Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Simul Alpine Pants

Write Your Review

3.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Simul Alpine Pants

3.8/5
True To Size
January 31, 2021

Great material - runs small

I am a typical 10/12 in jeans from GAP, JCrew, Old Navy, etc. 5'11" and about 200 lbs. I ordered these in a 14, and will have to size up to the 16 - they are too tight in the thighs and butt. Really hoping that Patagonia figures out soon that real women are curvy, and athletic women are not all size 4 or size 6 and we do have thighs, hips... Read More, and a butt.

December 23, 2020

Perfect weight for hiking

The material is perfect for hiking, it keeps me the right temperature as well as keeps me dry. Super comfortable and moveable. I also love the bungee cord ties at the bottom to make sure nothing gets in them.

November 10, 2020

Breathable outer layer

Was looking for a breathable outer layer to wear over thermal leggings and these are ideal with the right amount of wind/cold protection. I am glad that I didnt size up thanks to other reviewers that mentioned these have room in the thighs/bottom area.

September 17, 2020

Amazing fit!

I just received my Simul pants, SO EXCITED cause they fit beautifully!! I read all reviews before placing the order and was a bit concerned about the fit issues...I am 5.6 high and 128 lb weight, proportional body. Always buy pants with regular inseam, the length is PERFECT too! Very flattering shape, absolutely going to get myself another pair. Gr... Read Moreeat job, Patagonia!

January 2, 2020

Very Bad Fit

I really wanted to like these. The design and fabric are really nice. But the fit is terrible. It seems like a man's fit - very straight through the waist, hip, butt, and thighs - so they're extremely loose on my waist and tight on my butt. Because of this they're always sagging down and I have to continually hike them back up. There... Read More is a strap to adjust the waist size, but it doesn't do much and always slips out anyway. I can't even wear these because the fit makes them so uncomfortable and hard to move in.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2020

Hi Madeline, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of these pants. Feedback like this is truly crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 11, 2019

Loved them except the fit was crazy.

I bought the size 10 and 12. The size 12 was huge, and the size 10 was tight. The 10 was really tight though the thighs, which being an active pant that I use for golf was not what I needed. Returned both, but seriously thinking of altering the 12 I love the pant so much. Have an older version I wear all the time on the cool wet courses of Ireland ... Read Moreand Scotland. Shed water, keep me comfortably warm or cool, articulated knee is perfect, and best of all don't wrinkle!

November 10, 2019

Fits long legs!

Hiked in the Berkshires. Light rain fell right off the pants. Kept me warm yet cool. Perfect!

November 4, 2019

Luv Them!

Lots of stretch, lightweight! My daughter is excited to wear them on her upcoming hiking trip

October 11, 2019

I wanted to love them.

I’m 5’2 125LB and purchased a size 4. I loved how these fit and felt. However they were too long! For that reason I will have to return them. Such a shame.

September 16, 2019

Sad

I was hoping for more stretch, softer material. I had outgrown two pairs and ordering online I did not know what to expect. I will be returning as I have ordered another style. I love the tights I ordered. The tights were lose, the pants were tight in same size.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 10, 2019

Alpin simul pants

They felt great except for one thing: they were far too long, and unable to be shortened due to leg zipper. Make these in petites.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry to hear these were too long. Please let us know if you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us.

June 3, 2019

tired of patagonia's strange fit

I have been buying patagonia clothing for more than 30 years. I am 5'2" and 125 lbs. I have always worn a small or 6 in everything. In the past few years, the shoulders have become too small, arms to long, too tight in the butt and WAY too long in the leg. Your models, at 5'9" are wearing my sizes. Great for them, but not all of... Read More us are that long and lanky. I could take these pants up, but would lose the tie down loop and the elastic adjustment at the hem. I like the pant, I like the pockets, but I am unlikely to add any height at my age (67.) No options for differing inseams. Ageism, Patagonia? Ya don't like the vertically challenged? I bought them through Backcountry and came to this site to see if a different inseam was offered

May 12, 2019

True to size, well-made, and comfortable!

I was hesitant to purchase these based on a couple poor reviews, but I'm glad I did. They are very comfortable and fit good. I am 5'6". It appears some of the shorter statured individuals had more trouble with these pants fitting correctly. The only downside is they build up static and tend to cling to my legs more than I like. Howev... Read Moreer, this will likely go away once the humidity shows up. They can be worn as a more dressy pant as well as a field pant. Overall I'm glad I purchased them and will definitely be wearing these regularly.

April 10, 2019

Great pant

I love these pants. So much so I bought a second pair. Initially I too was concerned about them being a bit big in the waist, but the drawcord is awesome and the fit is perfect to fit longies under, so it has become one of my favorite pants. I wore them on a recent trip out west every day for three weeks. Love the zip pocket that fits a cell phone,... Read More too... I did not like everyone else feel as though the legs were too tight.

March 7, 2019

Pretty okay pants, but big in waist

I like these! The material is perfect for cold weather hiking and the pockets are great. I am an athletic build (5'7" and 130") and Patagonia pants tend to fit me tightly on the thighs and loosely at the waist so I sized up on these in order to wear my base layers comfortably underneath. The waist is therefore loose on me but the int... Read Moreegrated belt thing actually worked really well and for me, it stayed in place. The material does bunch up if you have to cinch it up a few inches but I had puffy coats on anyway, so I didn't mind!

March 4, 2019

Wanted to Love These....

I really wanted to love these alpine pants for ice climbing and ski touring, but unfortunately the fit was incredibly odd. As mentioned in other reviews, the waist is huge and the thighs can be tight. I am 5'9" 140lbs and I ordered a size 6 as that is my normal size. When I wear these, the waist is at least an inch too big, while the thig... Read Morehs are pretty snug, but not terrible. The cinch doesn't work at all either, in fact I'm not entirely sure what the point of the cinch is, because it doesn't make sense at all. These alpine pants are not at all flattering and not at all comfortable. I wish I could return these but I've had them for over a year now just sitting in my closet.

March 2, 2019

No difference from mens pants

I tried both the men's and women's styles of the Simul Alpine pant in store in the equivalent sizes. The women's cut was literally the same shape as the men's, just with more fitted legs (cause women need to look stylish when they are climbing, functionality not so much...?) The waist and hips were shaped the same - 4 spare inch... Read Morees in the waist despite fitting in the hips. The thighs were way too tight and the knees too fitted in the women's version to have range of movement while climbing. This is an ongoing issue with Patagonia designs - the women's versions appear to be just the men's designs with tighter legs. Its horrible. That must fit ~2% of the female demographic? There are plenty of active, fit women that aren't shaped like boys. Also, I want to be able to use the climbing pants to climb, so I need space in the knees to bend! I will stick to Patagonia's jackets until they can design for women's legs.

December 6, 2018

The best for Norway

This is the best outdoor hiking pants I eeeeever had! Coming from at strong tradition of hiking at least once a week, on sundays:) Hiking is a national tradition we love here in Norway! It is essential to have the best gear for this changing climate. These pants are in my eyes perfect! We have to remember the most important criterias. Function, lon... Read Moreglasting, flexibility/stretch, weight and water/wind resistance. After searching all brands for months for a perfect spring/summer hiking pants I was more than happy to get these. And they are really making a difference on my trips! Highly recommend getting these. I regret not getting more than one.. I also wore them in the city with some Timberlands and a tee - works great for urban wear to:)

November 16, 2018

Weird Fit, Poor Waist Adjustment, Faulty Zippers

Really wanted to like these pants as the fabric seems great and the feature set on point. Unfortunately, they were too big in the waist (and Patagonia's waist adjustment system is difficult to use + doesn't stay cinched) and wayyyyyy too tight in the thighs to the point that I wasn't able to use the thigh pocket at all. The hip pocke... Read Morets came open a number of times just from walking around the extra piece of fabric in front of them made them difficult to use. One of the hip pocket zippers also broke on day 2 of use... This is the first product I've had to return in a very long time. Bummed that they didn't work out but if you have the right body type maybe they're great?

October 13, 2018

huge waist

Although I really like the philosophy of Patagonia and tried very hard wanting to find a pair of hiking pants from Patagonia but found that it is not for women with smaller waist and preferring higher rise or waist. I am short 5'3'' and weigh 104 lb with short upper torso, size 2 fits me ok but the waist is 3-4 inches wider than mine... Read More. The adjustment of pull didn't do the trick, which just made the pants at waist area look puffy like pajama pant. I will have to return this pair of pants. Wish Patagonia can have various types of pants to fit people with different baby types.

September 4, 2018

Favorite Hiking Pants

Wore these hiking through chilly misty days with capilene liner pants in Jasper Nat'l Park and Banff. Kept me warm & dry, and allowed me to move easily over some steep terrain. The adjustable waist button was awesome since I slimmed down a bit after 8 days of hiking. Highly recommend!

August 25, 2018

Excellent Pants!

I just returned from a 12 day trip to Tanzania where we spent 7 days on a hike to summit Mount Kilimanjaro. I wore these pants 6 out of the 7 days. Durable, lightweight, water resistant. Excellent pants and glad I had them with me. I wore them while hiking in the rainforest and they also served as my outer layer on summit day.

March 3, 2018

I really like these pants

The pants are a nice fit. The smooth stretch fabric gives as it needs to and sheds light rain. Good coverage of backside,plenty long for my long legs,and the tab that draws in the waist at its button closure helps these pants fit better than others I have found. I plan to order another pair in the second color.

February 22, 2018

Very comfortable and look nice!

Very happy with the product! Fit me excellent and look nice!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches