Back to Product

Patagonia Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 28L

Write Your Review

4.2 /5

Filter Reviews

All 30 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 28L

4.2
True To Size
September 17, 2020

Excited to use

Bought for hiking. Haven't used yet, but fit is great.

September 11, 2020

Spacious and Comfortable

At first I thought this backpack was gonna be too small, but I can put almost all my belongings I need for the day in it! Whether its for work (Im a nanny) or day hikes! The back is aerated so it keeps me cool and its ergonomic. Love it!

July 16, 2020

Comfortable Pack

This pack fits perfectly and is very comfortable to wear. Great Patagonia quality as usual.

July 13, 2020

Perfect for hiking

Plenty of room and extremely comfortable

July 9, 2020

Perfect for hiking

Plenty of room and extremely comfortable

June 25, 2020

Extremely comfortable

I have nothing negative to say about this bag. Supremely comfortable, very spacious and plenty of pockets to store anything you need. I wear it mainly when biking and hiking. I can pack overnight gear easily in the bag. Perfect for all your needs!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Backpack

I love this Patagonia backpack... very light weight, a sleeve holds my water - bladder and the exterior pocket holds wet gear after forging a stream. I highly recommend it. Dennis

June 16, 2020

Great daypack, useless hipbelt pockets

I have probably put 200 miles on this pack on dayhikes and it does its job pretty well. The external pouch is more useful the less you have in the main compartment. My biggest gripe are the hipbelt pockets. Absolutely impossible to close for me, regardless if they are empty or the belt is tight or loose. Overall: Solid pack, but don't expect t... Read Moreo use the hipbelt pockets.

June 5, 2020

Super cute!

Perfect size. It came within a day!! I am so happy with this purchase. I love the blue and cant believe it was half price. Definitely worth it and looks like you can fit a lot in the 28L!

February 19, 2020

narrow neck fit

I like everything about this pack. But the placement of the straps is too close together where they connect to the top of the bag for me. The straps then rub my neck - I can tell right away it won't be comfortable for the long haul. I don't have an especially large neck, I think. 6' 185 lb., size M in Pat. and Arc., pant size 32, if ... Read Morethat helps. Bummed to return it.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2020

Hi there! We're sorry to hear the straps are rubbing your neck. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Once we're back up and running, don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the backpack if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

December 6, 2019

Great pack and great service

Extra help with an exchange and fulfilling my order on time.

October 8, 2019

The Perfect Lightweight Hiker—part 2: how did the strap concern play out?!

I reviewed this pack earlier and noted I would check back regarding he strap issue. My pack pretty quickly "broke in" and i have had ZERO issues with the straps rubbing my neck—as mentioned previously, this pack was worn 20+ days/month for the past six months of use and in extreme heat, so I feel confident saying it's a non-issue. Th... Read Moree stretch fabric has survived a field season, but I was admittedly very diligent about not abusing it. I still think the size is too big for my build and am considering buying the smaller one for next year and dedicating this one to winter use.

September 30, 2019

Very solid pack!

Bought this to use for bike commuting to work. Even in Seattle where the winters are wet, this pack keeps everything dry and is extremely rugged.

September 25, 2019

Shoulder straps are too close together, pinches my neck

The title says it all. The construction is great (nothing out of the ordinary for patagonia), but the shoulder straps pinch the base of my neck. I loaded it up in REI with ~20 lbs and walked around for 20 minutes and it was extremely uncomfortable. I'm 6'2" 170lbs with a scrawny neck. I don't know how this pack could be comforta... Read Moreble for anyone if it's too tight for me.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback!

September 24, 2019

Good pack with a few drawbacks (Forge Grey (FGE) L/XL 28L)

Overall this is a good pack for a day hike (review based on Forge Grey (FGE) L/XL 28L. User is 6'1). It fits great and rides so well you forget you have it on. The vented back does a really good job at keeping your back relatively cool and dry. I experienced no pooling of sweat or excessive overheating on a desert hike in 100+ temps. The strap... Read Mores and waist belt are very comfortable with the exception of some minor chafing experienced around the neck on the first two hikes before it broke in. It's also a good looking pack in my opinion. There are a few drawbacks. The stretch material used for the outer pouches are susceptible to tears/runs. I had mine get a tear after brushing up against some thorns . The main pouch does not stretch much or have room to put shoes/boots in if you have the pack loaded more than half way or so. Granted I do wear a size 12 but I couldn't fit a pair of low Solomons in there which was somewhat disappointing. The pouches on the waist belt are not really functional. They look large but if you have the pack on and waist belt strapped, the usable portion is near the tapered front and can be difficult to zip if you put anything in. I have a small credit card holder that didn't even fit very well. I find myself only using the pocket(s) for stashing a spare camera battery but that's about it. The drawbacks aren't a deal breaker in my opinion and I would go with this pack again given the price point.

September 20, 2019

Good pack

I like the pack it comfortable. Also I like a pack that I can keep tight to my back to avoid the load from shifting when scrambling up rocks.

August 11, 2019

Perfect Size, Perfect Fit

This pack fits everything I need from food to gear. I've been using it as a light pack to take on multi-pitch routes and it fits comfortably and is light. Just what I needed

August 10, 2019

Great day pack!

Was a little nervous after reading other reviews of the pack being too narrow in the upper arm straps, was fine for me. I’m 6’1” and fairly broad shouldered, no issues with fit on the large pack frame. Used the pack for numerous day hikes so far, including two 14’ers in colorado. Holds enough for me and my wife to have extra layers and enough water... Read More/snacks. Perfect size and very comfortable with great build quality!

May 8, 2019

not a running pack

not at all suitable for runs. I am 6'2" and have a longer upper body and yet the size L pack was too long. The rigid frame sheet would be a nightmare for running. Very disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2019

We're sorry this pack didn't work out for your intended use. You can view our running-specific packs [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/luggage-trail-running-packs)

May 8, 2019

Great pack

I really like this pack for hiking. I am 185 lbs. and 6'1" tall. Surprisingly, my back measurement was 18" so I opted for the S/M size. It was perfect. I had been buying my packs too large. The belt fits across my belly and the tops of the iliac crest, which is the best fit possible. Do not wear your pack like a pair of jeans. Let th... Read Moree pelvis and hip take that weight and let the shoulder straps almost float above the shoulders. You will like it! 28L is a great size for most day hikes. I also bought the 36 for when I needed more cold weather gear, or a small shelter, or more food or water. My advice, don't try to use the external pockets for water bottles, or the hip belt pockets for your iPhone 8-plus-plus. Use the external pockets for soft and smaller things like bandannas, extra layers, pack cover, shemaugh, hat, gloves, or food and snacks or candy. Put your canteen inside the main compartment. You probably had to unbuckle anyway, so save your pack from abrasion and save your self some headaches. Pack is well-constructed and well-designed. I got mine on sale, which I recommend. I took the Red, ended up liking that just fine.

May 8, 2019

Awesome backpack

Holds mostly what I need at 28L but I'd like one a little bigger. It is waterproof and the foam on the back is a game changer. It does NOT get sweaty on long runs or bike rides it stays dry and cool. Overall, this is definitely worth the money.

April 16, 2019

The Perfect Lightweight Hiker

I love my old Nine Trails 15L and love this too. Lots of fantastic stowage and utility options not typically found in a 25–30L pack. So light, yet not floppy at all!! As a wildlife biologist, I have used this pack almost every night since receiving and it will see at least 20 nights/month of use. I'll check back on wear-and-tear. I think one m... Read Moreust be reasonably judicious with diverting abuse to the stretch outer pocket, but that should be obvious to anyone who picks this product. Size-wise, I was on the fringe of the two sizes so opted up. I think it better to size down if on the fence. The shoulder straps do pinch my neck but hopefully that will lessen over time and is also relieved by letting out the side straps. Fingers crossed because I've used it a lot already!

March 31, 2019

Love mine. Simple and fits great.

Just used mine for first time on a 4+ hr hike. I wanted something relatively simple without a bunch of loops and straps all over the outside. Side pockets hold water bottles well. Top load is convenient. The zippered pouches on the hip straps are very nice as I used one for my phone to keep it secure but close by for pics. I was hesitant to purchas... Read Moree as most of the reviews mention the shoulder straps irritating people's necks. I did not have that issue. The shoulder straps felt great but I'm very thin for what it's worth.

March 31, 2019

Love mine. Simple and fits great.

Just used mine for first time on a 4+ hr hike. I wanted something relatively simple without a bunch of loops and straps all over the outside. Side pockets hold water bottles well. Top load is convenient. The zippered pouches on the hip straps are very nice as I used one for my phone to keep it secure but close by for pics. I was hesitant to purchas... Read Moree as most of the reviews mention the shoulder straps irritating people's necks. I did not have that issue. The shoulder straps felt great but I'm very thin for what it's worth.

March 4, 2019

Great materials and layout but....

I’m giving this pack two stars because it’s such a nicely built pack other than the darn shoulder straps. It just does not fit around my normal sized neck (15.5”) as mentioned in other reviews. I stubbornly ordered anyway thinking it was a prior factory defect but no dice. I’m savvy to pack fit (like having my hipbelt ride, well, at my hips) and th... Read Moreat was not the issue. Strangely enough, I exchanged for the 20l version and it fits great with more clearance around the neck. For reference: I’m 6’2”, 180, 41 chest, 33 waist. I ordered the l/lx version of this and my torso size is 20.5” for pack fitting. I hope Patagonia design team fixes this issue, then this would be a 5 star pack!

October 29, 2018

Narrow straps don't buy

Narrow straps couldn't even use it. As soon as I put it on it was shaffing my neck. Do not recommend. First Patagonia product I am utterly dissatisfied with

October 24, 2018

Good construction, but suuuuuuuper narrow straps around neck

Unfortunately I don't have a review with actual use of the pack because when trying it on the neck straps were so close together at the top I had incredibly bad rubbing on both sides of my neck. For reference I don't have a small neck (16 1/2 in dress shirts) but even my wife with a relatively slender neck had rubbing issues. Its too bad,... Read More the construction of the pack looks top notch and the setup of the bag (pocket placement, compression etc.) seems to be great. If you have a narrow nech this might be the pack for you, for anyone else I'd say its probably a no go.

September 6, 2018

Confused about the shoulder straps

I cannot for the life of me understand why the shoulder straps were sewn so close together at the neck. I compared their placement with other bags I own and friends' bags as well. These were by far the closest. The resulting effect is a balancing act between having the straps severely run against my neck, something I wouldn't give two ho... Read Moreurs worth of hiking before being completely irritated, or lowering the bag and the straps down enough so the bag rests on my shoulder but the hip harness falls below the ideal placement on my hips.... Not great for moderate loads. I'm 6'2, I would assume I would size to the Lg/XL, but when I went to return the bag I had an inclination to exchange it with a SM/MD thinking the shorter bag would allow me to rest the hip straps in the proper place. It wound up working fine- just not quite ideal. I'm keeping the bag because I support this brand and their methods, and just about everything else designed on the pack is just right- the materials, the pockets, the weight to comfort ratio. It would be a wonderful 1-2 day pack with some slight thoughtful redesign on the shoulder straps.

June 22, 2018

Light,convenient,functional,comfy

I bought this as a smaller bag to use while approaching summit,leaving the bigger bag at camp. It's cool that the support can be removed (shaves about a pound,though I kept mine in because I like a rigid back). It seems to be a durable material,light,etc. **It could be improved with an Ice-axe loop,but I made my own loop with some cord on one ... Read Moreof the bottom attachment points. Side straps were helpful for securing a folded pole,or axe handle,and on one trip even for securing rope that was balanced across the top. Comfy,good support... Great day pack or ascent pack (if modified slightly to accommodate axe or whatnot). I could strap helmet to the top/back using the top side straps to secure it...

May 22, 2018

Best day pack!

I bought this about two months ago now and i use it everyday working and hiking in the mountains. It holds everything i need in the day including a 3 litre hydration bladder and whatever else i need like a light jacket,snacks,etc. Its just big enough to hold everything and just small enough to be slim and maneuverable. I love it!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches