Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.19 /5

Filter Reviews

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottoms

4.19
Kinda Large
September 10, 2020

Great baselayer!

My husband runs very hot and these are perfect for when he goes skiing. He wears these and his ski pants and is ready to go. The boot-length is super convenient and you dont have to worry about bunching up in the boot. P

January 2, 2020

Great product

Great product

December 17, 2019

Capilene boot-length bottoms

I thought these were going to be like the old regulator base layers, They are NOT! They are very thin--you can actually see through them. I'm not very impressed with the quality coming from Patagonia. I've been buying and wearing Patagonia since 1980. These are not up to your standard.

December 1, 2019

Love these

LIft serviced skiing perfection and out of the way of your ski boots.

November 25, 2019

Warm and comfy!

Boot length were the best idea for my snowboard boots. They’re perfect!

November 19, 2019

Fit weird

Comfortable material, but a strange fit. After reading the reviews, I decided to downsize from a medium to a small. The reviews were correct, the calf openings are huge, but since I ordered a small, the waist is a little tight . My main question is why are the calves so large? It is to go around the ski boots? If so, then you should order your norm... Read Moreal size.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2019

Hi Robert, we're sorry to hear about the troubles you've run into with the Capilene® Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottoms.These do run large around the calf to prevent the calf from riding up and help to reduce discomfort with from the stitching cutting into the leg. If you're still feeling uncomfortable with the fit, please follow this link to initiate a return or exchange, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns

November 18, 2019

Just What I Was Looking For

Great product to eliminate bunching of material inside my ski boots. Work very well for touring and in-bounds skiing.

November 12, 2019

3/4 length perfect for above

3/4 length perfect for above ski boots. Super soft. Very comfortable. Excellent fabric feel so on skin.

November 11, 2019

Best on the block!

Having skied for 53 years now, I have tried every baselayer out there. Patagonia is simply the best.

November 5, 2019

Not True

I made the mistake of believing the Patagonia sizing chart wherein it stated that I"d wear a large in this model. I usually wear M in most anything Patagonia. I was swimming in this product plus I just didn't like the fabric.As I had to return them I just wasn't interested in finding out what the medium would feel like. One of the fe... Read Morew times that I have totally rejected a Patagonia product.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi George! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, We're sorry to hear that the sizing chart proved to be misleading in picking the best size for you. If ever you're unsure about what size is best for you, feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=customer%20service) directly as they'd be happy to provide more specific measurements!

October 21, 2019

Pretty Good

I tend to overheat quickly if I put on to much. The material in these thermals in combination with the shorter length seem to be about right. Especially if you're exerting a lot of energy. Th edit seems very good, as well. There is no riding-up.

October 13, 2019

Just the right height

As a ski instructor I have many pairs of long underwear. I really appreciate the boot height length as it is perfect for keeping your long underwear out of your boots. These are also very comfortable and quite warm.

September 23, 2019

Top notch

These are my hands-down, go-to base-layer for alpine skiing. I have not had any cuff fit issues. Over time, they have also become part of my standard kit for ski touring, cool weather running (over my shorts) and cool weather mountain & road biking (over my bike shorts). They have also been called up for service (and performed well) for rock &a... Read Moremp; alpine climbing, both as a base layer and as outerwear. These are my single most cross-used piece of gear. **My only suggestion would be to 86 the "functional fly" to improve their practicality as an outer layer.

February 8, 2019

Heed Reviews! Cuffs are massive

Most reviews for this product mentioning the cuff oversize were for the size medium. I figured, since I was ordering a small, the cuff sizing would be reasonable, and it would fit okay. Unfortunately, even on the size S, the calf cuffs don't come close to being a fit. They were so loose it was difficult to put on pants over these and have the ... Read Morecuffs not ride up significantly. The cuffs circumference was such that the pants could ride up to as high as my mid thigh before fitting how I'd like them to fit on my calf. These pants are very warm and comfortable. If Patagonia is able to fix the sizing on the cuffs, I would be a customer.

July 23, 2017

Best base layer on the market!

These are hands down the best base layer out there for ski touring/mountaineering. I also have been using under my running shorts when chilly out,and have found they are the best at home yoga pants too. They are more comfortable and lighter weight than the "midweight" ones,and I haven't ever found them to be too warm under Refugitive... Read More pants skiing. The sizing is a bit odd though. I had to order a S,and I am normally always a M (sometimes a L). I would size down on these if you like a "tight" base layer. Length is perfect,I tuck into my socks so they don't ride up. Paired with the thermal hoody,these have sometimes not come off for a week when on a trip. Very durable,should last many seasons.

February 6, 2017

Boot length works well

I work in my ski boots and am always pulling up the full length long johns above the boot cuff. This solution works well though I would like even better if the cuff at the calf was a little bit tighter.

January 11, 2017

Solid Base Layer for Alpine

I bought this product a few months ago for use in ski instruction. I think it is fine for days in the 20's to upper teens,but when it dips down to single digits or below zero,I reach for my fleece base layer. All the talk I read about how warm this layer is relates,I think,to activities that are much more heat producing like rock & ice cli... Read Morembing,running,mountaineering,etc. I haven't tried it for mountain biking yet,but it would probably be good for the really cold days. The fit,for me,at the calf is too loose - it works but I would rather have a layer that clings to my calf instead of hanging loose.

January 11, 2017

Warm

Warm without being to hot and nice not having extra bulk in ski boot

January 11, 2017

just right

I've been using these as my base layer for resort skiing this winter. It's been super cold here in Montana and they have done a great job.

December 10, 2016

Sizing & Cut is off

I don't understand what Patagonia is doing with the sizing on these bottoms. They fit like baggy pajamas! I would understand a little bit looser fit than "tights" (which most outdoor clothing companies still call their base layers) but these aren't close to an athletic fit. Where is the attention to detail they are known for? I... Read More am a very average 5' 9" 150 lbs. and a classic medium size athletic build. The waist is fine,but there is about 2" (or more) extra rise from the crotch,giving the baggy pajama fit. Folding over the waistband takes most of this out but shouldn't be required at this price point. The thigh diameter is huge,making for more bagginess. Then the bottom cuff is about 2" too big,completing the floppy shape. Unfortunately Patagonia are the only ones I can find who are making a boot cut bottom in the nice Polartec power grid fleece. Please redesign these and make them great! Ask your stud team riders and pros what they think.

January 20, 2016

Great product just a little too loose fitting

Love the length but the leg openings at the end could be a little more tight. Almost like they are already stretched out so has the tendency to creep up the leg. Use them for skiing in Japan right now. Other colors would be nice too

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches