Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Back to Product

Men's Upstride Pants Reviews

Write Your Review

3.1/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Upstride Backcountry Ski Pants

3.1/5
Kinda Small
May 10, 2023

Not quite ready for prime time

According to the online fit algorithm, i was recommended to get an XL for 6'3. A large would have been fine. The pants feel "thick" or "heavy" for softshells. There is no clip attachment for an avalanche beacon in the right thigh pocket. The belt loops work well but i was wishing there was one or two more. The integrated be... Read Morelt doesn't really do anything. I was hoping for a pair of pants for aerobic uphill touring, especially in spring, but these things cook way more than my hard shells. The crotch also blew out after less than 20 days on snow.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2023

Hi Dylan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disapointment with the Upstride Backcountry Ski Pants. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 6, 2023

Runs really small.

Had to return them for a different product.

March 11, 2023

Another odd fit review

Purchased these because they were slim fit cut. I am size medium on pretty much all Patagonia clothing(5' 9", 162 lbs , 40 chest, real 33" waist. ) I wanted the slimmer look on the legs fit with a normal waist because sick of baggy fit snowboard pants for the past 24 years of riding. These may have fit better if the waist was cut low... Read Moreer on the hips but it is regular waist where it sits on your belly button vs 2 inches lower(think low rise jeans vs regular)These are exactly 16" across on waist for a true size 32" but could shrink a bit with a pull down cord. It barely fits me now on an empty stomach and normally prefer pants that I can have some room for adjustment especially during winter with few extra lbs. The adjustment is really gimmicky and took me some time figure out how to unwind it. I am sure size Large would be too baggy on the upper legs and too long over the boots. The material is light and I purchased it for spring riding season where insulated pants are too hot. Will have to return these unfortunately. Hopefully they will make an inch of more room for the waistline with velcro internal adjusters for more options for next year.

March 1, 2023

Great idea but fit is off

I like the idea of these pants. The material is ideally suited for it and having a more closely fitted option is nice for those who run skinny or prefer the look. However, the fit was just a tad too tight and I usually wear medium. This tightness excludes any possibility of layering and the possibility of using them for anything other than high out... Read Moreput activities. Hopefully next year incorporates the same material but with a slightly looser fit in the thigh and seat.

March 1, 2023

Good Value Ski Pants

Really durable, clearly high quality pants - I've ripped over 3 pairs of ski pants and started just using rentals for over 3 years, this is my first purchase since. My only critique is that they could be warmer. They don't do as well for night skiing, or really cold/windy/snowy days.

February 25, 2023

Odd Fit

I ordered these in a small and a medium. These never made it past the try on stage. The small was way too small in the hips and thighs and although the medium fit well there they were ridiculously long. I ended up in a small in the stormstride pants and they were a great fit. The cut on these pants is only for the very long, and very lean.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2023

Hi Elisha, thank you for submitting this review. It sounds like the slim fit of these pants was too slim in this case. We're sorry they didn't fit you well, and glad to see you've returned them and found a pair that work better for you. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

February 17, 2023

Echoing Other Reviews, Great Pant, Poor Durability

I hate to post a negative review when I've had nothing but positive experiences with everything I've bought from Patagonia over the past 30+ years, but there is definitely a quality problem with these pants. I've worn them about 15 times and the stitching/seam in the crotch has completely come apart. I don't want to return them ... Read Morefor a new pair, as I assume those would have the same issue. I'll duck tape them up until the season ends and then send them in for repair.

February 5, 2023

Great Pant, Poor Durability

The first pair I got the snap broke within the first couple uses. Patagonia was great and replaced them. The second pair I've used for maybe 15-20 days in the backcountry and it is already falling apart at the seams. Love the pant and fabric, but the quality is poor.

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2023

Hey Eli, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear of the issues you've run into with these pants. All of our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, if you'd like to begin an evaluation please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*iwng9a*_ga*MTE3MzgxOTU4OS4xNjQ3NTMxMTc0*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3NjQwNzgwMi41MzMuMS4xNjc2NDEwODgwLjAuMC4w).

November 8, 2022

Love them for touring, but major durability issues

For spring and summer backcountry touring, these are great. Fabric is breathable and pants have nice big vents. Waist synch works well. 2 big problems though. 1 - the crouch has had to be repaired twice in about 10 uses. Seams are not holding up. 2 - no beacon clip in any pocket. Seems like an oversight for backcountry specific pants.

Response from Patagonia
November 17, 2022

Hi John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the durability issues you've experienced with the ski pants. We definitely expect better quality out of our gear so we'd consider this a warranty issue. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 6, 2022

Great product but runs super small

It's true what others have said, these pants run super small. For reference I'm a 130lb 5'8" female, slender build. I ordered the small and laughed when I put them on. I pictured myself leaning over and splitting all of the seams. Other than the sizing issue they seem like a great product.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2022

We're sorry to hear about these running small! Please let us know if there is anything we can assist you with in regards to your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 12, 2022

Super soft snow pants for active or warm days

These pants are super soft and have a nice slim fit. The vents are great for warm days and active days. You may need insulation underneath on cold days. Very nice pants! The bottoms flare but not enough to go over traditional downhill ski boots.

April 11, 2022

Comfortable

Seems came apart in the crutch are

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2022

Hey there, Volodymyr. We are so sorry to hear the seams on this purchase split. Please know we stand behind our products and will be happy to help assist you in sending that item in for either repair or return. Please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you would like to set up the return yourself, or contact our customer service team and we will be happy to help!

April 10, 2022

Fantastic with one oddity

Incredible pants for uphill ski touring. Def tight in the waist so I have to wear up about the hips instead of where I typically wear my pants around my hips. But a large would be too long and big everywhere else. Love the pants in every other regard though. I am 170 pounds 5 10 and wear medium in just about every pant

March 21, 2022

Beware of fit

I wish I liked this piece, it's exactly the style I've been searching for, but I really don't. I'm a comfortable medium/33 waist in all other snow sports wear, I actually struggled to get these on. Skin tight in the thighs, and forget trying to put anything in the pockets. But if you do (like a phone) the pockets are so far of... Read Morefset towards the inner thigh that it just ends up poking you in the groin with every step. So I sized up to a large, more comfortable in the thighs but the length is too long (for me). Pockets still aren't very useful either. Too tight to comfortably hold a beacon, and still have issues with a phone in the waist pocket getting jabbed back into your groin. Great idea but atrocious fit for anyone with athletic quads.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

Hello Micah, we are sorry to learn the the fit did not work out on the Men's Upstride Backcountry Ski Pants. We want you to be satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

March 8, 2022

Great fabric sizing runs very small

The fabric is soft and quiet unlike a lot of hardshells on the market. The color was accurately represented on my computer screen and in real life. I returned the product so I can't comment on the performance. The small size is very small. I am 5'-8", 150lbs. with an athletic build. I literally could not pull the pants up over my hip... Read Mores. The zipper is very short and the opening to pull the pants up is way off based on their own size charts. I would think these would be much better for someone who is 5'4"-5'6" tall, 135lbs with a 28" waist. I wear a 30-30 or a 30-32 in every brand of pants, jeans, etc on the market. The a model shown is 6'1" wearing a medium. That's the information I used to buy a small. Why would I buy a medium if I am 5'8" and the website shows someone 6'1" wearing a medium? I realize that sizing is one of the biggest issues with ski clothes mfg. as all the other brands seem to have the same problems. They might add the models weight or a shorter model to better represent size. If the 6'1" model weighs 150lbs. that would tell me I need a medium and not a small. If you go to Patagonia's size chart for a small it shows a 30" inch waist with a 36" low hip measurement. You will not fit in this product with those measurements. That is exactly what my measurements are. Incidentally, I ordered a small in a regular fit of the Untracked Pants and they fit perfect. It seems logical to me that I should fit in both pants whether they are a slim or regular fit. The difference should be that both "fits" should have the same waist and length but one should have a more conforming fit and one should have a roomier fit. It's super frustrating because it is a huge time waste, costs money and fossil fuel to ship the product back, and by the time it's all said and done the other size may not be available. There has to be a better way for this industry to more accurately represent it's sizing. Consistency would be a start. I have purchasing from Patagonia for 25 years. Over that time I have had smalls and mediums that are too small, perfect, and HUGE! I have been the same size person height and weight all that time.

March 3, 2022

Urban Tight Jeans

Do not buy these i will be returning mine. Patagonia when will you figure out how to size your products? I am 6'2"150lbs as thin as a bean pole and these are two tight around my waste and way to restricting. I wanted to like these because they are a nice material and light but i don't need ski pants to fit like some skinny urban jean... Read Mores. And your color selection, seriously haven't you figured out that bright euro colors don't sell in the US?

January 20, 2022

Great design, quality issues

Wanted to love these as an all purpose winter outdoors pant for hiking, occasional skiing etc. unfortunately the seam in the thigh blew out within an hour of use. Otherwise great fit and design; although not durable enough for downhill skiing.

December 25, 2021

Great touring pant

Love these pants. They run a little small - I wear a medium in the pow slayer pants, but my ass is a little too fat to fit in these so sized up to a large. Only complaint is there isnt a beacon lanyard loop. I simply clip to the zipper pulls/belt loops instead.

February 1, 2021

Great but not long for this world

I love these pants - their weight and material are perfect for dumping heat when working hard in the skin track. Add some mid weight base layers on cooler and windy days and these are pretty versatile - they do a decent job shedding snow but I would not wear them on snow days. Unfortunately (maybe because of the lightweight material) I find my pant... Read Mores started to show wear around the zippers after about 10 days of use and this weekend after about 20 days of use this season the crotch blew apart. I'll be sending these back for repair as I still love them and want them back for spring skiing!

December 28, 2020

UPDATE: So far, so good

Update to my previous review. I initially really liked the Upstride pants but my shape and expectations are pretty abusive on my pants. I am privileged to have safe and accessible mountains very close, and after fifteen Strava-hours bc skiing in these pants, my legs destroyed some of the seams. (29" waist, 23" thigh problems). Too many k... Read Moreick-turns? Ultimately went with the Patagonia Men's Snow Guide Ski Pants and, so far (40 bc Strava-hours on them), I have been very happy.

October 27, 2020

So far, so good

Wanted some speed pants for Wasatch smash n' grab days, as well as huge days in the mountains. I was excited and knew I found them as soon as my fingers fondled their fabric. Durability and feature-set seem excellent! The fit may be just a tad too aero but it makes for a great view from behind me on the up-track!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches