Back to Product

M's Polo - Trout Fitz Roy

Write Your Review

4.2 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 61 Reviews

Clear All

M's Polo - Trout Fitz Roy

4.2
True To Size
February 14, 2020

Great style but too short

These are a great addition to my wardrobe and the fit is quite good and not boxy and lays on the shoulders well. That said these are much too short the model is lying about his height because at 6'1 I have about an inch of clearance until everyone sees the happy trail.

December 2, 2019

Go to Polo for casual wear

I love this shirt! Very comfortable and has lasted well. 2 seasons so far and it's white. The Medium fit is spot on, I'm 5'11" and 175 lbs.

November 11, 2019

I bought one of these

I bought one of these last year and then ended up buying two more (in different colors). Great for Casual Fridays or heading out to dinner with my wife and kids. I love that I just throw it on and go. Great feel and touch too

November 7, 2019

Gone but not forgotten...

My old patagonia polos (the ones that said “patagonia” on the chest) are prob 20 years old. Faded and a little smaller than originally (maybe i got a little bigger too?) i ordered these three to renew my love for these shirts. unfortunately, the new shirts are a thinner, smooth cotton fabric and not the slightly heavier waffle weave fabric i loved ... Read Moreabout the old shirts. I should have read more closely - I returned the shirts just yesterday and tried to find the “other” polos in the catalog, but as far as i could tell they are no more 😕

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

Hi Alan, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the new polos you received. We'll reach out to you directly for some more info on your old shirts to see if we can't track them down!

October 22, 2019

Trout Fitz

The Trout Fitz Roy polo are way nice I really dig the colors. Verry good on size and the length is perfect, not extremely long wich is a plus. I recieved numberous positive compliments when wearing the Trout fitz Roy polo. It's not so thick of fabric which makes out great for work and hikes and all sorts of fun ...thanks Patagonia for creating... Read More such an awsome polo for us to were,. be comfortable in and look great in as well. Highly recommend this and many other Patagonia items to friends and family... thanks again

October 2, 2019

Boxy Cut

I dig the shirt, but the cut is rather boxy on me. I'm 6'4" and about 200 lbs. I wear a large in shirts from most companies, but this one just didn't work.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

Hi Joel! We're sorry to hear the fit was boxy. Feel free to box that polo up, and send it in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 27, 2019

My Favorite Polo Shirt

I have every color. When new colors are introduced, I order them right away. I constantly receive compliments when I wear these shirts!

September 16, 2019

Great shirt! Comfortable like a

Great shirt! Comfortable like a t- shirt with a collar but looks a little more dressed up

September 7, 2019

Holes around logo

I love these shirts so much and wear them almost everyday to work. There is an obvious issue with holes however. I have had at least 4 of these over the last 2 years which are now unwearable due to holes forming around the logo. Another one developed 4 holes on the back of the shirt that is not even 3 months old! I tuck them in so don’t see how tha... Read Moret can happen. I have been buying Patagonia gear for around 30 years and for the most part everything has been rock solid. I feel these shirts, although comfortable as hell, are taking advantage of me!

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We're sorry these are developing holes. Please feel free to send them in to us for a free [repair or a return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 31, 2019

It’s one of “those shirts”

One of those shirts I can’t wait to wear again! The color, the feel, the look and the quality are all beautiful!!!

August 29, 2019

Great Casual Polo

Very comfortable cut for the larger mammal. Not a super crisp office type shirt if that's what you're after, but perfect for untucked casual. Collars lay pretty flat and don't curl up. Logo isn't too big. I'm very pleased with the two I picked up.

August 28, 2019

Love it!

the color, the fit, and the fabric are all top notch. what’s more is it didn’t need ironing!!! i already bought another one!

August 18, 2019

Shirts are great

Fit good and last a long time. Color selection is weak could use a few more choices

August 16, 2019

Polo - Trout Fitz Roy

very soft, comfortable! I usually wear medium but bought size small.. and it fits perfectly.

August 15, 2019

Spiced Coral

The color is fantastic, not a traditional red or neon. The material lays nicely on the body, and is light and airy. Highly recommend if you are interested in an eye catching color. Goes well with white or off white. Love this shirt.

August 15, 2019

Trout Fitz Roy Polo

I have one of these in almost every color. I ordered some of the new colors this summer and one of the shirts had a hole near the stitching across the bottom of the shirt after the first wash. I love Patagonia clothing and products. Most of the time your stuff is made really well but this shirt and a pair of Nine Trail shorts that arrived with the ... Read Moresame purchase were not up to Patagonia's standards. The zipper pulls on the trails shorts pockets broke the first time I tried to use them. Still a huge Patagonia fan just bummed with my last order.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2019

Oh no! That is not good at all. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those items back to us and we will make sure you are 100% taken care of.

August 15, 2019

Very comfortable

I enjoyed the shirt so much I bought three more in different colors.

August 15, 2019

Nice looking casual wear shirt

Not a real athletic garment, but good for casual wear. I wear it for golf, just hanging around, around the camp site, etc. Colors are really nice. The shirt feels great. Its a little baggy would be my only complaint.

August 12, 2019

Great, as always!

The Trout Fitzroy is a go to shirt and at least the sizing and manufacturing is consistent where many of Patagonia's pants seem to change all the time. I have a bunch of these in different colors and wear them all too often

August 12, 2019

Great quality and fit. Bit wrinkly

Love the shirts and the feel and fit. A bit wrinkly is all.

August 10, 2019

Great polos

Soft, washable, indestructible. Love them!

August 10, 2019

Great “everyday” polo

The color and the fish logo are great. It is comfortable and, as always with Patagonia, I feel I can trust the supply chain behind the clothes. Fits as expected.

June 5, 2019

Trout Fitz Roy Polo

I really do not like this shirt. Over the years I have had dozens of the Pique Polos and loved every one. Due to an illness I needed some bigger sizes shirts and bought one of the Trout Fitz Roy Polos. From the first time I washed it I was disappointed. No matter how it was washed it came out of the dryer looking like it had been in the bottom of a... Read More stuff sack for many months. Also it seems to retain stains. Even Spray and Wash has trouble getting the smallest grease stain out. Yet the Pique Polos wash up great and come clean very easily. I'll stick with what is tried and true!! BTW this is my first negative Patagonia posting and the first product in almost 40 years that is not 100% satisfactory.

Response from Patagonia
June 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this polo didn't work out for you. We are glad you've always been satisfied in the past and hope to make this situation right by getting that [returned](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Let us know if we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) out with this.

May 9, 2019

Casual Shirt.

Nice comfortable wearing shirt for casual occasions.

January 30, 2019

Favorite polo's

These are my favorite polo shirts I have ever had. They are super comfortable and are easy to care for. I highly reccomend them to anyone.

September 16, 2018

Fantastic polo for work or play

The organic cotton of these shirts is super soft, and the weight is just right for a polo tucked in to a pair of pants. I recently needed some new polo shirts and looked around but decided to stick with Patagonia. And Patagonia recently gave a grant to one of my favorite organizations dedicated to protecting and restoring the cold water ecosystem o... Read Moref the upper Delaware River in New York -- Friends of The Delaware River (FUDR). Thanks Patagonia!

June 9, 2018

Yes,it's as if I'm trying to hide a big belly

I agree,I feel like I'm wearing a shirt many sizes too large in an attempt to hide a big gut. I'm 6'2" and 190 and have been fortunate to keep the belly to a very acceptable minimum. It's a hard shirt to wear tucked inside the belt as it seems there is an abundance of material around the waist. The weight/thickness of the f... Read Moreabric was a bit of a disappointment also when compared to the pique polo shirt fabric. I do like the move to the fish/mountain logo on the left breast vs. the stitched Patagonia present on the other polo shirt options.

May 24, 2018

Fits like you're trying to hide a big belly

I've worn it a couple times now. Each time I pull it off the hanger I'm hopeful; it's got a good,quality look. But it fits like I'm trying to hide some recent weight gain... I'm confused why a shirt so short would also be so wide at the bottom.

September 23, 2017

Comfortable shirt

Looks good out of dryer,medium weight,nice comfortable farbic

September 9, 2017

Seemed great at firsr

I would expect that an item of this cost would last for a long time. My son wore it one time and it shrunk in the dryer so small that it is now a halter top.

July 30, 2017

Comfortable and looks good

Bough these a little over a month ago and love them. I'm a fly fisher so I naturally love the trout logo :) One of my favorite shirts to wear to the office during summer months.

July 30, 2017

Good size. Lightweight and comfortable.

My wife gave me this polo several weeks back. Nice color,blue-greenish. Good fit,etc. l have since bought 2 more whites and a grey. Very disappointed in the whites. They are almost "dingy" looking. Like they are old...? Wish l had bought a darker color!

July 29, 2017

New favorite polo

Shirts are fantastic. Very soft fabric which is a great option for summer heat. The shirts do wrinkle very easily but wearing them around for a few hours and they basically smooth out. Let me put it this way,if you iron them and wear them for a few hours they will look exactly the same as wrinkled and then worn. Good length to wear untucked but ar... Read Moree capable of being tucked too. The back is the same length as the front. I am 6'2",skinny,gangle,etc. and bought mediums. Length is perfect in the arms (4-5 fingers from elbow) and waist (just over belt).

July 15, 2017

Faith one of the same shirt needed all the colors

Love the shirt light a cool colors laundry is a breeze material light and soft

July 10, 2017

Nice shirt

Love the colors and they are great in HOT weather!!

June 12, 2017

Fits like it should. Im a xl to a xxl

I recently purchased this shirt and it fits great. I wish it had less wrinkles after washing but I am sure I will survive with a few wrinkles. The shirt fits great. I am a XXL it does not crowd my shoulders or arm pits.

June 12, 2017

Great Summer Shirt

Great shirt for the summer,the fabric is light and breathes well. Very comfortable.

June 4, 2017

Nice shirt but the color is different.

This was a nice shirt but it is a bright royal blue and not the pretty heathery blue represented online. I know that it can be difficult to show true colors in photos but this is way different.

May 21, 2017

Great polo

Super lite. It's like wearing a tshirt but still looking a bit dressed up. This is my new uniform.

May 7, 2017

Fantastic Casual Friday Shirt

I wear this shirt occasionally on Fridays for a great business casual look. I am an average-sized man (about 5'11" and 220lbs) and I wear the size large. It fits perfectly and has a fantastic breathability for the Tampa sun. Definitely like the relaxed fit for my size. I'm in the process of buying another for my collection.

April 18, 2017

I Love These Shirts!

A well Built classic. I am 5'9' and the fit is good although slightly long.

April 8, 2017

Great Material

I have a couple of the Squeaky Cleans,which I like,but these have a smoother finsh and are a little dressier. Great polo. I throw them in the wash and hang them when still a bit damp and they come out great.

March 4, 2017

Comfortable

He likes the shirt so much he has one of every color.

October 1, 2016

Comfy

I bought this to use for school and it's comfy,it's cool on warm days and warm in cold days. Highly recommend.

April 16, 2016

Poor Fit

Just bought two of these' both fit on the "short" side compared to comparable products from major national retailers of men's apparel. If you're 5'10" there is no way a "medium" will fit properly unless you like the exposed midriff. Even poorer fit after one cold wash

April 16, 2016

Love the Fitz Roy Polo

Very comfortable Polo,Feels great i usually wear small,but i read some reviews saying up size so i got a Medium and it fits great im 5'9,145lbs so its great. You can wear it on a casual day,or even dressing up a little bit looks great.

August 20, 2015

Discrepant Sizing

This was my first time buying the Trout Fitz Roy. Polo shirts constitute a large portion of my non-work attire. I wear them year round. It is a quality shirt. It is lightweight. It wears very much like a high quality t-shirt. Unfortunately there were major discrepancies in sizing. I noticed other reviews cited similar sizing inconsistencies. I ord... Read Moreered one shirt and liked it. So less than a month later I ordered a second shirt in the same size. The 2 shirts did not have the same fit, despite being marked/labeled as the same size. The smaller shirt fit more like the current, regular fit, P6 Pique Polo (the Fitz Roy is labeled as relaxed fit). I reordered the second shirt (forge grey). It had the same fit as the other forge grey shirt. The forge grey shirts did not have the same fit as the peach sherbet, despite being labeled the same size.

August 16, 2015

GREAT SHIRT

GREAT SHIRT, WOULD LIKE TO SEE IN A "SLIM" FIT IN THE FUTURE BUT GREAT COLOR, GREAT WEAR...THX

June 24, 2015

Again, another redesign fail...

Ordered three of these shirts recently...all three had a different fit, and all three also fit differently than previous years Fitz Roy Polos. I don't know what's going on these days, but it seems like quality and assurance is no longer a top priority...

June 19, 2015

Very Comfortable Polo

I just got this item and really like the fit and quality feel. I've been lamenting the end of the Pique Vitaliti polo for a few years now because it was nice looking enough to wear in the office on casual days. The Trout Fitz Roy is great because it's a nice clean look -- not too boxy in the body, nice collar that lays well, good sleeve l... Read Moreength, buttons that are high enough not to leave half your chest exposed, and very comfortable material. I still have four or five of the Pique Vitalitis in regular rotation -- testament to their durability since I have been wearing them for about five years -- and now I can give them a break by adding a few more Trout Fitz Roys.

May 29, 2015

Color?

This shirt fits like a small. It is not like the polo shirt (which runs big). I love the fit and feel. However, the trail green (based on the website) looks nothing like it. The color is more of a very light green and not the deeper green on the website. I did keep the shirt because I didn't want to pay for shipping back to Patagonia (a drawba... Read Moreck of ordering online).

May 27, 2015

Great shirt. Know your size.

Really like this shirt. I like the Patagonia polos because of their fabrics, cut and not too short sleeve lengths. I have the P6 and trout fitz roy and you should know the sizes are a little different. I am 6'1" 175 lbs and wear a Large in the P6 which fits well. The Fitz Roy definitely shrinks after a couple of washes. I originally order... Read Moreed Large but it is now in my 14 year old sons drawer. The XL fits great and is super comfortable. Recommend you go up a size. My 2.

May 17, 2015

Fabulous Shirt

This thin organic cotton polo is great for sultry, southern, summer days. The key is the relaxed fit that for Patagonia means a normal fit. Anything that is a regular or slim fit is a waste of time. After one wash the garment will be too snug to wear. I am a textbook medium and not a big guy but cannot wear anything but a relaxed fit. This is a gre... Read Moreat shirt but the cotton is thin and not very durable. i would like to see a heavier grade of cotton used on this same cut and pattern.

April 13, 2015

Poor quality material

Was pleased with this shirt initially, but it developed a hole in the fabric after the third wear to the office.

April 10, 2015

This may be the best Polo on the planet!

I bought this on a whim as I needed to stock up on some summer ready gear at work. I can't express how impressed I am with the quality! The fabric is amazingly soft and the fit is perfect...trim without being tight and useless. The collar is made of the same material as the rest of the shirt which is a refreshing deviation on the traditional p... Read Moreolo (including the P6 Pique). I can only hope that the Trout Fitz Roy becomes a Patagonia staple because I can't get enough of it. This is with doubt a "go to" shirt.

March 28, 2015

Great!

Great shirt, super soft, great color. That's all you need to say!

March 22, 2015

Classic styling, timeless comfort

I have had several of these shirts throughout the years, and for a comfortable, anytime collared shirt these are my go-to. They run a bit on the short side, so if you're looking for a tucked-in look, these aren't for you. If I could get more in other colors, I would. My favorite shirt in the closet.

March 22, 2015

Comfortable

The Fitzroy polo shirt is soft and comfy. Fit is as expected.

May 6, 2014

Summertime relaxing

I love the organic cotton Trout polos. I bought one at the Denver store and ended up getting a few more in different colors back home in Texas. I can't wait to wear this shirt after work and on weekends. It's so comfortable that I feel relaxed just having it on. Plus, I like the trout. Sharp fit, looks good.

April 27, 2014

good purchase

comfortable, good relaxed fit, good fabric- and well cut and sewn! really like it, quality enough to wear to work (an MD). will see how it holds up but Patagonia products always do, and their advertising is always accurate.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches