was one of my favorite Patagonia items. I got it large and it had roomy sleeves and a roomy fit and was a great layering piece. I often wore it with one of my old Patagonia fleeces and other layers underneath because there were three pockets that zipped for my phone, glasses, and keys. My size hasn't changed but t... Read Morehe fit has. I don't see any way to use this as an over-layer, even in the XL and I'm not a huge person. I don't know what larger women are supposed to do. REI and newer clothing brands are accommodating more body types now. Not sure why Patagonia is going in the other direction.

November 14, 2018

A keeper

Have owned one for 2 years. So cozy. Only complaint: I'm 5'9'. Wish it was longer to cover most of hip area.

November 2, 2018

yeehaw!

I got this for my daughter and she loves it! Out in Maine on the farm it can get cold and if you're looking for something to keep you warm, get this Patagonia!

October 17, 2018

Fits well and flattering

The jacket runs large, like every other patagonia clothes. But after downsizing, the jacket fits very well. Great for fall climbing and casual wear.

October 12, 2018

Erikadoe

Patagonia, you are better than this and it’s really disappointing. Two years ago my boyfriend bought me this exact sweater in the purple shade and I fell in love with how warm and thick the material was. I decided to buy the violet gray shade for my birthday and when I opened the package and tried it on I was extremely sad to see how thin and cheap... Read More the sweater looked. I will be returning it tomorrow

September 21, 2018

Good style not good quality

Considering the price I was hoping this jacket would last me years to come. I was wearing this at the office as my office loves to keep the AC cranked up. I wasn't even using this outside yet, as I live in Texas and it hasn't gotten that cold. This jacket pilled INSANELY quick. It looked really ratty. Like I said earlier for the price I w... Read Moreas expecting better quality material that would wear and tear better- especially since this jacket did this without even taking it outside. I really liked the fit of the jacket so I wanted it to work.

September 12, 2018

I live in this!

By far the comfiest jacket I own.

May 2, 2018

Also can't stop wearing it

I enjoy wearing this jacket because it's comfy,warm,but not too warm,and looks great. Can't comment on longevity yet,but much of my clothes pill,so I wouldn't be surprised. Anyway,I just thought someone out there might appreciate sizing commentary: I'm 5'2" and 107 lbs with 32B and shorter torso,and tried both XXS and ... Read MoreXS. I ultimately kept the XXS because although the arm opening was a bit small,the torso fit much nicer length- and width-wise. It fit much better under my size XS shells,and I had no plans to layer under the Better Sweater.

April 11, 2018

could be better

It's a super warm jacket but the only downside is that it pills super easily (pilled within two weeks of buying it and wearing it occasionally)

March 26, 2018

Amaaaaaazing sweater

I bought this sweater a few months ago in the fall and it did not disappoint whatsoever. It is fitted,flattering,super warm,and feels very sturdy and good-quality. It is starting to pill a little bit on the sleeves but I have washed it a lot. I feel like this sweater will last years and I can definitely see myself buying it in other colours as well... Read More. It's super comfortable for hiking as well as everyday life activities. When I got it I couldn't stop wearing it. I love love love this sweater!

March 20, 2018

Arm pocket is an unfortunate addition

I bought this jacket with custom embroidery on it so I unfortunately cannot return it. The arm pocket is so awful and completely impractical,I can't imagine why anyone would use it. A breast pocket would have been a much better addition or they should have just left the third pocket off entirely. The jacket fits perfectly with the exception of... Read More the left sleeve,but the left sleeve feeling too small is a major let down. Because of the stitching around the arm pocket,it is too snug/uncomfortable to wear anything under the sweater apart from a very tight long sleeve shirt or a sleeveless shirt. Pretty disappointing.

February 20, 2018

Buy a different fleece

I love Patagonia and own more fleece jackets than is probably necessary,but this jacket was disappointing. I am a college student and I bought this jacket so that I would wear a fleece while looking slightly more put together. This jacket is thinner than my other fleece jackets,pills and is static-y. Save your money and buy a re-tool snap instead.

January 15, 2018

Perfect to wear at home on frigid days

I just bought my second Better Sweater Jacket in a different color. Love the comfort and now I can set the thermostat a bit lower and still be comfortable. I use it as a layer under coat,or by itself on warmer days. Fit is good and I love the full zipper and pockets.

January 12, 2018

First version was best

I bought the very first version of this jacket years ago while working in Colorado. It still looks new. I have bought several since then and the quality is horrible. They pile and look awful quickly. Again,let me repeat ' the very first one I bought still looks amazing and I wear it all the time. Please look at how your product manufacturing a... Read Morend materials have changed since the beginning. It was much better 7-8 years ago!

January 6, 2018

Very warm!

I got this fleece in black for Christmas and love it. The pockets are great and the full-zip was important to me for my job. It's also incredibly warm for such a thin top! I've worn this with a thick shirt underneath in just below freezing temps and was warm enough. Sizing was a bit weird- I'm usually a S in fitted Patagonia tops,and... Read More an XS in non-fitted tops,so I requested the S for this fleece. It fits on the arms,but has some extra room around my waist. But the XS was too tight on the arms. I ended up keeping the S so I could layer things underneath! I think of this fleece as more of a jacket,whereas the 1/4 zip is more of a sweater/layering piece. It's professional enough to wear to work when the building is cold,and has been great for walking and hiking as well.

December 28, 2017

Love it

I love mine! I am nearly 5'2 & 110 lbs and I wear a size Small. It fits me very comfortably. I hate the cold and it keeps me extremely warm without bulkiness. I would highly suggest this item!!

December 27, 2017

Athleisure at its' finest.

I've had my better sweater jacket size extra small in the colour lupine for about a year. It's a gorgeous colour. It stretches out a little over time so I would definitely go with your regular size. I can wear a long sleeve and my micro d fleece hoody in the girls size extra large underneath. The pocket lining is super soft. It looks casu... Read Moreal yet put together and works well as a layering piece. The wind goes right through it,so I recommend wearing a windbreaker on top to elevate this issue. Also,wait for a sale,as they are overpriced despite being a lovely item. I feel good every time I put it on. It pills a bit but I wash it by hand in cold water and hang to dry,which has minimized this issue.

December 15, 2017

I live in mine

150 lbs,5'5" and normally wear a medium. I got the Better Sweater jacket in grey in a medium and it's perfect. It's so warm and cozy,I find myself reaching for it over and over again,ignoring all the other fleeces in my closet.

November 22, 2017

Love the fit and the color...

I love the comfort and slightly tapered fit of this sweater jacket. Very comfortable,and easy to layer underneath. I did get a size large,and it fits perfectly. The sleeves come down over my hands,which I like,and the hem is long enough to go down over the hips. I am 5'6.5",and 142 pounds.

October 28, 2017

Better Sweater more like Best Sweater

I bought this a month ago. I am 5' 11' and weigh about 116 pounds unfortunately it is too small and I have to return it but I love it so much I am getting it in a medium!

October 4, 2017

Better than all others...a great jacket

I bought this Sweater Jacket in Dark Ruby Red last fall and I love it so much,I just purchased a second in Pelican. Several of the other "sporting brand" clothing labels make a similar sweater fleece like this Patagonia and I've honestly owned one from each...Cabela's,Land's End,LL Bean,J Crew,etc. By far,this Patagonia Bet... Read Moreter Sweater Fleece Jacket way surpasses the competition in so many ways. I am 5'3" and 145 lbs,so I probably require the PETITE MEDIUM in order for the fit to be near perfect or 100%. However,I prefer a longer length,so I never purchase petite clothing. As others have stated,the REGULAR SMALL fit me well in the shoulders,bust and arms (arms are long) but the middle was tight; therefore,I repurchased in a REGULAR MEDIUM and the fit is good...a bit large in the shoulders,arms & bust but good in the middle. With that said,it is the quality,comfort and design of the Patagonia that for me,beats out the competition. I have an older Land's End Sweater Fleece,which I love but the quality of the Land's End newer items has significantly deteriorated. Any polyester item will likely "pill" at some point but this Patagonia has held up well. I hand wash my sweater and air dry it,so shrinkage has not been a problem. I love the colors,I love the warmth and comfort,I love the design...it's a great little jacket. I live in Michigan,which gets COLD in the winter and I lived in my Patagonia last winter! I layer up,throw a scarf around my neck,thrown on a hat "n gloves and I am good to go all winter! I dislike feeling bulky when I drive,so the weight and thickness of this jacket is PERFECT given my dislike for bulk. Sizing is a bit tricky but overall,this is a wonderful,warm,durable and cozy jacket! Buy one and you will love it,too!

September 30, 2017

My favourite sweater!

I love this sweater! I bought it about two months ago and I wear it everywhere! It's very comfortable and cozy

September 30, 2017

Love it

It fits a little big but the small would not fit around my boobs so it is still a great warm jacket

September 16, 2017

Complete Coziness!

This better sweater is beautifully designed and wonderfully made. It is perfect for Texas falls and winters because it's warm but not heavy. I can move around easily in it which is important to me as I like to be active. Really cozy too!

September 16, 2017

Women's Better Sweater

I love this jacket! Fits perfectly and is more stylish than a polar fleece. Perfect weight for 60 to 70 degree weather. Thinking about buying an additional color.

September 16, 2017

Great versatile jacket!

I bought my first Better Sweater jacket about a year and a half ago and have added four since. This is a great versatile jacket for many occasions! Perfect as a stand alone or under a vest for sports like fall/winter paddle,late season boating or just watching sporting events. It holds up well and is very comfortable to wear. I normally wear a medi... Read Moreum but got a large since I like to have more room to move in sports. Highly recommend!

September 16, 2017

Favorite jacket!

This is my 3rd Patagonia Better Sweater jacket. It fits perfectly,is warm,light weight and washes well. My whole family wears Patagonia,and loves their jackets and pullovers.

September 9, 2017

A little big

I really love this jacket but it is just a little too big. I ordered a pullover in a size large because it ran snug,so I ordered a large in this jacket. I definitely could have ordered a medium. I'm still going to keep it and hope it doesn't look too big! Very comfortable and warm.

September 8, 2017

LOVE IT

I bought this in June and I love it so much,I am so happy that I bought it. Pretty warm and comfortable! The pockets also are super useful!

September 2, 2017

So comfortable

I'm 5'3 and 135 lb and size small was perfect fit,I got it in light blue color,I get so many compliments on it. Love this jacket

August 19, 2017

Never cold

Aging,I get cold and only your better sweaters keeps me just right all the time!

August 5, 2017

Versatile and comfortable

This arrived just in time for my trip to the Canadian Rocky Mountains and i wore it every day on the tour.

June 24, 2017

Better sweater not Better

I returned this. I have Been buying Patagonia for over 10 years. My family has 4 of these better sweaters and you are not making them with the same quality material. The material is thinner and not as soft as my other ones. Not to mention they are shorter. Very dissapointed. I would not recommend especially for the price.

June 21, 2017

Yummy

Love this. It feels so good I almost wish I didn't live in Hawaii so I could wear it more often. I bought it mainly for trips to Oregon and Nevada,damp days or cool nights,but I've worn it here on rainy winter evening and at the top of Mauna Kea for star gazing. It's going with me next month for hiking,apres SUP,early morning pre-ski... Read More wear,nights out in the high desert. I bought it a little large so I could layer,and I just like things a little looser down here to breathe. Comfortable,just feels good. Nice colors.

June 19, 2017

Great every day jacket but strange sizing

Bought on sale a few months ago,this jacket has quickly entered my everyday arsenal. I normally wear a medium but got it in small as I wanted a slimmer fit,which I thought was more flattering. I think because I sized down I can only comfortably wear tank tops and T-shirts,but my boyfriend also finds it kind of uncomfortable to wear long sleeves wit... Read Moreh this jacket (he wears a men's small/medium and got it in men's medium). I usually wear this as a base layer underneath a rain jacket or packable down jacket.

June 3, 2017

Love this jacket!

I bought this jacket for a trip out West during May for cooler temps. It was a perfect piece to have. I really like the fabric quality,as well as the beautiful color I chose Cuban blue. I'm 5'7'' and 130 lb. I like the trim fit of the size small. Very happy with my purchase.

April 20, 2017

Sizing woes

I really wanted to love this jacket but couldn't find the right fit. I'm 5'4 135 lbs with 34D chest. I ended up trying both the small and medium but was disappointed on the fit of both. The medium fit me well in the chest but was extremely baggy everywhere else and made me look like I was wearing a men's jacket. The arm length w... Read Moreent a good 2-3 inches past my wrist. The small fit well everywhere besides my chest and made me feel constricted. I much prefer the performance better sweater (in medium). This product was much more accommodating to a larger chest. That product seems to run a bit smaller for a medium and has nice stretch panels at the slide with a less boxy fit that the original better sweater. This led to a slim but not tight fit that was more flattering (and with a drop hem!!!).

April 15, 2017

Lovely color & fit

I bought this a month ago,and I absolutely love it. I purchased the violet/red color and it's so pretty. It is very warm,comfortable,and the fit is fantastic. I am already thinking about the next colors I get because I will definitely be ordering more.

April 15, 2017

Great color!

Love the color and it's so cozy and warm. It doesn't block the wind so just make sure to have a wind layer! I get so many compliments on this and hope to have it for years to come.

April 15, 2017

Must have

I didn't think I needed this but I wear it almost every day! Super cozy. Can't be replaced by anything else in my closet when I just want to feel snug but look good.

April 15, 2017

Nice

This sweater/jacket is great. I'm 5'5",around 135 pounds; selected the medium. Fit is nice.

April 5, 2017

Great fit,great style

Got this for my birthday this year and I LOVE it. Originally bought size XS but after debating,ended up exchanging it for XXS (which Patagonia doesn't always carry this size so I wasn't even aware there was one this small!) I am 5'1 and ~100 lbs -the XS was a bit roomy in the middle and arms and the sleeves were much too long. I am e... Read Morextremely happy with the XXS -it is truly a great fit and I can't wait to get many year's worth of use out of it!

April 5, 2017

Perfect!

This is an ideal layering piece for unpredictable spring-time weather,and it's also a great stand-alone staple in my closet! I'm 5'2 with narrow shoulders,and I ordered a small -- I still have enough room to even wear cardigans under this fleece jacket. I highly recommend this jacket,and my only regret is that I didn't purchase ... Read Morethis sooner!

April 1, 2017

Light weight

This sweater is very light weight and I hoped it would be perfect for backpacking. It has a nice fit in the torso and shoulders and the sleeves are a perfect length. The small is still a little wide for me at the bottom. (I'm 5'6 and 140 lbs) It's not a big deal for casual wear but with the hip belt of a pack fastened,it flares out a... Read Morewkwardly. I'll return this and find another that is a little longer.

March 25, 2017

Warm,stylish,and durable.

I bought this two months ago and LOVE this jacket. Just right for those chilly days. It has long enough sleeves,fits nicely through the torso,and looks really sharp.

March 25, 2017

Comfortable,flattering

Love this jacket. It is warm but still light. I like the slight tailoring so it doesn't look like I'm wearing a box.

March 25, 2017

Well made!

Very warm and comfortable,and love the purple color. I usually buy petite sizes and I do have to turn under the sleeves but the overall length is good. I was worried the the medium would be to tight in the bust but it is a comfortable fit. Haven't wore it outside yet but it's great in the house.

March 25, 2017

Comfy!

Love my Better Sweater Jacket! Comfy,cozy,and fits just right!

March 24, 2017

Love the Women's Better Sweater JacketI

I bought this jacket a month ago and am so glad I did. It provides great warmth and is just right to throw on over my shirts. It was a little long in the sleeves for me,but will be ok.

March 22, 2017

So comfortable

I purchased this jacket to be worn regularly as an extra layer. Its perfect for Southern California weather,especially mild winter days. Its super soft,and really comfortable. The fit is perfect,with plenty of room for a long sleeve or lightweight sweater underneath.

March 21, 2017

Ramble Red is more of a dark red-orange

Very comfortable but a little bulky (I'm 5'5,135 lb,usually wear a Medium); also I was looking for more of a bold red than an orange color which I think the "Ramble Red" resembles. Therefore returning.

March 20, 2017

wanted to love it

I really wanted to love this jacket. It's comfortable but the sleeves are really long. I'm about 5'7" and have average length arms but I have to roll up the ends of the sleeves which I don't like to do. I got it on sale for 50% off,it wouldn't be worth paying full price.

March 20, 2017

Most Comfortable Sweater Ever

This is my Go-to Jacket for around the house,running errands and hiking. Comfy,cozy yet hard working.

March 18, 2017

Great purchase!

I bought this a little over a month ago and have worn it almost every day since. Great as everyday wear.

March 18, 2017

Very comfortable

I bought this jacket because I wanted a warm zip up jacket,and this is perfect! Very comfortable. Love all the pockets.

March 12, 2017

My daughter loves this jacket

I bought this for my daughter's 13th birthday. She is 5 foot 1 and 90lbs. The women's XS side fits great.

March 12, 2017

Cozy

I tried several Patagonia jackets and fits until I finally landed this gem. I love it. It's a perfect go-to for the in between seasons that affect me. I will enjoy this forever and will consider adding another color.

March 11, 2017

good fit

I am happy with this jacket but would love to have some more colors choices. I have two of these jackets.

March 11, 2017

Worst experience with this jacket

I bought this jacket a few months ago. I loved the jacket and once I washed it the zipper looked funny after that and I didn't even put it in the dryer. I've tried to fix the zipper because it's not straight anymore like when I first purchased it. Very unhappy with the quality of this jacket

March 6, 2017

Nice warm sweater jacket

I bought the Better Sweater Jacket online a month ago. When it came,I tried it on and liked its style and material.

March 5, 2017

Not Quite a Better Sweater Jacket

Not as nice as the earlier version - I liked the ribbon- like fabric along the zipper and preferred the fleese fabric on collar vs light - weight knit. The quality seemed slightly diminished.

March 4, 2017

Warm and comfortable

Love the color. Only thing is the sleeve r too long. I tuck them under as needed.

February 25, 2017

Made with the usual Patagonia quality

It is an incredibly well built and versatile jacket. Layers really well. The females in our tribe have a traditional greeting of "nice piece" to acknowledge good clothing. I get that a lot when I wear this,high praise indeed.

February 15, 2017

NOT WARM

I bought this jacket because I thought it was cute. However,Its not warm what so ever! Wind goes right through it. Ive always worn North Face and decided to try out Patagonia because I think there stuff is cute but I'm very unhappy with my first purchase.

February 12, 2017

Warm but not in love with the Fit

The better sweater is very warm but I'm not exactly in love with the fit on me. I bought a small only bc the XS was so tight on my bust. In the store,I thought the small look good but upon seeing myself in pictures,wearing the sweater,I see that it wears me rather than I wear it. It is rather boxy so I feel some contouring in the sweater would... Read More be nice. The warmth is nice so I'm not sure if I'll keep it.

February 6, 2017

Sizing off

Really like the better sweater but the size SMALL has very long sleeves yet tight in the arm when I wear over a light weight sweater.

February 4, 2017

Very warm and soft

I'm 5'7 145 pounds 36C chest and found the medium to be best fit with a long sleeve tee underneath or even a light sweater. The small group was very snug but I can see how others might like that fitted fit. It's very warm but not windproofed and very soft,comfortable and has nice features like the arm zipper that fits my iPhone 7 plu... Read Mores (playing music aloud with the volume up you can hear it nicely...no muffling sound) and the pocket zippers. Overall,super pleased.

February 4, 2017

My new favorite piece of clothing

I find myself choosing the rest of my wardrobe around this item. Originally,I got one for my dad. Then I bought 2 for myself. I've received many compliments for the way it wears. I love it because it is slightly warmer than a fleece but fits comfortably. Love the zip pockets. I wear it as an everyday item but I have also worn it hiking.

January 28, 2017

Great for everyday and activities!

Love this jacket! Got it for Christmas and have worn it as often as possible since! It's great for every day wear and for activities! I wear it hiking a lot! Went a size up so it was good for layering and it works with things under it but is not too big on its own either!

January 25, 2017

Disappointed in Quality

I loved this jacket for a casual day out,but the quality really disappointed me. It pilled terribly! So much so that my husband even mentioned that I needed to retire my jacket. I thought the Better Sweater would have lasted me at least a few years! I have a North Face Windwall that I've had for nearly 10 years that I got more use out of and i... Read Moret still looks brand new. I just expected more from Patagonia.

January 21, 2017

sweatwr

Great quality it's worth buying something of good quality .

January 19, 2017

Awesome

Awesome jacket for hiking and everyday stuff! Love!

January 15, 2017

Great fit but pills up terribly!

I love the look,feel & fit of this jacket,but after just a few wears,the front & arms have pillled up terribly. For the price of this garment,this is unacceptable. The jacket looks like it's years old,instead of weeks.

January 12, 2017

Christmas Gift for Niece

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my 15 year old niece. She was thrilled and has since told me it was very warm and she loved it.

January 12, 2017

Essential

My second. Everyone's closet should have one. Perfect for any activity.

January 11, 2017

Better sweater jacket

I bought this for my daughter for Christmas & she loves it

January 11, 2017

So comfortable!

This sweater certainly has lived up to its name! I love the glacial blue color and the fit is just right. I expect it will last many years :)

January 11, 2017

A bit boxy but so comfortable

I really really like this product. Very comfortable and good color (I got grey). I did not like how it was a bit boxy at the bottom,but other than that it is great.

January 11, 2017

cozy

This sweater keeps me toasty and is wearing really nicely. It washes up great and hold its shape with no pilling.

January 11, 2017

My wish came true.

I have been wanting a better sweater for a while now. I got one for Christmas,and am I happy! It is super warm,sleek,slimming and fits true to size.

January 11, 2017

Perfect Fit & Ultimate Warmth

I waited months to click the purchase button because I had heard that sizes may run small. But I ended up ordering a small (which is my original size) and it fits PERFECTLY. Not only that - it is so comfortable and warm. The color is perfect. It

January 11, 2017

Nice jacket but...

I love this jacket,it looks nice it's warm and it's got plenty of pockets for women's jacket. But if you're short like me,the arms are going to be very very long. On top of the price I paid I had to pay for tailoring. I wish Patagonia had a petite section.

January 11, 2017

Love it

Zipper wasn't working so Patagonia replaced it,live in it!

January 11, 2017

Perfect fit

I bought this for one of my daughters and she loves it!!!

January 11, 2017

The Better Sweater is a better sweater

THis sweater is our "official family uniform" - warm,comfortable,convenient inside and zippered pockets - Wear this with a t-shirt and jeans - you'll look so much better

January 11, 2017

Warmest,most comfortable sweaters!

I have four of these sweaters purchased over the years. I wear them all the time. They are warm,comfortable and allow full freedom of movement. The first one I bought about seven years ago and it's still in perfect condition after being washed multiple times. I highly recommend this product!

January 11, 2017

Great sweater!

Bought this a month ago,in the silver birch color,and love it. Great fit,comfortable and warm. Also gets nice compliments.

January 11, 2017

Great fit and quality

I've wanted the Patagonia Better Sweater in this color for awhile (already have it in black),and I was happy to purchase it at full price on the day Patagonia donated all its proceeds to charity. This is a beautiful jacket that fits really well - close to the body to keep you warm without being restrictive. I also love the special features suc... Read Moreh as zippered pockets,including one on the sleeve. Couldn't ask for a better product.

January 11, 2017

Sizes are off

Bought this for my daughter for Christmas. She normally wears a small so I ordered a small. It was huge on her so we had to go to the store that carried Patagonia to have her try on other sizes and realized she was an extra small. She returned it to get the extra small and you were out of stock. Not happy about this gift

January 11, 2017

Very warm and versatile!

I bought this jacket a month ago and it has become my go to warm layering jacket in the midst of a Minnesota winter! The fit is just fitted enough but not too fitted,the fabric is thick enough to be very warm but not bulky. I particularly like the length of this jacket compared to similar jackets by other brands since it's not too long,not too... Read More short.

January 11, 2017

She loves it!

I bought this for my teenage son's girlfriend as a Christmas gift. She wears it everyday and loves it!

January 11, 2017

Great jacket

I now own 2 of these jackets,one in the gray and one in the teal. They fit well are soft. Ideal for spring/fall. My only issue is that I have washed the gray one 5-6 times and the inside and outside of the jacket have pilled. You can tell the gray one is more worn out after just 5-6 washings. Because of that I'm now hesitant to wash my brand n... Read Moreew real jacket. In comparison,I bought one of the retool fleece jacket several years ago and even after all that time it still looks new.

January 11, 2017

Too bulky

Ordered this in a small and found it too big and gappy - lots of extra material across that back. A little disappointed as other Patagonia smalls have fit better and looked more streamlined.

January 11, 2017

warm

Jennifer loves it,was a gift from me. Very good,well functioning garment. For our climate and a number of outdoor activities it is perfect

January 11, 2017

My Favorite!

I'm an RN and this is literally the best sweater to wear to work. It's lightweight,warm,functional,and still professional looking with scrubs. Many nurses seem to have those jackets too. It really is the Better Sweater! Thanks Patagonia for making awesome apparel!

January 11, 2017

Very warm!

I got this sweater just to wear casually when outside. It's very warm and fits great. I haven't had any issues with it to date.

January 11, 2017

My new favorite jacket!

They gray is a great neutral color that can go with everything. Its warm,cozy and well made. Looking foward to lots of fall and winter days with this jacket.

January 11, 2017

Warm,stylish,functional,thin sweater

I bought this sweater to replace my previous fleece. Overall,I love this sweater so much. It is very warm and when temperatures reach well below 0C,it works perfectly as a layering piece over thermals/sweaters and under more insulated jackets. I also use this as my outside layer when running in the very cold temperatures. I am short and petite (5&... Read More#x27;2) so I purchased the XS. The sleeve and hip length is perfect. The pockets are in perfect position with durable zippers. My only complaint is the outside fabric is starting to pill and giving it a slightly haggard look. Even though I gentle cold water wash and air dry.

January 11, 2017

Awesome Fleece

Love the sweater. I get cold very soon and I am very happy I got this Sweater. keeps me warm.

January 11, 2017

Super warm!

I bought this piece to layer underneath my ski jacket for extra warmth. It does NOT disappoint. I love the slim fit,and all the pockets. It also looks great on its own. Love it!

January 11, 2017

it's a sweater,it's a jacket...it's a "swacket"

Ridiculous review title aside,this is an insanely soft,warm garment. Sadly,I first pressed it into service while propped up in chairs during an all-nighter at the hospital; the jacket kept me warm and was the most comfortable (and comforting) aspect of the night. Easy to care for (permanent press cold cycle,line dry) and very warm (ideal for 50s an... Read Mored below) I've worn it outside as a jacket and indoors as a cardie. Super happy with the slim fit,can be easily layered over a tee or base layer.

January 11, 2017

Love the handsome look and feel

I bought this in October - it was to be my every moment wearing garment while I work at home and go to the store and go hiking on Saturdays. The first one did not survive the first wash without pilling every inch. However,I returned it to my local Patagonia store they told me that the wear and tear of this fabric is equal to the fabrics it is used ... Read Morewith and washed with. (unlike my indestructible Patagonia hairy fleece) Pilling will occur with use and with washing,or with wearing with opposing types of textile fibres. I had an option to trade it for another product - but chose to repurchase the same and vow to wear only with poly/nylon lined jackets and will wash hand-wash and hang dry from now on.

January 11, 2017

I gave it to my mom and I almost stole it back

The outside is smooth and professional looking. It looks much more together than the average snugly zip up fuzzy jacket. I like it so much I need one of my own.

January 8, 2017

So warm!

Bought this a little over two months ago and I am in love! Thin enough to wear under something but also thick enough to keep me warm if I need to quickly run to the car quickly or take out the trash. Definitely runs small though so size up,especially if you want to have the option of wearing something thicker than a t shirt underneath.

January 7, 2017

Love-but easily pills

Love this jacket! I live in the South,so this works as a winter jacket for me. However,after a few wears and washes the jacket pills pretty badly on the sleeves. For the cost I would expect a higher quality product.

January 5, 2017

Pilling ruins it

I bought this to wear to work as a nurse and was so happy with the fit and functionality I bought it another color. Unfortunately after just a few wears over a couple of months it has pilled so badly I no longer feel comfortable wearing it to work as it looks sloppy and worn out. I am very disappointed and regret spending the money and encouraging ... Read Moreothers to purchase as well.

December 9, 2016

Pretty good

Agree that over time there is too much unfortunate pilling. Otherwise pleased with the warmth,quality,versatility.

November 2, 2016

functional,but excessive pilling over time

Owned this in black for a couple of years. Finally gave it up because the pilling was so bad that I felt disheveled every time I put it on. This piece was not a keeper and I'd be hesitant to try any other "Better Sweater" items for this reason.

October 22, 2016

Better than expected

I love everything about this jacket. The color is beautiful,the fit is perfect and I love the material. It's perfect for the crisp fall days in NY.

October 4, 2016

Very comfortable

I've had this sweater in the violet red for one month and I love it! The colour is so vibrant. I was worried it would be too warm because it is very thick but in fact it's quite light weight. The wind still gets through it easily. Tons of compliments on this colour. Great purchase.

August 21, 2016

Love the jacket,but bad zipper

I love the slim fit and look of this jacket,however; the fabric pills quickly (hand wash only) and the zipper has broken. The zipper is difficult to start and comes undone from the bottom,leaving my stuck and unable to unzip the jacket.

August 12, 2016

Universal

Bought this 2 years ago and it is still holding strong (and I wear it ALL the time)- best "jacket"/light-layer I have ever owned. You can wear this just about anywhere. I would wear this to and from class on 10-below days in the winter and I was only slightly chilly. I am 6'1,160lbs and this fit just right,the sleeves are not too lo... Read Moreng,not too short! I also have very short friends who own this jacket and it fits them perfectly as well. Only complaint is that it does not hold up against the wind,the cold goes right through it. I go to school in Chicago and I need a light windbreaker on those especially windy days.

June 22, 2016

One of a Wardrobes Foundational Piece

This thing goes everywhere and does everything.... From the bush/tundra of AK villages to the CO Rockies,to work,and chilly days in WA.... as a mama,nurse,backpacker.... this piece has been one of my favorites and most essential. Easy to wash,quick to dry,durable and resistant to wear and tear. I have the color black- it has not faded but does pi... Read Morell some when used on low cycle in drier (its best just to air dry). The fit is perfect... as a busty lady it provides enough room and contour. Def. recommend this to everyone/everywhere.

June 15, 2016

Everyday adventurer

I love this jacket. Works everywhere from an ice rink,hiking up and down waterfall trails,to taking a late night walk down the beach. I've had it for about 2 months and it is definately a staple now. I'd like a few more. The fit is perfect,I'm 5'2 (and built like the hockey player I am) and the small fit nicely. Two thumbs up!

June 12, 2016

Favorite Jacket

Not only true to size,this sweater jacket is warm,soft inside,and very stylish. Its warmth is second to none and I'll never purchase a fleece zipup of any kind from now on. Zippers are sturdy and keeps its shape. Love that the collar can be worn popped up or down. LOVE this sweater jacket!

May 24, 2016

Live in it

I absolutely LOVE this sweater!!! My husband wants his own now and keeps telling me that I must be BETTER than him because I have a Better Sweater :-)

May 21, 2016

Loved it,until I didn't

This is my second full-zip better sweater. I had no problems with the first one for years,so I bought a second in a different color. After a month of regular wear and wash the zipper pull completely broke off. I am extremely disappointed. I am not sure if the design changed,or what,but this is not the same quality as my first better sweater.

April 30, 2016

Cozy and stylin', but...

This jacket is cozy, fits well, and looks great. The color options are vibrant and beautiful. I wear it around the house (kinda like a sweatshirt) and outside on dry, mild spring/fall days. It bridges the gap well between being functional, athletic, and semi-dressy. The fleece on the inside has remained soft and comfy on the skin despite a few wash... Read Moreings. It's kept its shape, too. My only complaint is that it pills, which always looks kinda yucky. I've actually taken a pair of clippers to it to shave them off (which works surprisingly well).

February 9, 2016

Nice,but too small

I was so excited for this sweater to arrive. But when it did it was too small in the bust and arms. I ordered an XXsmall going off of the size chart Patagonia provides and it was really tight in the bust and short the arms. I promptly returned the XXsmall and I am now waiting for an Xsmall,but based on the size chart I will swim in the Xsmall. So s... Read Moreize up when ordering. Otherwise really happy with the Better Sweater.

February 8, 2016

Favorite Fleece from Patagonia

Having been dressed in Patagonia fleece since I was a baby, I think I've worn just about every fleece that they have made over the past 30 years. Received the Better Sweater as a Christmas gift this year

February 8, 2016

love the Better Sweater!

The Better Sweater is one of my favorite things. It warm and cozy and very comfortable. It can be outerwear in cool fall or spring weather (as we know it in the Pacific Northwest) and works perfectly as a sweater in cold weather. Other reviewers have mentioned pilling and I agree that's an issue. But I love mine so much,I just de-pill them. I ... Read Morealso got a tip from a salesperson that if they're washed inside out,pilling is reduced. The fit is great: slim,but not tight. The Supply Green is a lot brighter than the photo shows--it's a real bright lime green. I've found the other photos to be true to the colors and the color selection is great. I also like that it's a low-impact product during its production.

January 3, 2016

Good, But Not Great Jacket

This is my first Patagonia Jacket. Coming from a North Face fanatic, this jacket was somewhat underwhelming. I has the option of choosing this jacket or a North Face Denali, and I chose the Better Sweater instead. Obviously, this was cheaper, but I'd thought I'd give Patagonia a try. I'm 5'4 and 118 lbs, thinking it was slim fit... Read More, I got a S , and when I tried it on, it kinda had an awkward fit. It had a lot of room in the waist area, but quite tight on the arms. I live in the Bay Area, and the coldest it is, is about 40 degrees and I wore it out today along with a long sleeve t-shirt and still felt a little cold. As a for washing, this jacket went through the washer and dryer and there was no pilling (inside out of course). Maybe if I has extra cash, I would get the linen one.

November 23, 2015

Solid work jacket

I am a home care nurse in and out car and very hot house during fall and winter months . This better sweater jacket is the bomb! Looks great on professional pockets just right size, warm great laying piece with coat or vest. Yes the older version piles don't dry them cuts back on the pile and the dry quickly. I am the proud owner of six of the... Read Morem now.

November 19, 2015

Quality not up to previous Patagonia purchases

Having owned various Patagonia fleece jackets, the basic full-zip fleece was discontinued. I purchased the "better sweater" as a replacement. Within no time the jacket started to pill. And NO, I do not want to have to use a lint buzzer after each wear as it is not what I expect from a Patagonia product. I do not recomment this product.

October 10, 2015

Perfect Wool Sweater Replacement

Let me preface my review by saying that I live in New Hampshire's White Mountains and I get cold easily. I wear fleece daily year-round for work and casual wear, as well as numerous outdoor activities. My husband and I each have 6-8 Patagonia Better Sweater fleeces. They are what the name says, "the better sweater"! These fleeces ar... Read Moree the perfect replacements for our older wool sweaters. I often wear mine with corduroy skirts, tights, and boots - dressing them up with colorful shirts or scarves for work. To care for these fleeces and maintain "the better sweater" look, I machine-wash them inside-out and hang them to air-dry. I have not had a problem with pilling. For hiking, kayaking, skiing, etc. - I prefer to wear other types of fleeces.

October 2, 2015

Best all-purpose sweater

I got this two years ago as a Christmas present and it's one of the best presents I've ever received. In the spring and fall I wear this constantly (I was actually called out by a friend for wearing it three weekends in a row) and it is still in just as good of a shape as when I got it. I do not do anything extreme in it, mostly hiking, w... Read Morealking the dog, and running errands but at least 3 of my friends have now bought the same sweater.

September 28, 2015

great while it lasted.....

this fleece was a gift, and i loved the look and feel of it. great for east coast fall weather - you could throw it on for a nice chilly hike, but still feel comfortable wearing it out to a casual dinner afterwards. unfortunately, it was very susceptible to pilling (especially on the chest), and later, small holes. i ended up returning it....i&#x27... Read More;m now replacing it with the tech fleece jacket, and hoping for a better outcome.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches