Back to Product

Patagonia Girls' Baggies™ Shorts

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Girls' Baggies™ Shorts

4.5/5
Kinda Small
August 8, 2021

Comfortable

My daughter loves these shorts. She said they feel so good on and always wants to wear them

June 22, 2021

Be careful when going from XL to XXL. There is a large gap in the sizing between XL and XXL

I am an adult. But I prefer the kids baggies ( they are less baggy) to the women's baggies. I have some in XXL that were always a little large but I lost 5 lbs and I can't wear them now. I thought it would be fine to go 1 size down. I looked at the fit chart and in waist and weight the XL should be just right. I am a few inches taller tha... Read Moren 5'1" but that shouldn't matter in shorts. It turns out that the waist on the ones I have is 4" larger than on the pair that I bought in XL. Still, my waist is the right size on the chart and yet , while I can get them on, they aren't comfortable. Isn't is very unusual to have a pair of shorts in which a person has to pull the waist string so tightly that the fabric is overlapping and in the next size down the shorts are too small? I called and spoke with a Patagonia representative and he looked up the sizing and he found out that my measurements were correct. The garment waist in XXL is 32" and the garment waist in XL is 28". That is a pretty big gap.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2021

Hello, thank you for leaving us a review on the Girls' Baggies. You're correct that the waist on these is 14" laying flat for the XL and 16" for the XXL. The way that we size our kids line will be different from the way we size our adult line, we're sorry for the inconvenience with this. The good news is we're hoping to launch petite sizing within the next couple years, so please keep an eye out for that as it could solve the sizing issues you mentioned. In the meantime, feel free to send these [back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to us.

June 18, 2021

Best Summer time shorts

I'm an XS in women's but prefer the girls' XL bc the length is slightly longer than the women's barely baggies. These shorts are the best, I wear them floating down the river, lounging, and for hiking.

June 13, 2021

Great kids shorts

Fit exactly as expected and are adorable on my daughter. Theyre comfy and the color is great. Im sure shell get a ton of use out of them.

May 30, 2021

Fits for petit adult too

I'm 5'2 about 110lb. At first I thought I needed to get a bigger size since I kind of felt bum area is tighter than I hoped but I decided to give it a try. Started to molding my body and after one wash it fits much better. I'm happy I kept it. Ordered a different color in the same size XL again.

May 9, 2021

Love these, BUT!

Ok we bought these last year and my girls LOVED the built in underwear, so I bought them again this year and for some reason they changed them and there's no built in underwear! So sad!! We still love them, just somewhat less enthusiastically ;) Patagonia shorts are great because they keep their color and shape through four kids and four summ... Read Moreers of tough wear :)

April 30, 2021

Awesome

I bought these for my 10 year old daughter and she LOVES them! She has over 5 pairs and is always asking me to wash them for her so she can wear them more. The only slight problem is that when i wash them they those some color. But overall AWESOME.

April 11, 2021

Adorable

Comfy and easy to wear for almost anything!

September 9, 2020

Girls bottoms for women too

I bought these when the women's baggies were out of stock in my size and color. These are almost better. 4inch long vs the 2.5inch or 5inch women's baggies. I can't take these things off. I am usually an XS in womens and the XXL is definitely a little big but with the waistband tie, I won't take these things off. Baggies are a w... Read Morein!!!

September 1, 2020

The best!

My favorite pair of shorts!! Fits small women. I'm 105 pounds, 5'0.

August 18, 2020

Too short. Kept creeping up.

Please make girl's shorts options that are longer (as long as boys)! These were for a raft trip, and they crept up to underwear line when seated leaving my girl's entire thigh exposed to scorching sun and skin irritation from the raft. I returned these and bought her boy's shorts to wear instead.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2020

Hi Collins, we're really sorry these shorts ended up being too short. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We have made a note in regards to these shorts' length and hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks so much for your review!

July 21, 2020

Best Hiking Shorts for Kids

These shorts are the BEST for my 5yo to wear hiking! The material is breathable and durable, the waistband does not bother her, she stows treasures in the pockets... they are in all ways, a great pair of shorts!

July 13, 2020

My girls approve!

My girls really love their baggies! The shorts run small, so it took multiple orders to get the right sizes. Once we got the fit right, my girls have no complaints. They love the colors, comfort and freedom of movement (typical for baggies) while I appreciate the stain resistance and ability to dry quickly. I will be buying more baggies for my girl... Read Mores in the future no question!

July 13, 2020

For My Granddaughter

I bought these shorts for my granddaughter & she loves them. These Baggies are her second pair & they fit pretty good. Of course , kids like things to fit a bit snugger than grandmothers do; they also like shorts shorter than we do. She can still wear her Mediums, but shes more or less outgrown them. Find a pair that are on sale, then it ma... Read Morekes a Patagonia clothing for an 11-yo more worth the money. Wish I would have bought the XL size so she could wear them longer. She went in a lake wearing these shorts & they dried in about 10. So great wicking power.

July 13, 2020

Perfect Camp shorts

My daughter is 8 1/4 years old, 58 lbs, 52 inches tall. She attends daily nature camp in Michigan. These shorts are awesome. We have 2 pairs, washed daily since the beginning of June and look brand new. She does Forest hikes, archery, rock climbing, kayaking, etc daily and they never fail. The only issue we have is the drawstring. The shorts would ... Read Morefall right down without. My daughter has fine motor skill challenges so each morning I tie them just right so they stay up for all adventure but she can pull them off and on when needed on her own. Not a big deal and certainly plan to purchase again. Highly recommend!

July 10, 2020

My girls approve!

My girls really love their baggies! The shorts run small, so it took multiple orders to get the right sizes. Once we got the fit right, my girls have no complaints. They love the colors, comfort and freedom of movement (typical for baggies) while I appreciate the stain resistance and ability to dry quickly. I will be buying more baggies for my girl... Read Mores in the future no question!

July 10, 2020

For My Granddaughter

I bought these shorts for my granddaughter & she loves them. These Baggies are her second pair & they fit pretty good. Of course , kids like things to fit a bit snugger than grandmothers do; they also like shorts shorter than we do. She can still wear her Mediums, but shes more or less outgrown them. Find a pair that are on sale, then it ma... Read Morekes a Patagonia clothing for an 11-yo more worth the money. Wish I would have bought the XL size so she could wear them longer. She went in a lake wearing these shorts & they dried in about 10. So great wicking power.

July 9, 2020

Perfect Camp shorts

My daughter is 8 1/4 years old, 58 lbs, 52 inches tall. She attends daily nature camp in Michigan. These shorts are awesome. We have 2 pairs, washed daily since the beginning of June and look brand new. She does Forest hikes, archery, rock climbing, kayaking, etc daily and they never fail. The only issue we have is the drawstring. The shorts would ... Read Morefall right down without. My daughter has fine motor skill challenges so each morning I tie them just right so they stay up for all adventure but she can pull them off and on when needed on her own. Not a big deal and certainly plan to purchase again. Highly recommend!

June 19, 2020

Small

Too small even with ordering on the larger size for a thin and tall 10 year old. Went up another size and theyre great. Love these shorts.

June 17, 2020

Great fit!

I am a 37 year old female. Xxl fits me perfect!

June 17, 2020

Great shorts!

My daughter wore hiking in Utah and they performed great!

May 18, 2020

gr8

i got a size xl and the aee snug on the bum but fit very well! i would 10/10 recommend and you can wear them to do almost anything!

May 17, 2020

Runs small

These run small! I am 55 and 100lbs. I can usually wear girls XL in Nike, or other athletic clothing these are way too small.

September 19, 2019

Cute, but hard d to size

Cute shorts but hard to size, had to try 2 sizes and still an awkward fit for an athletic body.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear neither size is working out. Feel free to start a return on the shorts [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 7, 2019

Bomber Tough

These are tough, versatile and stylish. My two girls wear the same size Baggies so this pair is just another set added to the collection. Unfortunately they’ll grow out these WAY before they will wear them out. Medium fits my thin 4rth grader and athletic 2nd grader. Fit is not too tight or too big.

August 15, 2019

Great for grownups too!

I have tried women ‘s baggies. For me they are too high waisted and too baggy. These are perfect. I wear a 4 and I bought XXL. Probably most people who wear a 4 would be happier with a XL but I just cinch in the waist with the ties and they are long enough and baggy enough for me. There are great colors and patterns.

February 21, 2019

Seems like great shorts - but no lining!

I was really hoping these kids baggies were going to be just like the 8 pairs of adult baggies I own, but it doesn't have any inside lining. I guess it is perfect for kids still in swim diapers, but I would think most kids who will be wearing these would be potty trained. The lining of the adult baggies has always been appreciated providing an... Read More extra layer of comfort/cushion and an extra layer of defense from some of the itchiness that floats around the sea.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches