Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.17 /5

Filter Reviews

All 161 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Jacket

4.17
True To Size
July 10, 2020

All ways perfect

As always perfect. Never lets me down.

June 26, 2020

Super warm & cozy.

Love this jacket & the beautiful blue color. Just like the hooded one I bought got my soul mate. Fantastic products from Patagonia.

June 26, 2020

Just Right

I've got a lot of Patagonia stuff, including 4 or 5 down sweaters, shirts, nanopuffs, etc. This jacket is absolutely the best. Lightweight, warm, good looking, fits perfectly, packs really well. Get one, you won't regret it.

June 19, 2020

Good material but poor design

I like the jacket material but the design. It's my personal opinion and I do not like the design, the stitching between the rectangular design makes the overall rectangular boxes too big. If the design was as per the Nano Puff jacket then I would have loved this Micro Puff jacket. I returned the jacket and ordered Nano Puff jacket.

June 19, 2020

Warm and light weight

The jacket is super light jet very warm even in the northeast climate.

June 17, 2020

warm and nice

This jacket has so many Pro's is hard to list them all .My only con is how tight is around neck. I have hoodie and it fit me perfect.

June 17, 2020

Terrific Jacket

9.2 ounces of pure comfort. I use it for heading to the gym, or running errands, and then throw it in my backpack for layering on cold nights while hiking on weekends! Amazing warmth in such a concise package!

June 17, 2020

Breathable layering

The Micro Puff Jacket is surprisingly very light and compressible. It will make an excellent insulating layer in the winter and will provide a nice warm layer on cool fall evenings. I like its ability to maintain warmth even when wet, but it is not designed to be your only coat when the weather gets frigid. It will be useful on the ski slopes as an... Read More outer layer over some thermals and a good sweater, and it will be great while climbing even in a steady rain. I question its durability on sharp rocks and scrapes while summiting a boulder, but for everyday commuting in the fall and winter, I think this coat will be more than adequate.

June 14, 2020

Unusual fit

As an owner of numerous Patagonia jackets my go to has always been and continues to be the Nano Puff. Excellent warmth to weight ratio, durability and fit. I purchased the Micro Puff with great anticipation that it would become my next go to. Sadly the fit is very different in the neck tube than the Nano Puff. I found it too tall and when zipped fu... Read Morelly very uncomfortable. I was heartbroken and returned the jacket. But all is not lost as I still have several Nano jackets. Hopefully no changes will be made to those in my lifetime!

May 23, 2020

AK approved

The jacket works super well in Anchorage, AK winter casual, and primo for extra insulation on hiking trips. Warm, light and breathable make this one of my go to jackets. Pros; exceptional material. Now Cons. Sewing cut little holes for direct air currents outside to in, not ideal for retaining heat during cold AK wind snaps. Not as compact compared... Read More to down, but makes up for it in weather resistance. Fit makes this a 2 out of 5, restricting this jacket to strictly backcountry for my frame. Im 510 at 160lbs with a middle distance frame. The jacket bunches in the gut and leaves obvious room for me to grow around, might be my torso height. I suggest trying on in person. My girlfriend tried on the womens and had an inverse issue in the upper torso area making hers too tight. 4 /5 despite strange fit because the fiber holding in place works so well. Would buy again

May 23, 2020

Perfect color !

Whats up with the pockets location in this jacket? Feels weird! Is that normal ?? Or Something is wrong with mine that I just received today ! Also, to pack the Jacket in the pocket, its really hard to do ! I feel like Im going to destroy the zipper or damage the fabric.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2020

Hi Mo, please feel free to get your Micro Puff back into us if you believe that there's a manufacturer defect. You can begin your return here, [https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html].

May 14, 2020

Not very durable

I'll start by saying this is a great jacket that is warm and very comfortable however it isn't as durable for heavy use during climbing or hiking. I've owned this for one season and already have three holes from catching on briers while hiking and brushing up against rock during cold climbing sessions. The material the shell is made ... Read Moreof feels significantly thinner compared to other Patagonia puffs. If it wasn't for this flaw I would say it was a perfect Jacket.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2020

Hey Alan. We're sorry this jacket isn't what you expected in terms of durability. The Micro Puff is our lightest synthetic insulated jacket and was designed with a minimalist intent. Please feel free to check out our Nano Puff which is more durable, though a bit less warm. You can also send your Micro Puff in to us for a free repair once we're back up and running.

May 13, 2020

Better for layering than by itself

A good warm, lightweight and breathable under layer for cold days that packs down well. But I prefer my old Nano Puff for casual or everyday wear. The pockets on this higher than normal to reduce bulk if you have stuff in you puffy and your shell pockets. That makes them less functional for everyday use. I also have issues with the collar always st... Read Moreanding up in the front.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Thanks for this great feedback, Mike! You make some good points about the higher placement of pockets, as the Micro Puff is an excellent choice for climbing with a harness and still being able to access the pockets.

April 9, 2020

Sweet jacket in serious need of a redesign

This is a great lightweight, warm jacket but the neck and bottom hem are in serious need of a redesign. I bought a M which fit great except for two things: - the tight-fitting, unusual collar which angles up in front poking the chin and squeezing the neck - the very tight lower portion near the hem. Other buyer have complained about these two fit ... Read Morecharacteristics since the jacket's introduction and there hasn't been any redesign. As a longtime Patagoniac I find it hard to believe the company hasn't done a makeover on this piece when it regularly changes the fit of so many others in its lineup. Are you listening? Jacket returned!

March 7, 2020

The BEST lightweight warmest jacket

Best lightest jacket ever owned. So warm for being so lightweight.

February 26, 2020

Micropuff

As a big mountain ski coach I find myself standing still on the mountain during competitions and line scouting for long periods of time (anywhere from -5 degree F days to 25 degree and windy days). On the flip side there are times I am hiking for long periods of time. I needed a light weight, ultra pack-able, toasty warm jacket that I could pack aw... Read Moreay or throw on at a moments notice. The Micro Puff was perfect for what I was looking for. Throw it on for the cold and take it off for the elevated heart rate stuff. I am 6'2 175lbs, normally go large, but I size up in the slim fit jackets so I got an XL in the Micro. I also like the neck zip for on the mountain and fighting the winds when they whip. One thing it is missing is a cinch on the waistband. That would be nice for when the snow gets real deep. Off the mountain I occasionally wear it to and from work but have other jackets I prefer for my other outdoor activities other than . Because the micro puff is such a warm jacket I find myself wanting to wear more breathable airy jackets like my Silent Down or my Calcite. Overall, this is the perfect jacket to keep in the ski backpack when you need to warm up in a flash and be able to pack tight when not in use!

February 18, 2020

Warm synthetic jacket with style

This jacket is no thicker than a sweater, but it warms the body like a down jacket and blocks the wind like a breathable soft-shell, and it looks stylish. It can handle temperatures down to low forties by itself without any layers with just a cotton t-shirt, and with a layer it can definitely handle temperatures down to subzero, and maybe a little ... Read Morelower. As a layer under a hard-shell, it can be keep you toasty warm in minus 0 temperatures. Highly recommended!

January 7, 2020

Great design

Very warm. Perfect weight and interesting quilting design.

January 1, 2020

Super warm but awkward neck

This is by far the warmest Patagonia jacket I’ve owned but the neck pokes me in a strange way that has become bothersome. The neck sides sit straight up and become irritating. I should have spent $50 more and got the hooded version.

December 31, 2019

perfect weight and fit. I'm

perfect weight and fit. I'm 5'11", 155 pounds wearing an M

December 31, 2019

love it

So light and soft I could wear this all the time, makes me sad to take it off. It is expensive but with a lifetime warranty and excellent customer service it's well worth it.

December 30, 2019

Very warm jacket

I would give it 5 stars but the collar is a bit uncomfortable as it won’t fold down.

December 29, 2019

Very warm, and extremely light

Very warm, and extremely light and compact

December 26, 2019

awesome light weight jacket that

awesome light weight jacket that packs great and is very warm. great for those trips during the in between seasons.

December 24, 2019

Another Awesome Patagonia Jacket

I bought this jacket to replace a my favorite jacket that was damaged by a very exuberant and very large puppy with sharp claws who was happy to greet me. I'll have to thank the puppy because this jacket is better than the one I'm replacing! Great fit (although a little tight in the chest), warm, super light, comfortable and stylish. I&#x... Read More27;m really happy with this new jacket!

December 21, 2019

Good product

Good product

December 20, 2019

Micro Puff Jacket

This jacket is light and super comfy, very warm for its weight. I have a very well-worn nano puff jacket that I love and will still use for work, but this piece feels warmer for same weight. The Micro Puff holds shape better, not as loose, I hardly know I have it on. The one complaint: the collar. It's a bit stiff up against the chin, and if n... Read Moreot fully zipped the flaps don't lie down, they come up around my cheeks and feel in the way. The jacket needs to be 1/3 zipped down for the neck flaps to lie down. This is the only reason for a 4 star and not 5.

December 19, 2019

i love this jacket

I’m 5’11” and 155lbs. I purchased the medium sized peppergrass green, to act as an insulator/mid layer to my galvanized shell. fits perfect! nice and warm, and allows lots of movement too. i haven’t worn it much to give it a good review but my first impressions are positive. definitely satisfied with the purchase.

December 19, 2019

Super light.

A technical wonder. Wish there were a few more pockets. I am 6’ 175 pounds and returned the medium for a large which I am very happy with.

December 18, 2019

Poor Quality

The jacket I received was poor in quality, lacking proper zipping functions, as well as having multiple strings come out of the stitching of the fabric.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2020

Hi Nicholas! Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your item arrived with those defects. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

December 17, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

December 17, 2019

May need to exchange. Size

May need to exchange. Size M has 2 chest sizes but couldn’t select the larger one when ordering online. It’s a little snug.

Response from Patagonia
January 9, 2020

Hey Neal we'd be glad to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you with a [return or exchange](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy). Each size on our chart incorporates a range, so the medium is generally designed to fit men with chests ranging from 38" to 40" whereas the large will fit 42" to 44" chests. Also note that the Micro Puff series is a "regular" fit, as opposed to some of our products which are "slim" or "relaxed" fit.

December 17, 2019

Love it!

Love all your products but this one is exceptional

December 16, 2019

Light and warm!

Absolutely love this jacket! Very light and warm and not restrictive! I wish the collar was a little different however. Love everything else other than the collar.

December 16, 2019

Changed size of medium jacket

Neck is cut way to high and I do not have a short neck. Jacket should be labeled medium extra long neck and potbelly due to excessive room in stomach area. Gave it 2 stars instead of one since workmanship was good just fire the designer.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hi Mike! We're sorry the fit of the neck and torso aren't working for you. The stiffness of the zippers combined with the ultralight fabric of this jacket can cause the belly area to bulge out. May we suggest the [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html), which has heavier/stiffer fabric and a slightly wider hip dimension which helps keep it from riding up. Of course if you aren't satisfied with your Micro Puff, you are most welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 15, 2019

Great Product, but can be awesome

I love the Micro Puff Jacket! Warm, wind/water resistant, and stylish. One thing I noticed was if you overheat in it for any reason (mine was biking) since the jacket isn't super breathable it is hard to release excess heat. I know wind resistant products compromise breathability, but maybe as a design suggestion, you could try pit zips to qui... Read Moreckly release heat? Besides that it is a really good jacket, thank you!

December 14, 2019

Great fitting

Not that bulk look. I can breath and keep warm . I’m a L. Fits like a glove. 5-11” 205lbs Of pure sexa-peal (wife say so) 😉 great jacket !

December 13, 2019

Tiny arms

Love the jacket. But the arms are too tight to wear over a t-shirt. Literally was squeezing my elbows to the point of discomfort. The rest of the jacket fit great though.

December 11, 2019

Great jacket could be cheaper

I like the jacket a lot but it's mighty expensive. Should be cheaper like common

December 11, 2019

Awesome, functional and fashionable.

Awesome, functional and fashionable.

December 3, 2019

Very warm for its weight

Very impressed with the warmth of this light weight puff. After dealing with a Denver snowstorm followed by a Bend snowstorm, I couldn't be happier with my purchase. Kept me warm even in windy, cold conditions!! I'm 6' 1.5" and 175 and wear a large.

December 2, 2019

Great Lightweight Warmth

Great jacket for layering on cold days. Tested under a PowSlayer shell and over a base layer/t-shirt for for 3 days of alpine skiing in BC with temps hovering in the mid-teens to low-20s. Lightweight/no bulk. Really comfortable. Breathed well, kept dry inside. Fabric is deceptively sturdy - despite opportunities, did not snag, etc. Definitely a new... Read More go-to item. It will go into heavy rotation for the season. Note I'm 5'7 and 160 lbs with broad shoulders and the Small jacket fits me very well.

December 1, 2019

Only missing one thing

If it had a chest phone pocket it would be supper

November 28, 2019

Perfect Lightweight Warmth & Layering for Cooler Temps

Comfort, warmth, style, versatility and easy care are top priorities for me and the Micro Puff Jkt hits all those points for me. The water and wind resistance is a total plus and it's great for layering beneath a shell like the Quandary Jkt.

November 26, 2019

Micro Puff Jacket (Hoodie)

Great all around jacket, warm and very comfortable. Also there's enough room to wear a base and mid layer to keep you warm in 0-30 degree weather.

November 22, 2019

Weird Fit

Not sure exactly what they did with the design but it has a strange seam running up/around the arm/shoulder, which made it uncomfortable to wear. Loved everything else, but had to return it for the poor fit.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hi Scott, thanks for your feedback! This jacket was designed with a unique pattern unlike traditional synthetic jackets, which is why you're seeing that seam on the arm and shoulder. If you'd like a more traditional fit, we'd recommend the [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html).

November 22, 2019

This is my 4th purchase

i have 2 of these jackets myself, i also bought one for my highschool kid and 1 for my husband. They are so light and yet so warm. i'm wearing it in 25 degree wisconsin weather. if they made it in kids, i would buy for the rest of the family.

November 20, 2019

Micro-Puff Jacket As per the description

I have owned a number of Patagonia down jackets over the years. This I would rate right up there. It is indeed exactly as described - a lot of warmth in not a lot of bulk. Fits really well - I bought a size L and am 6ft tall and 200lbs. Ripstop fabric and the panelling make for a stylish look too!

November 20, 2019

Great Jacket

Super comfy and warm, packs down small and layers very comfortably under a rain jkt. It fits slightly big but I am between sizes.

November 18, 2019

Love It So Far

This is my first ever Patagonia Jacket. I love the Micro Puff so far. It's lightweight and warm. I have worn it in temps 20-50 degrees and been comfortable. I recommend it!

November 17, 2019

Quickly became my “go to” when the temperature dropped.

Very surprised at how warm this light weight and comfy zippered sweater really is!. The design has elastic cuffs that seal out the cold and the neck zips up snugly to my chin. I own a small coffee roasting company and have been enjoying the non restrictive feel while driving and the cozy warm it offers while outside delivering to customers during r... Read Moreecord breaking cold temperatures in Vermont.

November 16, 2019

Great fit & warmth

This jacket is a great jacket on it's own or a layer under another jacket. Warm and fits perfectly

November 13, 2019

Perfect Jacket

The most versatile warm jacket. My most recent hiking trip took me through temperatures between 55 and 27. This jacket kept me warm in the cold, and packed into a light item clipped to my bag while it was warm. Patagonia nailed this one.

November 12, 2019

Very light and warm

Very light and warm

November 11, 2019

Light weight and great warmth

Light weight and great warmth makes for unbeatable combination. Bonus - takes minimal space when packing!

November 11, 2019

Micro puff jacket

Size and color are great. Live in Montana so it's great by it self in this fall weather and I'll use it as a layer under an outer shell as it gets colder. Also like how easy it is to pack into backpack. Thank you!

November 11, 2019

Great jacket, size a bit funky

Great jacket, runs a little large. I'm always a medium but this one was a bit too long for me so I opted for a small. It's a bit tight but I'm keeping it because it's such a great jacket

November 11, 2019

Men's Micro Puff Jacket

A lightweight comfortable, warm jacket that can be worn either as a base layer or as an outerwear.

November 11, 2019

I can't believe the warmth

I can't believe the warmth for the light weight. Keep getting compliments from my friends in the outdoors crowd.

November 10, 2019

Nice!

Totally new Puff and better in everyway than the previous version. Significantly warmer, lighter and a slightly better pattern. Well worth the up grade for me.

November 10, 2019

Light weight warmth

This is my second Micro Puff jacket. I wear it to work, hiking, skiing, and out for beer. If it weren’t bright RED I’d probably wear it to Church on Sunday. Durable, comfortable, light weight and warm. And as always Patagonia quality.

November 9, 2019

Perfect for everything

bought for my grandfather and he can't take it off. lives in the unpredictable weather of colorado front range; it's his go-to everything jacket in snow and in cold, but sunny weather too.

November 8, 2019

Super light!

Wondered about this - being so light I wasn't sure how it would compare to my Nano Puffs. Seems to be very close in performance and quite a bit lighter! Excellent piece for the pack as a spare layer with near zero weight penalty.

November 6, 2019

So warm n light.

It's amazing how light n warm this thing is!

November 6, 2019

Great price and efficiency of

Great price and efficiency of ordering was awesome!

November 6, 2019

Now my favorite

For the comparison, I own a Nano Puff jacket—same size and purchased the same year. I was so happy with the Nano that I decided I wanted to try the Micro. I was used to the feel of the Nano, and was expecting a warmer version of the same jacket. When I first pulled it out of the shipping package, I felt disappointed at first. I noted that it didn... Read More’t have the interior lining like the Micro. The material feel was what I would best describe as a combo of thin/“crinkly”/brittle, and I wasn’t sure I wanted to keep it. I’m now glad that I gave the jacket a chance. With use, it softened very well and I like the feel of the fabric now. The Micro is warmer and lighter than the Nano, and a joy to wear. I would not wear this jacket while walking through brush because I worry it would tear—but the jacked is designed for light weight warmth and is perfect when considering that goal.

November 6, 2019

Cool color

Very nice, light and packable item. Great colors.

November 5, 2019

Poetic Color Naming Gets in the Way (of an otherwise great coat)

I’m a slim guy who wanted a light puffy for general use and additional packable insulation to bring when crewing on a sailboat club races. I think it’s a great coat with minimal features and bulk. BUT when I ordered a “carbon” color, I expected some shade of gray. NOPE! It’s green. Let’s just do away with “poetry” in color naming and just use plain... Read More language. I’d have rather had a gray coat, but I don’t care enough to return it. But I bet that others won't feel the same way and it will generate extra returns to process which reduces customer satisfaction and increases costs for everyone.

November 5, 2019

Lite layer

Fits, looks good. Not to puffy looking in cold.

November 5, 2019

Bring back the old design

New jacket arms are super narrow at the elbow. Unbearable. Set it back for a refund.

November 5, 2019

Love the light weight and

Love the light weight and warmth

November 5, 2019

Nice light, packable jacket

Good jacket, ideal for temperatures in the mid 40's to mid to low 30's Fahrenheit (0 to about 10 Celsius for the rest of the world). If you are in extreme cold conditions, could be used as a layer with heavier jacket on top. As I have found with most Patagonia items, these are cut larger than normal (I usually wear a Large for any other m... Read Moreanufacturer) I got a Medium, fits just fine about 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch more for sleeves would have been nice, shoulders are good (I am a bit slim around waist area). But the fact that their website gives height of model and size of item worn made the decision to order online easier. Only issue that bothers is the top of zipper around the neck. if I wear with collar up and unzipped, the top of zipper seems to keep hitting my chin as I'm looking around, not a deal breaker, just a minor annoyance, so flip to collar down. Will always be a fan of Patagonia with their warranty, which has come in super-handy.

November 5, 2019

Currently only had the jacket

Currently only had the jacket for a month. I have worn it for hiking and casual walks. When hiking it's way to warm to wear during the fall months here in the PNW. It's almost too warm for a casual walk also. I took it out in 20F temps the other day and it was just about right. I'm amazed at how warm this jacket keeps me while still ... Read Morebeing super thin and light weight. The fit is really nice. I'm 6' and 190lbs and got the large which fits perfectly. Arms are good length, neck is a little tight if you zip it up all the way but I guess that keeps the warmth in. The collar is kind of funky and doesn't lay flat when you 3/4 zip the jacket, almost gives you that "pop'ed" collar look, which is not good. I would buy this jacket again if I wanted a super light warm layer.

November 5, 2019

Micro Puff Jacket

Minimal, fits under or over most clothes. Nice warmth. Runs hot in the armpits. Stash pockets on inside are a plus. Everyday wear.

November 4, 2019

Great Balance of Heat and Cool

This jacket doesn't make you hot to the point where your sweating in it just wearing it. It does a good job of keeping you not cold. This allows you to wear it for long times inside without having to take it off and its very good outside in the cold. I wear it almost every day.

November 4, 2019

Micro Puff

Great jacket and fit. Best of all is the customer service

November 4, 2019

Ugly

Material looks like a shiny trash bag and quilted weave pattern doesn’t flatter the style. It looks like Patagonia is trying to differentiate themselves from competitors to much. When holding the jacket up to light, you’re able to see light through the poorly sewn stiching.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2019

Hi Seth! We're sorry to hear your feedback on the jacket. Feel free to set up a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 4, 2019

Awesome puffy jacket

I purchased a new puffy jacket from Patagonia and it is everything my friends made it out to be. Such a warm and cozy jacket in such a small package.

November 4, 2019

Micro Puff is awesome

The Micro Puff jacket was everything I had hoped it would be. Super light and comfortable. I will use it primarily as a mid layer for skiing. The less bulk the more freedom of movement. I look forward to many years of use.

November 3, 2019

What the Puff!?!

Micro weight ✔️ Ample warmth ✔️ 100% desire for Micro Puff Pants to exist ✔️ External fabric leaves a bit to be desired but layering performance is a knock out.

November 3, 2019

Nice Coat

Great color, seems very warm, hasn’t been real cold yet. The neck takes some getting used to, not sure I like it as it’s very long. Zipper is up on my cheek all the time. I thought that was fixed based upon reviews I had read?

November 3, 2019

Sizing

Unfortunately, with the large, the sleeves are too short despite the torso and shoulder sizing being perfect for my 6’3” stature. I have had this common problem with most long sleeve Patagonia products except for the nano storm stretch jacket. I was hopeful it would work as I’ve heard great reviews. I’ll be exchanging it for a vest.

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2019

Hi Brendan! Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry to hear the sleeves of this jacket were a bit too short for you. You are welcome to initiate a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 3, 2019

Puff the Magic Jacket

Very nice. Love it.

November 1, 2019

Nice Jacket with just a couple of minor design flaws for ME

Ok to specify, this is likely the perfect jacket for a wide range of people. In my case it was almost perfect. It is light, easy to pack, warm when on, etc... My only recommendations would be to widen the arms at the elbow. When I am driving or have my arms bent more than 20 degrees, the jacket becomes constricting at my elbow. the rest of the arms... Read More are fine and it is usually in the shoulders where I would find them being tight, but on the Ms Micro Puff it is definitely in the elbow. The only other issue I have is the "collar" design. The back of the jacket does not have a true delineated collar and is more rounded towards the neck. This forces you to wear the jacket in three options... 1. partially unzipped like I do but the collar sticks up and if you turn your head the zippered points of the collar keep poking your jaw line. 2. Fully zipped leaving the collar very tight around the back of your neck and zipping closed just under your lips. or 3. Fully zipped and folded over like a turtle neck. This option may work for some, but I hate having my neck constricted in any way. For me this option is worse than wearing a tie. Like I said before the jacket is solid in most ways and many people will think it is perfect. For me, it is great but not the perfect fit.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

Hi Thomas! Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It honestly so crucial when it comes to making a product better for future seasons. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

October 31, 2019

Good addition

Nice light weight layer that is good on the go.

October 30, 2019

The warmth is real.

6'2", 205 lbs, athletic, XL fits great. An incredible piece, so much warmth. Moves with my body without being made of stretchy material. The red is a such an attractive shade.

October 29, 2019

Wonderful purchase. Using it on

Wonderful purchase. Using it on trip to Spain and Portugal. Love it!

October 27, 2019

Best piece of gear made

Best piece of gear made by Patagonia

October 26, 2019

Great fit

Great fit

October 25, 2019

Great jacket but collar

The jacket is amazing for weight and warmth. But the collar is always popping up, which is nice on the slopes but not for everyday activities. Either Way I would buy Again and recommend to others.

October 24, 2019

Updated Men's Micro Puff® Jacket Fits Perfect

I had purchased a Fall 2018 version of the Micro Puff and had to send it back due to the tightness of the collar when zipped all the way up. It actually was chocking me and was a bad design. Many other reviews had stated the same thing. After seeing some new colors available I called customer service and they said the 2019 version addressed the tig... Read Moreht collar issue. So I purchased one and it fit perfect. I'm 6'5" tall and weigh 200 pounds and I purchased a size large. I'm so glad Patagonia listened to all the feedback and addressed the problem as the jacket is awesome.

October 16, 2019

Micro Puff Jacket - Excellent

Extremely comfortable and easy to wear. Love it!

October 15, 2019

Love the new jacket

I get compliments on it all the time from nano puff jacket wearers. They love the design for the insulation. The jacket is my go-to this fall. Highly recommend.

October 13, 2019

Very Nice Jacket

I love almost every Patagonia product I’ve purchased, but I’m really fond of this jacket. Light, warm, sturdy, it does it all!

October 6, 2019

Micro puff jacket

I wore this coat to a 50 degree soccer game and froze. Not nearly as warm as advertised.

Response from Patagonia
October 16, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

October 2, 2019

Micro puff jacket

Love the sleeve design and the pockets. Do not like the neck design, it does not drape well when worn part way open

September 17, 2019

Nice and light and warm

Only complaint is that the collar is a little high when zipped up.

September 17, 2019

Micro Puff

So far so good. Extremely light weight and packable. Haven't had cold weather yet to test the warmth.

September 10, 2019

Haven't worn yet, but loving it

I bought Star Pink color. color is so pretty. Wanna buy the light Violet color too! it fits well and I instantly feel warm when I wear it. Weather is still hot in California, I haven't actually worn it outside. Can't really review things in detail. But when I got it, I was so happy that I bought Men's size for my dad too. that much o... Read Moref satisfaction. Personally, I think this is better than actual goose down. though the filling material for this jacket is synthetic, I totally feel like this is warmer than the other thin goose down jacket I bought from Patagonia.

September 7, 2019

Neck Too Tight

Tried this on and neck was uncomfortably high and tight. Put it back in the bag and returned it. I love Patagonia gear but they need to rethink design on this one.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

Hey there Kenneth. We're sorry to hear that the neck was too tight on the Micro Puff Jacket. This was not how we initially designed the jacket and we have worked with our factories to address the issue for this fall 19 season. For a similar style jacket, we would recommend checking out one of our classic styles, the [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?dwvar_84212_color=INDG&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=nano%2Bpuff&lang=en_US&start=1). We always want you to be fully satisfied with your gear so please feel free to return the jacket to a local Patagonia store or [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 5, 2019

lightweight and warm

typically wear women's S (5'7" and 138) -- but with Patagonia's trend to run smaller and desire to be able to layer sized up to M. Its a bit loose around chest, but overall good. Husband's jacket was typical size M and fit well.

September 2, 2019

Men’s Micro Puff

Great fit, love the jacket.

September 1, 2019

Always on call!

My Micro Puff won't last long. It's my 'GO TO' for all occasions jacket, and I can always find it in one of my cars, if it's not on my back. I wore out my Nano Puff and this is it's replacement, and is fully employed. It fits just right for an all-around!

August 31, 2019

excellent jacket

The quality of the jacket feels amazing. Cant wait till its gets colder to really put the jacket to the test

August 24, 2019

micro nano-puff jacket

great piece to add to my work and travel collection

August 24, 2019

Micro puff jacket

The weight to warmth ratio is the best i’ve so far. I spend most of my time in a damp environment so down is not ideal. Still warm when wet and paired with a nano air light provides plenty of flexibility if your worried about being to cold or too warm.

August 10, 2019

The perfect jacket

I love everything Patagonia makes but this one "it took us ten years and we came up with nothing" is really perfect. SUPER light weight and yet warm and cozy, packs down into nothing and fits perfectly. Used it for just about all my flights during the Red Bull X-Alps, the "toughest adventure race on Earth" for nearly two weeks i... Read Moren June (a paragliding and foot race across the Alps) and it kept me warm at cloudbase, in the wind, in the rain...Perfect.

May 17, 2019

Terrific item.

First and most important to me, the representative was terrific in helping me pick the right shell from among the variety of similar garments. Second, the shell fits, works, breathes and garners compliments for its appearance. I am completely satisfied.

May 15, 2019

Awesome jacket

Have loved this jacket so far. Fits well and has convenient pockets on the inside and outside. Great color too (dark green)!

May 9, 2019

Producyt exceeds the hype

With the ever changing climatic challenges in the Northern Rockies, the Miocro Puff jacket manages most anyu of Mother Nature’s tricks. From early mornng chills on the water fly fishing to all day hikes that challenge you to our 4 season days - cold, rain, snow and chilly sun… this feather light jacket packs up super small and its very tough outer ... Read Morefabric that seems to be unworhty of much abrasion far exceeds the abuse I have out this through. Higly sugges tchecking out this ward winning piece.

May 9, 2019

Micro Puff

I love the color. I do like the jacket overall. I am unfortunately between sizes in all Patagonia product. Medium is a little too snug in the shoulders, and maybe a little short in length. However, the sleeve length of a medium fits well. Large fits better in the shoulders, and is okay in length, but then the sleeves are too long and the body is t... Read Moreoo loose fitting. I opted for the medium and am mostly happy. The biggest complaint I have is the top of the main zipper where it ends at the collar. The collar doesn't lay away from the neck and face area when unzipped and is a constant annoyance brushing against my neck and chin. I am hoping that it will eventually soften up and lay away from the neck area, but I do think this was an oversight in design and testing, or maybe it is just my jacket specifically. This is enough of an issue that I can't rate it better than 3 stars.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the collar and zipper of this jacket. We have improved the neck for our fall 19 season. Feel free to take a look at our [Micro Puff Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-micro-puff-hoody/84030.html) for a similar design but with an additional hood, it should help the collar to lay way from your face. Of course, don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Micro Puff if you haven't already and are unsatisfied.

May 8, 2019

Warm & Stylish

The micro puff definitely fits the bill. Lightweight, keeps me warm and not too bulky.

May 8, 2019

Nano puff

Great light weight jacket

May 8, 2019

Easily my favorite jacket ever

I bought this jacket having only owned one other down sweater. I don't know that I have ever put on something more comfortable warm, and lightweight than this jacket. This jacket is awesome.

April 9, 2019

What a jacket!

Just took this on its first trip, a shoulder season trek in NZ (Kepler Track). I am so impressed with this jacket. It is incredibly light and unbelievably warm for its weight and bulk - I can scarcely believe it's not down, except it somehow seems even warmer than a down jacket of this weight. It was perfect for the single-digit (celcius) lows... Read More we had and I never needed to wear the additional layers I brought. I am also incredibly impressed by the shell. I accidentally took it caving (Luxmore cave, look it up) and scraped the sleeve on a stalactite. I took it off cursing myself and sure that it had ripped, but no damage whatsoever. Not saying I would take it caving again but the fabric is way more durable than I expected. Fit is roomy on my tall frame but the sleeves are a good length and it isn't baggy - just enough room for a fleece underneath. Actually it is a quite good looking jacket and looks pretty much like any other light puffy you see people wearing all the time. I particularly like the collar which stands up even when unzipped and doesn't flop around. In the dolomite blue it did perfect double duty as a casual jacket in the Queenstown restaurants. Patagonia has seriously made something amazing with this piece - they've finally achieved the holy grail of a truly lightweight, compressible down substitute. Can't wait to see what they come up with next.

April 3, 2019

When not in use lives in my backpack for those times I need an added layer

I have been using the micropuff for the past 3 months predominantly as a layer for ski patrolling in PNW. Love the compressibility since it’s off and on and in and out of my pack with changes of weather. As far as warmth by itself I find it a bit light probably best in mid 40s plus but then I run cold. I also have a nano puff which I love. I would ... Read Moresay as a layer the nano is probably warmer but not as compressible and not wind proof when using as stand alone. Some have complained about the neck- for me it’s perfect but then I am 6’4”. The fit for a tall lean person is excellent

March 31, 2019

Collar way too restrictive and high. Check the model picture, fully zipped this is the most uncomfortable thing ever! I bought the vest as well and wo

Check the model picture, fully zipped this is the most uncomfortable thing ever! Even without it zipped it just sits too high. I bought the vest as well and wore them both before really realizing that this is just really poor design. So bummed, since I owned the nano puff previously I didn't give the collar a thought. The jacket would be aweso... Read Moreme otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the neck fit is a bit too tight relative to the body. This is not as it was designed to fit, and is something we’ve worked with our factory to fix. We should see this improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. We would recommend checking out our Nano Puff Jacket for an improved fit. You are welcome to return the jacket to your local Patagonia store or [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a full refund.

March 31, 2019

Collar way too restrictive and high. Check the model picture, fully zipped this is the most uncomfortable thing ever! I bought the vest as well and wo

Check the model picture, fully zipped this is the most uncomfortable thing ever! Even without it zipped it just sits too high. I bought the vest as well and wore them both before really realizing that this is just really poor design. So bummed, since I owned the nano puff previously I didn't give the collar a thought. The jacket would be aweso... Read Moreme otherwise.

March 26, 2019

Men’s Micro Puff Jacket

Sizing and weight are great, and it’s just right for the cold weather activity (or not!) that I do. The one drawback is no drawstring at the waist; it would be nice to be able to make it a bit snug at my waist when I want it.

March 20, 2019

Works as exciting expected

As most reviewers said, it is very light weight and warm especially for our SoCal winters. Haven’t worn it when it’s rained so I can’t speak to how effectively it stays warm and dry. Bought it for s trip to Spain where it’ll be in low to high 60s. Pack ability was a high priority since space is at a premium in my carryon and back pack. I couldn’t f... Read Moreind a tutorial on how best to pack it in the left interior pocket and there was no loop for a caribiner to attach it to. Rather disappointing since it means it’s going inside the backpack taking up valueable space. I am not 100% sold on it. I will keep my fingers crossed it works well for the trip.

March 18, 2019

Poor design and fit

Ordered the jacket and was completely disappointed. Heed the reviews that this is just poorly designed. Did anyone at Patagonia zip this thing up all the way? Completely chokes you at the neck and is tight at the chest. I have been a die hard paddy customer for decades and this without a doubt is the worst designed piece of equipment I have ever pu... Read Morerchased. I returned it.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

Thank you for your feedback on the Men's Micro Puff Jacket, Steve and sorry to hear about the overall fit. We have worked with our factories to improve the fit for our fall 19 season. The Micro Puff is our lightweight insulation piece and if weight isn't the deciding factor for you we would recommend the classic [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?dwvar_84212_color=INDG&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=nano%2Bpuff&lang=en_US&start=1). If you have any additional questions, feel free to reach out to us!

March 12, 2019

Excelled while backpacking Europe for 42 days in the late fall

First technical piece of Patagonia gear I've owned and I love it. Specifically went for the Micro puff for compressability, weight savings, and warmth. Touring 16 countries in 6 weeks with a 25L backpack. This thing rocked. When not in use it packed down to next to nothing. When in use (which it was for the most part everyday), it was comforta... Read Moreble and held up to light drizzle and decent winds. Currently it's my everyday wear. Need to look into how to wash and reapply DWR finish next. Thinking maybe a technical wash for down would be good and then a spray on DWR finish for water repellancy. Only downside is that the insulation sometimes comes out and you need to cut it. If you don't it'll keep stringing out. Lastly, I'm 6'1" with an atheltic build. This fits perfecting, including all the neck. It's comfortable, contrary to other reviews.

March 5, 2019

HIGHLY recommended!

My fellow campers. I cannot highly enough recommend the Patagonia puffer jacket. I just went outside and 26° weather with that jacket and a T-shirt underneath, and only had a very slight chill. I am completely blown away by how thin the jacket is, yet how warm it is. My north face puffer which is significantly thicker is not nearly as warm or light... Read Moreweight. It is worth every dollar, and I actually think it is a bargain after testing it out for the last couple of weeks. Really really impressed!

March 2, 2019

Amazing little jacket!

I haven't owned this jacket long enough to find any flaws, but it performs far beyond my already high expectations in keeping me warm and dry with hardly any weight or volume. It fits very well. I don't understand all the complaints about bad fit. Maybe try it on before you buy. I've been out in cold wind and rain and snow from Mont... Read Moreana to SW Oregon and always been warmer than I expected. It packs to almost nothing in my pack or travel bag. It is clearly made of very lightweight material (how else could it weigh almost nothing?) and I know I will have to be a little careful not to ask to much of it, but am happy to do that for all its benefits. Wear a shell over it if you're going to be climbing gnarly rocks.

March 1, 2019

Mr

Really wanted this jacket, but resisted after reading early reviews. Then the 50% off sale on prior year models tempted me and I took the bait. I'm 5'9, 145 lbs, average build. All of my several Patagonia garments are size medium and fit well. This jacket in size medium fits me well … except, of course, for the collar and neckline. It&#x2... Read More7;s almost impossible for me to wear this jacket fully zipped. My neck would need to be a bit skinnier and about an inch or two longer to make it comfortable. I can still enjoy this jacket without fully zipping, but the collar and neckline are indeed it's fatal flaw. If I'd paid full price I would probably have returned it for a refund.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the neck was too tight and too long. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies with this jacket, and should see an improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. If you remain unsatisfied with your jacket, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under our Ironclad Guarantee. Also feel free to take a look at a very similar jacket, the [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG), if you'd like.

February 28, 2019

Fit is off & not that light weight

being eyeing the Micro puff for over a year due to it supposedly being light weight. It's not much lighter than a regular Nano I don't think. The fit is just off too. pretty tight for an XL and the collar is GIGANTIC. the high collar doesn't make it comfortable to wear as an everyday jacket. Will be returning it.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the collar is too long. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies with this jacket, and should see an improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. If you haven't yet, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your jacket back to us under our Ironclad Guarantee.

February 17, 2019

Warm, light, and well-fitting

I'm a 5'9" 180 lbs athletic male. The jacket fits well, with enough room to wear a sweater and/or baselayer underneath. It also fits perfectly under a torrentshell rain jacket. My only issue with the fit is that it's a little tight on the neck, though my neck is fairly thick. Not a big enough problem to buy a size up, but I prob... Read Moreably won't be zipping up the jacket all the way very often. The jacket itself is excellently made and very warm. It's lightweight yet still feels like you could wear it on the trail for many years Overall, if you're in decent shape your normal Patagonia size will likely fit you.

February 15, 2019

jgf

I also found the neck to be extremely uncomfortable. When zipped, the neck is tall enough, and the zipper stiff enough, that it is basically spearing me under the chin. When unzipped a bit, the stiffness of the zipper and the height of the neck mean that each side of the zipper brushes me on the cheeks in a very annoying fashion. Also.., the combin... Read Moreation of the elastic bottom, and the stiff zipper means that rather than draping over my torso in a comfortable, relaxed, way.., it pops forward from my chest in "waves" (for lack of a better description) when zipped. Looking at myself in the mirror.., it just looks like i must be uncomfortable..., and I am...

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Hey there Jeff! We're sorry to hear that the Micro Puff didn't work out for you. We have addressed the neck issued for our fall 19 season but we always want to make sure you are fully satisfied with your gear so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket for a refund. For a better fit and an adjustable hem, we would recommend our [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?dwvar_84212_color=INDG&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=nano%2Bpuff&lang=en_US&start=1). It may help you avoid that "wave" effect. If you have any additional questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to us.

February 15, 2019

Great jacket!

Bought it at Snowmass, and must say the product is very satisfactory, used as a down jacket.

February 14, 2019

I love this coat!

This is my first purchase of merchandise from Patagonia. This Patagonia men’s Micro Puff coat is so warm, yet incredibly light weight! And Baltic Blue is a color that really is attractive to wear out in public. I am very happy with this purchase!

February 5, 2019

After a month, stitching in body coming out, along with insulation

I spent a long time researching what lightweight jacket to buy, and went with this one despite there being some other great ones out there. After a month of light use (commuting to work), the stitching in a few seams in the body of the jacket is starting to come out. It appears the internal insulation may also be coming out. This is most disappoint... Read Moreing. It's a bummer as well because the coat is so incredibly light, warm enough, awesome in wind, fits great, etc.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear about this stitching issue you've experienced. This is not as it was designed perform, and is something we’ve worked with our factory to fix. We should see this improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. Please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your jacket back to us under warranty and [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions or would like us to suggest a different (but similar) jacket.

February 4, 2019

It’s “weird sizes” are for a reason...

So lots of people are reviewing this jacket negatively because of the way it fits— I really do think it is just suppose to fit snugly as it is a light-weight-thermal jacket. If it’s not tight, you will not be warm... I recommend going to a store to try the jacket on. I’m 5’9” and 210 pounds, a large chest and wide shoulders. I liked the fit of the ... Read Morelarge because it was snug and kept all the air around me warm.

January 14, 2019

I Agree With Reviewers About Fit

The fit of this jacket is not at all what one would expect from Patagonia. Medium too small, large too big. Neck is small with the body comparatively huge and unfitted. Sleeves are too short for size of jacket. It is a very warm jacket and the tech behind it works great. I just wish the fit was just as thought out. From the reviews on this jacket... Read More, I hope Patagonia pays attention.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the overall fit and design of this jacket and we hear you. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies with it for our fall 2019 season. Feel free to take a look at our [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG) for a similar design with an improved fit that you may be happy with. Of course, don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Micro Puff if you haven't already.

January 5, 2019

I was sceptical that a jacket that was so thin could keep me warm. I am sceptical no longer,

Before I purchased a micro puff jacket in mid-December, I read all the reviews. In particular the ones that said you can’t zip up the collar all the way. Yes, that is true for me as well. However, there is a trade-off. The collar is taller than the collar on my 8 year old Patagonia down sweater. A nice feature when the wind is at my back. I was sce... Read Moreptical that a jacket that was so thin could keep me warm. I am not sceptical any more. With San Francisco Bay Area December and January temperatures in the low 50s I have worn the jacket over a shirt and light sweater. When I am cycling or walking briskly, I have to open the zipper to cool down a bit. Good stuff! As for color, I had my heart set on the Viking Blue color. When I tried to order on-line I found it was out of stock. So I called Patagonia to ask if the Viking Blue jacket was still available. The CSR said, "It was last season's color. Let me see if there are any Patagonia stores that still; have some stock." Click, click, click. “I found some. There are several Patagonia Outlets that have them and the price is reduced." I called the Santa Cruz Outlet. Spoke to a real person, ordered the jacket in Viking Blue. It arrived the following day. Thank you Patagonia.

December 23, 2018

Dont know what all the fuss is about! This thing is the BEST!!!

OMG, THIS thing feels invincible, it's honestly the best warmth to weight ratio I've ever seen from Patagonia. I've read complaints about the fit on the neck and sleeves, but uhmmm I honestly do not see or feel any issue AT ALL. People must be either super picky or built like Rambo. I'm 6'3" 230 (athletic build) and an... Read More XL fit PERFECT! The neck does come up a little higher than the nano puffs but hardly noticeable -- maybe I have a long-ish neck???? If you're on the edge, just do it! I got the dolamite blue with gecko green accents and it is like a beautiful piece of art. They do seem to be a little shinier than the nanos, but nothing too major. This will be my new go-to everyday item! So WARMMM! I have the better sweater jacket, nano puff jacket & vest and torrentshell insulated jacket. THIS is easily my new favorite!!

December 17, 2018

Could be an awsome jacket but...

I was so hesitant to spend this much on a jacket but have had your products in the past and been very pleased so I figured “why not”. It looks really appealing and was super excited to get it in the mail! I’ve had had it 2 weeks and one of the seams has the down stuffing coming out. I looked (but know NEVER to pull it out) and on of the seams has a... Read More tear which looks like a hole. I’m embarrassed to wear it now ... it’s really close to the Patagonia logo on the chest..

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on the Micro Puff Jacket and we're sorry to hear that the jacket wasn't what you were expecting. Just like down products, our synthetic products can ve susceptible to insulation coming through the stitching. For a more durable style, we would recommend checking out our new [Macro Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-macro-puff-jacket/80100.html?dwvar_80100_color=FGE&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=macro%2Bpuff&lang=en_US&start=1). If you have any questions or just need help finding the right style, feel free to reach out to us.

November 29, 2018

Terrible fit. Period

I really want to like this jacket but the fit is head-scratchingly puzzling. Medium way too tight and large way too big. And don't get me started on the collar!!!!!!

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the overall fit and design of this jacket. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies with it, and should see an improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. Feel free to take a look at our [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG) for a similar design; and of course, don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Micro Puff if you haven't already.

November 26, 2018

Superb

My wife and I have worn our micro-puffs in the backcounty for 50 days and nights including a nine day ski tour in Yellowstone last March. Theses are superbly designed pieces. The collar fits so well with my balaclava tucked in that I no longer carry a neck gaiter. The fit through the body is uncannily good -- it is fine over a single base layer or ... Read Moresome added fleece. However, it it so warm that we rarely need much underneath. One morning in Yellowstone was -20 F. A wool base layer, windshirt, MicroPuff ,and shell on top kept us toasty as we skied down Basin Creek. Inner pockets are havens for stove cartridges, damp gloves, or Stroopwafels. I have been traveling the Rocky Mountain and Alaskan wilderness for forty years. This is one of the best pieces of gear I have ever worn.

October 26, 2018

Sorry guys, back to the drawing board.

I am average in size. 5'10" medium build. I buy medium-sized things off any rack and they fit. This. Jacket. Has. Design. Flaws. The medium neck was absurdly small. But I wanted to love the jacket. Love the color, the weight, the concept. Ordered the large. The neck fit perfectly but the body is a sack. Please fix this jacket and let us k... Read Morenow when we can order them again with the right fit! Anyone size medium that gives this jacket a good review has no shoulders or chest and a pencil neck.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the neck was too tight and the torso too big when you sized up. We have worked with our factory to fix this, and we should see this improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. If you remain unsatisfied with your jacket, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under our Ironclad Guarantee. Also feel free to take a look at a very similar jacket, the [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG).

October 25, 2018

I hope Patagonia revises fit

I'm a gear hoarder but rarely write reviews, however some feedback for Patagonia is needed on this jacket. This jacket is has a great combination of materials in an awesomely light weight package. I was stoked to find a jacket that I could wear a lightweight standalone in cool temps (30-50) and then use as a midlayer on frigid backcountry days... Read More without it wetting out under a shell. However the general fit of the jacket, particularly the neck, made it unusable. The seams on the back of the shoulders run up the backside of the neck making the neck opening so small I could not fully zip up the jacket. For reference, I'm 5'10, 175 lbs, 16" neck and I tried a size medium. The sleeves and body are good, but the overall cut of the jacket is longer than I'd expect. The tight neck was a deal breaker.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the neck was too tight and that you're disappointed with the overall cut. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies, and we should see this improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. If you haven't already, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your jacket back to us under our Ironclad Guarantee.

October 18, 2018

Just a great jacket that will not disappoint

Patagonia sizing can be a challenge so thought I would share my specs. I’m 5’ 10” weight 137 33 waist and the medium fits quite well. I can add a classic synchilla fleece underneath and not feel strangled. Get it!

September 26, 2018

Expected Better

I have purchased a lot of Patagonia base layers and outer layers over the years. Included down jackets, rain jackets and wading jackets. I purchased this jacket last week and It fit well through the body but not at all in the neck area once zipped up. I cannot understand why Patagonia would cut it this way. I will unfortunately be returning this ja... Read Morecket.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the collar. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies with it, and should see an improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. Feel free to take a look at our [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG) for a similar design; and of course, don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Micro Puff if you haven't already.

September 24, 2018

Huge cuffs

Purchased my third Nano and this one came with huge cuffs that fell completely over my hands. Had to return. Quality control problem.

September 21, 2018

One more vote to change the fit

These same reviews have been up for a while and I never thought to chime in on this--but I wonder how many people like me have tried it on but also found the neck fit to be strange. I know everyone is different so maybe some people love the neck but it fits like no other jacket I've ever tried on. I have a 15.5" neck btw and can;'t z... Read Moreip up the neck all the way. I hope Patagonia realizes this is a great jacket and a lot of people like me keep hoping they will fix the fit a bit around the neck. I have tried this on every now and then since it came out.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit of the collar. We hear you, which is why we have worked with our factory to fix these known discrepancies. We should see an improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. Feel free to take a look at our [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG) for a similar design if you'd like.

May 19, 2018

Extremely light and warm. Well made.

I've read a few negative reviews about the fit,but I think it fits great! I'm 6 ft 180 lbs with broad shoulders and a 32 inch waist. It's longer than most light jackets in the torso which I like,but the sleeves seem ALMOST too short; still acceptable though. I think when the fabric relaxes and I wear it more the sleeves will be perfe... Read Morect. Overall I'm very happy with it. It's really good at blocking wind while still feeling breathable.

April 9, 2018

Great lightweight puffy!

I previously purchased the hoody version of this jacket. Honestly,I was a little disappointed with how "thin" it was as an insulating layer (although it is probably equal to a Nano Puff Jacket). I had planned to pack the hoody as a backup warm layer on long (10+ mile) day hikes in the Tetons. My first thought was that I will also need to ... Read Morepack my Nano Puff Vest to get the overall warmth I desired if I happened to need to spend an unexpected night out. I purchased this jacket instead of using my Nano Puff Vest. It's only slightly heavier than the vest,but packs down smaller. It's also great under a ski parka for downhill skiing days (no hood to fuss with). So on long day hikes into alpine wilderness,I'll be carrying both the jacket and the hoody as backup warm layers. Together they will provide warmth equal to a full-on down jacket with the advantages of a synthetic fill and little or no additional weight or bulk (just more money!). By the way,I'm 5-11" and 190 lbs and purchased the large in both the hoody & the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the thinness of this jacket. This jacket is our lightest, most packable jacket. If durability is of greater importance, please check out our [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG)!

April 6, 2018

Great travel jacket

I brought the Micro Puff Jacket for a trip to Japan. It is light weight and packs into the left pocket. I was surprised how warm it was and water resistant during a rain storm there. I have 3 Patagonia Down sweaters and this is more warm. The fit was comfortable for me. I am 5-8 170 lbs. and bought a size M. It was a great purchase for me.

March 20, 2018

So close

I was pretty psyched about this jacket. I have the hoody and absolutely love it,despite totally flaming it when I first saw it on the site (sorry). I've pretty much retired my UL down hoody in favor of this newer tech ' but back to the jacket. For me the fit is kind of a deal-breaker. I'm 6' and 170 or so,pretty slim,and typical... Read Morely wear a medium (or a large in the slim fit). I didn't find the body of the medium overly spacious,like some others have mentioned,but it was tight in the chest (significantly tighter than the hoody) and I could barely get it zipped over my neck. I didn't mind the collar height,but the disparity in height from the back to the front is a little weird. I wanted to love it,even tried it on twice,but it didn't work for me. Could be great with a few tweaks. If you are skinny up top with a bit of a pot belly this might be the go.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the overall fit and design of this jacket. We have worked with our factory to fix a few discrepancies with it, and should see an improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. Feel free to take a look at our [Nano Puff Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-jacket/84212.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84212_color=INDG) for a similar design; and of course, don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Micro Puff if you haven't already.

February 25, 2018

Super odd fit

I love Patagonia. I really wanted this jacket to work,I even forced myself to wait for the release of the hoodless version. I'm a minimalist,and I take pride in loving everything I own,especially my clothing. I was really bummed to see how poorly this jacket fit. I have tried on everything Patagonia,and have owned some of their best sellers an... Read Mored high end items over the years,and this fits nothing like the rest. Way too baggy in the stomach region and way too tight in the neck and shoulder area. The zipper is super stiff and feels really awkward. I honestly wouldn't even want this jacket if it was free,I would never use it because it fits so odd. I hope Patagonia makes the needed adjustments,I took this right back to REI who I ordered it from. Based on the other reviews,I know I'm not the only one that feels this way. Nonetheless,I know the new PlumaFill is gonna be a game changer. Looking forward to seeing it be incorporated into other products,hopefully ones that fit like the rest...

Response from Patagonia
October 9, 2019

Hey Kia, sorry to hear how bummed you are on the Micro Puff fit. We always want you to be fully satisfied with your gear so please feel free to return the jacket to a local Patagonia store or [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We are aware of the neck fit and have worked to address the issue for this fall 2019 season. The fit of the men's version is straight through the torso and hip and because it doesn't have an adjustable hem it can be a bit baggier on some people. Anytime you have questions on gear, feel free to reach out. We love talking about gear and want to make sure to get you in the right product.

February 22, 2018

Terrible fit

This jacket doesn't appear to be designed for humans. The collar is significantly taller in the *front*,but it's not big enough to fit over your chin,so it just crushes down on itself instead of wrapping your neck. I'm 5'8',175#,size 32 waist - so,not a professional athlete but also decently fit. Instead of contouring to my... Read More body,the medium jacket is bag-like and just slumps on my body in weird places; the small hem doesn't have the circumference to fit over my butt,and yet is also too baggy and doesn't follow the body. If you're built like the Patagonia model then maybe it fits fine? Hope your neck is long enough! If you're not shaped like a rectangle(?),you're out of luck.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thanks for the feedback on the Micro Puff, Noah! We're sorry to hear it wasn't a good fit but we appreciate the feedback. The Micro Puff is designed straight through the torso and hips and when it rides up it can make the torso area bulge out. A similar jacket that might work better is the Nano Puff jacket, it features an adjustable hem so you can adjust it over your hips for that perfect fit. In the meantime please feel free to return the jacket to a Patagonia store or [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 17, 2018

Flawed

I have had a Micro Puff hoody from when first offered and use it close to everyday as a carry layer for backcountry skiing etc. Was excited to get a Micro Puff jacket to use as a layering piece under other stuff including the Micro Puff hoody. But. If you zip up the jacket the collar is way tight! There is not enough room for my bare neck not to me... Read Morention even a thin high collared underlayer. I am 5,9,140 pounds and my neck is a 15.5 in a dress shirt so I am on the slim side of average. To me this is a huge design flaw and fully rules out this as a usable piece for either layering or as an outer layer. Fix this and you have a sale! Z

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on the Men's Micro Puff Jacket. We are aware of the neck issue and have worked with our factories to get that fixed for this upcoming Fall 2019 season. You are welcome to return the jacket to a local Patagonia store or [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 10, 2018

More than expected

There are times when a technical piece transcends its roots and becomes an instant favorite piece of kit. You can unmute the advertising hype for this new gem: the micro puff will attain a coveted status in your packing list. Weight: it really feels next to nothing. Sometimes you have to lose something to appreciate its absence. This jacket feels ... Read Morepositively buoyant. Warmth: for its size it's quite impressive. I felt it was warmer than a nano or fjord + wool LS shirt in windy conditions which is all I usually need 70% of the time. Fit: thank you patagonia developers. You could have gone with a more fitted cut but you didn't. I'm 6'2' 178lbs (40-42 sport coat) and you nailed the Medium fit to allow this piece to go comfortably with or without layers. If you're always unsure about a medium or large like me,go with medium. The arm,back and chest length are on point. The belly is appropriately generous,a true 'regular fit,' but not overly so- enough to allow a thick flannel or fleece without compressing the insulation. Compression: easily stuffed into the reversible side pocket and comfortably worn under a fitted shell jacket. This jacket literally fills the gaps that other jackets seem clumsily tasked to perform. Style: in the mass sea of 'technical' shiny down and synthetic puffy jackets,you'll blend in smartly. This is not an 'around town' jacket but I certainly could wear it daily in the northwest nov-April as needed. It's comfort factor trumps fashion in my opinion,but in grey it's slightly more innocuous than red or even black because of its sheen. Durability: This is a lightweight insulating piece,not a motorcycle jacket nor made with dyneema fabric. The stitching and materials are what you can expect from this solid company. No surprises. It seems to hold up better to light repetitive abrasions than the nano-air (I got pilling progressing to wear-through at the neck and cuff in the nano-air in 2 jackets) but I do take care not to expose it to unnecessary abuse like through thick brush or spelunking. Fix and repair as needed (unfortunately I can't speak to how the insulation construction lends to repair but there's an ironclad guarantee if necessary). I hope this helps.

February 7, 2018

Fantastic Jacket

I have been wearing this jacket for several months now and it is great. Very light-weight and warm and compressible for packing. A must buy for hiking and even casual wear. I do have a suggestion for using this material. Make it into a blanket. I would make it into a light-weight blanket for back-packing and other purposes. I am a Vietnam Vet and o... Read Morene of the things that was issued to the field troops was an item called a Poncho Liner. It was made of a lightweight material that served as insulation inside a military poncho. Event when wet it quickly dried out and kept you warm. It was camouflage in coloration. I have no idea who made that item or the material used,but that single piece of equipment was coveted by everyone in the field. I was in Vietnam some 3 years and I went thru several of the poncho liners and in fact brought 2 home with me. We still use them on camping trips and day outings. I think this would be a big seller for Patagonia. Google images Poncho Liner Vietnam War and you can find images.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches