Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 474 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Baggies™ Shorts - 5"

4.2/5
True To Size
July 22, 2021

Sizing is awkward - especially if you have curves

I am a solid size 8-10. I tried the M on in a store and they were.... tight. The waist was good, the legs were good, I could wear them, but they were really really tight right around the middle of my butt. I couldn't comfortably put my hands in my pocket. I decided to go up a size, thinking they just ran small. There is a HUGE difference be... Read Moretween the M and the L in these shorts. Where the M could have been slightly bigger in the booty, the L SWALLOWED me. The waist was baggy, the shorts were at least 2 inches longer, they seemed to balloon around me. They didn't look comfortably loose, they looked like I had borrowed my husbands pants. It seemed like Patagonia didn't know how to make a decent looking pair of shorts for someone who needs a L. I ended up going with the M, and I like them, but I wouldn't call them comfortable. If you're ordering, I would say the M is much closer to a small 8 while the L is much closer to a 14.

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2021

Hey Keke, thank you for taking the time to write a product review. We're sorry the sizing didn't work out for you on the Baggies Shorts. This is really valuable feedback, which we've passed on to our Design Team who are constantly revising the fit and style of our products. We hope to not disappoint you with sizing in the future.

July 22, 2021

comfortable, well design for different activities.

this short is the perfect length for hiking(doesn't restrict when hiking). Love the pocket on each side. Wash and dry so quickly. The fabric is perfect thickness. I use it for pickle ball (pocket convenience for putting balls). I am an inside painter and I use it also for painting. I had that product since many years and keep buying it. They l... Read Moreast....

July 20, 2021

Perfect Shorts for Summer

These are my summer go-to shorts for hiking, the beach, car camping, etc. Highly Recommend.

July 19, 2021

Super comfy

They were super true to size and theyre wonderful for day-to-day activities. Ive been looking for a pair of shorts that were fashionable, but were still long enough that they were comfortable, and these were definitely them. I would TOTALLY recommend.

July 17, 2021

Baggies

Love them! Super comfy, great quality.

July 16, 2021

so cute and comfy

Purchased for my daughter who is very petite. They fit in the waist, are cute and very comfortable. However, they looked way too long on her small frame so we re-gifted to her taller sister and ordered the shorter length barely baggies in xs that fit perfectly and don't dwarf her :)

July 15, 2021

Favorite Shorts

I have loved baggies for decades! They are the most comfortable and functional part of my summer wardrobe. I highly recommend! They are true to size.

July 14, 2021

Fabulous shorts!

I sized up because I was looking for a more baggy style but could have stayed with a XL (pant size is a 16). Love love love these shorts & buying additional colors straightaway. Perfect for hiking & good looking for day to day running around.

July 14, 2021

So comfy

Great loose fit. I ordered the sea turtle Design- super cute!!

July 13, 2021

Great shorts

Love these! They are super comfortable for hiking and I've also worn them kayaking. As many other reviews state, they are a bit snug to get over the hips but once on are perfect and even a little baggy around the thighs as the name advertises. (I do have pretty narrow hips so if you are curvier they may not work as well)

July 13, 2021

strange fit

I really like the look of these, but as other commenters have pointed out the fit can be weird. The seam along the butt is kind of high -- it feels almost thong-like which isn't awesome. It would be better for smaller/slimmer folks. I think this is an ongoing problem with Patagonia, where the styles seem catered to sizes XS-S and don't fi... Read Moret well when you get to L or up. If you have a muscular or somewhat big butt, most Patagonia bottoms aren't gonna fit unfortunately. Please just adjust the butt seam on these!

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Emma, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on these shorts. We totally hear where you are coming from with the troubles with fit on these. We are always looking for ways in which we can create product and sizes that work for everybody and we appreciate your comments. Please feel welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/home/) these back to us.

July 12, 2021

Breezy

The shorts are the right size, however, there is gapping between the waistband and the butt. It poofs out slightly more than desired.

July 12, 2021

A little big

Runs a little big. It feels very baggy on me (perhaps that is why its named baggies). I use the drawstrings to cinch in the waist so that it fits but then the fabric bunches up in a weird way that makes the shorts look almost parachute like. Its a lil weird but I got many compliments on them so far because they are cute (the tiki pattern). I also d... Read Moreont like how the leg openings are very roomy so that I feel like you could see my underwear when I squat so I wear my shorts with under armor compression shorts underneath. Its cute and I like that it has a little cord inside the pocket to attach your keys to it. I also like how lightweight and water resistant they are. I wear a size 25 in jeans if that helps. I would have liked to try the xsmall but im too lazy to deal with the whole return and purchase another one.

July 10, 2021

Great shorts!

The length on these is great since they do need to be worn at your true waist. If you want to wear something lower, you will need to size up. I like the feel, and the deep pockets. Only wished theyd had more in my size at the time!

July 9, 2021

Womens Baggies Shorts 5

Love these shorts! Perfect for hiking, yoga, and everyday wear!

July 9, 2021

Baggies perfect, but some qualms with other products

These baggies are perfect and I love the colors, but I wanted to say that I am not always pleased with the selection of colors for women's garments. I believe men have a better selection of colors whether it's forrest green or burnt orange. Not all women are magenta lovers, and light minty greens are difficult to match with the rest of a ... Read Morewordrobe.

July 9, 2021

Baggies fit does not work with the sizing chart

Hello, I recently bought the 5" baggies, picking the size carefully after using the sizing chart provided, and the fit was still too big (both waist and cut overall). This seems to be the main issue the last few seasons with fit for me (even though I've worn patagonia for over 10 years now and my weight has not changed much. Please look a... Read Moret the sizing chart and update accordingly! Frustrating!

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hey there, thank you for sharing you feedback with us on the Women's Baggies Shorts - 5". We're sorry to hear that your experience with the size chart was misleading. Please reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we could gather some more information from you on what size you ordered and what you received, there is a chance it could be a quality control issue and we'd like to catch it as soon as possible, thank you!

July 8, 2021

Its a catchy title

I love the over all quality. But, the cut is a little odd.

July 7, 2021

Closet Staple

Im obsessed with these shorts. I wear them daily and have several colors. Im a midsize gal and prefer the looser fit of the large. I usually wear size 8/10.

July 5, 2021

Comfy but odd fit

As many reviewers have noted, these shorts run small in the waist. They are challenging to get over my hips, but once they are on they are super comfy!

July 5, 2021

Loose in the right places

I genuinely love these shorts. They arent so short that I worry about flashing anyone, and theyre not so long that I look like Adam Sandler. The pockets are huge, and filling them doesnt weigh down the shorts. I know others didnt like the lack of lining, but I appreciate it since I prefer to wear underwear with my shorts.

July 4, 2021

awkward fit

These fit a bit awkwardly, and they vary pair to pair. I got one pair in the turtle print and another in the multicolor. Both are difficult to pull over my hips (perhaps they need a bit more stretch or a zipper), but once they're up they're OK. Weirdly, the turtle ones are a bit loose at the waist, but the multicolor ones fit pretty well.... Read More

July 2, 2021

Everywhere shorts

Really nice shorts. They fit well but feel a little big on the leg area. Other then that love the shorts will be buying in more colors. Super comfortable as well!

June 30, 2021

Melon color

Product true to size chart; I was between sizes and ordered the medium. I would like more room for stepping over obstacles on the trail and have returned them for a large size.

June 29, 2021

Perfect summer short

Great length and comfortable material. I'm 5'5 and between 110 - 115 lbs and ordered an XS. They were slightly large upon arrival, but after washing and drying they fit perfectly. Worth the money and will be ordering more colors.

June 29, 2021

Flat Butts Only

These shorts are nice and fit perfectly - after I manage to yank them over my average sized butt. Very difficult to pull on and off because the waistband does not stretch at all. Once theyre on, the waist is good and the legs are a nice loose fit.

June 28, 2021

A Classic

Love these shorts. Perfect for hiking and days on the river. They are super durable and built to last.

June 27, 2021

comfy & versatile

great fit. I would get another pair just like them in another color but not crazy about the multi colors and I already have plenty of black and skin color.

June 25, 2021

These are so comfortable and look great for years to come.

Love the fit - can accommodate any movement. Extremely comfortable, love every pair I own. Very easy care.

June 22, 2021

Light yet durable

These are all around great but I enjoy them best around water. I can get them wet knowing they will dry quickly. Pockets are great but Id love a back pocket. A little bit of stretch on the shorts would be nice too. But I love them just as they are and I know Ill have them for a long time.

June 19, 2021

Awkward Sizing

Unfortunately these shorts are not for women with a curvy or muscular booty. At first, I tried on an XL at Dicks Sporting Goods and it was too tight in the hips. Then ordered a 2XL from Patagonia. Those were wayyyyy too big. They fit like they were a 4XL. The sizing gap between them was huge! No part of them fit right! I guess no baggies for me unt... Read Moreil I lose my plump behind (which will be never happen).

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2021

Hey there, we appreciate the feedback on the Baggies Shorts! We're sorry to hear that you experienced so much inconsistency in the sizing, we'll be sure to pass this along to the appropriate members of the Patagonia Design crew. We'd be happy to gather some added information from you and send over some measurements on an alternate pair of shorts if you're interested. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 16, 2021

Great Shorts

These shorts are perfect for anything. versatile and water resistant, theyre great for a pool day or a impromptu mid-hike swim. Theyre super cute and I have pretty thick things that arent restricted by the leg opening. Cherry on the top is the pockets can actually hold your phone unlike tons of other womens shorts. Would recommend!

June 16, 2021

Practical and versatile

They come up to the small of your waist and look great. Dress it up or down they are really cozy and just the kind of everyday shorts I was looking for. The fire red is more of and neon orange in person zero resemblance to red in person. But the melon and black identical to the photos

June 16, 2021

Classics

I used to purchase these when they were only MENS and cut the liner out. Not its amazing we have our own. They fit perfect, just enough room for hot day and long enough to feel protected.

June 15, 2021

Sorta disappointing

The elastic band has zero give and they run small

June 12, 2021

Not made for thick or curvy women at all!

I have the Barely Baggies and I love those but I find them to be a little too short sometimes so I tried these. If you have any kind of butt or thighs and a small waist, you will struggle with these. I am a power lifter, 5'10", 170 lbs with muscular thighs and butt. Large falls off of me and I can't even tie those tight enough to sta... Read Morey on, but the mediums are SO HARD to get on! They need to incorporate some kind of stretchy fiber so us thick gals can actually wear these without struggling! Once they're on they're great but it shouldn't be that difficult to pull them on, definitely makes going to the bathroom and changing very tasking.

June 10, 2021

Best shorts on the market!

I love baggies, this is my third pair! I am very slender, 22 waist and 31 hips, the xxs fits great. I have a pair in xs and they are very large on me, but I wear them for climbing. Id recommend these to absolutely everyone! I think its possible they run smaller than usual sizing, but for my body type they work well because I am not curvy anywhere.... Read More If you have curves you may want to size up one for more mobility :)

June 9, 2021

Favorite Shorts

I love these shorts! I wear them everyday! They run a bit small in the waste. I am 5'4"/115lbs and the small fit better than the XS. I struggled to get the XS over my hips.

June 9, 2021

Extremely comfortable!

Despite having wider hips and most reviews stating the shorts didnt fit on the hips correctly, I wanted to give these a shot. Im 57 and weigh around 140 and the shorts fit great if you treat them as more of a high waisted pair of shorts! Very flexible, cool, and great for all sorts of activities. Cant wait to get more!

June 8, 2021

waist has very little stretch

I mostly like these shorts. I got the bright blue color, which I love (otherwise was pretty disappointed in the color options this year). I'm 5'7" and 145 with an athletic/runners build. The reason for the 3 stars is the waist is weirdly not very stretchy. I don't have particularly large hips but it is a little snug pulling them... Read More up. I'm kind of between a small and a medium right now and I definitely had to go with a medium in the waist. These are great for hot hot days at home or out on the water/in the woods. I hope Patagonia improves the waistband and colors in the future. I also agree with other reviews that they aren't super great for all sorts of movement and are somewhat restrictive if you're doing lots of up and down or side to side.

June 7, 2021

Awesome

I got these after I figured out that there was no way I was going to have another summer of wearing jean shorts. The shorts are so comfortable and make me feel so good! My only complaint is that there aren't more colors. Please make more colors!!!! I WILL BUY ALL OF THEM

June 7, 2021

Nice

I have a pair of these shorts from the 90's that are still in great shape. They are a size medium and I Love them. I wanted another, newer, less worn pair. I got these in a large. They fit the same, which is great! So they must have gotten a little smaller over time. Anyway, these are a great multi-function short. I am pear shaped with larger ... Read Morehips. 5'7" 157. My only complaint is that the old shorts had a liner in them!! Why in the world do these not have a liner in them? They are water shorts! Now, I have to wear underwear to swim? Also, the old shorts have a back pocket, which I definitely utilize. The new ones do not. Overall, I would get them again. I just really wish they had a liner. I ordered these through REI.

June 4, 2021

NOT what they used to be!!!

I have a pair that is about 7 years old....love them. Still wear them. For the last several years I have been looking for another pair or three in different colors. Finally I found colors I liked available in my size. I was ecstatic. Ordered them and couldnt wait for them to arrive. I think you can sense my disappointment coming....should have rena... Read Moremed them to not so baggies but made with the same material as baggies . Still fit but not the same cut and definitely wont be able to do the same activities in the new cut. Thumbs down. Something has definitely changed with Patagonia in the past decade or so. Used to love their clothes but now I find myself returning everything. Go back to your roots!!

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2021

Hey Dayna, thank you for leaving us a review on the Baggies Shorts - 5". We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment. We would love it if you could share more with us about how the fit fell short for you, so we can share this information with our product teams. Please reach out to us in [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and we would be more than happy to set you up with a return as well.

June 4, 2021

Dream shorts!

I'm 5'8" ish with a 24" waist and slightly bigger (around 36-37") hips. The XS in tidepool blue is my perfect fit! It is certainly a slight squeeze putting them on, and I do cinch the waistband. But once they're on, they're the most comfortable shorts I own!

June 1, 2021

Strange Fit Around Hips

Love the material for hiking. Fits snugly across hips. Wish that they came in a longer length - even 6" long would be perfect.

May 24, 2021

Beware if you have any sort of curve!

These are my favorite shorts. I wear them all the time, they're fast drying, have a loop to clip keys to, and are extremely good quality. That being said, it's a tight squeeze over my hips and then I have to tighten the drawstring all the way to fit my waist. I will still continue to wear them but if you don't want to spend two minut... Read Morees trying to pull them up all the way then they aren't for you.

May 22, 2021

Not for the hourglass figure :(

I want these shorts so bad for camping and summer life but they just dont fit women with hips. I wear a medium in overalls, tights and small in tees and jackets. The medium is too tight on my hips but huge in waist and the large falls off. PLEASE make these for curvy bodies. We like the outdoors too!

May 22, 2021

Obsessed

After reading the reviews, i was uncertain if I should get a M or L. I am a 29 waist with wider hips. I am so glad I went with medium! They fit perfectly!! Like other reviews said, it is a bit of a squeeze over the hips but once they are on, they are roomy at the hips and below. i love that they hug my waist but are looser below the waist so I dont... Read More mind that i have to squeeze into the waist part. So comfy. I will probably exchange the melon color because they are brighter than i expected.

May 21, 2021

No room for hips

I really wanted to love these but sadly I can't wear them. They are strangely tight through the hips. I normally wear a small so sized up due to other reviews mentioning this hip issue, alas even a size up didn't fix the problem. A size L would be too big in the waist and legs so sizing up again is not an option. Sad to return.

May 21, 2021

please make a 7 fantastic quality

first off, i love patagonia clothes and gear. they last a long time and quality is great. second, they fit around my athletic hips and thighs, which i love. best pair of shorts ive found. HOWEVER, please make a 7 for the taller (older) ladies. im in the 36-46 age group and really tall. the 5 baggies just dont feel appropriate for me to be out in pu... Read Moreblic, but i cant find 7 shorts anywhere that sit at my natural waist, sit flat at my stomach, and fit loose around my hips and thighs. ive spent hundreds of not more dollars looking into other brandsathleta, grammici, columbia, eddie bauer, topi designs, etc etc etc, and ive even tried the patagonia mens baggiesand nothing fits except the womens baggies, but they are too short!! if youd make a 7 style for the older and taller people with hips, ill buy a hundred pairs.

May 20, 2021

Flattering

My daughter really loved these for her birthday. They are super flattering with roomy legs and laid flat on her stomach.

May 18, 2021

Nice all around shorts

It seems like there is an enormous difference between an XL and an XXL. I returned the XXL (I like my shorts a little bit baggy, but these were huge) for the XL and they fit fine but could be a bit looser. I wish they would make them in 7" inseam for women.

May 18, 2021

Wish they were longer

While the XLs fit I buy the XXLs so they are even baggier and longer. I use them over my swim suit to Kayak . They work well as they are cute and comfy and dry fast. I wish there was a longer option with the same baggy style.

May 17, 2021

Versatile Shorts

At first I did not like the fabric, but after the second wear it loosened up and I really like the quick dry characteristic. I will be wearing these all summer long for basically anything outdoors! Great purchase.

May 17, 2021

Comfort & fit

Perfect fit & cute print! Love the turtle print! Fit is perfect size small. Very comfy for casual wear & walking the fur-babies in style!

May 16, 2021

super comfy!

i love these. throw them on for anything and run out the door!

May 16, 2021

Goldilocks

It's been years (maybe 15+) since I bought a new pair of baggies. These shorts really are the best and it was finally time for a replacement. I started with L, but they were too big, so I ordered M, but they were too small. I know my body has changed after having children and eating a bit too much cheese. I sure wish I could get them to fit ju... Read Morest right.

May 16, 2021

Flattering!

I really like how big they are around my thighs. They make my legs look thinner because they have a lot of space around them. I will say its a lot of space so if you dont like that then they might not be for you. My only complaint would be that getting them over my hips is kind of tight. They fit great once on but the waist doesnt have much give wh... Read Moreen going over my hips/butt. I love the color (the slate blue one) and I will probably get more of them because I feel confident wearing them! They are big in parts and smaller in others. The waist is loose once its around my waist. It is a little snug on the widest part of my hips/butt but in a comfortable way and looks good. I like the quick dry material. Great for paddle boarding etc.

May 15, 2021

Runs small.

I usually wear a large, but Patagonia usually runs a bit small size wise for me and this was no exception. I'm pretty disappointed that they aren't baggy!

May 15, 2021

Comfy Cute

Love my Baggies! Staple go-to. I have them in every color. Super cute and comfy!

May 14, 2021

Great shorts, would benefit from more sizes.

I never wear shorts. I wanted to get 1 pair for this summer. These are great. They fit well, very light weight, great length and wonderful pockets hold my iphone12 max without an issue. The melon is a wonderful neutral. I normally wear a 14-16 and ordered the XL. No WAY! The exchange was easy peasy though and fast. XXL fits great. I dont know wha... Read Moret people bigger than me do though because I got the XXL and that is as big as they go.

May 11, 2021

Awkward Fit Through the Hips

I really like Patagonia as brand. The clothes are tough and stand up to the fairly consistent abuse that I dish out. I wanted to love these so badly but the fit is a problem. I'm pretty average sized and can normally pick a small or medium off the rack and wear it without issue but no so with Patagonia The waist is too big but its too tight ac... Read Moreross the hips. It ends up creating this pouch at top and oddly tight around the hips. The narrow hips are something I've run into with almost every Patagonia bottom I've tried on.

May 10, 2021

Runs small

Super flattering, I ordered up a size since I never have ordered pants from Patagonia before and Im glad I did. In womans clothing typically wear a L bottom but in some juniors stores (like AE) I wear an XL. Would say if you are used to ordering juniors clothing go for your juniors size- but if you are used to wearing adult sizes (loft/ Ann Taylor)... Read More size up. But over all I love the fit!

May 9, 2021

Dependable product

I have always loved the patagonia baggies. I wore the 2.5" length for a whole summer of kayak guiding but wanted a longer fit. The longer fit is great and feels like more coverage. Dries really fast.

May 8, 2021

LOVE the Baggie shorts, even after all these years!

Hands down my favorite shorts. I've been wearing them since they made only men's and I would cut the liner out, and now that they make women's I've been wearing the same pairs since the early `00s. I bought these because I like the print and know they will last. I wear them all summer - SUPing, hiking, hanging out in the Adirond... Read Moreacks. Quick dry and pretty much indestructible. I can't recommend them highly enough. You'll keep them for 20 years or more.

May 8, 2021

For the Love of Turtles!

Well, I cannot tell a lie. I have loved turtles since I was a child and when I saw these shorts I had to have them! I usually buy the mens and cut out the mess. This was much easier. Super comfy. The leg openings are a bit too big for me. I would buy again.

May 6, 2021

Not for me

I really wanted to love the Women's baggies because of the material and versatility, but the sizing is off. The M hugs my hips and butt and just doesn't feel right. I opted for the Men's S instead and feel much more comfortable with the high waist and coverage.

May 4, 2021

sizing

The sizing is off. I normally wear a size 4 shorts but the small is more difficult to get over my hips and the medium is too big

May 3, 2021

The perfect shorts

These shorts are actually a practical but cute length. I like the wider leg fit, and overall they are the perfect short for when I want to dress more masculine or laid back. These are true to size. I am 55, 140 lbs, and athletic and the size small is perfect. These are not flattering on the butt if that is what you are doing for, but personally tha... Read Moret isnt my interest when I grab these to put on.

May 2, 2021

Fit snugly around the backside

These shorts are great but they run small in the backside. When I opened the package and tried the shorts on the waste and length were fantastic but the backside was a bit tighter than I expected. I had to return them because I didnt have the required range of motion to keep them.

April 30, 2021

Comfy and Modest!

These shorts are so comfy and cute. Perfect length not too short so theyre modest but also not too long that they look like boys shorts. Love the material and love the style.

April 28, 2021

A Perfect Staple

I got these at the beginning of spring hoping they would fit and be comfortable enough for a variety of activities this summer. I have worn them so many times already and they go with everything in my wardrobe which is a huge plus. Thank you Patagonia for making such a solid pair of shorts!

April 28, 2021

Baggies fan

Love the print and the length. The waist band is not very stretchy and is a little small compared to my other baggies. Hard to get over the hips and booty but fit well around the waist. I wish they had a little more stretch to make getting them on and off easier.

April 27, 2021

Love them

I like these. The medium was too small on my butt, but the large is a little too big everywhere else. Overall love them thi

April 26, 2021

Most versatile shorts EVER

I love these shorts so much. I had them in my cart for 3 years and kept almost buying them, and I can't BELIEVE I waited that long. If you're thinking about it, take this as a sign to buy yourself a pair of baggies. You won't regret it!! I use these for work, hiking, casual wear, climbing, running, and honestly anything else. I can&#... Read Morex27;t recommend these enough.

April 26, 2021

Very comfy

Comfortable, so much so I am going to get a second pair in another color! Flattering, lightweight, highly breathable but durable. Flat enough waistband they will work for backpacking and climbing. I wish they had a zipper pocket for my house key when running. I am 5'5 115lbs and got an XXS.

April 26, 2021

comfy and cute: the everyday summer short

I could not recommend these shorts enough, they are extremely comfortable and cute (in my opinion!). I got a size small, and I am around 5 7 and pretty thin, but I also enjoyed wearing my friends size mediums when I was looking for a bit more of a baggy look (one that I enjoy fondly). The material of these shorts is great for summer as it would rea... Read Morect well to sweat and water. Overall, I highly recommend- I want them in every color and am currently refraining from purchasing another pair.

April 25, 2021

so great

these are my favorite shorts ever, so light weight and great for any outdoor activity as well as for casual outfits when out and about

April 21, 2021

Great Material!

These shorts are such a thick material, similar to a thicker swimsuit. They are perfect for any physical or outdoor activity. I am excited to wear them as a counselor at day camp this summer!

April 21, 2021

Well-made, colorful shorts!

Only wore these out once so far, but really liked them! The color's a vibrant blue, they feel durable and well-made, and fit well (good length!). I'm a 26" waist, 38" hip, pear shape and the size small fits great! No need to shimmy over my hips. Can't wait to wear them on trips.

April 20, 2021

Cute and comfy

Come but not too baggy. Pockets are great with a loop to hold keys or a wallet

April 18, 2021

Comfortable shorts

Very comfortable, loose fit, a little stiff. Will wear them often

April 18, 2021

Great shorts!

This is my second pair of Baggies. They're great for just about anything. Love the deep pockets, which make them perfect for pickleball!

April 18, 2021

Theyre orange!

I really love these shorts, I would say size up if you want a baggier fit. Im an xs/0/25 and I got a small. The paint brush red is definitely more orange, but still a gorgeous color. Cant wait to hike and swim in these!

April 17, 2021

Cute but see through

I ordered the baggies in Saffron color. Im 56, 135 pounds and ordered a size S. Fit was great, but when I turned around to look in the mirror, the shorts were very sheer. You could see every stripe on the underwear I had on underneath. I tried a lighter color of underwear, but still could see everything. I would not be comfortable wearing these cas... Read Moreually knowing theyre nearly see through and dont have a built in brief. I was very disappointed especially reading reviews that the older versions of baggies were made of beefier fabric. Ill sadly be returning or exchanging for a darker color.

April 16, 2021

No comment

I don't know how these shorts could fit anybody - they are way out of proportion - the waist is too tight - the leg openings are the circumference of a California redwood tree - huge.

Response from Patagonia
April 17, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit. In the future we're happy to provide garment dimensions for any gear prior to purchase.

April 14, 2021

Great Shorts

Super comfy. Love the loop latch in the pocket! I would love these even more if there was a 6" inseam option

April 13, 2021

obsessed is an unterstatement

This is my 4th pair of the Baggies and I cherish every one of them. I wear them almost every day when it's warm out. They pack lightly, dry quickly, and last through years of wear and tear. It also helps that the colors and patterns are always amazing and eye-catching!

April 13, 2021

Ok but not great

I got these shorts for paddling and bumming around at the lake. I've had my eye on them for years after knowing guys who have loved them. I was tempted to try a mens pair because this fit is ok but not super comfortable. They should be a tad looser around the hips and butt. I think they were trying to make a more feminine cut but it just doesn... Read More't fit right and ends up feeling like it pulls in certain places. I kept them because they are good enough. I often find that women's versions of great mens pieces just don't hit the mark for us women.

April 12, 2021

LOVE these shorts

I have these in the 5 inch and 2.5 inch and I love these shorts. I keep coming back for more. I am typically a 4/6 in pants depending on the style and I have both a small and medium in the baggies, but I like the medium for a looser fit. I highly recommend these!

April 11, 2021

Favorite shorts

By far my favorite shorts Ive ever owned! Perfect for any outdoor activity and also very cute. Would highly recommend

April 11, 2021

Super comfortable.

These are the fifth pair of shorts I have. Two pairs of black, green, blue and pink. I love these pants. I wear them riding my recumbent bike outside.

March 30, 2021

Great pair of shorts for everything

I'm already a big fan of the short's versatility (biking, hiking, hammocking), they're obviously activewear but in a smart way. I'm short so the 5" shorts make for a modest cut on me: the shorts pull up to my natural waist and the hem is below my upper thighs. I told my friends the shorts make me feel like one of those cool... Read More, active 90's moms.

March 30, 2021

So comfy!

I have a 24" waist and 34" hips, and the xs is a nice looseness. The only thing to keep in mind is the fact that your phone will weigh down the shorts and pull them down even if you cinch the waist at the tightest setting. Get xxs if you usually carry your phone in your pockets. Other than that, it's a great pair of shorts and provid... Read Moree a lot of comfort when you just want to remain casual.

March 30, 2021

Loved but tight waist elastic

I have always worn these and medium always fits but this year the elastic waist was just really too tight. They are almost too large elsewhere but I knew I wouldnt wear them because the waist wasnt comfortable. But I had no trouble returning them and found something else I liked. I wish the waist fit because I loved the pattern but they just had a ... Read Morestiff waist compared to other years. I would say they I not true to size.

March 27, 2021

Xxl!

Im so excited they started carrying xxl. Bought two different colors. Also bought some other shorts in xxl that were true to size. The shirts are not tho. But will be buying a ton of bottoms now that I know they fit!

March 26, 2021

Wanted to love these...

I wanted to love these based on the positive reviews, but I ended up in the negative review camp. The crotch is too low and the waist definitely runs small without much give despite being elastic. I never know whether to purchase XS or S because they are pretty inconsistent. Sometimes I swim in a small other times I suffocate in an XS. Back to the ... Read Moreshorts, the material is also much more like a board short than I expected and didn't seem like it would be too comfortable for longer summer alpine approaches which is what I was hoping. The prints and colors are fantastic and I wish the fit were right. I tried the shorter baggies in a S with hopes the crotch would fit better, but it was sadly the same.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Thanks for your valuable feedback on the fabric, design, "relaxed" fit, sizing and features of these shorts. We're sorry they were a disappointment! You may prefer our softer polyester/spandex [Nine Trails Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-nine-trails-running-shorts-6-inch/57630.html?dwvar_57630_color=CNY&cgid=womens-shorts), available in 4" and 6" inseam lengths. Please reach out if you need any help to return them!

March 23, 2021

Weird Fit

I wanted to love these when I received them. The fabric feels very durable and they are well made, not to mention more environmentally and socially responsible than most other companies options. However, the sizing is very weird if you have a thicker bum/thighs like I do. I wear a Large in pretty much every other pair of leggings and shorts I own, ... Read Morebut the large in these shorts was extremely tight around my butt, and almost too tight in the waistband. I exchanged for an XL, which are way too big and loose. Unfortunately I have to send both back.

March 22, 2021

Great Shorts!!

These are my favorite shorts I have ever worn. I have two pairs and they are amazing! The fabric is great for the lake or the beach as it dries so quickly. I would also describe my body as more pear shaped and they are really flattering for my body. Love love love!

March 17, 2021

Nice fit!

Fit great, even with muscular thighs

February 17, 2021

Love the Saffron color!

Bought XS in dragonfly and exchanged for xxs because for too much bulk in material above my bottom. The Xxs was too small, couldnt pull it over my hips - returned and bought a new XS baggies in Saffron from REI since they were sold out in my seize at the time and color at Pantagonia. The Saffron fits great in XS and is softer feeling than the drago... Read Morenfly colored baggies. These are great shirts , only which they had a liner like the guys baggies and that they would come in red! - yes, I would recommend the baggies Just didnt like the bag and forward stuff in ordering.

February 6, 2021

Runs small

Overall I like these shorts but they are NOT true to size. I am a true xl and I could get the xl on but they were so tight and uncomfortable that I didnt want to wear them for long. I recommend sizing up. Hoping to try the xxl soon. Annoyed that my true size doesnt fit.

January 29, 2021

Cool Shorts

Its winter in Maine so I havent had an opportunity to wear them yet, but Ive tried them on and love the fit. The length is great- not too short, and I can tell the material will be really quick drying this summer. I love the print and Im excited to wear them when the weather permits.

January 29, 2021

Cool Shorts

Its winter in Maine so I havent had an opportunity to wear them yet, but Ive tried them on and love the fit. The length is great- not too short, and I can tell the material will be really quick drying this summer. I love the print and Im excited to wear them when the weather permits.

January 25, 2021

Extremely comfortable fit

These shirts are amazing. Even though they are elastic band and drawstring they can pass for a really relaxed casual look with a nice T. Definitely purchasing other colors. Please make more prints.

January 22, 2021

Beautiful Blue and resilient

These shorts have great pockets, accommodate a tummy and are a terrific blue - plus well made. However, by the nature of the material, they don't contour to your body, they drape to their design. It's a trade off for wanting a walk/run short that is longer, that has pockets, that is stylish, that accommodates a tummy. If they draped I&#x2... Read More7;d give them five stars.

January 7, 2021

FAVORITE shorts

These shorts are my summer uniform. Have converted my mother and sister in law as well. Theyre comfortable, dry quickly, move easily, and the colors are so great. Literally have 8 pairs. They fit consistently with other Patagonia stuff, maybe a little smaller than some leggings, but theres some stretch

December 27, 2020

Very comfortable

These shorts are awesome! They fit great and I can tell they are very well made.

December 19, 2020

Back pocket please

I have had two pairs of the men's Baggies shorts for TWENTY FIVE YEARS and they are still holding up strong. My husband bought me a pair of women's Baggies for a present - I was excited to have women's ones as I thought they'd be a bit more fitted. But wait - no back pocket, unlike the ones I already had? I was confused and thou... Read Moreght maybe they've eliminated the back pocket over the years for whatever reason. But I looked online and nope, the men's shorts still have a back pocket. Does Patagonia think that women do not need to carry things securely too? Do they think we are doing sports carrying a purse or something? Do they think most women who shop at Patagonia are so vain that they care more how their butt looks than actually being able to carry their phone or wallet with them? (And if they did care, they could just elect to not put anything in the pocket). I know from the Baggies that I already have that it's quite uncomfortable to carry something heavy (like a phone) in one of the front pockets when running or doing anything where you are moving a lot. The back pocket is much more useful. Please add this to the women's shorts. I still gave 4 stars since the original ones I had have held up for such a ridiculously long time and these otherwise look similar, but I will not purchase another pair of women's shorts without a back pocket.

November 19, 2020

GoToShort

fit is roomy and comfortable. The kind of short you csn do snything in. Worth the orice vuz you wont need anything else.

November 12, 2020

The perfect shorts for any activity!

If I could buy these in every color, I would! I love them so much. They go with everything and are great for any activity.

November 11, 2020

My new favorite athletic shorts

These shorts are so versatile and comfy! Once I got them I started wearing them almost everyday for morning yoga, skateboarding, or just a comfy outfit at home. It's slightly on the looser side, but fits perfectly when you tighten the drawstrings.

October 8, 2020

Love it except for the waistband.

I am 42 years old, 5'6", 160 lbs. I wear size 6 on bottoms, and as per size guide, I am a small. Fits perfectly, except for the waistband. It just lacks that stretch when you're trying to take them off. Waistband fits ok on my actual waist, but super tight getting them through my hips. I did not size up, kept my size small, because t... Read Morehe medium would then be too big overall. The waistband situation is a bummer, but I would still recommend you purchase these shorts. In fact, I bought another one a few weeks later.

September 18, 2020

Comfy and perfect swimming shorts - but be aware of the waist size!

I love these shorts. Perfect for summer - swimming, hiking, camping etc. I have a 26" waist and the XS fits me well on high waist, BUT they are a little snug. I tried the small and those were falling down my waist! I wish the XS was a little less snug and had room to breathe a little.

September 16, 2020

Fun patterns and comfortable

I love the fun patterns that these come in and that they are so comfortable as well as practical for just about anything.

September 16, 2020

Super durable

These shorts are amazing and dry fast. I have 4 pair and want more

September 12, 2020

Comfy and Cute

I opted in to get the longer baggies because I have a bigger bottom and wanted it to all be covered. These are great. They are water repellent, light-weight, and so comfy. They also have and elastic band. These are my go-to shorts and I wear them all the time. They kinda feel like swim trunks.

September 7, 2020

One pair can do it all

5'7" / waist 31" / hips 36.5" and the mediums fit perfectly. The small is a little snug on the booty and I still have them but my mediums are my go to. I seriously live in these. Recently went on a weekend outdoor climbing/camping trip that included a dip in the river. The rest of my clothes smell horrible and my baggies have a ... Read Morelittle bit of a smell if I stick them against my nose. Lighter colors easily get dirty but are really easy to clean since they repel water (I've even easily gotten blood stains out of the light beryl green using hand soap in a bathroom sink). Great for swimming in because they dry with a quick wipe from a towel or a few minutes in the sun. Great for biking because there are no seams in the saddle area. I'm to the point that I try to wear these out so I have an excuse to get another pair. I look forward to that day when they need a repair because that means both the shorts and I lived a good life.

September 3, 2020

Run small

I really wanted these shorts to work but unfortunately they were way too small, particularly in the hips area.

September 3, 2020

The best shorts ever!

I have probably 15 pairs of these shorts and I notice the current cutting is slightly slimmer than previous seasons. I absolutely love how comfortable the shorts are and I live in these shorts for the entire Spring, Summer and beyond. The material is tough and durable and the colors are always great. The absolutely love the Spanish Red this year. T... Read Morehey're my go-to shorts as they fit great and offers roominess in just the right places. They're so comfortable and I never get tired of them. Please bring back the slightly baggier cut from previous seasons as it's more flattering.

September 1, 2020

Love them!

These fit exactly how I was hoping they would. I can't stand when shorts are too tight and I like them to have a baggie look/feel and these are perfect. I purchased to use for just casual wear and also hiking -- I haven't gone on any big climbs with them yet but I plan to wear them on my next hike. They seem like they'll dry quickly ... Read Moreand be durable enough for tough hikes.

September 1, 2020

Great shorts, if you are a mannequin!

I was already to get nostalgic with a new pair of baggies, but even though I tried two different sizes, couldnt find one to fit! The sizing is way off as one size is skin tight, the next falling off!!

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your Baggies™ Shorts. In the future we'd be happy to provide garment dimensions so you can shop with confidence.

September 1, 2020

THE BEST

Literally the best shorts! Great length - not too short not too long (Im 49) - great pockets - comfy - and cute! Worth the money!

September 1, 2020

Excellent unisex short

Like the 5" inseam and no internal mesh liner. Pockets hold my iPhone. Comfortable for all-day wear. As a guy, this design is better than the traditional men's 5" inseam version. Wish Surfboard Yellow XL had been available when I ordered.

August 24, 2020

Requesting new colorful Tropical Prints

Everyear I look forward to purchasing the womens 5" insean baggie shorts. The solid colors are nice but the prints are the worse every year. We need more allover tropical prints. That melon print looks like floating shrimps. Please, please, please come out with some nice tropical prints for spring 2021. Maybe you can revisit your old popular p... Read Morerints pallettes from the past. Thank you! The fit is great!!

August 23, 2020

New Sailing Shorts!

I am 5' 3" and weight abut 116 lbs, I bought the XS size and they fit great! I l love that these shorts are a little high waisted too! I got them for sailing and and they very comfortable, quick drying, and sturdy. I also found that the right pocket has a small elastic loop in it for attaching things to! Pockets for the win! My only disap... Read Morepointment was that, even though these shorts are made of recycled materials, they still come in a plastic bag that is difficult to recycle. Also even though Patagonia uses paper for their tags, the tag is still attached with a plastic loop. I would love to see Patagonia move to using more biodegradable packaging!

August 18, 2020

THEY ARE WONDERFUL

I'm 5'6 and pretty athletic with most of my muscle in my thighs/butt so shorts sizing can be a gamble, but the medium fit me REALLY comfortably and were a little on the loose side! The material is perfect for more rugged trails with scrambles and/or rougher outdoor adventures. They are definitely worth the price!

August 5, 2020

Restrictive Waistband

If you are shorter (5'1-5'3) and have any sort of hips, I would not recommend these shorts. The width of the legs clearly was the right size but I could not get the waistband past my thighs/hips at all.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

Hi Emily, thanks so much for your review and we're really sorry that the waistband was too restrictive. Please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your Baggies if you were looking to do so. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team.

July 29, 2020

Rugged and Cute

These are great all-around shorts that I use for both casual wear and for hiking. They are well made and I feel like I don't have to be too careful in them to avoid ripping or staining them. It is for this reason that I bought my 7 year old son four pairs of Baggies in his size! I bought the 5" pink palm fronds for myself, which is a uni... Read Moreque color combination and pattern I receive lots of compliments on. My only minor issue with the shorts is that they "puff" out a little at the top under the elastic waist band in the back more than I would like ( which luckily can be disguised by the position of my shirt). Good shorts overall though!

July 24, 2020

Very cute, but maybe size up

I am 54 and around 160 lbs. I go between a size 6 and 8 so I bought the medium. I feel they are a bit snug and wishing I would have sized up. They fit, but I would have appreciated a little bit extra room.

July 19, 2020

In Love

I bought a small, Im 56, 130 lb, athletic build, 27in waist 38in hip. They are so comfy and the 5 inseam is perfect (I was worried they would be awkwardly long). No liner, so probably wont wear for running, but theyll be perfect for kayaking, climbing, hiking, and even swimming.

July 19, 2020

Can't recommend these enough

These shorts are amazing. A great length (not too short to freak out conservative moms and not too long to prevent my thighs from tanning). They're super comfy, and are great for crop tops or tucking a shirt French style or full on. I got them in pigeon blue and like that they're almost denim neutral but have a bit more pizzazz. I want at... Read More least one more pair because I literally have worn these 6 days a week since I bought them in May. If you're reading this review, just go buy them already you won't regret it.

July 19, 2020

New favorites

A little over a week, and my baggies are my new favorites for outdoor activities. The loose sizing gives a different look than athletic shorts, but they dont ride up and are extremely comfortable. A little pricey, but worth it in my opinion.

July 14, 2020

Best hiking shorts

I bought an x-large because other Patagonia shorts (not baggies) have run small. These ran much bigger. I was too lazy to mail them in to exchange and just rolled the waist band sometimes. I used them to hike all over, especially the high peaks in the Adirondacks. This is the perfect short for booty scootin' down those rocks. Other shorts tore... Read More from trees, booty scootin', etc. but these were awesome. Love the pockets!!! Perfect for a mid or post dip in the water as they dry fast. I'm in love.

July 14, 2020

best mid thigh shorts

these are amazing and well worth the money! they fit well and are very comfy. good mobility and great material. also love that there are pockets its a big game changer!

July 14, 2020

Perfect Baggies

I'm very pleased with my purchase, kinda bummed that the colors sell out so fast in my size though. Will definitely purchase more in future. Perfect baggie/retro fit. A wise investment.

July 13, 2020

Fantastic all all sport shorts!

I now have two pairs of these shorts and absolutely love them! I use these as every day wear and wear them hiking and biking as well. They are super comfortable and dont ride up like most other shorts. Highly recommend!

July 13, 2020

nice feel

sturdy material. great for hot summer days. deep pockets enough to put my cell phone and various other stuff like mask and keys. has inside tie to keep in place. otherwise can fall off my waist.

July 13, 2020

Great shorts

These are so great. Light weight and I love the pockets too

July 13, 2020

Perfect Short!

Perfect shorts for daily wear, fishing, hiking, etc.

July 13, 2020

Great fit and comfort

I love these shorts. They are great for hiking, walking, hanging out. I like the fit-loose but not too loose, and the length-great coverage/not too long or short. I wish I ordered more because they sold out so quickly.

July 13, 2020

So Easy to Wear!

I've had these shorts about a month now, and I wear them any chance I get! I got a size medium because they were out of smalls in the color I wanted, so they're a little baggy on me, but the drawstring keeps them held up. However, the waistband isn't very stretchy so I have a bit of a hard time getting them over my hips, even though ... Read Morethey're loose on my waist. Otherwise, these are my favorite things to wear because I feel like I can do anything in them!

July 13, 2020

BEST shorts

BEST SHORTS EVER! Don't even wear my other shorts anymore. So comfy. Best fit and works for all activities!

July 13, 2020

Comfy just to short.

I would like to know if these shorts could be made longer maybe 9 inches? For us older customers. Dottie

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2020

Hi Dorothy, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry to hear that these shorts weren't quite long enough for your liking. However, we really appreciate this feedback and we'll pass it along to our design crew.

July 13, 2020

Very comfy! And great for hot summer day!

I love these shorts they are amazing for doing anything from hanging out with friends to hiking up a mountain. The fabric is breathable and dries very quickly!

July 13, 2020

great all around short

These shorts are perfect for long walks with the dog, SUPping since they dry very quickly and simply for every day active use. Love them!

July 13, 2020

Hips dont lie

I really do love these shorts and the colors. But its made for women that have no shape. When I pull them up its a little hard to get over my butt. Once they are on, they fit okay just a little snug around the hips. I still wear them because I really do like the material and theyre easy to match with other clothes.

July 13, 2020

Now I understand

I tried these on last year and decided no to get them but wanted to give them another shot since they are so popular. At first they seemed too, well, baggie but Ive gotten used to the fit and really like them. They are cute and comfortable. I originally got them for water sports but have only worn them casually so far. I plan to get other colors.

July 13, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

I love how lightweight the shorts are!! If they get wet they dry quickly & are really nice for hot days in the summer. Only problem with the shorts is the waist band is rather small on both small & mediums. If you have a bigger rump these shorts may not be for you because i struggle with getting them on because the waist band does not stret... Read Morech. overall, once i have them on i love them!

July 13, 2020

great shorts!

comfy and durable these are my go-to shorts for every nice sunny day

July 13, 2020

My old friend

Patagonia baggies- my old friend that never wears out. Bought my first pair in the 80s! I've climbed and hiked in these- they are every bit as rugged and versatile as they have always been! I'm a muscular girl ( climb, telemark, bike, hike and run) and you have plenty of room for movement with ample coverage.

July 13, 2020

Amazing Shorts!

Look and fit great. Sooo comfortable, and light, and sharp look. Great to wear in warm weather. Love this color!

July 13, 2020

Nice Summer Short

The shorts are baggy, but the waist is true. Im 58 130lb, and I ordered a medium, probably would have been fine with a small. There is an adjustable drawstring which I use to tighten up the waist when I have the pockets weighed down with my cell phone and e-collar remote for my dog. I do love these shorts, and I wish I had more. They wash well and ... Read Moredry super fast.

July 13, 2020

My go to shorts

I originally ordered size medium and had to return them because they were much too big in my waist. I do see where other people are coming from because the small is tight as Im pulling them up but fit perfectly around my waist. The elastic band doesnt give too much but I actually like how fitted they are. These are so comfortable and I wear them a... Read Moreround the house, hiking and even when I workout. Pretty deep pockets with a band to hook youre keys to. I really do love them and will continue to order them in all the colors.

July 13, 2020

Great Baggies

These are the best shorts and unlike the mens there is no silky brief attached.

July 13, 2020

Need all the colors

I love these shorts! They are a great length and are very comfortable. I am normally between a small and a medium and went with the small based on reviews. I am happy I sized down as the small fit perfect.

July 13, 2020

The perfect short

I have several pairs of these and live in them all summer. They are the perfect length and have deep enough pockets that are great when biking. They are also super durable- they are literally the perfect short!

July 13, 2020

If I could wear them all the time I would

These shorts are super comfortable and cute! I can wear them with anything for most events. I will totally order more

July 13, 2020

Fun shorts!

These shorts are so great and I have gotten so many compliments on them. They're just stretchy enough to form with your body while also being functional for hiking and other outdoor activities. I have such a hard time pulling them up over my butt, but once they are on they are perfect!

July 13, 2020

Womens Baggies

I wish I read the other reviews about this short and I would have probably just went for the mens version of these shorts. I have a curvy body and the shorts have no give and are cut for someone with very straight hips.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Kimberly, we're sorry to hear the fit didn't work out. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. Thanks so much for your review!

July 13, 2020

Fit is off

Okay, I wanted to love these shorts. But I am a true size 6, and the Medium was way too small! Its clear that the fit model is a certain shape and they arent taking into account other shapes (not sizes! Curvy doesnt mean bigger) However, I think if you know to size up - youll love these Shorts. Unfortunately, the L was sold out by the time I got th... Read Moreem. Prints are whimsical and fun! For context I ordered the shorter version in size L and love them.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Lauren, we're sorry to hear these ended up being too small. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

July 13, 2020

Finally shorts that I can wear at the lake!

I love wearing shorts at the lake. I can wear these doing everything and dry right away

July 13, 2020

Best Shorts Ever!

I love these shorts so much. They are so comfy and are great for every day and also for adventures. Unfortunately a seam is already coming apart, but besides that I want them in every color!

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Gaelyn, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the seam on your shorts is already coming undone. You are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty if the issue gets any worse.

July 11, 2020

Not for curvy women

I wanted to love these shorts so badly, but they just did not work on my body. I ordered a medium based on the sizing guide and I could barely squeeze them over my hips. Once on, they were huge in the waist and very tight in the hips/butt. I would not recommend these if you have any curves.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2020

Hi Joelle, we're really sorry these shorts ended up being too tight. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us for a refund. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

July 11, 2020

Great comfortable beach short

I needed to replace a pair of very worn Columbia shorts I wear to the beach, boating, water sports, etc. These were the perfect replacement. I have a pear shape so if you do as well order a size up from your normal short size. Will definitely buy in other colors

July 11, 2020

Great shorts

These are so great. Light weight and I love the pockets too

July 10, 2020

Perfect Short!

Perfect shorts for daily wear, fishing, hiking, etc.

July 10, 2020

So Easy to Wear!

I've had these shorts about a month now, and I wear them any chance I get! I got a size medium because they were out of smalls in the color I wanted, so they're a little baggy on me, but the drawstring keeps them held up. However, the waistband isn't very stretchy so I have a bit of a hard time getting them over my hips, even though ... Read Morethey're loose on my waist. Otherwise, these are my favorite things to wear because I feel like I can do anything in them!

July 10, 2020

Great fit and comfort

I love these shorts. They are great for hiking, walking, hanging out. I like the fit-loose but not too loose, and the length-great coverage/not too long or short. I wish I ordered more because they sold out so quickly.

July 10, 2020

BEST shorts

BEST SHORTS EVER! Don't even wear my other shorts anymore. So comfy. Best fit and works for all activities!

July 10, 2020

Very comfy! And great for hot summer day!

I love these shorts they are amazing for doing anything from hanging out with friends to hiking up a mountain. The fabric is breathable and dries very quickly!

July 10, 2020

great all around short

These shorts are perfect for long walks with the dog, SUPping since they dry very quickly and simply for every day active use. Love them!

July 10, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

I love how lightweight the shorts are!! If they get wet they dry quickly & are really nice for hot days in the summer. Only problem with the shorts is the waist band is rather small on both small & mediums. If you have a bigger rump these shorts may not be for you because i struggle with getting them on because the waist band does not stret... Read Morech. overall, once i have them on i love them!

July 10, 2020

great shorts!

comfy and durable these are my go-to shorts for every nice sunny day

July 10, 2020

My old friend

Patagonia baggies- my old friend that never wears out. Bought my first pair in the 80s! I've climbed and hiked in these- they are every bit as rugged and versatile as they have always been! I'm a muscular girl ( climb, telemark, bike, hike and run) and you have plenty of room for movement with ample coverage.

July 10, 2020

Amazing Shorts!

Look and fit great. Sooo comfortable, and light, and sharp look. Great to wear in warm weather. Love this color!

July 10, 2020

Nice Summer Short

The shorts are baggy, but the waist is true. Im 58 130lb, and I ordered a medium, probably would have been fine with a small. There is an adjustable drawstring which I use to tighten up the waist when I have the pockets weighed down with my cell phone and e-collar remote for my dog. I do love these shorts, and I wish I had more. They wash well and ... Read Moredry super fast.

July 10, 2020

Runs small

Love the material but definitely runs small. Will need to order a size up for comfortable wear

July 9, 2020

My go to shorts

I originally ordered size medium and had to return them because they were much too big in my waist. I do see where other people are coming from because the small is tight as Im pulling them up but fit perfectly around my waist. The elastic band doesnt give too much but I actually like how fitted they are. These are so comfortable and I wear them a... Read Moreround the house, hiking and even when I workout. Pretty deep pockets with a band to hook youre keys to. I really do love them and will continue to order them in all the colors.

July 9, 2020

Great Baggies

These are the best shorts and unlike the mens there is no silky brief attached.

July 9, 2020

Need all the colors

I love these shorts! They are a great length and are very comfortable. I am normally between a small and a medium and went with the small based on reviews. I am happy I sized down as the small fit perfect.

July 9, 2020

size up

I bought a size large (normally wear around size 12 pants) and it was too small, i returned and ordered up a size and they fit great, super comfy. I also love that they are made with breathable fabric

July 9, 2020

The perfect short

I have several pairs of these and live in them all summer. They are the perfect length and have deep enough pockets that are great when biking. They are also super durable- they are literally the perfect short!

July 9, 2020

If I could wear them all the time I would

These shorts are super comfortable and cute! I can wear them with anything for most events. I will totally order more

July 7, 2020

Love these shorts!

Love the material and the casual look of these shorts. As one reviewer commented about the waistband not stretchy enough for women with curves, this was true for me, but once I was able to squeeze it up my butt, it fit perfectly at the waist. I usually order a size xsmall in most sporty shorts in different brands and went with this size. I decided ... Read MoreI will be keeping them since they look so cute with a fitted crop top. My advice to Patagonia would be to make the elastic on the waistband more stretchy for curvy women!

July 4, 2020

Hard to get on

Like some other reviews mentioned, the shorts were really hard to get on the first time. I really had to tug them on, which is why I said they run kinda small. That being said, once they're up on your waist, they fit perfectly, and true to size. I always wear a small, and the smalls fit me well once they were up on me.

July 1, 2020

Just right.

I was looking for shorts for the South Florida weather. They are comfortable and do not stick to my skin as other shorts that I own. I would have preferred it an inch longer but I am very happy with my purchase. Highly recommend them.

June 30, 2020

Durable yet light

High quality, nice feel and fit. A little stiff at first but can tell these shorts are well made and will stand the test of wear and tear- built to last! A rear pocket would be a suggestion for future design.

June 30, 2020

Awesome versatile shorts!

Thank you Patagonia for offering these shorts in XXL! I bought myself the bright blue and my husband got me the black ones for my birthday. Perfect for water sports and swimming. They dry really fast. The waistband does not account curvy women! You do have shimmy them up over the butt, but once on they feel good. Great shorts! I am excited to start... Read More new adventures in the baggies!

June 30, 2020

women have butts!

I have loved baggies for so long for many reasons : the fabric, the comfort, and the casual design. However, I have always been in between sizes. The Medium used to be my go to but they are so right around my booty and upper thigh when pulling them up, and when finally over that area they feel comfortable. The Large size have always been easy to pu... Read Morell up but then a bit too baggies for my legs and waist once they are up high enough. Its like Patagonia forgot that most women have curves and need a bit extra room for the booty. Would love if they could re examine their design.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2020

Thanks for this detailed feedback on the fabric and design, Margo! We're sorry to hear the sizing and fit have been disappointing. We recommend you take a look at the Barely Baggies, and encourage you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these under our Ironclad Guarantee.

June 29, 2020

Love love!

Cant say enough how much I love these. The fit was just right they can be worn high waisted or right at the waist depending on what your feeling, the elastic is great. I wear them constantly. Ive run in them, gone swimming in them and hiked in them all summer. They are pretty water repellent and dry really quickly. I bought one pair and then immedi... Read Moreately bought another.

June 28, 2020

Plus Size Review

I am a 5'8" gal, 270 lbs, and have shorter legs but a longer torso. I appreciate how long the baggies were because my thighs touch, so an inner thigh rash is always a concern. Luckily, these are long enough that it isn't an issue. However over a half hour of continuous walking, you may notice that the fabric at the hem will begin to... Read More bunch up and move a bit higher. Despite this annoyance, I do find them quite comfortable for nylon, and the pockets are always appreciated.

June 27, 2020

Most comfortable shorts I own

Great product! I love these shorts and wear them anytime the weather permits. I have even swam in them when the spontaneous moment called for it, and they dried super quickly. I'm planning to buy another pair when they restock in my size! If you're on the fence, they're definitely worth the investment.

June 27, 2020

Comfy Work Look

The design on these are so cute and creative! The only downside is that they run a little large, so i have to tie the waste band pretty tight.

June 27, 2020

To tight on waist

The waist line is way to tight and does not give at all. Wish I would have ordered a Large.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

Hi Lisa, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear that the shorts didn't fit quite right. You're welcome to return them for a refund and purchase the size large. You can get your return started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 26, 2020

Comfortable, Nice quality!

I love these shorts and wear them very often! I like that the pockets have enough space for my phone or other items. The fit is somewhat triangle-shaped, which I actually like because they are loose around the legs but stay in place at the waist and do not slide around too much when walking. These shorts are stylish and very comfortable and functio... Read Morenal!

June 26, 2020

mom shorts

I wear these everywhere...the store, the park, the water. Super comfortable. Love pockets.

June 26, 2020

Wish I loved them more

I was SO excited to buy my first pair of baggies, only to find them run small and arent really designed for a woman with any kind of hips. I wish they were a little more shapely so I could wear them all the time.

June 26, 2020

Comfortable

These shorts are great! I wear them for golfing, walking and everyday wear. Love the length and loose fit. They seem well made and durable. Wash well. Will be getting another pair.

June 26, 2020

I have hundreds of these

Best shorts ever, very comfortable and true to size! The material is durable for all my outdoor activities, easy to pack, and the selection of colors and patterns are so fun! I continue to purchase these because of how much use I get out of them.

June 26, 2020

Best Shorts Ever / Size

Hands down my favorite shorts! Nice material and very comfortable. Can be worn for a hike or workout but also can be worn as a dressy-casual look too! I ended up buying a few pairs of these and got most of them as larger but also a couple in medium. I am 160 lbs and about 5'8" with an athletic build. The medium are definitely a little snu... Read Moreg getting on but fit fine once they are on and are more flattering. The large are a looser more relaxed fit and more "baggie." I think overall I prefer the large but both work and look great! 10/10 would reccomend

June 26, 2020

Great Option for Water

My hips are 44 and the XL goes over them even when wet. I love these shorts as a more modest option for swim wear. They take up very little room in a backpack and can easily pull double duty for an early casual dinner even off the water. My only wish is that they would make a longer inseam option to give me more coverage and that jam boardshort fee... Read Moreling.

June 26, 2020

Great Activity shorts!

I bought them in a large because I figured its better to be too big than too small. Even with being a bit big, they are awesome! They are such great activity shorts that give me some wiggle room.

June 26, 2020

Great shorts...but size up.

Im happy I read the reviews about the fit on these, because they definitely run small. I bought a pair of these along with a pair of the hiking shorts and was swimming in a M in the hiking shorts, whereas these fit perfectly in M. Super comfy and flattering! Ill likely get another pair because I like them so much, but just know they arent true to s... Read Moreize.

June 26, 2020

Best for Hawaii and Beach.

Have had many pair and types of baggies ( my children also ). I would like to have more Hawaiian designs and a bit longer.

June 26, 2020

So Comfy!

I love these shorts. The pattern and color options are great. The pockets are deep enough to hold anything I need for a walk through the city. The material is strong. I have size small from a couple of years ago and they were a tiny bit tight so when I ordered again I went with large to accommodate my quarantine weight because these shorts do run a... Read More little small or a little tighter than Iike (I wear an 8-10 depending on brand).

June 25, 2020

Not great in the crotch...

I returned these shorts even though they kind of fit. I liked the length but there was a weird poof in the fupa area that was pretty unattractive. I was going to use them for hiking and raft guiding but they just looked funny no matter if I was hiking or sitting on a raft. I also mail-ordered them and should have tried them on in a store. A differe... Read Morent size might work better because they are awesome, quick-drying, and comfortable shorts when they fit.

June 25, 2020

Great Shorts - Need fit fix

OK, honestly love these shorts and soo glad they fit - however there is one thing I would change. The amount of elasticity in the waist band. Once these things are one they fit PERFECT but I have athletic legs (thighs and booty strong) so when I go to pull these past my bum they are snug. If the elastic was just a little stretchier it would be a lo... Read Moret easier to pull on and off. Other than that they are perfect! Highly recommend.

June 25, 2020

Love these shorts.

I am 55 and usually wear a size small in shorts. These shorts are a little tough to get on (seems like a lot of people had that issue, regardless of booty size) but once you do theres a good amount of space in the waist. Other than that, I love them and ordered 3 different colors. Super comfy and cute.

June 25, 2020

Great all-around, functional short

I like these shorts for lots of different activities and I can tell by how they feel they will last many, many years (one of my main reasons for buying from Patagonia). Nice big pockets!

June 25, 2020

Comfortable shorts!

These are definitely baggy shorts! Once I wiggle them up over my hips and tie the drawstring, they are great. I love the deep pockets. They might not be super flattering, but they are functional and thats what counts! Im thinking about getting another pair in a fun color. Quality is apparent in these shorts. :)

June 25, 2020

Runs large

These are cute but very large. I wish I'd ordered two pairs of the hemp shorts instead, since these are just too baggy to really work for me. Cute, but too big.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these aren't quite working for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us so you can get yourself another pair of the Hemp Baggies Shorts.

June 25, 2020

Classic

These shorts are a must in any PNW wardrobe. They go everywhere and last for years.

June 25, 2020

A true yeet

How I feel about these shorts is how I felt when Ross and Rachel finally got back together.

June 25, 2020

Love baggies but fit off!

It was time for new Baggies, and being pretty tall gal I often struggle with Patagonia fits, I'm right between a M and L. If I go M, I get nervous it will be just tight enough I won't choose to wear as much, but the Large will be too big. I chose L thinking I wanted them comfortable. They came and my daughter laughed how big they were. I ... Read Morewas unable to find a M in any pattern I liked, so the jury is still out, but I suspect the M would be perfect.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Thanks for feedback, Allyson! We're sorry to hear the sizing didn't work out for you just yet. You might also try a pair of the Barely Baggies, as the fit is a bit different. We'll be happy to help you exchange them, so please reach out to us: help.patagonia.com/s

June 22, 2020

cute and casual

These shorts are cute and durable. I wear them for casual weekends or an easy walk or hike at the park. The pockets are amazing and a large phone does not fall out. Only minor complaint I have is that the waist band is a little rough!

June 21, 2020

Great fit

These shorts are so cute. Too sad the strings broke on the first wash.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear the shorts had an issue so soon! We'll be happy to help you return them at no cost under our Ironclad Guarantee, so please reach out to our Customer Service team here: https://help.patagonia.com/s/

June 21, 2020

Goes with anything!

My favourite short, I can wear them to the shop and then go for a hike without having to change. The quick dry material makes them perfect for those warm summer showers.

June 20, 2020

Pretty awesome

Was super skeptical about buying these because of the price but theyre awesome! I used these for work and my legs are a little bit bigger. The fit is really loose around the thigh area I think the only thing I would say is that its a little tight around the pocket area (cant stand around with hands in pockets cause its tight) but other than that th... Read Moreeyre the best!

June 20, 2020

Functional

Shorts are perfect for casual fun.

June 19, 2020

Super Cute Print

Love these shorts! I bought these and a second print pair. The fit and length are perfect, and they are comfortable and super-cute. They are my new favorite shorts!

June 19, 2020

Love them!

These are your standard, trusty baggies from Patagonia - comfortable and fun patterns! I bought the hot pink leaves pattern this time and I love it!

June 19, 2020

Almost Perfect

I wanted to love these but the fit is a little funny. I have a very "average" body type and typically never have any issues with fit from most brands but these ride up a little (read: give me a wedgie) and I wish the waist had a little more stretch because they don't come on and off super easily. That being said, I do still wear them... Read More, but they aren't as comfortable as I hoped they would be.

June 19, 2020

Color Bleeding, Woman's Baggies

This is my first negative experience with Patagonia, been a happy customer for years. The overall product is great but when you spend money for a high quality product you don't expect it to bleed onto other clothing when washed. The color (Catalan Coral ) has turned two separate loads of laundry pink. The 3 other colors have had no problem but... Read More beware of the coral unless you like your towels and t -shirts pink! Recommend product, just not color.

June 19, 2020

Cute and Comfy

I love the way these shorts fit. The length is perfect. The waist fits perfectly. I think theyll be my new favorite shorts this summer!

June 19, 2020

Comfortable but a bit large

Mediums are usually snug on me and larges are a little more roomy. This large was a little bigger than most size larges. They comfortable shorts and the drawstring does allow for some adjustment. I am excited to wear them and break them in more!

June 19, 2020

Great style but runs small

I have several pairs of these, but the fit is weird. I am a size 4 in most bottoms and the size small barely fit over my hips. The elastic waist is not very stretchy. Patagonia needs to adjust its sizing and widen its range of sizes to accommodate women of all sizes.

June 19, 2020

Best Shorts EVER!

Pockets like mens pants have! Pockets that can hold my phone, pocket knife, and keys PLUS the leash to clip my keys onto. These shorts are loose but flattering, comfy, lightweight, and quick-dry. I bought 3 pairs and I live in them now. And then I bought a pair for my toddler. Best shorts ever!

June 19, 2020

Comfortable + Versatile!

These shorts are a legend for a reason! They are so incredibly comfortable. You can be more rugged in them or make them more street casual. I personally love how quickly the fabric drys! Perfect for beach days, camping, hiking, or traveling.

June 19, 2020

just what i hoped for

At first I wasn't sure I had ordered the right size, but after wearing each pair a few times I am so glad I ordered them! They are so comfortable. Perfect for hot weather & getting wet (or not). Love them!

June 19, 2020

Best summer shorts

I love these loud, comfy shorts. I wear them everywhere, for everything. I hate when they are in the wash. Will purchase in another color before the summer is over!

June 19, 2020

She wont buy anything on her own.

I bought these for my wife. She loves them. We live in California and it gets warm here. These are ideal.

June 19, 2020

Love them but runs small

I am 21 years old, 5"10, 160 pounds and I had to order a size large. Typically I would be a medium and I wear a 6 or an 8 in leggings from Athleta. However, I could not get the size mediums over my thighs. Pretty wack sizing, especially since the material has little to no give. It makes me worry about the lack of size inclusivity for all body ... Read Moretypes. The large is VERY big in my waist since I am a 27 or 28 but it has a drawstring so I can cinch it tight. I bought these in 2 colors and literally wear them every day. Love the pink with floral print. So comfy and easy and flattering. Deep pockets too!

June 19, 2020

Retro Comfy Casual

Brings me back to 1982. Elastic waistband, full pockets with key holder loop. True to size. Love them.

June 19, 2020

Great / Disappointing Shorts

These shorts are mostly great. I got the Spanish red color, and I love it. They are baggy in all the right ways - relaxed without being too bulky, and they have nice deep pockets. My complaint is the same complaint I have with almost all Patagonia Womens products: they just do not take our curves into consideration. These shorts have no give in... Read More the waist band. Once the shorts are on I really like them, enough to give five stars even. But getting them on, especially when my skin is damp from swimming or sweat or the shower is a struggle. Its like a man with no grasp on womens bodies designs everything. Like the muse for every item is a super skinny marathon runner body type. That is never going to be me, nor do I want it to be. Even in my best shape, my thighs and butt are big. I love Patagonia products because of the quality and thoughtfulness in technical design as far as pocket, fabric go etc, and the colors are usually great. I just wish the designers would consider more shapely women in clothing cut.

June 19, 2020

Favorite shorts!

Super comfy and versatile shorts. I am 510 and ordered an xs. These are not to long and not too short, perfect length for me! Ordering in another color!

June 19, 2020

Cute shorts

These shorts are cute but the fit is completely wrong. The small is way to big and the XS is tiny. Im a size 2-4 regularly but I cant find a size that fits. Now that all the stores have closed for good in this area I wont be ordering online.

June 19, 2020

Love it

Love the comfy shorts. Style and look are great

June 19, 2020

Baggies are the BEST

This is my sixth pair of womens baggies. I have worn them every summer for more than 10 years. Each pair (and I expect my new shorts) has worn beautifully. No one, but my family, would know that these shorts have been my summer uniform for many, many years. Exceedingly comfortable, they are great for working out, running, beach ware, hiking, yoga, ... Read Moreand many more activities. It is the one gift I wanted for my birthday. My husband listened and bought me two pairs. Im set for a while!

June 19, 2020

Very small

These run very small for women and girls but true to size for men and boys. I did have to return mine and my daughters and get larger sizes, but both boys fit fine. Love these shorts for the whole fam!

June 19, 2020

My new every day shorts

I absolutely love these shorts, they fit great and the higher rise/longer inseam is perfect for me since I'm tall. They're so comfortable and the pockets are great to have. I've worn them for many an outdoor adventure! They do ride up on occasion but nothing too bad!

June 19, 2020

I want a pair in every color

These shorts are what I will be living in this summer! Im a nurse who also is a farm so comfort and durability is key in my wardrobe. Those shorts are both! They are perfect for all your summer activities and the fit is great! I struggle to find shorts that arent too short and these are that perfect in between length. I need my size to come back I ... Read Morestock so I can order a few more!

June 18, 2020

Love!

These do in fact have odd sizingI went between a small and a medium and ended up keeping the small! Im 110lbs and 54. I hate tight waistbands, but the medium was falling off of me. The small fits well and isnt restrictive!

June 18, 2020

Not accurate plus sizing

I wanted to love these shorts SO MUCH. They are everything Ive been searching for, and I was excited when Patagonia started carrying XXL. Its definitely a far cry from size inclusivity, but I usually wear a 1X/2X so I had high hopes for these. Unfortunately they fit like a roomy XL. There was no way I could comfortable wear these and move around, m... Read Moreuch less wear them during outdoor activities. I really really hope Patagonia gets on board with size inclusivity and broadens their sizes. There is an entire market for plus size people who are looking for quality clothing like Patagonia in sizes they can comfortably wear!

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2020

We're truly sorry to hear these didn't work out for you, but we really appreciate the great feedback, Nicole! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any of your purchases. We'll reach out to you privately with more detail.

June 18, 2020

Amazing

I had been debating these shorts for a while due to mix reviews. But Im glad I finally went for it I got two different colors and I wish I would have gotten more. Super comfortable.

June 18, 2020

Not easy to pull on

Other reviewers commented that the fit on these shorts does not work well if you're curvy. If you have any sort of butt, these will be hard to pull up. I got a medium, which is what I wear in other Patagonia shorts, and they require a definite squirmy wiggle pull up. Not a quick up or down. Once they're on, they feel fine. The fabric ... Read Moreis quick dry, and I don't worry about getting wet or dirty. I've worn them hiking, in the garden, camping, and been satisfied. I would size up to a Large, but I'm worried the baggy-nature would mean you would easily see up my shorts. If these had a liner like running shorts, maybe that would be fine. With an elastic waistband and a drawstring, I would think Patagonia could give them more stretch within each size.

June 18, 2020

These are great

These shorts are versatile and comfortable. I take them running and wear them around when its warm. It is nice to have theses shorts on deck- they are long enough to make me feel covered when I am biking and running and I love how I can get them wet -- I live in Ventura and they are perfect for this environment. I am curious how the shorter ones lo... Read Moreok and fit, I bet they are nice too! Pigeon blue is a great color, and goes with everything. Thanks Patagonia, I am sure I will use these lots this summer.

June 18, 2020

Super Cute

Great shorts. I love the alligator print and strong, lite weight material I would have given them a 5 star rating but as with Patagonia clothing I am in between sizes. The shorts run a little on the big side but if I size down I'm afraid they will be too small. The waste is perfect but the seat is a little big. I'm 5' 3'', ... Read More140 lbs., 27'' inch waste and I ordered a size medium.

June 17, 2020

Durable

Very durable and a functional pair of shorts. Would buy again.

June 17, 2020

True To Size (snug waste band)

True to size but waste band needs a little more give to get over the hip area (Its a little bit of a shimmy and wiggle situation getting them over the hips) once its over it fits perfectly.

June 17, 2020

Size Runs Small

I'm normally a medium, but I should've purchased a large. They're tight everywhere, in the thighs and waistband. Once I get them up to my waist they're not the worst, but getting them on is the biggest struggle! Go a size up :)

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on this and please feel free to begin an exchange if you'd like to try a larger size: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

June 17, 2020

Great Shorts

As an active, outdoorsy, bigger gal - I can honestly say these are the best hiking shorts I have ever worn. Long enough inseam to prevent chaffing from thighs rubbing but short enough to not look like "mom shorts". Wide leg holes make walking, hiking, sitting, everything comfortable without feeling tight in the slightest. I will be buying... Read More more colors!

June 17, 2020

I Like the Old Sizing Much Better

I have a pair of Baggies that are, probably, at least 25 years old, size M. They fit perfectly. The new Baggies, size M, fit way too snuggly. The pockets are on the inside, so they take up space (the old style has pleated pockets on the outside of the shorts. The waistband doesn't stretch much either. Because they're so snug, they ride up... Read More and seem shorter than the originals, though they're the same length. I'd love to buy more, but won't because there's such a HUGE discrepancy between sizes M and L that moving up one size doesn't not help at all.

June 17, 2020

Perfect Mountain Wear

I have three different pairs of the baggies. Wear these shorts for all my summer adventures in the mountains. They're light and comfy, which makes them totally perfect for hot days living in New Mexico. They provide enough 'room' for movement, so are great for running and climbing, or any of your other mountain adventures.

June 17, 2020

Good quality

Love the shorts except the waistband is irritating to my skin even after one washing. Hopefully more washing will help

June 17, 2020

Great shorts

I grew up wearing men's baggies - there weren't any female ones yet - and have always loved them. I got away from them for awhile, and decided to try a women's pair. I love them. I like the inseam length - it's the perfect length to me. They have large pockets that will actually hold keys and a cell phone! So many women's s... Read Morehorts don't. They are so comfortable to wear. I like them slightly loose, and I got the XL so they fit exactly like I want them too. I highly recommend these shorts to active women who value quality, light weight, quick drying, all purpose shorts.

June 17, 2020

Love these shorts

I want to have these in every color. Theyre comfy and flattering. I shouldve probably gone a size lower though. I am 53 and 123 lbs I purchased a medium but they are slightly big. A small wouldve fit better.

June 17, 2020

Way Comfy

Most versatile pair of shorts I own! I actually ordered a S and a M and after trying on both went with the small. Liked the fit of the S better which was a surprise. I am a size 4 but typically like athletic things to be looser, however with the material I felt like the M was gaping and wouldnt work well for climbing or hiking. Wear them most often... Read More either around the house or on the water. 10/10 recommend - the pockets really are the best!

June 17, 2020

Durable and stylish

I absolutely love these shorts. They are my go-to pair for a multitude of activities, including, walks, hikes, water adventures (as they are super quick drying), and casual outings.

June 17, 2020

I wear these nearly every day

These shorts are awesome!! Im really happy Patagonia decided to offer XXL. I am a bigger female to begin with and a Mom so these shorts fit my body and busy schedule. From Taekwondo practice to the mountain bike trails to the Chiropractor these shorts are my go to for the summer now and every summer here on out. They wash easily and are very durabl... Read Moree. Patagonia please continue to offer this size and awesome colors / patterns. Some retro or throwback colors / patterns to the 80s / 90s would be SUPER AWESOME !!!! Thank you!!

June 17, 2020

ideal casual short

i purchased these in a medium in saffron- i normally wear a small but accidentally ordered a medium and didnt notice too much of a difference. when i want them a little more snug i just pull the drawstring. these are my third pair of baggies! theyve all been through hell and back and have held their quality!

June 17, 2020

Quality but tight

I ordered a medium and I love these a lot but they dont have too much give around the butt. Im 57, size 4/6, definitely more pear shape and I found the hips/butt are a bit tighter than Id like.

June 17, 2020

The best pair of every day shorts you can buy

I purchased my first pair of these shorts 10 years ago and still wear them to this day. I live in these shorts during the warmer months and have collected quite the collection. They fit true to size but definitely compliment a more athletic build (if you have strong legs you will like these). I've worn these shorts daily doing yard work, goi... Read Moreng to the beach, Disney world, hiking, running and everything else. My first pair I bought still look good as the pair I just got a month back.

June 17, 2020

Very durable

Love these shorts - I feel like they will last forever! Great for day to day activities or outdoor activities like hiking.

June 17, 2020

Disappointed

These shorts are awkward. I would say Im a fairly normal mom figure. The medium 5 in swallowed me. The small was loose in the waist, snug in the butt, and loose in the legs. Overall, super disappointed. My daughter got the xsmall 3 in. They are fine. She is super thin and 14 years old. I guess they are just a teen kinda short :(

June 17, 2020

My Favorite piece of clothing

Comfortable, fit well, wash wear like iron. And they get complimented. The new prints are cute! I wear these basically every day.

June 17, 2020

Baggy for sure

These shorts are so bulky around the waist and abdomen. And the elastic band Is so high it makes me look like Bill Haders impression of Clint Eastwood. These look like mens shorts.

June 17, 2020

Comfy walking shorts

Great for walking, pockets perfect for phone and key

June 17, 2020

Cute shorts but not for me

I normally wear a size S in all shorts and a 2 in jeans and I bought the small and the waist was way to big for me they just looked kinda frumpy. I then ordered the XS and they didn't even get over my thighs. These shorts aren't made for a curvier/athletic body type. Wish they did fit right because they're so cute

June 17, 2020

Great shorts

Great comfy shorts. Dry quickly. For true to size.

June 17, 2020

So comfy!

Im a think/curvy girl, these things are so comfy and I feel confident wearing shorts for the first time in years!

June 17, 2020

Overall good fit

I love the fit once they're on but they are snug pulling them on over my hips. I have 41" hips and a 29" waist and the stitch used to secure the elastic on the waistband does not accommodate enough stretch to slide over my hips and to fit at my waist. That being said they fit pretty well and I will wear them often!

June 17, 2020

Nice colors. Dries quick

It all works for me

June 17, 2020

Great fabric and pockets

Love the material and length of the shorts. Great pockets! Runs small in the butt and Im 55 125#