Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Mini MLC® Briefcase Backpack 26L

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 76 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Mini MLC® Briefcase Backpack 26L

4.7/5
True To Size
August 23, 2021

Just what I needed!

The size of the bag was perfect for my travel needs. I was hoping for a not-too-big, not-too-small bag for traveling and this was great. The product, at first sight, was apparently very compact, but as I filled it up, it turned out to have more space than I expected. I LOVED the amount of storage it had inside (little compartments everywhere) and t... Read Morehe only difficulty I had was carrying items I needed on hand when traveling, which is not the case when I use it for work or other purposes. Aesthetically, the bag is awesome and I like the ethical and environmental factors considered by the company. Overall, totally recommend it!

August 10, 2021

The All-in-One Bag

If you're looking for a bag, versatile enough for any occasion, this is it. I use it for EVERYTHING.

August 9, 2021

Great All Purpose/Weekend Bag

Really awesome bag, we've been waiting for something this size from Patagonia for a long time. Great design, love that there are so many carry options, and the webbing and organization inside is perfect. We do weekend getaways and a roller bag is usually too much space for us. This bag fits enough for both of us for 2-3 days with plenty of s... Read Moretorage space. I usually use the backpack mode to carry, so can't comment on the shoulder strap style. So far the handles have been good, and hope that they don't tear like other reviews mentioned but time will tell. Will probably be taking this and standard backpack on a lot of trips from now on.

July 15, 2021

Perfect size travel bag

This bag is a great fit!!! It has excellent compartments just right for packing everything I need in a carry on. I highly recommend this bag for anyone who wants a little more organization than the regular black hole duffle.

July 13, 2021

Carry on bag

A great carry on!!!

July 1, 2021

Fits Great

Perfect for quick trips on a small regional jet.

June 21, 2021

Perfect size

Very well designed and constructed. Great carry on, fits under seat.

June 18, 2021

SUGGEST REVISING VOLUME CAPACITY TO 30 LITERS

excellent in all aspects except volume. were it to be revised to 30 liters, it would b more versatile for a variety of travel durations.

June 13, 2021

Perfect travel bag

I am a busy mom who chronically overpacks for everything! Enter a minimalist challenge to pack lighter simply bu switching bags, perfection! It for everything, made me stop and think what I needed and traveled great. Looking forward to using it for years to come.

May 3, 2021

Great bag but some wasted space

I really like the design of this bag and it of course is beautifully made. I am returning it because there could be more storage room if the backpack straps werent there. I dont think theyre necessary and Id rather have the space to pack in.

May 1, 2021

Perfect work bag

I got this bag to replace my messenger bag. Its amazing. Holds my work computer and everything else. Very comfortable to Cary and holds up to Alaskan weather. Just wish it had a bottle holder.

April 21, 2021

Everything was perfect except straps

I own the full size MLC, two Patagonia laptop bags, a 32l backpack and 3 duffels including the 120l. Needless to say, I'm a fan. Since interisland carryon space is getting smaller here in Hawai'i, I treated myself to the mini MLC. It was perfect, pockets and features exactly where I wanted them. Great size for an EDC work bag and travel b... Read Moreag. I had maybe 7 lbs of work gear in it and the strap split in half by the bottom attachment point on the second wearing. I have used all of my other Patagonia Black Hole bags well beyond what I probably should have carry-wise and that has never happened. Sadly returned it and will reorder when this issue is resolved.

March 31, 2021

The diaper bag you never knew you needed

Living in Hawaii and expecting our first in May. The hunt was real for a bag that checked all the boxes for a diaper bag that could handle the elements of our island lifestyle: sand, mud, humidity, rain, sunshine, etc. Also living out here can make returns challenging. But with Patagonia stores here on Oahu, there is peace of mind knowing that if s... Read Moreomething were to malfunction, we can talk to an actual human and get it repaired/replaced. The backpack straps to side carrier are perfect for the versatile needs of parent life. The mesh pockets help keep things organized without needing extra packing cubes or bags. The only thing it's missing is an insulated pocket for the snacks/breastmilk and we'd be a match made in heaven. I know this review is very specific, but that is just what our needs were: specific; and hard to match with all the other branded diaper bags that just didn't make the cut. Excited to use this as our baby's travel bag as he gets older. It's the diaper bag that he'll be able to use for life. Thank you!

January 29, 2021

Excellent Bag

I had MLC Mini that I bought 6 years ago. This bag is a huge upgrade! Lots of great new features. Highly recommended this bag if you travel or just a great daily commute bag.

January 22, 2021

Diaper Bag

Ive been looking for a new diaper bag. I had a traditional bag and was always digging through it looking for something. This is perfect! Just enough compartmentalization for pacifiers, spoons, meds, burp cloths, face masks, diapers cloths, bottles, etc. Also, since I often toss my wallet and keys in the bag, its easy to find everything. Definitely ... Read Moreloving this bag. Got it in Black and looks SUPER nice!!!!

January 18, 2021

Best travel bag

Perfect carryon for flying. Fits under the seat perfectly, and has easily accessible pockets to keep everything organized.

January 6, 2021

Excellent product

This is well made and a great buy. For comparison, I've been using Red Oxx and Topo Design; in the past, I had Brenthaven and Mission Workshop. All those cost more. I'm writing just to make one observation. For some time, I belonged to the cult of "one bag." Then I realized for almost all my real travel, two bags are better. He... Read Morere is my reasoning. This bag, I use for everyday carry. One of those 40L monster bags is just absurd for around town, and there's unused space. When I go overseas, however, I always want a day bag anyway. I rarely stay someplace where I feel compelled to take everything with me everywhere; I'm not that type of traveler (but admire those who are, i.e., outdoors all the time or in adventuresome settings). So I decided one bag plus is better. I can use this bag and a duffle bag (I have a nice, small Tumi). This bag is all the everyday carry stuff, even when I'm on the road; then I throw a couple of days of clothes and a toiletry kit into the supplement. The only two things about this bag you might not like. First, it is soft and unstructured, and if you pack it full you might not be thrilled. It was not designed with the carry comfort as the top priority. It's in the middle of the range, not the worst, in this regard. Second, depending on your professional settings, it's a bit shinier and with a logo, than some more discreet business-like options.

December 14, 2020

Super efficient

I love this pack because I travel a lot and I can easily bring it around with me. It is the perfect size for an overnight or carry on essential items for flights. The pockets are all useful for my needs.

October 9, 2020

Love it!

I love Patagonia.. their products are always excellent. I needed a new backpack, I got one from them in 2017 and it was time for a new one. I love this one because it has so many pockets. Its perfect for traveling and for work! The fun thing is you can use it many different ways. Its worth every penny. I love it.

September 17, 2020

Is Comfortable and Organized

I purchased this bag for going on short 1-2 day work trips. I am able to fit a change of clothes, a smaller pair of shoes, toiletry kit, pajamas, extra socks and underwear, my laptop (my 11" and 15" laptops both fit fine, though the 15" is probably max size for the pocket), Nintendo Switch, Kindle, Phone and laptop charger, watch, pe... Read Morens, and a bunch of other little miscellaneous things. It's a perfect bag for the airport as well--especially the zip down laptop sleeve so you don't have to put your laptop in the bin. Pros: -- All the zippers slide really well -- There is a purpose built pocket for everything (laptop, phone, tablet) and little zipper pockets to organize as much as you would like. If you know what pocket something is in, you can find it in the dark. No digging around in one huge pocket. -- It's honestly one of the most comfortable packs I've ever worn, even packed out to 15 lbs. -- The shoulder straps fold into the back sleeve, which is nice for having to cram the bag into spaces where the straps might get hung up. -- The outer coating is water resistant. A light rain or short exposure to heavy rain isn't going to soak the bag. Cons: -- It takes a while to navigate the bag. I've opened the wrong zippered compartment on multiple occasions trying to get into another one. -- The zippered compartments on the inside of the largest compartment are very small and can hardly hold 2 pairs of underwear without bulging out. They don't seem as functional as they could be. -- If the bag isn't packed relatively full it doesn't hold its form very well and might slump over. Final thoughts: I was on the fence about buying the bigger MCL versus this one, and I'm glad I got this one. It's the perfect size for short excursions or trips to the airport where it's smart to have some backup clothes and entertainment for the flight. It's small shape fits well under airline seats and if you zip the straps into the back you wont be tripping over them while seated. If you are looking for a bag that can sustain a weeklong trip, this bag probably wont be able to fit all that you require. The comfort of wearing this bag and knowing where everything in my bag is and being able to get there within 2 zips is what earns this bag 5 stars.

September 15, 2020

Straps Continuously Fail

I wanted to like this bag so much. The very first time I packed the bag and picked it up, the backpack clip strap ripped off. Patagonia customer service is truly excellent and they sent me another immediately in exchange. However, upon my first use of the new bag, the backpack clip strap ripped off again, this time in the middle of the airport. I&#... Read Morex27;m sad to say I had to just get a refund and research other brands for a bag on par with this one. It's been challenging to find a bag I like as much; but I just can't trust it to not fail again structurally.

September 12, 2020

Great Bag!

I like the product a lot - mainly use it for work. A key chain would be nice to have. I'm not sure if the backpack straps are necessary for me? I will probably rarely use them and the add addl weight.

September 2, 2020

Almost Perfect

I have previously used the larger Black Hole Pack 32L for my everyday work needs as well as weekend trips both hiking and traveling via air. My biggest hang up with that pack was the lack of separate compartments to better organize my items, especially pens, pencils, and items for every day work use. This pack solves just that by providing an abund... Read Moreant amount of compartments as well as being more acceptable as a daily work bag with secureable spots for pens and little items. The ability to easily switch between a backpack and shoulder bag also make this super convenient. My only wish for this pack would be to incorporate a mesh exterior pocket that could be used for a water bottle during backpack mode...and to make it compatible with shoulder mode, Patagonia could outfit the elastic band with a zipper that you could use to secure something in it during shoulder mode or leave open during back pack mode for water bottles.

August 30, 2020

Perfect Commuter

I had tried (in vain) to find the perfect bag for my needs traveling to and from the office. I live primarily in a car based city, so did not need to worry about a cycling commuter bag, but needed an appropriately sized item to carry a laptop and its accessories, but also gym clothes, shoes, toiletries and a water bottle. The clamshell design separ... Read Moreates the workout clothes from the work stuff (also using black hole cubes) PERFECTLY and the whole thing doesnt end up being gigantic. Finally found a commuter bag that is perfect for my needs.

July 28, 2020

PERFECT Weekend Travel Bag

I'm a huge nerd when it comes to packing for traveling. I travel a lot for short trips while working for NOLS or attending conferences. There are times when I can pack very minimally but don't have the luggage to actually keep my bags compact. I bought this bag and immediately fell in love. There are so many organizational to use with ver... Read Morey few unnecessarily large accessory pockets which would have you searching for small items that you coudn't easily separate. For a Fri-Mon weekend trip, I'll pack a toiletry bag, three pairs of underwear, three pairs of socks, three T-shirts, one or two button-ups, a pair of shorts and/or pants, a USB charger, two lightning cables, a usb mini cable, a couple of pens, at least my ipad and at most my macbook/charger, and maybe a couple of other small items. I usually have room for another pair of shoes if I needeed in the main clothing compartment. There are so many pockets that allows me to separate small items yet keep them very accessible. Fully zipped up, this bag is smaller than my roller carry-on with which I have yet to fly on an aircraft where I couldn't stow it. This bag stows very well on aircraft. The shoulder straps are very ergonomic and store very cleanly and easily. It is a very handsome bag and has a fairly low profile on your back. Being a Black Hole bag, the exterior is very sleek looking and will most likely hold up for years to come. I've only had this bag for a short period of time but I've had other Black Hole bags for several years now. I can't praise this bag enough!

July 6, 2020

Creative Packing Options

I have been waiting a while for production to resume on this fantastic little gem of a bag! It's so versatile and great for many uses. Lately I have been using it for strategic local surf trips and all of the compartments/sections give me the ability to put everything I would take on an international trip into this little bag! Highly recommend... Read More!

July 4, 2020

Backpack Strap Failure.

I spent over 15 years using various versions of the critical mass and half mass designs. I've always appreciated all of the thoughtfulness the designers have put into design changes and tweaks that make daily use even more practical. That being said switching from those messenger shoulder bags to the MCL was a slight adjustment but took to it ... Read Morepretty quickly. Overall great bag design. I feel it suffers from multitasking identity crisis. My backpack strap failed the other morning. The failure happened past the lower buckle at the anchor point which is nested inside the pack. The bag is only several months old. In comparison the over the shoulder strap is still 100% fine as it is made up of a much thicker strap with much better reinforcement at each anchor point. Is this a clamshelf shoulder bag that can sort of be a backpack or vice versa. The over the shoulder/landscape orientation seems to be the primary use scenario as some pockets only are optimal to open if it were laid flat (clamshell) and not on the fly as a backpack. Then in a confusing turn of the logic the laptop compartment seems to be primarily considered in the backpack vertical orientation. Most importantly for context in a post covid world I find myself usingmy bag in backpack mode and less inclined to lay open my bag on public or shared surfaces. I've since ordered a replacement because overall i think it's still a great bag. I hope the next design iteration addresses some of these issues.

June 23, 2020

On the road again!

Ive used the original mlc for many years and it has served me well on trips all over the world. It taught me to travel light. When I saw the mini mlc I new I had to test it out. Im in the middle of my first trip since this virus thing hit. Im kind of an organizer Type person. This bag does it all as a personal item. It specs out just slightly bigge... Read Morer than most airlines allow for your personal item but its soft and will fit in the sizer used by most airlines. Durable material and construction - it will last as long as you do. My only SUGGESTION is that a water bottle net be added at the end of the bag that would be the bottom when worn as a back pack.

June 19, 2020

Weekender Bag

I really wanted to give this a 5 star rating. Sizing is perfect for a few days tops. Tons of pockets. I appreciate the clam shell opening and the light grey interior makes looking for my stuff real easy. Im petite but it sits comfortably on my back. I got the black and it just looks burley and tough, however and this is why it gets a star taken awa... Read Morey, my FIRST day of using this bag, literally just packing it for the first time, I see a deep scratch mark on the top of the bag. Huge eye sore. Dont know where it came from. I have a few black hole bags that have been abused for years and the material still looks new. Im worried what this bag might look like in a month. Maybe its just the black color? Another con, while zipping the middle compartment, the zipper does not smoothly go around the edges, Ive got to tug on the zippers harder to pass the corners. Im keeping it cause I like every other aspect about it.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2020

Hi Jimmi, if your Black Hole continues to get scratched and you're unhappy with the look of it, please feel free to initiate a return under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin your return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Also, a great trick for sticky zippers is bar soap. Lightly rub the bar soap against the closed zipper, this should help to ease the glide.

March 14, 2020

Excellent UnderSeat bag for Airline travel

It can be a challenge when the airlines in South America and Europe decide to enforce their weight and size limitations for carry-on luggage. My solution for travel in these markets has been the discontinued Patagonia Headway 45-liter MLC for the overhead bin (similar to todays Tres MLC 45L), and an old Patagonia 27-liter backpack for under the sea... Read Moret. I recently purchased a 26L Black Hole Mini MLC to replace the backpack, mainly became of the versatility I have experienced with the 45L MLC. It is proving to be much better than the backpack, especially when used as a standalone bag on short trips. The TSA-approved computer sleeve unzips and folds flat, which actually makes it perfect for packing up to six folded shirts as well as my 13" laptop. The main zippered compartment is much easier to pack and access when compared to my backpack. On the front there is a compartment big enough to hold all of your electronics and a good number of folders. This is where I like to carry my laptop which I carry in a separate padded sleeve. Finally the outer zippered pocket holds airline tickets, passports or anything that you need to reach quickly. My only complaint is with the shoulder strap - it has no grip and slides right off unless you carry it like a messenger bag. Rather than deal with the slick shoulder strap, I just pull out the backpack straps and easily hang the bag from one shoulder. There is an advantage to this since you gain some space by not stowing the two backpack straps. Overall this a handy underseat bag - more functional than a briefcase or small backpack.

March 2, 2020

Perfect Carry On For Travel

I was amazed at the amount of clothes and electronics this bag holds. Its perfect for 3-5 days. Fits great under any airline seat. No overhead battle needed. Home run Patagonia

February 26, 2020

Great carry on

Im a pilot and purchased this bag as my flight bag. Its a great size and I am happy with the overall design but the sleeve that the luggage handle is supposed to fit in is not wide enough for the Luggage Works roller bag.

February 20, 2020

Generally good design but put off by some quirks

Up front, I want to say that I decided not to purchase this bag after examining it at the Patagonia store, and here's why. I'm looking for luggage that would qualify for a "personal item" on a flight and the Mini MLC seems to fit the bill. I like the overall design and capaciousness. I like the backpack, shoulder bag, briefcas... Read Moree versatility. I don't need anything bigger because I have a carry-on bag on wheels. As a travel bag, I want to access stuff from the top end of the bag when it's in the overhead compartment on a plane or on the floor between my legs. Oddly, all the compartments inside this bag have zippers on the bottom of the pouches when the bag is in an upright (backpack position). They would be hard to reach and open, and everything would fall out when they're open. Beyond that, I have a couple of suggestions: 1) Does the bag need a separate laptop compartment? Unless on business, don't most people carry tablets and not laptops? A separate compartment adds weight and useless (to some of us) space. 2) Consider making the bag no more than 18 inches on its longest length. That would sit better on most people's backs.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Thank you for this thoughtful review or for those suggestions for our designers. We are always taking our customer's feedback and honing our designs to make things just right. We are sorry that this bag didn't work out for you and if you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us, please feel free to do so.

February 4, 2020

A well-designed hybrid bag

Point blank, this is a great bag, and if you’re looking for a small, quality travel/weekend/everyday bag, you should probably buy one. I really like the ability to choose how you carry the thing. The straps and clips easily hide away, and the bag looks super clean regardless of what “mode” it’s in. The material of the bag looks/feels great, and th... Read Moree zippers are really satisfying to use. I've been caught in a rain with this bag many times, and my stuff always stays dry. The main compartment has plenty of space for at least a weekend’s worth of clothing and toiletries. The zipped laptop compartment works well, but I've also used it to hold larger items of clothing (folded jeans/hoodie/light jacket) when I didn’t need my computer . There are two minor issues that I have with the bag. While I think an external water bottle pocket wouldn’t really work on a bag like this, I would appreciate a way to get into the main compartment without unzipping the whole bag and the mesh divider. Having the option to quickly stow something like a water bottle inside would be helpful. Finally, I do agree with some other reviewers that the branding all over the bag is slightly excessive. Overall, this is a well-designed bag that should last for a very long time.

January 31, 2020

Black Hole Mini MLC 26L

This is my new go to bag for work as well as travelling! It fits everything I need from, laptop to extra clothing. It also fits beautifully under the seat of a Commercial Airliner. I love it and I highly recommend it!

January 15, 2020

I have both sizes, and my wife always steals them!

This is the prefect work travel bag for a laptop, some files, charging cords, water bottle, snacks, book, headphones. fits under the seat back, is easy to organize, easy to carry. I'd take it on every work trip except my wife usually steals it first.

January 13, 2020

Superb Travel Pack

This bag is a great travel bag. Both the storage options and size are perfect for anything from a day trip to a light multi-day excursion. The bag is well thought out and seems to have a compartment or pocket for everything! I look forward to using it in the many different ways it allows for.

January 5, 2020

Smart design, easy to use

And much more. I have both the 26L and the 46LL. They will most likely get a lot of use on a lot of adventure travel trips.

January 3, 2020

Excellent!

Small easy to carry bag, well thought out with plenty of storage for organization.

December 30, 2019

Nice piece for many adventures.

Extremely versatile. Easily accommodates hat, gloves, camera, jacket, extra socks and drawings supplies.

December 29, 2019

Everything Bag

It’s a work bag, a carry-on, a backpack, it’s a hiking bag, it’s a commuter bag, it’s a lightweight camping bag, it’s waterproof, it’s ethically made, it’s made with so much thought and care in the design... it’s so many things at the same time - and I can’t wait to pass it on to the next generation one day since Patagonia makes things that last. T... Read Morehanks Patagonia. Loved it so much I bought another for my dad.

December 27, 2019

Great multi purpose briefcase / backpack

I use this bag for both work and pleasure. It is plenty roomy and has lots of compartments. I love that the backpack straps fold away. It has tons of protection for both my laptop and my iPad. The only thing that I’m not crazy about is the enormous logo on it. I feel like a walking billboard.

December 15, 2019

Air Travel Convenience

I visualized this a bit smaller and was shocked when it arrived. I thought if I filled it, it would be uncomfortable to carry. I was completely wrong, the size is PERFECT and the bag is surprisingly comfortable to carry. I’ve only been on 2 flights where it didn’t fit under the seat. I usually take it as carry-on, but was pleasantly surprised I cou... Read Moreld fit it and my mini messenger bag under the seat in from of me for most flights. I’m grateful for all of the pockets and the mesh divider that keeps everything secure. I’ve been able to use this as a travel bag and switch over to take it to meetings, such a game changer. Another great tool is that the back pack straps are attached and store within the lining, I have a duffel that I quickly misplaced a strap to, so I was thrilled that these are secure. This is honestly the best bag purchase I’ve ever made from Patagonia or any other brand. Now the debate if I need the larger version as well.

December 9, 2019

does the job

I fly a lot professionally so was looking for a decent looking but rugged small carry-on, and this fit the bill. Just took it to SE Asia, and seems robust enough thus far. I otherwise favor metal carry-ons as bulletproof, but they simply weigh too much if the airlines decide on a given day to enforce the 7 kg max for cabin baggage. My only suggesti... Read Moreon would have been to build in some expansion bellow or whatever, but this is basically just a rectangular box with a little padding.

December 6, 2019

Awesome small bag

This bag is great! Full of neat features and useful organization. Its a little hard to fit larger items in but you can still manage if you are creative. Perfect for a day pack that doubles as a work bag.

December 3, 2019

Wonderful Bag

Exactly what I needed for overnight and weekend travel. Just did a trip to NYC for the weekend and it carried everything I needed and then some for the trip back home. Comfortable, durable and great size to carry on or walk through the city with it on your back.

November 23, 2019

Perfect size for a weekend

Perfect size for a weekend getaway. I was able to pack everything I needed in the organized compartments and fit it on as a personal item on spirit.

November 18, 2019

Mini is better than the regular

The original Black Hole MLC, was in my opinion too big. When you wear the mini on your back the size is better suited when fully packed. Plus when you use it with the sling it looks more like a briefcase too. Its the perfect overnight bag with the mesh pockets inside for clothes and toiletries, with a laptop pocket, and other easy accessible pocke... Read Morets for books, wallet, passport, snacks or whatever else.

November 11, 2019

Fantastic!

The MLC 26L was just what I was looking for to fill the gap between a rolling suitcase and a smaller carryon bag. Very happy with the purchase!

November 10, 2019

I wanted a small bag

I wanted a small bag for either work/laptop or a weekend getaway. The pics online made this bag appear larger than it actually is. I was pleasantly surprised that it is small enough for my needs yet can fit quite a bit of stuff! The color is super cool too.

November 8, 2019

Pockets galore

Great bag. Used it as a work bag recently, which I think it's a tad too big for. Otherwise, will be perfect for weekend trips away.

October 29, 2019

Love it! Only one tiny request...

Love the bag but really wish (Like others have noted) that it had a water/ side pocket. As someone who has used old versions of Pata messenger bags, I defaulted to using this for work after trading in an old backpack...hence the desire for that easy pocket to toss my office keys, granola bar, etc. without unzipping something.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hi Stacy! Thanks for taking the time to write this review and provide us with the suggestion. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to the appropriate members of our crew!

October 28, 2019

Great bag for work/travel

I bought the Mini MLC just ahead of a trip for work recently and have been very happy wit my the purchase. In addition to fitting my computer, a suit, and other assorted items, the MLC fit beneath the seat or in the tiny overhead compartment on the small plane I was on.

October 26, 2019

Finally found the PERFECT bag for travel!!

I paired this with the carry-on wheeled duffle and it’s absolutely perfect as the go to bag while flying. It really is perfect!

October 25, 2019

Perfect work/travel bag

This bag is exactly what I’m looking for in a work bag. It’s sleek and professional while still being rugged enough to handle whatever is thrown at it. I love that I can wear it as a crossbody or a backpack to free up my hands. The additional space is helpful to pack a change of clothes or things that won’t fit in my carry-on. I like the strap that... Read More slides over the handle on my roller bag, too! Very happy with this design and the quality.

October 24, 2019

Black Hole 26L

This bag is excellent, it fits the duel role of a carry on brief case and a back pack.

October 16, 2019

Mr

Absolutely love the MLC Black Hole bags and was stoked to check out the new mini. Travel all the time, only gripe about the mini bag is the luggage sleeve. It’s a great feature but it does not perform well. The MLC bag does not stay secured to your luggage, the issue is the sleeve strap is too loose. I added another strap to eliminate this issue. A... Read Mores always..... I’m confident you guys will test, confirm and make the necessary improvements. Mahalo

October 14, 2019

best travel bag

I use this bag with my blackhole roller bag and I couldn't be any happier. I can carry everything I need, even if I'm on the road for over a week and I don't need to check a bag. I also use the Mini MLC everyday and I have plenty of room but when the bag isn't full it's very small, perfect for an every day bag. The pockets ... Read Moreare well designed, lot's of internal storage pockets and a great labtop compartment.

October 8, 2019

The Everyday Bag

I purchased this bag to use as an everyday bag. When I leave my house for the day I want to bring everything with me because it is inconvenient to make multiple trips back to the house. The fact that the bag turns into a backpack was the selling point for me because I got sick of carrying a duffel bag. With that being said I was debating between th... Read Moree 45L and the 26L. I opted for the 26L. So, when I wake up in the morning (not feeling like P.Diddy because I’m just a regular guy) I pack my military uniform, boots, my weightlifting shoes, a thick leather lifting belt, knee sleeves, wrist wraps, and a shaker. The main compartment fits my military boots and weightlifting shoes along with my uniform (granted, there was a bit of tetris-omg involved). I place the wrist wraps into a convenient compartment and the knee sleeves go into the front compartment. I got a bit creative with the weightlifting belt. The back of the bag has a sleeve to hook the bag onto luggage. Instead, I unzip that back flap and slide my weightlifting belt through it. By now the bag is so bloated the belt won’t go all the way around so I just grab some string and tie the belt together so it stays attached. But wait, I realized I forgot the shaker. Luckily, Patagonia included a hinge (I guess you could call it that?) on the left backpack strap to attach a carabiner which holds my shaker. At this point I have nearly exhausted all the compartments in the bag and it is quite bloated with all my gear. If you need to carry more things than what I listed here, I recommend getting the 45L. But if you’re looking for an everyday bag that has an impressive amount of space, look no further and buy the thing.

September 26, 2019

Quality "weekender" bag, a little heavy

I've used the bag for about a week now. The duffle and backpack versatility seems like a really useful feature so far. I'm currently using it for a short trip, but plan to use it as a gym bag in my day-to-day. There are lots of cool little organizer pockets built-in (though I'm not sure how much I'll actually utilize them). The ... Read Moreone drawback is that the bag is fairly heavy for its size.

September 25, 2019

Great bag.

Perfect for carry on and short (weekend) trips. I have larger version and my wife uses this 26L version. Both need a pocket to hold a water bottle.

September 23, 2019

Best. Travel. Bag. Ever.

This has become my favorite travel bag. Ever. Awesome that it has the luggage handle sleeve, can be shoulder bag, or a backpack. How great is that. Plenty of pockets and compartments to make it useful. Could be bigger, but if it was probably would defeat the purpose of a great addition to my rolley carry-on. Get on Patagonia!

September 23, 2019

Great bag

The design is well thought out. Great quality.

September 19, 2019

Loved this bag!

The black hole mini made traveling cross country, with my ten month old (solo I might add) substantially easier. There was plenty of space for 3 days worth of clothes for both of us. The option of the messenger strap, backpack, or just using a handle was awesome, too.

September 9, 2019

Laptop backpack

Always been a big fan of the Black hole luggage, I bought this as a carry-on and as a work backpack and it has been outstanding. Excellent quality and durable.

September 8, 2019

Perfect work bag for travel

I was looking for something a little more functional for travel. Fits my computer easily and lots of room for whatever else I need.

September 6, 2019

Great Everyday/Weekend Bag

I bought this bag for two specific uses. I use it daily for my laptop bag, carrying a 15.6" laptop (I think it could fit one slightly larger than that, potentially 17") to work everyday. I also has an excellent spot for a phone, some charging cables, a book or notepad, and my iPad. It almost has TOO MUCH storage space for everyday (which ... Read Moreis why I chose the 26L vs. the 45L) for a daybag but I don't mind the extra bulk as my walk isn't far. Where the bag SHINES is as a travel/weekend bag. Including toiletries, I can pack 3-4 days worth of clothes in this thing (along with my laptop/work stuff). It fits very easily in overhead storage for flights so you don't have to be separated from anything. It is enough storage for getting away for a weekend or having multi-day work travel. On the downside, after having this item only a week the "patagonia" sign on the side of it has already had one of the letters rub off. That was a bummer. Also, the description states that the laptop pouch unzips out so you don't have to remove the laptop from the bag to go through security screening. This is entirely true, however most airport security forces you to put bags into a bin and since this unfolds lengthwise versus widthwise, it will not fit into any of the bins they require you to put it in (so I still have to take the laptop out of the bag). If they redesign it, having the laptop fold out on the vertical versus horizontal axis could possibly allow it to fit into the bins. Otherwise, this is a great bag that fits 95% of my needs.

September 6, 2019

Great All Around Player!

I am excited to have a laptop travel bag with backpack capability AND luggage carrier sleeve. That combination is super useful. The tablet sleeve fits the standard iPad profile, laptop pocket works with the 15"MBP, and cell phone pocket works well with iPhone Xr. The pockets work well for my use case and there is enough room inside for all the... Read More computer accessories, headphones, water bottle, paper files, note book, extra computer, and a change of clothes. Unfortunately all of that is a standard load on my travels and this is the right bag. The rugged and easy to clean outer shell is great for getting kicked under a seat or placed in the overhead. I like the looks because it doesn't have the "I just came off a 10 pitch epic" backpack look, yet retains a unique style, all weather finish, and multi use capability. Travels can have their own 10 pitch epics at times and this piece definitely helps get one through. Really happy to have this bag.

August 28, 2019

Perfect traveling companion

After owning several travel bags, backpacks etc this one hits a perfect balance of size, functionality, durability and good looks. !!

August 24, 2019

Amazing!

I love the size of this bag, it’s perfect for carry on and I use it for my gym bag. I couldn’t recommend this enough!

August 22, 2019

Changed my idea of what a bag can be

Awesome awesome awesome. I've had some really great bags from big outdoor & commuter brands, but this one far away takes the cake. Tons of compartments, quality zippers that easily open/close with one hand, durable feel, and lightweight. It ended up being amazing enough that my wife bought the exact same bag.

August 21, 2019

Black Hole Mini MLC 26L works great

I had wanted the real mini messenger bag, 12L but it is no longer available so settled for the 26L. It is really roomy and you can definitely use it for an overnight. It fits great over the handle of my Patagonia roll on and is a great carry on extra piece, especially for longer trips. I would love a smaller version for shorter trips

August 21, 2019

Absolutely The PERFECT Bag!

I bought this bag for travel and it is unbelievably perfect. It has tons of pockets (including a padded laptop pouch), holds so much gear, fits perfectly on every plane, makes TSA a breeze, is totally spill-proof, and it even converts from a messenger to a backpack. I am so excited to use it for years of adventures to come!

August 21, 2019

Perfect light travel bag. Love

Perfect light travel bag. Love all the organizational pockets.

August 11, 2019

Not the son of LBC

I did not love the mini-MLC. I dearly wanted to but it was an easy decision to send it back. “Maximum legal carry-on” is not an actual term of art. The requirements vary by airline, sometimes widely. In general, there’s a US standard and a smaller international standard, usually expressed in linear dimensions. The venerable Patagonia MLC, which ... Read Morepractically invented the convertible one bag category, is sized in its various incarnations for the US standard. I love the MLC and am travelling in the Azores right now with an ancient version that has seen a lot of miles. Years ago, Patagonia briefly sold a smaller version of the original MLC, called the LBC (“Little Brother Carryon”) sized, I think, for international carry-on specs. I was hoping that the new mini-MLC would be like the old LBC: a simple convertible travel bag. Unfortunately, the bag is seriously over featured and, as a result, too heavy unloaded. For the mini-MLC, Patagonia copied the structure of their latest MLC with all of its flaps and zippers and pockets with pockets and other organization features. On a bigger bag these are a matter of taste: I prefer a plainer bag because I like to use my own ditty bags for organization. But on a small bag these features don’t scale down: they overwhelm the mini-MLC with complexity and weight. And the mini-MLC is astonishingly, shockingly, small. The linear measurements that the airlines use are better expressed I think as volumetric measures. The international standard is around 40 liters, the US standard is something like 45-48 liters. I’d like to see Patagonia make a simple bag in the 40 liter size, even a bit smaller. The mini-MLC at 27 liters is just too small, especially with the overwhelming complexity that was copied from the regular version.

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

Thanks so much for sharing your detailed review with us. We've passed your feedback along. Let us know if you have any questions regarding your return/refund!

July 29, 2019

Great Travel Bag

This is a wonderful bag for travel for short trips or as a carry on for longer ones. I understand that this bag is supposed to take the place of the black hole messenger bags. While this bag is well suited for travel, it's not as good as the messenger bag for everyday commutes. Please consider reintroducing a black hole messenger bag. I have... Read More the 12L mini messenger which is great and would love to add a larger one like the old 24L. thank you for designing wonderful products that i am proud to own.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches