Back to Product

Patagonia Men's RØ® Hoody - Hooded Rashguard

Write Your Review

4.32 /5

Filter Reviews

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's RØ® Hoody - Hooded Rashguard

4.32
True To Size
April 6, 2021

Super, Super Small

I am 6'-2" and a fit 220lbs, and when I put it on, I thought I was putting on a extra small. It also has a hard plastic brim hat when you put up the hood. I couldn't tell from the pictures. Really small and kind of weird.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

We're so sorry this didn't work out for you. If you think a size up could help, feel free to start an exchange [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 30, 2020

i bought 3

I surf daily at Huntington Beach, Ca. this rash guard protects my skin for from rubbing on the wetsuit and the visor from the sun. I wish I bought this before my Bali surf trip in January 2020 to protect me from the intense sun. I recommend this product and I have 3 so I can use one daily.

November 22, 2020

Second Skin

The Men's RØ® Hoody - Hooded Rashguard is my summer go to in the surf. I used it for the duration of the the summer season with zero complaints. It fits on the extreme snug side which I prefer so I'd recommend taking that into account in sizing. I attempted to use the board short loop but it was honestly better without it. Not at all ... Read Morea deal breaker. The hood is great and the ridged brim repels water perfectly.

November 7, 2020

Awesome fit, does the job

Purchased for UV protection, the hoody is unobtrusive, and the fit is spot on. I wear this under my spring suit and my 2mm long sleeve. Works great, recommended to both my buddies and now we look like monk seals cruising the line up.

September 14, 2020

Tight

Very slim fit, hat is cool and the pocket is great for fishing. Perfect to protect you from the sun.

September 9, 2020

Nice !!!

Fit is great little tight getting your head through.

September 9, 2020

Perfect

This was purchased for a birthday present for my son. He loved it right away and the fit is fantastic. He can't wait to wear it on his next surfing trip. He really liked the peak on the hood too.

September 7, 2020

Really is amazing shirt!!

Love the way it fits,and it built in hat hoody combo!!! It great!

August 4, 2020

Saved me from the hot indo sun

Saved my bald head from the scorching indonesia mid-day sun... Friends were laughing at my hood but by the end of the trip they were all wishing they had one. Crucial piece of equipment for all upcoming warm water surf travel.

July 13, 2020

Perfect sun protection

Great fit, nice and snug so it doesnt drag in the surf. Hood up or down, both are comfortable. The whit color reflex heat and when its wet has a very nice cooling effect as it dries. My only problem is Im going to wear it out cause its all I wear in the water now

July 9, 2020

Perfect sun protection

Great fit, nice and snug so it doesnt drag in the surf. Hood up or down, both are comfortable. The whit color reflex heat and when its wet has a very nice cooling effect as it dries. My only problem is Im going to wear it out cause its all I wear in the water now

June 25, 2020

Nice fit, bad bill

Fits well. I bought for the sun protection. Somehow I missed the description of the little black bill on the hood. Bummer because it gets in the way of hats up or hits your neck down. Overall I will wear it, but the bill is a big disappointment unless you only use it surfing

December 13, 2019

The best sun protection you could ask for

I recent traveled to Barbados for a wedding / surf trip. Of course, sun protection is always top of mind when traveling to tropical destinations. What I needed what a long sleeve rash guard / sun shirt that could be worn surfing, hiking or just hanging out. It worked out perfectly. And the brim on the hood was a lifesaver during a few mid day surfs... Read More!

December 3, 2019

Great top for kids!

Purchased for my kids, they run very tight to size, for adults I would order two sizes over regular size unless you want a very tight fit. Great quality, hood visor really works. My kids spend the entire day on the beach with these and worked great, no need to chase them around with hats.

October 29, 2019

Would be perfect but….

The RO Hoody is well made and an overall good fit except that the (1) hood area is much much too tight around the chin and face making it very uncomfortable and (2) overall lenght is far too long. Unfortunately I had to return it.

October 6, 2019

Great Rashguard

Great fit. The loop at the bottom of the shirt connects to your suit to prevent it from riding up. Same with loops on the hands for the sleeves. I took it out surfing and it was awesome. I freaking love this thing. I was unsure if I'd ever use the hood, but when it started to rain I threw it on and it gave me the extra visibility I needed to m... Read Moreake my session.

September 30, 2019

Doesn't last

I got this as a present for my birthday. I was raving about it for a while, even bought one for my friend's birthday. Unfortunately, after 6 months of use, the fabric has stretched and now it's uncomfortably saggy. The design is mostly good, the hood is very useful but it tends to collect a lot of water when not worn and pull your neck wh... Read Moreen duck diving. I would love to recommend it but it doesn't last.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2019

Hi Victor! We're sorry to hear your hoody stretched out. You're more than welcome to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 21, 2019

Excellent fit and quality.

Excellent fit and quality.

September 6, 2019

Sun Protection At Its Best

Great fit, love the hoody to keep the noggin out of the sun while surfing.

August 19, 2019

Great gear, surf shirt a bit too long to use board short secure

Really love everything I've gotten recently. My one complaint is that the surf shirt is really long and as such prevents me from actually being able to secure it while surfing. But it's a great product and has been awesome for surfing in Oahu

August 11, 2019

Amazing rash guard!!!

I have surfed in the baking sun for 30 years and absolutely love this rash guard. I am 6’2” at 215 lbs with a 34 waist and the XL fits perfectly, rash guards are supposed to be snug so they don’t slip around in the water. The length of the sleeves and the length of the shirt are perfect and they don’t slide while paddling (the fabric really stays p... Read Moreut). The hoody is easy to get on and off in the water so you can get out past the big sets and easily slide the hoody back on once you are in the line up. The bill on front doesn’t affect duck diving and the hoody stays nicely in place while duck diving waves under four feet. The shirt has a zippered pocket on the back which is well thought out. I’ve worn the black and white rash guards and both stay nice and cool between sets so color didn’t really matter. This rash guard really blocks the sun and allows for super long sessions without fear of sunburn or skin cancer. If you plan to be out in the surf in direct sunlight shirt is the best protection I’ve found. Mahalo!!!

August 10, 2019

Perfect for SUP surfing

Perfect for SUP surfing!

May 9, 2019

Too Small

The surf shirt is really nice, however, I ordered a large and it fits like a small. My husband is a true large, wears everything size large.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing and we appreciate the helpful feedback. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with an exchange! .

March 20, 2019

Lifesaver

My boyfriend is a very fair skinned redhead and we went on a trip to Seychelles. This shirt was a lifesaver! The hood did an amazing job protecting his torso, neck, and forehead while on the beach. However, he somehow forgot to put sunscreen on his hands and got extremely burnt there, so don't take advantage of the great protection this shirt ... Read Moreprovides and forget those spots that are still exposed! Also, he is normally a medium in EVERYTHING but we had to get a large.

March 29, 2018

Worth it

Bought this in black for transitioning from Montreal winter to Nicaraguan waves,was never too warm. Perfect fit in XL for me (I'm 6-5/185) and at some point you just forget you're wearing the hoody. Was even ok for bodysurfing (the drag wasn't too bad). Saw two other surfers in the water with the same r0 hoody during the trip. So gre... Read Moreat protection from the sun,just don't forget to put sunscreen on the back of your legs when surfing at first :)

August 28, 2017

High Quality

Fits true to size,high quality & nicely fitted. Love the hoodie & thumb holders. Nice.features.

August 6, 2017

Solid construction

Great construction. Sizes run very small so order a size or 2 up from what you normally wear. This is a very versatile garment. Can be used as a rash guard for snorkeling or a sunblock for running or cycling.

May 29, 2017

Great surf shirt for the baking sun.

This piece works perfect for surfing or kayaking under intense sun conditions especially if you have a shaved head. Fits tight and comfortable without annoying baggy sleeves when wet. I'm 5'9",165 lbs and the medium is the correct fit. It has a much different feel than the loose fit of a medium L/S RO.

April 30, 2017

Backcountry

II bought this on a suggestion of a guide I back country ski with to wear for sun protection and breathability it excels in both>>>another great Patagonia product!

September 28, 2016

Great sun protection but super tight!

Got this ahead of a sailing trip in Croatia and it does what it's intended to do,I assume: provide sun protection for when in and out of the water. It's extremely tight,which is great for swimming,surfing,kite,etc,but is not the least bit forgiving of my belly. As a result,I wore a t shirt over it when I wasn't in the water but that&... Read More#x27;s only due to my own vanity. The snug hood is great for keeping ears from getting roasted when swimming. Great layer but work on your six pack

July 2, 2016

Too tight fit for a medium.

First let me say I am a long standing Patagonia customer and believe you get what you pay for and Patagonia holds up. I recently returned an older Patagonia soft shell jacket and they refunded me the purchase price when the zipper completely jammed up. That being said I think this shirt is nice but be aware it is sized very small. All my Patagonia ... Read Moreproducts are sized medium (I have multiple R1 fleeces) and I ordered this shirt in a medium but it was super tight. Order a size larger than what you normally would. I reordered the Tropic Comfort Hoody in a large and liked the style and greater choice of color's (Lite Electron Blue) but it is more true to Patagonia sizing so I have returned it for a medium. The hood on the R0 Hoody is also tight compared to the Comfort Hoody. If you need a tighter hood you may like this better as the Comfort Hoody is looser and more comfortable.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches