Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Woolie Chore Coat

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 34 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Woolie Chore Coat

4.6/5
Kinda Large
October 1, 2021

Great chore coat!

I purchased this chore coat for warmth in Alaska w/o having too much weight. It has become a great substitute for a car coat. What a great find!

September 16, 2021

No thanks

Very unstructured, not a coat, not a fleece, not a heavy shirt. Inner pockets show through jacket. Returned immediately.

September 11, 2021

Comfortable! Lightweight but keeps you warm.

Perfect lightweight comfortable jacket. Great jacket for travel - it's easy to pack, and great to wear inflight. I keep it in the office because the thermostat there only has two settings - hot, and arctic. I live in southern Alabama so this will probably be all the winter coat that I need.

August 23, 2021

Warm, comfortable, and versatile.

This Jacket right here is the epitome of the classic shirt jacket.

August 6, 2021

All around warm jacket

Perfect for chilly nightseasy to care for

July 15, 2021

Can't wait to wear it

Purchased this summer because I can't resist a Patagonia sale... but this puppy is WARM. Can't wait to wear it when it cools down outside.

July 4, 2021

Kind itchy but I can deal with it

Can you live with being a little itchy in exchange for comfy and cozy? That should go without saying because its wool, but now you know. I like the classic style. I prefer to lounge in my house with this because its not as noisy (friction noise) as my Patagonia micro-puff jacket, and this is warmer to boot.

April 9, 2021

really wanted it to work

love the concept, fit and look, but the fabric was pilling right out the bag. and i dont mind a ragged outfit, but the pilling looked off. if the woolie chore is redone ill be the first to buy.

April 9, 2021

Perfect layer for a cold home office

Highly recommended! I could turn up the heat a few degrees, but with the comfort, warmth, and style of this jacket why bother!? Not to mention, doing so would just amount to more BTUs and CO2 into the atmosphere...

April 6, 2021

Versatile Indoors & Out

Jacket, shirtjacket & sweater all rolled into one. Good for indoor use as a sweater and outdoor use as a jacket.

March 29, 2021

Perfect Chore Jacket!

So, Ive searched for chore jackets online world over and found this jacket to be spot on for what I needed. Super pleased with the overall warmth, size and color. In fact, Im kinda picky about coordinating my casual and active wear so I bought ALL three colors! They are great with just a t or sweater underneath and especially like the length of sle... Read Moreeves and covers mid back side. Stylish, warm and comfy! Highly recommended for an early or late stroll with the dog or out for an evening with a pair of jeans.

February 24, 2021

Super Dope wool coat

I have had the coat for about 3 weeks now and have worn it mainly around the house as I am currently working from how. I have worn it in temperature ranging from 42-65 and has been comfortable. It is not thick but I prefer it this way so it doesn't get too hot during California temps. My only concern is the piling that developed from the very ... Read Morefirst day of extremely light use (working at my desk). With the exception of the piling and slightly long sleeves, I love it and would definitely buy it again! The Forge Grey color is awesome, preferred it over the brown!

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all the feedback. We're sorry to hear that your Woolie Chore Coat has begun to pill. Piling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. Unfortunately, the Woolie Chore Coat is no exception to this. To prevent pilling in the future, wash either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your machine on gentle. It's best to lay flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. o remove pilling that has already occurred, a fabric shaver or sweater stone are excellent tools and can help it look brand new again!

January 15, 2021

I am in love

Bought this even though I'm a woman and it's a men's piece - Patagonia, you've gotta make more stuff like this for women! I've only been wearing it for a couple of hours and I already know this is one of the best casual items I've ever gotten from Patagonia. Jacket is incredibly warm and great looking. I'm 5'... Read More3" 125 lbs and the XS fits great - a little long in the sleeves but that's expected when you're a lady getting a men's size. As a Patagonia dealer, I'm always being asked if men's pieces like this jacket and the Silent Down jacket are made for ladies and always get a disappointed response when I tell them no (I know there is a Women's Silent Down Jkt, but I and others find the men's version is much nicer looking). Again, it'd be wonderful if Patagonia could make more stuff like this for ladies!

January 6, 2021

My work from home jacket

Truth be told, I worked from home before the pandemic, but this jacket makes my daily routine that much more enjoyable. Pockets in the right places, and keeps me warm, so I can keep the heat on low. And, of course, it's recycled and all that which is the icing on the you know what.

December 27, 2020

Sizing isdue.

Sleeve far too long. Compromising the remainder of the fit.

December 15, 2020

jacket

It was very wrinkled when I took it out of the package and stayed that way a week after i put in on a hanger. I'm afraid it will wrinkle easily when draped over a chair or on a seat in his car.

December 7, 2020

Nice coat

I bought this coat looking for something warmer than the synchilla marsupials i wear almost daily. I would have liked to get a SnapT, but wanted something in a jacket style. (HINT: Patagonia WHEN will you make a Snap T JACKET? ). The Chore coat looked promising, and as far as fit (i like a looser, more relaxed fit, like the Snap T fit) it is perfec... Read Moret. As to the warmth factor, i think it is a little more breathable than i thought it would be, and therefore not quite as warm as the heavier synchilla used in the Snap T. Great style, very comfortable (the lightweight fleece lining is great!) and as i said, the fit is perfect for me, but i will still be looking for that warmer-than-lightweight-synchilla jacket. Oh yeah, one more thing: i wish the pockets had a side-entry option. And yes, i know it is a chore coat and the pockets are right for the style, but i think they could be made side-entry as well.

November 21, 2020

Sleeves

As mentioned in my previous review love the jacket but forgot to mention when taking the jacket off, pulling the sleeves over my hands is difficult. Very tight but expecting it to loosen up in time!

November 21, 2020

Patagonia Delivers Again

Love my new Woolie Chore coat! Nice lookin classic jacket, fits great and keep me warm. Very well constructed. Have not washed it yet, little boxy in the waste area!

October 30, 2020

more like a long sweater

love it. it s warm and soft, it keeps you warm. will see how it ages as it seems quite thin.

September 1, 2020

Awesome

One of those unexpected surprises where it exceeds expectations.

May 23, 2020

Classic coat - but we need this in brown

I'm disappointed in Patagonia's choice of colors for certain items. I kind of find myself asking ....why you do it in this color instead of that color? In this case a classic brown color would look great and become an iconic product. Think on it Patagonia! Otherwise great little layer coat.

January 10, 2020

Excellent Coat/Sweater

Great coat/sweater. I live in Upper Lower Michigan and this is perfectly warm for those cold evenings. Can wear a sweater underneath it for more warmth easily. I would LOVE to see this in a few additional colors (Black/Gray/Brown). I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for something sharp to wear out on the town or work. This has become m... Read Morey weekend warrior go-to!!

December 30, 2019

Sure thing

I can always turn to Patagonia for that special gift for my XXL son. Plus the shipping was super fast. I totally recommend Patagonia.

December 20, 2019

Wooly Chore Coat

Coat is lightweight, breathable, and perfectly warm. I love it.

December 12, 2019

Chores on the Shores

The Woolie Chore Coat is an excellent coat for those cold days when the air is very moist. It works great as an outer layer, or insulating layer with an Anorak. If you like French style and you love recycled products this is a great choice for you.

December 5, 2019

Great Overcoat

Love it! Fits well, comfortable & Warm.

December 1, 2019

Very very thin. Not a coat.

This is a good looking and well made shirt. My son likes it and the L fits him well. He’s 6’1” and has trouble with sleeve length, but this was adequate. I’m just not impressed with the fabric and I fear it will be very easily torn and or worn. Time will tell.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, Katie! We're glad to hear the sleeve length works, and that it looks good. However, if your son is looking for a warmer, more substantial coat, we'd be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) or exchange it through a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 29, 2019

Excellent

Warm, lightweight, bit of stretch, fits well, and it looks fantastic. The tag has no washing info, but just hand wash in cold water and air dry. Love this thing.

November 28, 2019

Exactly what was advertised!

Perfect for the current weather, easily fits on top of a long sleeve shirt. Looks great too.

November 2, 2019

soft, lightweight, and warm

Given this jacket as a gift and here is the feedback from the recipient: lightweight and warm. The material is soft and not itchy at all. Also there are lots of great details - hidden pocket, lining, etc.

October 9, 2019

Comfortable and Practical

It fits well and it very comfortable. I like the different material around the edges of the coat and it looks like it will last a long time.

October 3, 2019

Woolie Coat Works

I have a very similar old school all wool sweater (kind of frumpy in a Mr. Rogers kind of way) that I simply love. This version brings the concept into modern times. The size is as advertised and the colour is traditional, which fits the concept of the garment. My overall satisfaction aside, I do have two small personal peccadillos to comment on: 1... Read More) the collar doesn't work for me as it is too large and gets in the way (I think this is a common problem when using this type of material) and 2) there were no washing instructions on any tag anywhere. Since the garment is 45% wool I was worried about putting it in the washing machine and drying it in the dryer. I live in Louisiana and can't leave things hanging to dry because the humidity down here won't let things dry. But, I tried it on cold water wash and warm dry and it was fine. It shrank just a wee bit but nothing I can't live with - certainly not enough to size up. All in all, a great addition to the fall and winter lineup.

September 26, 2019

Excellent Product

A classic looking fleece. Super warm, very casual style. Reminds me of synchilla but a little more coarse. Size runs large.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches