Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Tough Puff Hoody for Fly Fishing

Write Your Review

4.69 /5

Filter Reviews

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Tough Puff Hoody for Fly Fishing

4.69
True To Size
July 13, 2020

Toasty without all the bulk

This is a great coat with top notch quality. I bought it and returned it for a different color and sadly received the same color. (The universe really wants me to have this coat in gray instead of black!) So I have had 2 returns pending for about 2 months. So once I get both refunds (or at least one) I can afford to get it in the color I want! This... Read More jacket will be perfect for my trip to Iceland. Its flattering and I love that its long enough to cover my bum! Very toasty without the bulk. Just what I wanted! Hopefully Ill eventually be able to buy one that Ill be able to keep!

July 9, 2020

Toasty without all the bulk

This is a great coat with top notch quality. I bought it and returned it for a different color and sadly received the same color. (The universe really wants me to have this coat in gray instead of black!) So I have had 2 returns pending for about 2 months. So once I get both refunds (or at least one) I can afford to get it in the color I want! This... Read More jacket will be perfect for my trip to Iceland. Its flattering and I love that its long enough to cover my bum! Very toasty without the bulk. Just what I wanted! Hopefully Ill eventually be able to buy one that Ill be able to keep!

November 26, 2019

Loved the opening in sleeve

Loved the opening in sleeve at the wrist for thumb access.

November 21, 2019

Runs small

Runs small in the stomach and the material is a cheap material not a thick sturdy material like it appears to be....

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

Hi Lauren, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit and the material. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 16, 2019

Tall Girl Finds Love

What can I say, this jacket is worth the price tag. I have trouble purchasing anything in Women’s sizing since I’m 6’, 185lb, with athletic(ish) build. I have long arms, legs and broad shoulders. All Patagonia jackets seem to have short sleeves for me and I was expecting to send this back. I tried it on and it fit perfectly! The thumb holes in the ... Read Moresleeves didn’t dislocate my thumbs when I stretched my arms out. My back and front remained covered when I lifted my arms up. The chest pockets are deep enough for my fly boxes and so much more. It’s warm, however, for reference I fish in Steelhead Alley where temps are freezing. This is great under my wading jacket and over a base layer or 2 since I freeze. It’s magically soft and looks so great I want to wear it everyday. Since it fits so great, I just might! Overall, if you’re tall and debating if this will fit - Don’t fret. Buy & Fly. Fish on my tall girls.

October 8, 2019

Almost wonderful

In addition to some day trips, I took this jacket on a week long cold river fly fishing trip. My first complain is that in cold weather, when you have it zipped all the way, the top of the zipper rubs your chin raw! Seriously aggravating after a couple days. Patagonia seriously needs to put a soft zipper protector at the top (please!!). While it di... Read Mored a decent job blocking the wind, it wasn't as warm as I had hoped, and I would definitely put it in the mid-weight category for wear in temps over 45 (even with two layers underneath). I did like the fabric, which was stretchy and quiet; loved the chest pockets which can be accessed under waders; loved the hood which has stretch to fit over a hat/beanie and also block out the wind; but found it was a tad short in length, although the sleeves were nice and long (sleeves could definitely use a nose wipe patch on the cuff!). I am 5'6" with an athletic build and the small fits great even with a long sleeve and fleece underneath. I got the Purple which is a lovely color, but perhaps a bit bright for stealth fishing.

August 15, 2019

Insullation that holds up in weather

Its nice to have a light, warm jacket that holds up in rain/snow/ wind that doesn't lose all of its integrity when it gets wet.

May 8, 2019

Don't think, just buy

Hello! Let's just get down to it. I'm 5' 11" with very broad shoulders and long arms. I am a solid XL in all Patagonia women's products and a L in Patagonia men's. I ordered an XL in women's in Ink Black. I did a bit of shopping for a fly fishing jacket that I could also wear around town without having a dozen gi... Read Moreant fly box pockets sewn to the outside of the jacket. I took a chance and was not disappointed. The chest pockets are deep but lay flat if nothing is in them. This jacket is soft to the touch but tough as nails. I've wandered through thick shrubs and the Tough Puff lives up to its name- walked away unscathed. It has very long arms with the thumb loops to keep your wrists covered. It's also very warm and breathes well once I start heating up. I highly recommend. If I could grant change one thing, I would like a better selection of colors.

May 5, 2019

Favorite Jacket

Wonderfully warm, fabric is smooth yet soft and doesn't make any sound when you walk and move your arms, which is nice. Snuggly and the arms are fantastic. Love the thumb-hole grippers at the wrist. I love this jacket so much it is sometimes my go-to for in the house when it is super cold and the radiators haven't kicked on (Montana).

April 2, 2019

Fantastic coat! More colors please!

This jacket is seriously warm and seriously tough. I LOVE it. I wasn't sure about the wrists (they are little long on me and slightly baggy with a stitched "crinkled" hem) that is, I wasn't sure until I had to put their function to the test by plunging my arm shoulder deep into just over freezing water on the White Salmon River ... Read Moreto retrieve a water sensor. My arm stayed super-dry and the wrist stitching pulled wonderfully taut and I instantly understood why the wrist is designed as it is! I also like the thumb hole, another warm feature. I wear this jacket constantly these days and I am incredibly impressed. I find it warmer than my down sweater, though lightweight and quiet, and it fits better under my raincoat because the fabric is smooth and flattering rather than lumpy. The pockets are great-- plenty of room for a satellite phone, snacks, keys, and sunglasses. I will be using it for fishing soon! I'm glad it is longer than many jackets designed for women's fishing gear! No one likes a short jacket and this one covers my bum well! On the whole, I'm very happy with this purchase!! Get it, you won't regret it! I picked this jacket and I continue to select it from my coat rack each day because I walk through brambles, bushes, and other riparian veg all the time. I'm happy to report that this jacket has no snags or tears, exactly what I was hoping for. I agree with the poster about a small piece of fabric to cover the zipper and I would really like to see some better colors! How about a dark green fern pattern? Or that nice green-blue color (aka steelhead green) that is currently offered in the men's cut? I'd buy another in a heartbeat. Thank you for making this great coat!

March 4, 2019

BUY IT

I absolutely LOVE this coat. We just went to Pyramid Lake and it got tested....hard. Freezing rain,snow, wind, etc. You name it, I was in it. I used this coat under a shell and it was amazing. I am always cold and this coat made all the difference. The hood fits better than any hood on any jacket I have ever had. It fits so well, I didn't even... Read More wear a beanie under it and my ears never got cold. I also love that it sits so close to your head. There is no extra "puff". This means it was warm and dry under my outer rain coat all day. I absolutely love the pockets on the front. I had my fly boxes in my outer shell BUT this means there was room for snacks (and I mean a lot of snacks) in my Patagonia jacket. The pockets are plenty big to hold any average size fly box on each side comfortably. I have one complaint about this jacket. While it is by no means a deal breaker, it is one of those small, annoying factors that really starts to wear on you when you're in the elements. The zipper has little to no cover on it at the top. While this may have been a small oversight in the design it is an annoying factor in the freezing cold. You constantly have an ice cube rubbing on your chin. I had a buff on most of the time which helped/eliminated this problem. None the less it is still something that annoys me on a day to day basis not just in the elements. If they fix this in the future this jacket is nothing but perfection. The material is amazing. You wouldn't expect something so light to work so well. It is soft and QUIET. None of that 90's swishing sound when you move. I'm not sure what kind of voodoo magic they use to make this jacket feel like a sweatshirt but it's worth every penny. Don't let the zipper deter you. Buy this....spend the money and you won't regret it. If nothing else, just for the amount of snacks you can store.

October 14, 2018

Great jacket

I’m a Flyfishing guide and I have put this Tuff Puff through the test. It insulates, and cuts the wind, and keeps me warm in tough conditions. The outside fabric can with stand impalled hooks and fish slime...unlike fragile down jackets. Love this jacket! I bought a large because I wear it over other layers and my waders and I have long arms.

August 25, 2018

Best Coat I’ve Owned

I love this coat. I saw it in Vail and I knew right away I had to get it. It’s incredibky warm and lightweight. I love all the cool features. I could take it fishing or to climb a 14er. This is extremely versatile, flattering, and a great go-to coat in the closet.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches