Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Gunnison Gorge Wading Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.39 /5

Filter Reviews

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Gunnison Gorge Wading Pants - Regular

4.39
True To Size
July 1, 2020

Gunnison Gorge Wading Pants Review/ 6/30/20

Have been fly fishing for 35 years , worked in the Fly Fishing industry for the last 8 years, worn many brands of waders. To date, worn these Wading Pants Waders about 20x's since purchase, May 2020, and the waders appear to be well constructed as and are holding up. Flaws tend to appear quickly with true serious use. My fishing days are a sun... Read More up to sun down wading, hiking,and walking with a minimum two miles covered or more distance.....Concerns for potential leaking, how waders are taken off , where one pulls on the pant leg as wader ankle material , above Neoprene Bootie , is cut narrow in diameter . With thick mid calf socks one has to pull carefully on the waders to get them off... I fish a lot of Tail Waters and water temps are cold . It's nice to keep the feet warm. Otherwise the cut is overall good. I will want to rate the waders in future with more use again to see if holding up ok . But for now that's it.

November 18, 2019

Keeps your butt dry!

Great product for those who hate continuous pulling their hip waders up and don't quite need those full chest waders. They fit great and allow for excellent movement. Just right in my opinion.

October 6, 2019

Perfect with the boots

My husband took these to Wyoming for a fishing trip and he loves them. The fit is perfect. He fished all day and had no problems.

September 9, 2019

Great Wading Pants - size was initially off.

I'll start by saying i love these pants. I had some issues with the sizing chart being inaccurate when i purchased these and had to exchange the large for medium, but now it looks like that is fixed and you can accurately base your sizing from it now. I haven't tried these pants in cold weather yet, but so far on hot summer days (75*) and... Read More cooler fall mornings (55*) and in the river I've been plenty warm and comfortable. I'm 6', typically where size 34X32 pants, and 9.5-10 size shoes. The Mediums fit me perfectly with a little room still in the bootie to layer my feet with wool socks.

August 30, 2019

Great pants

I fish several mornings a week and have used these a few times now. They are outstanding. For that time when it's just a little too cold to fish in shorts and to hot for waders these pants are the choice. I've found they are good when the morning is new and cool and they are light enough to stuff in a pack after it warms up. They need one... Read More thing Patagonia, please listen, they need knee pads. Us older fisherman could use some padding between our knees and the rocks when kneeling.

August 25, 2019

Wading pants

These are the perfect waders if it's to cold for shorts or quick dry pants and save the chest waders for snowy steelhead trips. If you use waders get a pair You'll be glad you did.

August 12, 2019

Gunnison Wading Pants

The pants are durable, and fit really well. They are the perfect wading pant for shallow streams.

August 10, 2019

Patagonia Waders

My waders work very well. I am tall, skinny and have big feet. With most waders on the market, if I buy according to my large shoe size I get extremely wide waste waders made for a fat guy. My Patagonia waders are made for my big feet with my narrow waste and work perfectly.

August 10, 2019

Best wade pants ever!

I’m a full time fly fishing guide in the Vail Colorado area. These are my go to pants when I need to wear waders. They are lightweight yet strong. The pockets are very roomy and will hold anything from a beverage to fly boxes or insect spray. I usually have small sealed container for my coffee and that fits in these pockets as well. I highly recomm... Read Moreend these pants!

August 10, 2019

Gunnison Wading Pants

After getting these wading pants, I've stopped using my actaul waders. So much easier to get around with less material. I love them to be able to jump in the car and drive to the next fishing stop. Full waders are way too bulky. I'm bummed to hear that the neoprene booties will be swapped out to synthetic rubber booties from the middle fo... Read Morerk packable waders for next year. Those synthetic rubber booties are a terrible design. Your foot moves around so much inside the wading boot with no resistance. Not a fan at all. Glad I got the wading pants this year before they are ruined by the new bootie.

May 8, 2019

Pajamas for the river

Love the River Gorge Wading Pants, They are like Pajama bottoms for the river, crazy comfortable and not hot like my full chest waders. Of course you need to pay attention to the water you want to wade, but it keeps me from making poor wading decisions into deep water. Chest waders sometime give me a false sense of security. Fit was spot on and you... Read More can wear them to the bar-grill after fishing without looking silly in chest waders. I looked at these for 2 years before finally pulling the trigger, I wish I had done it sooner.

May 8, 2019

Gunnison Gorge Wading Pants

These things are perfect if you don't like the extra heat from chest waders. They are an amazing shoulder season wader for those times just between frozen guides and sandal season. I'm considering getting one size larger as the ones I got are a little tight, but that is my only problem with this great pant.

April 2, 2019

Wish they had the new rubberized bootie

I like wearing wading pants when I fish from a raft. I would love to see the new rubberized bootie on these wading pants so that I could wear my good rafting shoes. This would also work great for when I hike into a spot to fish. PLEASE make some wading pants with the new rubber bootie!!

June 9, 2018

Older style much better...

I bought the original Gunninson six years ago or so. I love these pants. The original pant is much more Durable than the current pant. I have no idea why Patagonia made a more inferior product,I suppose to make it lighter and easier for packing. My buddy bought the newer version and he really has to watch walking through thorny brush,as not to tear... Read More them. There is a very noticeable difference when comparing the two pants side by side. The old ones are much stronger! Knock on wood,but my older version,have withstood many days of abuse and are still going strong. The newer generation is a great pant,but nothing like the old one. Please Patagonia,don't sacrifice quality for a few ounces. Still and always will be a loyal customer.

March 4, 2018

Reliable,quick drying,easy to maintain

I like these wading pants; they are reliable,quick drying easy to maintain,and durable. The one recommendation I would make is to design wider belt loops to allow the wading belt to slip through easier.

February 23, 2018

UGH..wish they had "long" size.

I'm 6' 1" ish.. 175#,waist of 32",usually wear an inseam of 33,shoe size 10.5 US. Ordered the Med. I know it says,"32 in inseam" but one reviewer said "the inseam was more like 38"... Man that dude is wrong. The waist fit great,but I couldn't bend over in them,nor lift my foot as if I were stepping on a ... Read Morerock or out of the riverbed. The booties are a touch tight,If I wore thick socks,I think I'd be in trouble. There's no way I could upsize to the LM or L,I'd be swimming in the waist. How I wish Patagonia offered a "long" or "tall" version. Aren't there enough skinny waist,long-legged dudes out there? Why does Patagonia think that if you have long legs,you have a larger waist? Also,the crotch has a peculiar cut to them,it sort of sticks-out... oddly. Doesn't matter,I won't be keeping them.

October 11, 2017

Very comfortable and versatile! Fit like a glove!

The Gunnison wading pants are the best on the market! Extremely comfortable for all day wear. And if you happen to get water inside,after emptying water and putting back on,easily dry out by body heat.

August 16, 2017

nice light convenient and comfortable

I fish in these wading pants 80 - 100 days per year and I really like them. They are definitely nice and well made and they are also very light. The trouser like pockets are so very very convenient that I feel lost when wearing conventional waders. The way the waist is constructed also makes them very comfortable,although I usually replace the... Read More elasticized belt with one that does not stretch. However,I believe it is important to note that because they are so lightweight there is definitely a need for maintenance such as cleaning and attending to leaks. But I'm waaaay committed to these wading pants. :-_-:

July 9, 2017

Size is way off!!!

Size chart said 32 waist,32 inseam,9-11 shoe. Actual size was 32 waist,at least a 38 inseam,and size 13 shoe. Returned

June 29, 2017

Just get 'em

I've been wanting these for years and finally pulled the trigger. Low bulk,easy on/off with the side gussets and just plain comfortable- even ride my bike in them to the local stream. I have about 15 days in them from pre-runoff cold with longies to the now-warming temps with just shorts underneath and they have performed flawlessly. From erra... Read Morent nymph snags to bushwhacking the fabric is holding up just fine. Gripe? Zip lock pocket inside the waist band is a snug for an iphone SE. Easy solution- ditch the phone. Suggestion: If your fishing involves 4th class slab moves and groveling add some cheapo neoprene knee braces just to protect the fabric.

June 28, 2017

Great when full waders are overkill

Bought specifically to fish small mountain streams in the Adirondacks and for stalking stripers along the inlets and estuaries of Cape Cod. Have logged enough miles doing both to appreciate how light and functional these waders are,particularly useful when full waders are overkill,or you are fishing out of a guide boat. Ordered an XL Regular,they f... Read Moreit well enough but I probably would have been better off with a XL Short as the inseam on these runs a little long on me. I am 6'1' and wear a 38x32 regular pant and need to cinch the belt up pretty tight to keep em from slouching. These are now permanently stored in my truck tub along with my other waders and see equal duty depending on the water,the weather,and the whims of the fish gods.

June 24, 2017

Great waders

3rd pair I've had. Great features. Wish you wouldn't have discontinued the 'tall' option.

May 13, 2017

Maybe the best ever

I bought these waders for my son,I have been a fly fisherman for over 50 years and have been an instructor for 30 of those years. I have been a big fan of Simms for years but these new Patagonia waders have made me a believer..... my next waders will be Patagonia.

March 11, 2017

Perfect fit

These pants fit great. Feet are comfortable and the XLM sizing if nice not to have huge feet to squish in the boots. Pants with pockets are great for getting out in all seasons. No extra bulk of folding down chest waders is a huge plus.

January 15, 2017

Lightweight Packable Waders!

I've been a "wet-wader" for too many years,mostly in NC & TN. I thought that I'd give these pants a try and fish some of the colder months of the year. So glad I did! I thought I would hate fishing in waders,but these are very comfortable,great fit. Light-weight and great pockets. They pack up great for those of us who backp... Read Moreack & fly fish.

January 13, 2017

Finally booties that fit!

Even though I am a lady it is hard to find half-waders (or any waders for that matter) that fit my long legs and small feet. I ordered these and then had the booties re-fitted to a smaller size and have been very happy using them in Argentina. Will get another pair to keep in the States

January 12, 2017

Good waders...

Bought these specifically for a trip to Patagonia where we knew we were going to be fishing smaller water and hiking 5+ miles/day. We were met with snow and Patagonia winds..they performed well. Only wore them a week so not sure how they are long-term. Overall fit was OK. Waist/belt buckles are a tad high,so if they start to ride along your waist t... Read Morehe inseam drops a little low and makes walking a little tough,but overall a really good hiking wader.

November 30, 2015

Comfortable when dry

I had the first run of these soon after they came out. After about 8 months of use slight moisture getting through the thigh area and the neoprene stocking on both feet were compressed and cracking. I'm sending them back in hopes of getting the updated booties installed. I'm pleased with the features and style of the wader.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches