Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Black Hole? Pack 23L

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Black Hole? Pack 23L

4.7/5
True To Size
April 4, 2022

Perfect size

Not too big not small, lightweight and comfortable, wear it to work or to an adventure!

March 22, 2022

Good fit, not too bulky

The pack has a 6 inch depth, There is room for a laptop, pair of shoes, and a top zippered section for crushables. The side pockets hold my 20oz tea thermos securely.

March 18, 2022

Awesome backpack

This is for my daughter to use as a school daily pack and for day trips, hikes, traveling. Its so awesome, very sturdy and looks great for every day casual use.

March 13, 2022

Perfect for Work - laptop, lunch, and more!

I bought this because I needed something that I could use to tote my laptop, lots of snacks and lunch, and also had plenty of pockets for ID badge, keys, masks, etc., and something that could pass as professional looking. This has been excellent so far. I really like that there is no hip belt as this makes it look less back-packy and the shiny blac... Read Morek material looks nice. I easily carry up to 15 pounds up and down several flights of stairs from office to car with this pack...yes, I would highly recommend!

January 30, 2022

Versatile backpack

Its like the wild card for backpacks. Classy and still super great for hikes on a humid day. Very comfortable and lightweight as well!

January 9, 2022

color needs some work, imo

The fit and technical aspects of the pack are great. However, the color offerings do not seem to be at all geared for women. Not that they need to be all pink or anything, it's just that they are so drab. I wish you'd consider making the color of the outside of the packs as good as the colors of the insides. Black and dark blue are not al... Read Morel that fun.

Response from Patagonia
January 18, 2022

Thanks for your feedback, Judith! Each season, we offer approximately five colors for this pack. We're sorry that the colors and inventory were disappointing. Please reach out to our team if you'd like to discuss a return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 4, 2022

Comfortable for XC Skiing and Hiking

This backpack is perfect for carrying light load for xc skiing and hiking. It keeps items protected from weather and is comfortable for a long day. Women's fit is comfortable and adjusts well to different body styles.

December 29, 2021

I love it

My back

December 14, 2021

The One

It's the best backpack I've ever owned. It's my everything bag: my city daypack, my work bag, my bike bag, my weekend travel bag. Great to hold a water bottle, bike lock, book, extra jacket, change of clothes, and lots of miscellaneous items. All the zippered/slide pockets were thoughtfully placed. The design is streamlined yet rugge... Read Mored, and it looks great! I was looking for the perfect bag to spend the rest of my life with, and this is it. I love you Patagonia.

November 22, 2021

love this pack

Perfect for my bike commute and graduate school. The perfect laptop and tablet sleeve, outer and inner pocket for organization, and just enough room. The height of the bag is PERFECT for my small torso for biking to work - it does not interfere with my movement even when packed full. Pleasantly surprised.

November 18, 2021

Fantastic Pack

I ordered one of the 23L for grad school and internship. It's been fantastic! I didn't want the larger size (25L), as I figured this would carry my books, computer, & binders. It works well for me. I wish there were another smaller pocket, but I'm not sure where they would put it! Overall great pack.

November 1, 2021

its a yes for me

Im a college student that lives out of her backpack. I am able to hold on to everything I need for the day in this bag - organized and ready to go!

October 30, 2021

Love

Have a black hole bag and now a backpack. Only wish is for the waist clip. Otherwise, perfect.

October 17, 2021

Confortable to carry

Its light and you can pack for an overnight day

October 10, 2021

Perfect for traveling and hiking!

My husband and I each bought one of these packs for a two week trip to Spain. We used them as carry on bags for travel and then hiked with them every day. They were the perfect size. We were traveling along the Mediterranean so the waterproof factor was terrific. They were the perfect purchase for our trip and will be used for many further trips an... Read Mored day hikes in the Bay Area.

October 5, 2021

Best all around backpack I've ever owned

I was looking for a new backpack but wanted to make sure it could keep up with all the different traveling and activities we do, this backpack is absolutely perfect. It has more than enough room and is perfect for our hikes and carries exactly what we need (bonus with it being water resistant!) Super comfortable and will definitely be getting so mu... Read Morech use out of it!

October 1, 2021

Excellent fit and super comfortable.

I love this backpack so much that I bought one for my daughter whos a college student. We love the womens fit. Its shorter in the torso and fits perfectly across our chests. The fabric is amazing and its so comfortable. I wore it daily while visiting Canada for a week and it was perfect!

September 10, 2021

Great backpack!

I was looking for a bag that I could use during outdoor classes that require lots of walking around in all kinds of weather conditions, and this backpack is perfect for that. It is lightweight also really easy on my back. All of my materials fit easily, including a portable folding stool (pokes out of the top a little but the zippers are sturdy and... Read More hold it in place). It is also stylish enough to use when I'm just out and about. The size is just right, too- for reference I am 5'2", average to slim build. Great product overall.

September 3, 2021

Excellent Packpack To Carry All You Need For A Day at Work or Play

Now that I am back at work I needed a backpack that could carry all my essentials, food, computer, umbrella sweater and more and this pack fits the bill as there are plenty of pockets to keep things organized, plus I love the navy/yellow accents. The 32L backpack holds it all and more, and I never have to worry about my stuff getting wet when it ra... Read Moreins. Best of all; however, is the fit. Patagonia really thought about how to best fit for a women's torso so this pack falls just right on my back with no yanking up, making it comfortable to wear. Highly recommend,.

August 15, 2021

Perfect size

I will be using this backpack when I travel & bop around town. It's a nice size...not too big and not too small. Holds a lot of stuff and it's got a nice padded spot for my ipad. VERY comfortable to wear.

August 14, 2021

Black Hole 23L

This is my favorite go to backpack when I travel to the city. It makes the perfect day bag and I just love the color!

August 11, 2021

Fits well and waterproof

Great backpack for school, mtb, and skiing you can wear it in rain without having to worry about anything getting wet.

July 25, 2021

The best bag for carrying my laptop!

Lightweight, waterproof, durable and has a smart sporty look! Love the compartments, too!

July 18, 2021

Used for Everything

I use this product grocery shopping on my bicycle and for travel on airlines...everything and anything!

July 7, 2021

Super comfy

Fits well and stays in place. Feels lightweight and holds a lot more than expected. Love the colors, hard to pick one

April 1, 2021

Measurements Needed

Hi, I loved this product (materials, color, quality, etc.), but I would say that the measurements provided were not sufficient to order the correct size. I think it would be helpful to add maximum laptop dimensions to the the order page. I couldn't even find the overall dimensions of the 23L backpack anywhere. I don't think it should be t... Read Morehat hard. I think you all do a great job, but here I think you can do better. :)

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2021

Hey Lydia, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us on our Black Hole Pack 23L. We've passed your feedback along to our Web Team. In the future, if you'd like measurements, feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

February 24, 2021

Very small pack

This pack is disappointingly small. I even have a short torso, but this pack fits like a child's pack. The straps are also quite a bit thinner and flimsier than what I would expect from Patagonia. A disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hello Ellen, we're sorry this didn't fit as you expected! Feel free to check out our [Black Hole Pack 25L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-pack-25-liters/49297.html) if you're looking for something bigger. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

January 1, 2021

So Dope!

The backpack is EXACTLY what I was looking for. Ill be using it for work/school. Its the perfect size and so comfortable to wear while biking/ taking transit throughout the city. The water protection feature is definitely my favorite part, makes me feel secure with my laptop inside. Five stars!

December 22, 2020

Beautiful and Functional!

I bought the women's backpack in purple, because purple is my favorite color, especially this hue of purple. I love it! It has a pocket on the back, one on top, a zippered mesh pocket inside, and two other pockets inside. It is the perfect size for me, very lightweight, and simply gorgeous. I use it for my daily errands and outings. The color ... Read Moreis mind blowing if you love purple as much as I do! I appreciate that it is so lightweight, too. It is perfect! Thank you, Patagonia!

December 11, 2020

Great School Bag

I got this for college because I go to school in Seattle. It is perfect for keeping my books and laptop dry in the rain. I love this bag, the shoulder straps are comfortable even when I'm lugging around multiple textbooks, but I do wish that it had a hip belt.

December 10, 2020

fav backpack i've owned

I am a college student at the University of Oklahoma and this has been such a great investment for me. I've had it for over a year, taken it on countless planes and trips, used it everyday for school, and it looks brand new. It is the perfect volume. Not only has it been awesome for several hiking and ski trips i've taken, it's perfe... Read Morect for my average 4 classes a day schedule. Its height fits my back perfectly; I have had back problems and this backpack, even full, has not given me any pain. It fits my large mac air, up to 4 notebooks comfortably, several books, pencil cases, chargers, and miscellaneous thing. Its size keeps me from overfilling and making the backpack too heavy. I am also someone who likes to hyper organize and there is a great amount of organizational pockets for me to divide my things. I love how it looks as well and I get complimented on it all the time. the strap across the middle is great for grabbing it quickly out of a overhead bin or a backseat of a car while driving, and the top hook slot is a great idea because it keeps the bag stable even when open . My only small complaint is how it is semi-waterproof and not fully waterproof. Norman weather is somewhat unpredictable and there have been several random showers that have soaked parts of the back, yet the front half of the backpack is dry. I have taken it skiing and the back half of the backpack holds water, unlike the canvas part that is durable and has water and snow roll right off of it. The bottom is also not the canvas material, and it holds water, so I have set it in snow for a couple of minutes before to find the contents damp. I also wish there was a larger volume in the black color, as it is just slightly too small for a weekender bag for a girl, even though it's the perfect size for planes as a carry on. Overall you need this backpack, I promise.

November 22, 2020

Lightweight, flexible, comfortable pack

I used this pack for 2 years of commuting to grad school via train and a 1.5 mile walk each way. It was comfortable and protected my laptop from a fall of around 4 feet at least once. I love the security of the water-resistant fabric. I got compliments all the time on my bag. I adore it. I once had to check it as luggage in order to bring some Nute... Read Morella with custom labels on it home for my children. There was no problems with it when I received it back from the airline. Highly recommended!

August 14, 2020

Pictures just show colours of bags

Disappointed that now pictures only show colours of bags, missing important information of how interiors look like which customers really want to know before buying.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2020

Hi Vivian! Thanks so much for your review and our apologies for the disappointment. If you scroll down in the product page, you will see additional pictures of the backpack with the interior included. Don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you have any additional questions.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches