Back to Product

Tres MLC® 45L

Write Your Review

3.71 /5

Filter Reviews

All 7 Reviews

Clear All

Tres MLC® 45L

3.71
True To Size
January 2, 2020

some things were lost in translation

a very durable and handy bag....but wait a minute. any bag holding more than 15 lbs needs a waist band to stabilize the load. Hmm....no waist band here. but wait, i need to make sure i can hook my keys when i leave the trailhead or go through airport security, so i they don't get lost or cause me to rip everything out of the bag in the parking... Read More lot trying to find them. where do i hook my keys? regardless of whether you own a car or not, one needs a place to hook one's keys. these tradeoffs make it half right for what i need. it is a good carry all for when you are going through the airport and NOT going off road. its NOTan excellent bag.

January 2, 2020

The best

I bought this bag in 2007ish, and fly weekly with it. That is nearly 13 years and over a thousand flights and I have never had an issue once with it. I’ve recommended it to everyone I know who travels. It is my go to graduation gift for people.

December 9, 2019

Patagonia Tres MLC 45L Bag

This bag is the perfect size for a quick trip Shoulder Strap + Back Pack straps make if very versatile

December 4, 2019

Great Backpack

I bought my first MLC 5 years ago for a three month backpack trip in Asia and it’s still going strong. I bought my husband the 2019 version because he kept borrowing mine. I like the updates to the fabric and inside pocket layout. One small thing: in the 2014 version the only logo outside is a small discrete Patagonia tag. When traveling in poorer ... Read Morecountries, I like the more no- branded look.

October 24, 2019

Not a True Messenger Bag

A clamshell design is not what I want in a messenger bag for a laptop. The Critical Mass bags over the years were perfect designs, including the laptop separation, many internal pockets, water bottle holder which also works well with a commuter umbrella, and reflective band across the flap. Bring back the messenger, not everyone wants a piece of lu... Read Moreggage like the MLC and not everyone wants a backpack. A messenger bag allows you the more secure option when walking since you can pull it close and place you hand over the flap if you are concerned about a rough neighborhood.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Hi Jeff! We're sorry to hear your not stoked on the this particular bag. You are more than welcome to return the bag [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Have you checked out the [Black Hole Mini MLC 26L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mini-mlc-briefcase-backpack-26-liters/49265.html?dwvar_49265_color=CNY&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=mlc&lang=en_US&start=1)? This bag is going to be more comparable to the Critical Mass Bag.

October 23, 2019

Still making a great bag!

This is my third MLC bag. Over the years, my other two have been "borrowed" by friends embarking on a hectic travel schedule and "gifted" to them because of their love of the bag. This new bag is just as good as the old tried and true bag from years ago. I recommend it to everyone who asks about my travel gear. It's my o... Read Morenly bag on short trips, and my carry-on for longer trips. It has never let me down in either use. One future wish...add a Patagonia removable padded laptop sleeve that fits into the laptop pocket. There's way too much movement for an important piece of business equipment when the bag's not completely full. And, when setting the bag down, sometimes the computer will hit first. Not really want you want on a business trip with important data on hand. One of your competitors has now added a padded removable sleeve to their convertible travel bag. Just a thought for a next-gen product from a loyal customer.

September 6, 2019

Good but fatally flawed bag

I bought this bag because I wanted a new bag in this niche. In general, this is a nice piece of kit. It is nicely designed, perhaps even over designed with the number of zipped internal pockets. It looks clever and is a good size for a week-long work or play trip. I am returning the bag because of three fatal flaws, none of which should have made ... Read Moreit through the testing phase. The two standard carry handles are placed off center, so when you carry the bag full it annoyingly tilts off vertical and rubs against your leg. The laptop sleeve, though well padded and reasonably placed on the back pack side of the bag, has no internal sleeve to hold a computer in place. It will be left to float around the entire space and settle to the bottom, just where the bag will be hitting the ground when you put it down. The two 'outer' zip pockets do not have enough space built into the design. If you stuff the main compartment full, it pushes onto the outer pockets to the degree that they become annoying to open and use. A final non-fatal flaw: the cleverly-designed pouches for the shoulder and back-pack strap buckles are a bit annoying to get out of theq1 pouch. Patagonia needs to make the pouch holes just a tad bigger when they correct the three fatal flaws. I am going to repair my old imperfect bag and buy one of these once Patagonia sorts out the mistakes.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches