Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 312 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Hoody

4.6
True To Size
March 23, 2020

Just the Bees Knees

Long had I held back from buying this jacket. It is pricey for sure. Then I caved and purchased it. Why have I waited so long? Its water resistant (so great in mist and a light drizzle), lighter than a feather, and keeps you at just the right temperature. Its packable. It looks sharp. It is just incredible. Ive purchased competitors versions, but... Read More now will only stick with Patagonia from here on out. Its now my go-to when traveling and backpacking.

March 22, 2020

Lightweight Furnace

The scientists at Patagonia have cracked the code, this thing is inexplicably warm for how thin and lightweight it is. I love this jacket, it is far warmer and much higher quality than another jacket I own from a brand that shall remain nameless. I would say this jacket has a pretty technical fit, I'm 6ft 160lbs and the medium fits pretty snug... Read More, just enough for a base and midlayer, but I don't think I could really fit a big sweater or hoodie underneath, so keep your end-use in mind when you buy. Again, amazing product, couldn't be happier!

March 16, 2020

Perhaps my favorite jacket ever

Since 2008 Ive been wearing my much loved down sweater hoody. This year, despite trying to be a minimalist, I decided to upgrade. While the down hoody was great, over the years it began to have small leaks of feathers, so if I wore a dark shirt or sweater underneath, it looked like it had lint in it. And the small leaked feathers were hard to remov... Read Moree. This new jacket is a little lighter, I love the slim fit, it sheds light rain and mist, looks great - Ive been wearing it every day since I got it, walking to work in all conditions, from about 28° (with hat and gloves) all the way up to the low 60s, in drizzle, wind and sunshine. Im 60, 200 lbs. I could wear the L, but it was a little snug in the shoulders, so I went with the XL, which is slightly loose in a comfortable way. Fantastic new favorite!!!

March 12, 2020

Amazin warmth to weigh ratio

The micro puff is by far the best lightweight insulation I've worn. Surprisingly warm and packable. I use it for backcountry skiing as a descent layer, climbing as a packable belay layer and causally around town. Pair this jacket with an r1 and you'll be toasty all day. I liked it so much I wear it almost every day and had to get a second... Read More in Mango.

March 3, 2020

My new favorite jacket

Replacing my nano puff jacket with with the micro puff. Have used the now one only few times. I still wear the nano puff most often to keep the other looking new and my winter has been very mild this year. The one frigid night we had, I layered them and it worked very well. The drop-in pockets are roomy but I do miss the zippered interior pocket li... Read Moreke the nano puff has. The hood is really well designed is it stays away from my eyes very well. Even more packable and light than the nano puff, I hope it as durable and water proof.

February 18, 2020

Awesome jacket

Purchased this after my down jacket of 10 years finally gave out. This is a awesome jacket and the hood is a great addition. Super warm and very comfortable. Another awesome jacket from Patagonia! I try to be pretty true and honest with reviews and this jacket rocks!

January 17, 2020

My favorite light-weight jacket!

It's hard to believe a jacket this light can be so warm. I wear it more than any other jacket because its so light, packable, sylish and most importantly warm! I'm usually a minimalist in my clothing but I have three different colors in this jacket because I wear it every day in the cold months.

January 17, 2020

Almost perfect

I have had my micropuff since December of 2018. The warmth to weight ratio of this jacket is incredible. It compresses very well and hasn’t lost its loftyness after being thrown in a stuff sack 100 times. I use it the most when bringing a belay jacket would be overkill but I still want something more than just my Nano Puff. The face fabric blocks t... Read Morehe wind very well. The one major flaw however is that the hood is not helmet compatible. It is very a trim fitted hood designed to be worn under your helmet. Which would make sense if it were a mid layer but it isn’t. Because it isn’t breathable I’m only wearing it when I’m not moving. Please make the hood helmet compatible on the next generation. I’d like to hear from a Patagonia rep why they chose to not have a helmet compatible hood.

January 15, 2020

Great jacket

This is a pretty perfect jacket. It's lightweight but retains warmth like there's a little furnace inside. It blocks wind and keeps me dry. It looks great without being too puffy and has a pretty solid silhouette. The hood looks a little ridiculous but is function over form. Highly recommend.

January 15, 2020

My most versatile jacket (Period)

The title is a BIG claim and I usually do not write reviews. But, with this jacket, I had to. I lost my mountain hardwear ghost whisperer jacket on a bus in Spain. My wife and I were in Europe for an ultra bikepacking race across the Pyrenees, so I needed a jacket. I decided on this jacket. The jacket is not as warm as my mountain hardwear ghost wh... Read Moreisperer but it is far more versatile. The jacket packs down small and is very light weight. I wore the jacket during the Pyrenees race cycling over cols in the middle of the night. I used the jacket as my sleeping bag on the side of a dirt road in Spain, during the race. I wear it daily commuting to work on my FAT bike. I wore it during my successful attempt of the Rapha Festive 500 in Colorado (A challenge to cycle 500k between Christmas and New Year’s), where temperatures dropped to -14f. I wear it skinning in the backcountry and up the resorts early in the mornings. I unzip it going up and just zip it up when skiing down. This is an amazing jacket for those who are always moving. I think I would need more if I were sitting around in the cold. But, why would I do that? ;-) Sorry, no photos......

January 15, 2020

Finally A Coat My Teen WILL Wear

My son would never wear a coat even in the coldest of weather. However, his new Micro Puff coat is so light and comfortable that he wears it all the time!!

January 7, 2020

Awesome Jacket!

I’ve had other Patagonia jackets in the past but none are as light and warm as this one. The micro puff is now my favorite jacket all around and my go to for just about any adventure.

January 6, 2020

This is THE PUFFY

After just over a year of hard use this puffy has continued to hit all the marks. Very light and packable, yet quite warm and windproof. Also the styling is A+, looks great around town too. Only drawback for this gal is the durability, it doesn't hold up that well to snags and getting too close to the camp stove. As a 120lb broad shouldered wo... Read Moreman with a long torso I find the mens XS to fit to perfection. Thanks Patagonia!

January 4, 2020

Gift for my husband, he

Gift for my husband, he loves it

January 4, 2020

This Micropuff Hoodie is the greatest jacket I've ever owned.

And I have lots of Patagonia jackets. I have worn this for a year. It is so thin and lightweight one can almost see through the panels. It can pack down into the pocket making a small bundle in my pack. I keep thinking it will fail me, but it is warm enough for our Minnesota winters. Nice arrangement of pockets, especially the inside panel ones tha... Read Moret are large enough to hold a book or my iPad mini. The hood is so handy. Stays unobtrusive, then easily flips up as I leave the car. This thing looks too lightweight for a Minnesota winter, but it continually amazes and protects me. And it is sturdy; my mishandling it has not caused any noticeable wear/tear. Thanks.

January 4, 2020

Best Jacket/Hoodie I've Ever Owned

Quality: This jacket has the durability and quality that we're all accustomed to from Patagonia. Whether you're hiking Mount Rainier or going cross-country through Afghanistan, this jacket will withstand whatever you have to throw at it. Warmth: For the weight, this is the warmest mid-layer I've ever owned but it also distributes h... Read Moreeat extremely well, so I never feel the need to take it off. Sizing: I am 6'2" and weigh 210lbs. I have uncommonly wide shoulders and the size Large fits me perfectly. The fabric stretches just enough to be comfortable on folks with non-standard measurements. Patagonia really hit the mark with this jacket and you'll know why as soon as you put one on. It's scary light, super packable, and just the right amount of warm for active individuals. I convinced my whole team to buy one after how impressed I was with its construction and performance.

January 2, 2020

Great Jacket, would definitely buy again!

Really great jacket, been happy with my purchase. I'm 5'8 and 150lbs, normally I wear a medium but after reading the reviews on the fit I went with the small which fits perfectly.

January 1, 2020

Great jacket. Very warm, scary

Great jacket. Very warm, scary light.

December 31, 2019

Just Get It

This jacket is the real deal. It is amazingly lightweight, super packable and surprisingly warm. Bought this for hiking through the mountains in New Zealand (start the hike at 74F and end at 38F kind of thing). Kept me warm all the way up and down. Hoody works (the jacket is very warm with it) but you do kind of look like a bean in in it. In light ... Read Morerain it keeps you warm. Wind over 15mph may poke through a bit, but this jacket is solid overall - can't recommend it enough.

December 30, 2019

Better Than Expected

It's perfect. Light, super warm, very good fitting, very good looking. Many compliments while wearing. My favorite jacket to wear.

December 30, 2019

Great Jacket for Mild Temps

This jacket is great for mild temps in the 50's and does a decent job cutting the wind. The jacket fits true to size and provides a surprising amount of warmth for its size. A great feature is the jackets ability to be packed into its own pocket for travel or packing in a suitcase. The jacket looks great, performs well, and is super lightweigh... Read Moret. The mico-puff packs into one of the front pockets and packs into a larger area than the nano-fleece (which packs into its breast pocket).

December 29, 2019

Great jacket

Light, warm and comfortable. Love it

December 27, 2019

Amazing warmth and lightness

Amazing warmth and lightness

December 27, 2019

Awesome Weight for Warmth

For the warmth you get out of this jacket, it seems like it be pretty bulky and heavy, however I'm pretty sure you could use this thing as an emergency parachute... the weight is great and doesn't make me feel like a michelin man when I layer underneath. It's a sweet coat.

December 26, 2019

Love this coat!

Many, many Patagonia costs over a lot of years. This is my favorite. Warm enough to wear in low temps, light brought to wear in the 50’s. Water resistant too. Great coat.

December 26, 2019

Good

Good

December 26, 2019

Warm and lightweight

I gave this jacket to my son for christmas, and he loved it. It was lightweight but very warm—perfect for everyday use in winter. The hood covers part of the face so extra warm. He will also wear the jacket under a shell for skiing. The jacket was a hit.

December 26, 2019

It was great

It was great

December 26, 2019

Perfct!

Love this coat. Light, but warm. Good for everything but the coldest of days.

December 22, 2019

Great Product

Love the coat, thanks

December 21, 2019

Great product!

Great product!

December 21, 2019

Lofty Aspirations

I’m lovin’ my new puffy! I’ve owned the Nano Puff Hoody for 2 years (great jacket), but my new Micro Puff is a serious upgrade. It’s incredibly light and significantly warmer. My first real test was out in Joshua Tree this week (low of 34 degrees) for some backpacking and stargazing. It’s one thing to stay warm while moving, but for me, the real te... Read Morest comes when I have to be still, in the cold, for hours - and this jacked performed beautifully! Looking forward to many adventures to come!

December 21, 2019

Great active insulation

I've been wearing this for a little over a year and enjoyed its light weight and ability to generate heat when being active. On its own, it's somewhat warm but not super toasty until you start moving around, doing something. I've been a little disappointed in the fit. The shoulders fit just right but the torso is baggy and the waist... Read More too big, which unfortunately lets in drafts due to there being no draw string to adjust it. Overall it's a nice jacket for snowboarding, running in freezing cold temps, and wearing around town if you have a good layer underneath it. The lightness is a definite selling point too.

December 20, 2019

The hood/shoulders bunch up a

The hood/shoulders bunch up a bit when the hood isn’t in use. But it fits great, breaths well when in use. Great in the wind & precipitation.

December 19, 2019

Great lightweight jacket

Perfect packable lightweight warm jacket

December 19, 2019

No more Michelin man.

Happy to have this item in the wardrobe. Having used a big NF Down Coat since early 2000, I was ready for modernizing the weather protection. Although not as warm as previous, that is not necessarily a bad thing with proper layering. I love the hood! Completely covers the noggin and is cut so that it does not inhibit proper vision for active moveme... Read Morent. I am 6'4" and a little chubby. The XXL fits well, but I would say I'm at the end of the line in sizing. Consider encouraging bigger people to be active by equipping and empowering them to a more active person (through sizing, hint hint). I love the little details like the hemming on the cuff's and hood, dual internal stow pockets, and zippered outer pockets. This pairs well with a fleece or wool vest for optimum layering. Definitely pick one of these up. I recommend to all who want a lightweight versatile hooded jacket.

December 19, 2019

Surprisingly light and warm at the same time

This jacket is really light and warm at the same time. So far love it

December 18, 2019

too thin

Not the best construction, no inner security pockets

December 18, 2019

I bought the Men's Micro

I bought the Men's Micro Puff Hoody as an insulation layer for skiing, and also for casual, light weight jacket. It is very comfortable, and works perfectly for both skiing and an everyday insulation piece. It has quickly become my go-to outerwear jacket for running to the store, a quick walk with my dogs, or my drive to work.

December 17, 2019

Great packable warmth

This jacket is great for your layering kit bag, I pair it with a Houdini in the rain, and if I need more warmth a R1 Hoodie. My only ding is that on mine it seems like they didn't put any insulation in some of the baffles on both elbows so I get cold spots on both arms right above the elbow. A weird place for cold spots.

December 17, 2019

Great coat, fits a little large

Patagonia needs a slim fit/athletic cut for some of these jackets. I love everything about my new coat, except the cut. It bunches up awkwardly in front, and it's wide in the sides. I had an older coat that had a better shape to it and it was more form fitting. I'm not skinny, either. But I also don't have a big beer belly, which one... Read More could easily fit inside this coat. In fact, the way the coat bunches, it makes me look like I have a beer belly.

December 17, 2019

Unbelievably light, Unbelievably packable, Unbelievably delicate

The micro puff is so light it barely feels like you're wearing anything. It packs down smaller than any jacket of comparable warmth. Unfortunately though it is incredibly delicate. I make a point to trim my nails before putting it on because I'm afraid a stray nail will cause a rip. I will continue to travel with it on planes because it p... Read Moreacks so small, but I feel bad owning something so delicate because I just know it isn't going to last. If packability is your #1 concern and price isn't a consideration then you'd be hard pressed to beat this. If you're active in areas with sharp points and care about durability you're going to hate this.

December 16, 2019

awesome

awesome

December 16, 2019

Great for 48 degrees and above!

I loved the jacket. The overall weight and packability feature is unreal! It is super light and great for all around town in warmer weather! I found myself wearing this jacket all the time in many different activities I took part in. Great for hikes or small climbing trips in the fall! Would recommend if you are looking for an extremely lightweight... Read More jacket for warmer conditions!

December 16, 2019

MS Micro Puff problems

I regretfully write this I say regret as I am a avid Patagonia supporter but I am very very disappointed for my long awaited purchase of this jacket only to have the filling continually surface through the seams of my jacket. Very frustrating and quit annoying.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hey there, thanks for the review and we are so sorry to hear that the insulation is leaking through those seams. Just like down, plumes sometimes come through stitch holes, so too does the PlumaFill insulation come through the stitch holes at times. If you’re dissatisfied, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it and we can exchange for a [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-hoody/84222.html?dwvar_84222_color=CNY&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=nano%2Bpuff%2Bhoody&lang=en_US&start=1) that doesn’t have this problem like down or PlumaFill. To fix it yourself, for small instances, were it is tiny individual fibers, you can break them off. If it is a larger white clump of insulation, we suggest you try to pull it back into the jacket by pinching it from behind and pulling the fabric forward. You can also cut the larger white clump with scissors, but be extremely careful not to cut the fabric or the stitch.

December 16, 2019

Unequaled Warmth to Weight

Great hoodie. Amazingly light and extremely warm and comfortable. Best light winter jacket ever.

December 16, 2019

Just right

The micro puff hoody was just what I was looking for. A bit warmer than my nano, plus a hood.

December 15, 2019

Fits middle school locker

My son loves this. Light and warm. Fits in his narrow locker at school but works for recess etc

December 14, 2019

Both jackets ordered

Patagonia has quality jackets years ago. There emphasis on recycled and green focus has damaged the brand . Jackets ordered were black . We’re faded black actually but be environmentally friendly dye lol. As for thickness not warm at all . We have a jacket purchased more than 5 years ago that withstood Alaskan winters these would not . Not going to... Read More purchase another jacket unless company goes back in time .

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2020

Hi Maryann, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that you feel our quality has declined over the years. It's still our goal to create the best product possible while doing so with the environment in mind. Overall, the Micro Puff Hoody isn't the warmest jacket that we offer so understand that it probably wasn't warm enough for Alaskan winters. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 14, 2019

Great fit and super warm for weight.

The only thing you feel with this jacket is warmth. It is unbelievably light. I wear this early in the morning riding my bike to work with just a polo shirt and am warm even in temperatures in the low 30s and wind. This fits on the slimmer side compared to the nano puff which I am thankful for. I like the minimalist approach with the elastic waistb... Read Moreand. Really an exceptional single layer jacket that also works well as a mid-layer on super cold days skiing.

December 14, 2019

Love it

Love it

December 14, 2019

Andor10

Love my new jacket.... . Comfortable......warm.....and so stylish.....love the texture of the jacket...and so stylish!!!!!!

December 13, 2019

Super Comfy just too small.

Super Comfy just too small. Exchanged for a large. Fits nicely

December 13, 2019

Excellent

HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE ON EVERY LEVEL! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

December 13, 2019

Nice safety layer

I carry this hunting in the mountains to stay warm when the weather turns bad. Lightweight and small, but warm. So far, so good.

December 13, 2019

Always on

I’ve been holding out on getting a light weight puff for a while, but have enjoyed it just about every day I’ve had it. Great as a layering piece under a variety of other shells/jackets and also quite warm as an outer layer. Packs so small it will be in my travel bag for at least 3 seasons, if not four.

December 13, 2019

A quality jacket, but I wish it was warmer

The warmth to weight on this jacket truly is phenomenal, but it doesn’t mean it’s extremely warm. The jacket is almost weightless, and will keep you comfortably warm as long as you don’t wear it 55 degrees Fahrenheit and below. Otherwise, excellent quality.

December 13, 2019

Good jacket. Look forward to

Good jacket. Look forward to using it

December 11, 2019

10/10

Perfect

December 11, 2019

Much warmer than it looks!

Much warmer than it looks!

December 11, 2019

Mens Micro Puff Hoody

Nice lightweight waterproof insulated jacket for light weather condition

December 9, 2019

Contrast color piping – why?

Great jacket, great weight, great colors, but… wait!? Oh no, the carbon color (wonderful green color) comes with a contrasting grey piping that was a deal breaker. I can't for the life of me understand why Patagonia adds contrasting piping, particularly at the sleeve cuffs of men's jackets. For little girls jackets, okay, but for men&#x27... Read More;s they may as well add ruffles or lace. No one wants the contrasting cuff, Patagonia. Sorry.

December 9, 2019

Better and better

I’ve been using Patagonia gear since before it was Patagonia . The equipment just keeps getting better. This latest puffy jacket is amazingly light and warm. I live in the PNW where it is ideal for wet, cold weather. It’s a must-have in my daypack for long day hikes and for around town.

December 6, 2019

Great warmth for weight, cold spots in weird places

I love this jacket for many reasons, the least of which is its warmth. The materials are comfortable enough that I have fallen asleep in it (hood and all) and the fit is athletic without being too slim (layers easily). The one odd thing I noticed is that I have cold spots right above both elbows. I don’t know if that is a natural displacement of th... Read Moree insulation or a flaw in manufacturing or design but it is annoying to have two pronounced cold spots when everything else is warm.

December 6, 2019

Layer up or layer down

Love it. Ultralight and great in a variety of conditions. Layer underneath and it is good in wind down to 15 degrees F or so. Below that a shell over the top works wonders. I use it under my ski uniform jacket on cold days. Great product. g

December 6, 2019

great lightweight coat.

great lightweight coat.

December 5, 2019

Excellent lightweight insulated hoody

Although assigning a temperature rating to any article of clothing is difficult, this piece generally won’t be appropriate below 40-30 with a baselayer, midlayer, and shell over. It’s sweet spot is above freezing. But for what it is and what it does, it is excellent. It is quite packable, impressively light, attractive, and has an inviting fit. The... Read More sizing is perfect for me, because I often fall between a medium and large, and the medium was just what I wanted. The hood is a sweet spot for this hoody, I truly like the snug fit that allows for comfort and efficiency. Very happy with this hoody! Excited to see how it performs in the wet and over time.

December 5, 2019

5 stars but one recommendation

LOVE this jacket. Perfect for mid-Atlantic winters below 3000'. Below 30F, I need more than a T-shirt or lightweight Capilene base layer. Very stylish and functional. I also love the hoody, but would add maybe an inch of material so it is not so tight at my chin. I love the close fit around my head, but zipping all the way up for more than a f... Read Moreew minutes leads me to unzipping it down a couple of inches. For times when it is that cold, my neck gaiter solves that issue, but really shouldn't have to in my opinion. The neck gaiter just adds more bulk which I don't really want. Still 5 stars. Early on when considering this piece, I saw some reviews about the Plumafill coming through seams. That is not my experience less than 2 years into this jacket. It's pretty dadgum awesome!

December 3, 2019

Awesome coat

Warm, light weight, wicked awesome coat!

December 3, 2019

My new best friend

I have no idea why it took me so long to order the puff hoody .after seeing others on a offshore fishing trip wearing the hoody and me being miserable I placed a order for one that very night.What a wonderful garment. No more Mr Miserable !

December 2, 2019

Extremely light

I am super happy with this coat! Its light, packs into one of its pockets. Also super warm! Looking forward to using for backpacking.

December 2, 2019

Punches above it’s weight

Light, warm, comfortable. Hood fits perfectly when snow, wind makes things interesting. Layer a shell and you’re good for what the weather gods give ya. My new favorite puffer.

December 1, 2019

Nothing is good

Warm, light, feels study

December 1, 2019

Solid piece

I’ve only had this micro puff about a week or so. I’m liking it a lot. Lightweight, warm and seems showerproof as well. The Mtn weather has been cold lately but this is working well without a shell if out for a bit. Works well with a shell as it’s low volume. Can’t wait to ski in it.

November 29, 2019

Hooded Jacket

This jacket is so lightweight and compact it can be taken anywhere! Provides incredible warmth without the bulk. Excellent for backpacking and winter activities.

November 23, 2019

Love everything but the main zipper.

The jacket’s hood is the best hood I’ve ever had on a jacket. The only think I dislike is the main zipper. It occasionally gets caught on the flaps behind it, and I wonder if a larger YKK zipper would preclude this. I’m also worried about the durability of the pockets in terms of car keys.

November 22, 2019

Sweet new look and feel

This new twist on an old classic keeps me coming back. I've worn a version of this since they came out and this one doesn't disappoint.

November 22, 2019

Unbelievable warmth for its weight

Unbelievable warmth for its weight

November 22, 2019

Perfect Light Weight Jacket

Bought this for winter and it’s PERFECT! Light weight, yet warm- fits in any bag.

November 22, 2019

Micropuff hoody rocks!!

Very warm and wind resistant as promised, the hood seals and protects well. I have worn this as my only layer in 30 degree weather in windy conditions comfortably.

November 22, 2019

Light and warm

This piece is very light and very warm for the weight. The hooded Micro Puff fits great - I'm 6' and 175lbs and wear the medium - and it packs down pretty darn small. It's going with me on all backcountry adventures.

November 21, 2019

Great ‘Just in Case’ Jacket

This jacket slots perfectly into my current lineup of jackets. I’ve used it on a very colD and windy 17-F night biking home with only a tee shirt underneath. I won’t say that I was toasty warm, but I was not cold. Those conditions typically have me reaching for my sub-zero down jacket, which while packable is no where near as light and compressible... Read More as the MicroPuff. In my mind it’s equal warmth to weight as down which is just incredible that it’s actually a synthetic material. I’ve yet to use it in the ran but plan to as soon as this drought passes.

November 18, 2019

Unbelievable

so warm yet so light, fantastic!

November 18, 2019

Great everyday and work jacket

Great everyday and work jacket

November 15, 2019

Cozy vegan

My new Micro Puff is what I was looking for: a lightweight alternative to down. As a long distance hiker, I also like how easy it is to wash, while on the trail.

November 15, 2019

Excited about these!

Winter bike commuter in WI, and these suckers will keep me warm for sure. I have had to find a substitute for the not quite as cold days or else I'll be sweating when I get to school, even in low 20's. These will be a go to for all winter activities. Tossing a shell layer over them to protect them and provide a bit more wind resistance wi... Read Morell create a fantastic layering system that will be versatile.

November 14, 2019

Lighter, and warmer than my

Lighter, and warmer than my Nano Puff. The hood fits well, and layers well under a shell.

November 14, 2019

Warm comfortable and lightweight

Warm comfortable and lightweight

November 13, 2019

Warm and packs well

For a light weight jacket it provides great warmth.

November 13, 2019

Awesome pack-able piece you should

Awesome pack-able piece you should always keep with you.

November 12, 2019

Weight to Warmth Ratio

If you’re looking for a hoody/jacket that'll keep you warm (even when wet) and is lightweight, the micro puff is your best bet. Temperature below freezing? Snag a good lightweight or medium weight base layer like the capilene and you’re golden. I’m 6’0 and the large fits perfect. My pops is 5’10 and wears his micro in a medium. Seriously. Don’... Read Moret hesitate to buy this guy. Synthetic down is where it’s at.

November 12, 2019

Micro Puff delivers

Lightweight, warm, compressible. Gets it done and has become my everyday jacket in the fall and early winter. Layers well. Stands alone too. Love the inside stash pockets for gloves/hat. I don't leave home without it.

November 12, 2019

Micro Puff

Light on weight but heavy on warmth. I have several of these jackets and recommend them to anyone. Help shed light rain, while regulating body temperature. Don't let the soft outer fabric make you think these jackets cant handle some heavy duty wear and tear. I use and abuse all things patagonia and they stand up!

November 12, 2019

Perfect

Decent level of warmth for being so thin. Works great as a mid layer under a shell or heavy coat. Packs down tightly for convenient storage while backpacking. The size Medium fits me perfectly; I am 5'9", ~170 pounds, athletic build.

November 12, 2019

New go to Jacket for climbing!

This jacket is my new go to jacket for climbing adventures for saving wight and space. I reach for it every time now over my nano puff. Lighter and warmer than my nano puff!

November 12, 2019

Very light and warm

Very light and warm

November 11, 2019

The jacket you have to have

Could not be happier with this jacket. Lightweight, comfortable and most importantly WARM! As an outdoor professional, this is the jacket you need to have for fall, winter and spring seasons to ensure your comfort in those uncomfortable places. I recommend going the extra mile for the hood as well, adding that extra warmth and insulation on your me... Read Morelon for when you need it!

November 11, 2019

Great Hoody

When I got the micro puff hoody in the mail, I didn’t think it would be warm. Boy was I wrong. I use it as a mid layer and it works great. Keeps me nice and warm.

November 10, 2019

Mens Large MicroPuff Hoody

I am 6'0" and about 215 lbs (98kg). This jacket fits me perfect as a base layer. Not able to wear many layers underneath it, as that makes it slightly too tight circumferentially around my stomach. If you are my size and looking for a main outer layer I would suggest an XL. One small complaint I have is the area of the collar is quite sm... Read Moreall when zipped all the way up, specifically from the back (tag/inferior aspect of hood) to the front (zipper) - it almost feels like a turtleneck thats a size too small, but as I wear this jacket as a casual item that hasn't been a major issue.

November 10, 2019

Fits well and keeps warm!

This vest looks great for casual use but also keeps me warm enough be use when I'm doing any activity outside. It's been a lifesaver for the late fall / early winter weather. I plan to use this as a layer during the ski season to keep my torso warm. Does very well in repelling the rainy weather too.

November 9, 2019

Perfect

I live in Frisco, Colorado and I love it for the winter. It works great as a layer when I ride my fat bike in the morning and then functions perfectly as an outer layer when it warms up in the afternoon. It dries from sweat quickly and keeps me warm. For snowboarding/skiing, I wear it beneath the powder bowl jacket. I ordered the medium and I am 6... Read More’1” and 170 pounds and it fits me well.

November 9, 2019

Micro Puff Hoody

Way light and way comfortable. I can wear this on a 30 degree day and still be warm. Amazing for how much this jacket weighs. Great fit is just right if you have a regular build with no tummy.

November 9, 2019

Great jacket

Warm, light, durable.

November 8, 2019

Almost perfect

Super light weight. First test was a sub 0 degree ski tour with base layer and mid layer. Just put it on for alpine and downhill. Very comfortable except neck and chin are a bit too tight. Was willing to zip all the way. Very happy with warmth.

November 8, 2019

Puff the magic hoody.

Having loved my Nano Puff Hoody over the past number of years, I thought I should try the new, extra-feathery Micro Puff Hoody. With a few weeks of cold weather active use here in Montana, I'm liking the Micro Puff more for technical use and the Nano Puff more as my towny puff piece. The Micro Puff uses Pertex which, in my experience, offers a... Read More more tenacious, longer wearing DWR (water shed) characteristics. The features on the Micro Puff are more spare (no internal zippered chest pocket) and the hood is more of a skull fit. The drop in internal pockets are good for stashing skins when doing yoyo laps in the backcountry, but are not as useful for stashing your sunglasses, lip balm or Clif Bars. But the Micro - though lighter and more compressible - feels a skosh warmer. As for the Nano Puff, it's a good daily driver in town and works pretty damn well in the mountains, too.

November 8, 2019

Great windbreaker and insulator

I absolutely love this jacket because it is so versatile. I use it as a light windbreaker on my commute to work or as an insulator underneath my raincoat. This coat is very roomy and mobile so I have no problem wearing a light sweater or hoody underneath. It feels baggy, but looks really clean allowing me to climb with it and wear it to work. The o... Read Morenly thing that scares me is when I lightly rub against something, it makes a loud and scary ripping sound, but I've never ripped it. Its a little unsettling, but knowing Patagonia, its definitely going to be durable.

November 8, 2019

Good Lightweight Puffy

Overall this is a good lightweight insulated layer. The fit and weight are nice, the only negative would be the seams across my shoulders. They are noticeable when wearing a pack. they don't hurt, you just notice them...

November 8, 2019

Hooded Micro Puffy

Very warm and cozy. Runs small. Ordered a mens med t shirt and it is longer and bigger than the mens medium hooded micro puffy.

November 8, 2019

So light!

This jacket is unbelievably light for how warm it is. I like the fit for how well it layers underneath my shell. Overall it is a great jacket. Simple, light, warm and ultra-packable. I'm 6'0, 165 lbs and the medium fits perfect.

November 8, 2019

Toats awesome!

Toats awesome!

November 7, 2019

my second one

I love this jacket. Its so comfortable and disappears as a mid layer on cold days. It fits so well. Slightly delicate tho..

November 7, 2019

Good fit

Good fit

November 7, 2019

Micro Puff Hoody

Coat fits great with lots of good room for movement. Ample stuff pockets inside are great. Big exterior zip pockets outside have the bottom of the zipper too high to comfortably stuff in my hands on a cold evening; it feels like I’m going to tear the zipper

November 7, 2019

Worth it

This is one of my favorites. It's very light, yet keeps me extremely warm. Also very packable and can be handy when traveling. Overall worth it.

November 7, 2019

So light! Warm too

Love this jacket. Super light and packable. It has also kept me warm with a midweight layer underneath in temps in the 20s (F). Doesn't breath as well as my Nano Air, but I can't think of anything else that could be improved. I'm 5' 8" 155 and wear a small. It fits fine over a base and mid layer

November 7, 2019

The zipper is too small

The zipper is too small and its difficult to close

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Clarence! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the zipper. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 7, 2019

Light and Warm

This is an awesome Jacket. Love that they are light yet warm.

November 6, 2019

feather light

super light, still has plenty of warmth

November 6, 2019

Micro Puf Hoody

Great versatile hoody. Perfect for travel. I got size small and the fit is just right for me (5'7", 150 lbss). Love the jacket so also getting one for my wife.

November 6, 2019

Micro puff hoody

Excellent overall. Very warm for the weight. Ver light. Like the fit of thr.hood. Only improvement would be slightly larger in the shoulders.

November 6, 2019

Love it

Best purchase I have made!!!!

November 6, 2019

Great

Great

November 6, 2019

My MicroPuff is never far

My MicroPuff is never far and it's always in my bag when I travel. Great product that I can wear almost year round. Typically my first layer after my shell when skiing.

November 6, 2019

Micro Puff Hoody

Great product with well thought out fit and finish.

November 5, 2019

great jacket

great jacket

November 5, 2019

Super light and warm

Everything I expected!

November 5, 2019

They fixed the sizing

Super happy with my new Mirco. I had the original season version, but the new color had me stoked. Was even happier to find out that they slimmed it out and streamlined it a bit. The old one was a touch loose.

November 5, 2019

It’s perfect!

Love the warmth and weight. The hood is an excellent addition and adds to the versatility. I also love the interior large pockets. Thanks for making awesome gear!

November 5, 2019

Micro Puff

Beautiful product

November 5, 2019

Very nice

A lightweight, comfortable jacket. One issue - when partially unzipped, the collar annoyingly rubs against the chin/neck.

November 5, 2019

Lightweight and warm

Great for most adventures in the cold or brisk weather, can be great used on its own but with a shell in the rain to keep in the heat.

November 5, 2019

Would buy for my whole

Would buy for my whole family if it was permissable

November 5, 2019

Love it!

The hood makes it! The feel is light and comfortable.

November 5, 2019

nice!

nice!

November 5, 2019

Great jacket. Love the fit

Great jacket. Love the fit and warmth. The under-the-helmet hood design isn't my favorite, but it is certainly not a deal breaker. If you don't absolutely need the hood, especially knowing the tight fit, I would recommend the jacket version. Otherwise a great jacket.

November 5, 2019

Great all-around insulation layer

This jacket is wonderful; it has been great for everything I do, from work to play. The only jacket I own which surpasses this new micro puff in warmth, comfort, and versatility is my old Patagonia down jacket. I have always worried about the durability of my beloved puffy, but have never torn it (I'm highly neurotic about this) and it has nev... Read Moreer packed out. Safe to say that with this new micro puff jacket, I will be taking a lot of wear off of my old puffy by making the micro puff my go to insulation layer. The old puffy will be reserved for only the coldest of days.

November 5, 2019

Warm, Long, and stretchy

As a taller individual it's nice to have jackets that come in a decent length. This puff will not disappoint to keep you warm and look pretty cool doin it. it also has just enough stretch to allow full range of motion for any adventure someone may be on.

November 5, 2019

Really, really nice!

Home run on the Micro Puff. Big step up on the last generation. Thank you.

November 5, 2019

So far, Awesome!

Obviously time will tell as I have only worn it once in easy conditions. However, first impressions are great and it's just like it has been described. Super light, very compressible and looks great. Hopefully, it will be a long term piece for me.

November 4, 2019

big performance in a small package

Really impressed with the warmth to size ratio of this jacket. A great all-arounder

November 4, 2019

warm and functional

Stoked on this hoodie, and loving its warmth

November 4, 2019

Micro Puff

Jacket fits great. It’s incredibly light weight and warm, I don’t want to take it off. Still have not yet put it to the test in colder weather but I’m confident it will do well.

November 4, 2019

Great jacket, small hood, no waist drawstring

The jacket represents excellent quality, with great design and features. It would otherwise get 5 stars but there are 2 1/2 slight faults. First, the hood is very small. I have a slightly above average male head, but not massive. The hood is too small to fit on my head without anything underneath. No chance of even beanie. If you want to put a hoo... Read Mored this tight on a jacket, the hood must be stretch (think hybrid fleece/synthetic jacket). You cannot design a tight fitting hood and expect it to fit a broad range of head shapes without stretch to cover more range of shapes/sizes. Second, the waist has no drawstring and the elastic is cut a touch tight. Meaning if I reach up at all the jacket comes up, but won't go back down. A bit frustrating if I'm using the jacket in an active situation. The 1/2 issue is sizing: the jacket is sized fairly average for a medium, maybe a touch on the small side, but the forearms are small.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Thanks for your feedback Patrick! Although the Micro Puff fit meets our standard fit dimensions, it’s unfamiliar pattern lines can sometimes fit or drape unlike other similar fit products. If you are dissatisfied with how it fits, we’d suggest our [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-hoody/84222.html), which uses a more traditional pattern block. Of course, if you're unsatisfied with its performance, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

November 4, 2019

Snuggly as ..

It’s so comfortable, light & packable. I can’t wait for winter temps

November 4, 2019

Super lite and warm

Love this Micro Puff Hoody! It weighs nothing, incredibly warm and compacts into a pocket making it easy to travel with. The hood fits nice and snug without restraining peripheral vision like some hoods. I wear this piece from fishing, camping, everyday life and don’t hesitate to wear it out on the town as well.

November 4, 2019

Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee

I am very happy with my micropuff hoody. The jacket is a lightweight, packable and warm. However it wouldn't be the first jacket i reach for when temperatures get below 20 degrees or so. A great early season and lightweight summer trips

November 4, 2019

Great jacket. Light and warm

This is a very simple jacket but is light and warm. It is versatile so it can be worn as a main outer jacket or a mid layer under a shell. It is very light and that makes it comfortable.

November 4, 2019

Versatile piece of outerwear

Hand down the best jacket I've ever bought from Patagonia!

November 4, 2019

Good overall; tight hood

Good fit overall. A bit baggy across the front of the shoulders. Also when the zipper is all the way up the opening of the hood is a bit tight; a simple shock cord and cord lock system would have been better here for me.

November 4, 2019

Perfect Lightweight Jacket

I love it! Only been wearing this new jacket a week now, but it's great. Pockets feel a little high, but maybe I should have bought a size larger. I'm 5'10" in a medium. The snug fitting hood is amazing and my first one like this.

November 4, 2019

All around wicked

Even lighter than I expected. Super comfy and versatile. The hood on the small is a bit smaller than id like, but i can work around it!

November 3, 2019

Micro puff

Always satisfied with patagonia products! Haven’t been able to use my new jacket to it’s full extent yet but when the snow falls I know I’ll have confidence in my new micro puff. Thanks Patagonia for such great gear!

November 3, 2019

Looking good and comfy

Walking to the crag in the morning cold, or belaying in the shade during Fall, this hoody will be your best friend. When the sun gets warmer, the Hoody is so light you won’t feel its weight on your backpack.

November 3, 2019

Great Puffy

I am 5'10'' 150 lbs and the size M fit me perfectly. Have worn this jacket a ton since purchasing it and am continually amazed by how warm it is while weighing virtually nothing. Very practical for camping and other outdoor adventures, but stylish enough to wear around town as well. Would definitely recommend very highly to anyone lo... Read Moreoking for a warm versatile jacket!

November 3, 2019

Perfect

Best jacket on the market! Light weight, warm and super easy to pack. As a Wildland firefighter this puffy travels with me everywhere.

November 3, 2019

Great jacket. Pretty shiny for

Great jacket. Pretty shiny for a man’s jacket

November 3, 2019

Micro puff hoody

Great fit all around. Seems warm for weight. Have not had a chance to test it yet in really cold weather. But it will be great for use under a shell as well as on its own spring and fall.

November 3, 2019

Micro puff hoody

Remarkably warm. It almost feels like it's radiating heat when worn over wool sweater. I've been wearing it out to feed horses at -4 (In October!!!!) here in Jackson this fall. I do have a bit of a problem with the constriction of the hood. It's difficult to zip up the neck sufficiently to block the cold when not wearing the hood. Y... Read Moreou will need to wear the hood under a helmet as it's so fitted; time will ell whether the outer fabric will survive being under one.

November 3, 2019

Puff puff pass this to me

In the NC mountains the weather can shift rapidly. I need clothes that are versatile and portable but also look nice enough to wear to my job in the emergency department in a rural hospital. Thanks for nailing all of these as well as a stunning red color.

November 3, 2019

Awesome Jacket

Very warm light weight jacket!

November 3, 2019

Awesome jacket, love it!

Awesome jacket, love it!

November 3, 2019

Light weight, comfortable, and warm

Light weight, comfortable, and warm

November 3, 2019

Not for me

I’m probably not the right person to review this jacket. I was not going to squeeze this down into a coffee can size and put it into a pack. I was not going to store the jacket into its own pocket, and put it into a suitcase. I was going to wear it to my daughters hockey game and while going to pick out a Christmas tree. This jacket was too thin fo... Read Morer me. Super lightweight but just not warm enough for me doing any light activity in anything below 45 deg. Didn’t like the internal pockets that they didn’t zip. No draw cord. All this saves on weight that I am not concerned with. Beautiful jacket let’s get that straight, just not for me. Traded up to the Nano and it’s much better for my needs.

November 1, 2019

Nice jacket