Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Jacket

Write Your Review

4.59 /5

Filter Reviews

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.59
True To Size
July 13, 2020

Very nice jacket for skiiing

I tried this jacket on at a Patagonia store in Boston. I had been shopping around for a jacket for skiing. I passed this up and then COVID hit - ugh! I was re-gretting not making the purchase. I later saw this on the main website and had to snatch it up before it sold out. The fit is great - pretty true to size. Even though I sized up for the abili... Read Morety to layer, the jacket has an attractive fit. I will be able to layer up on cold days, keep it simple though dry on warmer days, that this will suffice for an all around jacket with varying conditions while keeping me dry. I purchased the classic Navy and the color is quite nice - a little brighter than traditional navy color. My only wish is if the hood were detachable, otherwise no complaints. I really like Patagonia products - I have been investing more and more as I really like their company philosophy and what they stand for. Keeps me coming back as a go-to brand.

July 10, 2020

Very nice jacket for skiiing

I tried this jacket on at a Patagonia store in Boston. I had been shopping around for a jacket for skiing. I passed this up and then COVID hit - ugh! I was re-gretting not making the purchase. I later saw this on the main website and had to snatch it up before it sold out. The fit is great - pretty true to size. Even though I sized up for the abili... Read Morety to layer, the jacket has an attractive fit. I will be able to layer up on cold days, keep it simple though dry on warmer days, that this will suffice for an all around jacket with varying conditions while keeping me dry. I purchased the classic Navy and the color is quite nice - a little brighter than traditional navy color. My only wish is if the hood were detachable, otherwise no complaints. I really like Patagonia products - I have been investing more and more as I really like their company philosophy and what they stand for. Keeps me coming back as a go-to brand.

January 3, 2020

Perfect Solution!

This jacket was perfect for my needs. I wanted a shell that was wind and waterproof that allowed me add any needed layers underneath. I used it for skiing for five days in varying conditions: cloudy, sunny, and snowing/windy. It was great for all conditions. I wore it with a base layer, a sweater and a patagonia nano puff underneath in temps from -... Read More1 to about 20 F. I am 5'9 and 125 lbs, I bought a medium to ensure arms were long enough and to allow for layering.

December 19, 2019

awesome quality

Love this piece. we had a long wet snow just after I got it and wow! I stayed dry and comfortable shoveling, playing with the dog, and all the other stuff. The fit is for a tall thin person. I am 5'2" and 125 lbs. so its perfect if there is not much underneath, however, I intended this coat to be a ski jacket with a down sweater under. It... Read More works but the length concerns me sitting on the chair puts a lot of pressure on the bottom of the zipper. Will have to pull it up every time I sit down. Maybe add one heavy duty snap at the bottom? Just a little tab and snap would take so much pressure off. For the short people! Hiking up the bowl tomorrow to test the pit zips and ski backpack happiness. Love the color and soft feel of the fabric.

December 6, 2019

It’s good but

For the cost it could be better. The fit is good except it narrows at the hips —really, in a woman’s cut? And the sleeves are a bit long. It would also be so nice if the liner was softer, cozier fabric. The utilitarian slick fabric is fine—but cold and not soft and inviting like most women’s ski jackets are inside.

December 4, 2019

Great jacket!

Great fit. Warm and comfortable and easy to layer underneath. Great protection against wind and snow!

December 4, 2019

Many compliments

Awesome jacket, I do not know if anything could be done to make the collar more comfortable while skiing with a helmet, and the hood is down. It rubs on my chin just a little. But I love the jacket.

November 19, 2019

Not satifyed

I ended up returning this jacket- the zipper seemed under sized, the upper arm area was too bulky even though I was planning to layer, and there is no bottom zip. Otherwise seems like a quality jacket, but for me it was not perfect.

November 11, 2019

Long Enough

I'm 5'10", 180 lbs and have a hard time gear long enough. This jacket fits well, long enough for my long torso. I probably could have gotten a large, but I live in MT and want to be able to put a pretty bulky layer underneath this jacket.

November 7, 2019

Sleeves are way too long

Sleeves are way too long

September 26, 2019

All of the right features

Fabric, bright color, zippers, pockets, fit- All of the things you want in a single garment.

March 27, 2019

OMG I love this jacket

What an awesome jacket! Hand down the best ski jacket I’ve ever owned. In my 41 years of hitting the slopes, my major issues was always not being warm enough. I get cranky when I’m cold, and if I stay cold I get sick. So after years and years of trying different ski jackets from different companies, I was frustrated. All I wanted was to be warm, or... Read More I was going to give up snow skiing. Then I came across Patagonia Powder Bowl Jacket. Finally found the perfect ski jacket. I opted to just get the Shell Jacket and not the insulated version because I knew I was going to wear a Patagonia Down Sweater as my mid layer. For the first time in my 41 years of snow skiing I was warm. This jacket was put to the test last month at Wolf Creek Ski in Colorado when it dumped a 109” of snow in 7 days. It was extremely cold, snowy, yet I was warm skiing in chest deep powder. Glad I also purchased the Patagonia Insulated Powder Bowl Pants. Although I’m only 5’3” 130lbs I got the women’s large because I’m muscular and need room in the sleeve for my biceps and layering, plus I can’t stand tight clothes. I want room to move freely. This jacket is built to last, it’s the Rolls Royce of ski jackets. Although I just got my Powder Bowl Jacket this season, I’m thinking about getting another next season just to be able to choose what color I want to wear from one day to the next. The only thing I wish is that the hood to be removable. I’m just not into hoods and would love the option to keep it on or take it off.

March 10, 2019

Love this very versatile jacket!

Fit provides flexibility for a variety of layering options. Superior wind and waterproofing without bulk! Velcro cuffs seal well. Love the hood and high collar. Plenty of well placed pockets. One minor complaint - zipper pulls are wimpy and hard to close without taking gloves off. I also own the insulated version of this jacket for coldest conditio... Read Morens. When that one is too warm, this jacket is perfect!! These two jackets are the best I’ve ever owned!

February 27, 2019

The perfect ski jacket

I love this jacket! We ski in Northern California (Tahoe), where it is often warm and wet. I like that this jacket is uninsulated, so I can layer up or down inside depending on the weather. The hood goes over my ski helmet with tons of room to spare, which is so important when it rains or the snow is wet. The jacket is also completely waterproof--l... Read Moreast time we skied it rained and everyone was wet and miserable except for me. When I got inside I just gave it a good shake and it was dry! It has lots of pockets and zips, all very useful. It is roomy, but I like it because I like to layer inside. The sleeves are nice and long, so it goes over my gloves. (I really dislike some of the other ski jackets that cinch at the waist and are made for super skinny people who don't need to wear an extra sweater inside.) I sometimes wear this jacket during the rest of the year because it is also windproof, and the deep hood keeps my head warm while watching soccer practice, etc. All in all, a perfect jacket, well worth the price.

February 24, 2019

love this jacket

I love this jacket, wore it in 15 degree F weather snowboarding with just an R1 and my air capilene and I was fine.

February 12, 2019

EastCoastSkier

I struggle with Patagonia sizing - almost all of my layers/thin jackets (i.e. R1, down sweater, etc) are M, but for my larger jackets/vests (vosque 3-in-1, retro vest, this) I need a Small. 5'4, 130 lb athletic build. I tried on the Medium in this jacket and I was swimming. Small of the PowderBowl fits great, and could even wear both my R1 and... Read More down sweater under it. It's certainly thin, especially for the cold east coast temps, but since I can fit down layers underneath I'm set! I had a friend tell me a while back "always go Goretex if it's available" and I don't disagree. Do wish that the arm vents had a windproof mesh instead of just the wide open, but other than that I'm happy. The Tomato color is beautiful as well - my friends will never lose me on the mountain!

November 21, 2018

Super

Superb design, as expected, by Patagonia. I love the construction of the collar and hood, making the collar tall in front to protect from cold wind. I like that the collar does not collapse when unzipped. I already used this jacket skiing during a particularly cold day in Colorado and it performed well. I love the tomato color: it's beautiful ... Read Moreand of preferable brightness for risky mountain adventures (Importantly, it goes with my blue ski pants). I ordered a small, which I normally wear. There is plenty of room for thick layers. There are many awesome pockets, and several high-tech features all well-designed. The fabric is soft and stretchy. So far, impressive.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches