Back to Product

Patagonia Surf Brim Hat

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Surf Brim Hat

4.6/5
True To Size
July 22, 2021

Great for kayaking

Loved the chin strap, hat stayed put.

July 21, 2021

Great Pool/ swim Hat

Love this hat! I'm in the pool 5 days a week for my daughter's swim class! Hat has held up well , would purchase again in a heartbeat.

July 8, 2021

Okay Coverage but wish it had more brim

Dries quick, fits comfortably. Strap is reasonably secure, but it did come off my head a couple times. You must strap it pretty tightly which can be a bit uncomfortable. I like that the straps are not bulky and can be tucked away so you can wear the hat out of the water too. For surfing and being exposed all day I would have liked a wider brim. Thi... Read Mores will protect your ears and forehead but neck and lower face plenty exposed.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

We appreciate your detailed feedback on the fit, sizing, fabric and design of this hat, Jon! If you feel that it's lacking in performance, please reach out to us about the [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). We'll be happy to help!

July 6, 2021

Good for paddle boarding

While its not the most fashionable, its definitely functional in terms of staying on and drying quickly.

June 29, 2021

Surf hat

I bought it for my Dad for beach wear. He loved it. Kept his face shaded and protected from the sun and wind.

June 25, 2021

Lightweight & Comfy

Ive gone through a couple of surf hats and this is my favorite so far. The material is lightweight. The hat has the perfect length of brim for sun protection and peripheral vision for paddling for and dropping in on waves. I love that it isnt floppy so you can easily see surfers around you. The ear holes are also open making it easier to hear your ... Read Morefriends while youre in the line up. Best of all, water goes through and doesnt pool in your ear pockets. Super stoked on the hat for surfing.

June 17, 2021

Wear while surfing

This hat is amazing. I wear it every time I go surfing (ordered because my hairline kept getting sunburnt). I've had it for a few months and still looks brand new. It really protects my face and eyes from the sun. While surfing, I use the strap under my chin and it has never fallen off, even when I have gotten absolutely destroyed by waves. W... Read Moreould highly recommend.

May 6, 2021

Great purchase

I got this for my husband. He had been looking for a hat with a secured chin strap for surfing, and it had to be in bright color so that he can sight it easily when he loses it in water. He loves this hat. I really hope Patagonia keeps releasing this product in bright colors!

May 3, 2021

Great product!

Excellent functionality, i choose the large size for better brim. Comfort and durability is A plus.

April 7, 2021

Solid

Solid hat with all the straps you need. The chin strap is not the best since it's stretchy instead of fixed but that makes it a little more comfortable but feels smaller.

August 11, 2020

Cutest Boating Hat

I love this summer hat so much. It is perfect for boating or other water sports. The surf brim hat fits this summers bucket hat trend perfectly. I bought the Small/Medium for a smaller fit.

February 6, 2020

Brim has been changed

The Surf Brim I purchased last year has replaced all my other water sports hats - I give it a full five-star rating. Its uniform 2 3/4 inch brim is just about perfect, giving me enough sun protection and yet not trying to always blow off when running in the boat. The stiffness is just about right as well, keeping its shape when coming out of a wave... Read More, the chin strap always holding it in place. Unfortunately the brim size has changed this year. My new L/XL Surf Brim measures just 2 inches in front, 2 1/4 inches in back, and 2 1/2 inches on the sides. I suspect that some will prefer the smaller brim, but the I find the loss of sun protection quite noticeable, especially for the eyes. With sunglasses on, you cannot just pull the hat down further. Because the brim is not uniform all the way around, I actually believe that they might have miss-sewn it. Unfortunately I will be returning this one - again, others may like this size of brim. Hopefully future Surf Brims will be made with the previous 2 3/4 inch uniform width brim.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Hi Robert! Thanks for your feedback on this item. We're sorry to hear the revised brim was a bit short for your liking! We might recommend checking out the [Baggies Brimmer Hat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/baggies-brimmer-hat/33340.html?dwvar_33340_color=FGE&cgid=mens-hats-accessories#tile-8=&start=1&sz=24), as the brim is wider on this waterproof/sun protective style.

August 20, 2019

Surf Brim

Very nice design, Fits well and functions rather well. Thank you

August 10, 2019

Surf brim hat is the best

Everyone loves my hat. It keeps the sun off and it always stays on. Kiting or riding a jet ski at 70mph or sailing.

May 8, 2019

Good hat needs slightly wider

Good hat needs slightly wider brim

May 8, 2019

Surf Brim excellence

I'd like to tell you this hat was my ticket to more tube time but thats not true. It however is very comfortable and covers my ears with out taking away the ability muffle sound. Thank you for a great hat. It is my second one.

May 8, 2019

Perfect for windy days at beach

This is a cute hat that won't fly off your head during windy days. I volunteer out at the beach protecting shorebirds and it is often windy. This hat is great because I don't have to juggle my equipment while trying to avoid losing a hat--this hat stays put! Highly recommended!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches