Back to Product

M's Fitz Roy Down Parka

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Filter Reviews

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

M's Fitz Roy Down Parka

4.55
Kinda Large
February 18, 2020

favorite jacket

i LOVE this jacket. feels like wearing a cozy sleeping bag. I used to dread taking my dog out on chilly mornings, now i'm volunteering to take her out. haven't had a chance to try it down to colder temps, but i've used it just below freezing in a t-shirt and i was fine. I run very cold too btw. the jacket runs a tad bit large. i wear... Read More a size small in the down sweater but the xs fits much better for this jacket. if you want plenty of room to layer, go with your normal size. if you want to just wear it with a t-shirt or baselayer, size down.

January 9, 2020

Patagonia sizing chart not accurate

According to Patagonia’s sizing chart I am an XL. I never wear XL so I ordered a L. After receiving the L it was WAY to big so I had to return it for a M. It is still somewhat big, but affords me the opportunity to layer. Otherwise, I am greatly satisfied with my purchase. NOTE: I have an athletic build (5.11 / 210lbs).

January 4, 2020

Very warm

This era of Fitz Roy jackets are super puffy, incredibly warm for the weight. So compressible. The medium fits a tall skinny guy well.

December 31, 2019

MMMMM, so warm and perfect!

I tried to get the Fitz Roy Down jacket the last two years, but I was always too slow and it was already out of stock every time I went to order. I needed a SUPER warm jacket to paraglide in the winter and spring, when it is way, way WAY below zero at altitude, and even in summer when we get up tall- 18,000' is pretty common! The Fitz Roy is l... Read Moreike wearing a down sleeping bag. So cozy and yet built for adventure.

December 30, 2019

Warm and toasty

Worth the extra bucks - this jacket is warm and cozy on a subzero day.

December 29, 2019

Warmth

It’s like wearing a sleeping bag that still allows you to be active and mobile in cold weather... love it!

December 18, 2019

Warmest jacket I’ve owned.

Had this for a few days, it’s handled negative temps with ease in NY. Haven’t felt something so warm yet as light as this jacket before. I’m 5’6 and a small fits me perfectly, with room to layer if needed.

November 12, 2019

Warm and functional

Warm and functional

November 11, 2019

Bought for my husband for

Bought for my husband for a layer under his ski coat. Fit is perfect

November 4, 2019

Great product!

I tend to gravitate toward Patagonia because of their general mission and philosophy, but also because of their repair system and quality. That said, I love my Fitz Roy expedition down jacket. Great quality, as you'd expect, but it's incredibly warm. Pockets in the right places and it's comfortable. I'd never had the large-teeth... Read More zipper before, and was hesitant, but it's smooth and easy. Highly recommend.

November 4, 2019

Like a down blanket on your body

This jacket is awesome - lightweight and very warm.

October 16, 2019

Love this jacket

Warm when it needs to be warm and breathes pretty well when it's not that cold. I'm 6' 170. And I got the small and it fits me great, the medium looked a little bulky on me, but it had a little longer sleeves. That's the only complaint I have with this jacket is the sleeve cuffs aren't tight and can let some air in. Would h... Read Moreave loved to see some neoprene or fleece sleeves on the end that fit around the palm of your hand. Besides that it looks amazing. I got the Balkan blue and cannot believe how great it looks! It handled cold in northern Montana really well, including deep cold coupled with a heavy wind, which surprised me for something so light. The pockets keep your hands warm in most conditions, but the outside seems a little thin there after about 0 degrees. Took this on a couple mountaineering trips as a camp jacket and it worked wonders. Light and small enough to pack but amazing for wandering around in sub zero camp conditions.

October 12, 2019

Super warm!! Great fit! Great

Super warm!! Great fit! Great Patagonia quality!

August 31, 2019

Good for cold winter

Down sweater jacket is my favorite but I need warmer jacket for hard winter. Looks bulky but it should be good for mid winter around my area. Very light and warm. It should be very helpful to walk below 0 degree temp.

January 2, 2019

It's warm enough for -30F windchill

Wore this jacket all last winter in Rochester, MN. I walked 30 mins to work even when it was -30F windchill outside. It got the job done. Pros: It's one of the lightest jackets and warmest jackets. Cons: shell is not waterproof so this is not a two season jacket. Shell doesn't appear to be the most durable. Time will tell. XS fits grea... Read Moret (I'm 5'6" and 135lbs for reference).

November 29, 2018

Fits significantly larger than past models...

This is my third Fitz Roy and I am pretty unhappy with the size Medium as it is significantly larger than usual :((

November 29, 2018

Great parka, details questionable

I purchased this parka in black as a closeout at the end of 2017. I am 6’2” and the XL leaves plenty of room to layer if necessary while allowing for freedom of movement. I find it to be a great heat retainer in all wind conditions. I am disappointed in the zipper down the front. The pull tab is the size of a loop of dental floss and I replaced it ... Read Morewith an after market one. Mating the two zipper parts to close the parka is difficult and I feel like I’m trying to thread a needle with frozen hands...not well thought out. The zipper system should be one size up for ease. I do question the outer fabric and it’s longevity in comparison to some of my other gear; going to keep the wornwear folks in business I suppose. The hood is fantastic, spacious and allows clear vision as I rotate my head around. The front pockets are deep and have adequate insulation both inside and out. Overall I’m satisfied with but certainly would not pay full retail and would seriously shop around if I were going on an expedition.

November 28, 2018

Serious Durability Problems

I wanted to like this jacket, it looks stylish, is warm, seems to be very nicely made, except one major flaw. The outer durability on this jacket is absolutely horrible. Let me tell you why. I casually tested out this jacket after i got in the mail. I took my dog for a walk in it. I put my hands in my pocket and after a few times of normal useage ... Read Moreof putting my hands in and out of the pockets, one of the sleeves caught the zipper on the pocket and i heard a loud RIPPPPPP noise! When i got home i saw that the shell fabric had actually partially torn and i tried my best to trim the excess hanging threads.. And then a few days later, the same thing happened with the other sleeve! Finally after a week of use, a completely different part of the sleeve got caught on the same zipper while just walking!! My arm must have brush against it, i heard a loud rip noise again, and when i got home and examined the jacket, the outer material had torn more fabric yet again.. Being that i am a boulderer and live in a van, i need a jacket that will hold up to normal use. This jacket couldnt even hold up to my babying it around town while walking the dog. I can only imagine what would happen after repeated use in a boulder field and being tossed in and out of a pack, etc If you want to look cool and have nothing else , get this jacket, but just know that it will be completely destroyed within a year. Patagonia has a serious design flaw with this fabric. I wish it has like a 30d or 40d outer fabric from a good company, because patagonias 20d is prone to serious failure. This caused me to never trust buying patagonia products again. And by the way the jacket is made in china. Overall i am not pleased because as this jacket is advertised it should hold up better.

November 14, 2018

Good, not great.

Last year I bought a Fitzroy Jacket and decided that I wanted a hood and a different color. So this year I bought a Fitzroy Parka (both in the recommended size, "M". I'm 5'6" and 155 lbs.). The Parka is noticeably larger than last year's Jacket; not sure if the cut is different but it's darned sure at least a half... Read More-size bigger. I always complain about Patagonia's lack of real interior chest pockets and that gripe continues -- I find the interior mesh bags, at the hem, pretty useless for carrying anything except gloves. IMO the "Pertex Quantum" fabric isn't suited to actual mountaineering. It feels great -- very soft and luxurious -- but it's too light and wouldn't stand up to any really hard use. I suspect that Patagonia thinks that most people will use this parka the same way I do -- for casual wear around town. All-in-all I like the parka and would buy it again. But my use-case is definitely "light duty" -- I wouldn't wear it in any situation where it was likely to be snagged or subjected to abrasion.

January 20, 2018

Excellent Puffer Coat

Bought this coat for a winter bouldering trip to the South. Climbed in abnormally frigid 15-35F temps for a week. This puffer kept me warm for the entire trip. You can pop it on and off between send burns and use it as a foot warmer/blanket,which speaks to its durability. The hood is key if you are going to spend lots of time standing around outsid... Read Moree,so I would get this model if you are debating the price for the non-hood version v.s. this one. The most unique feature is the large mesh pockets in the coat that you can store your climbing shoes in to keep them warm,or if you are not climbing you can use them to carry groceries lol

December 29, 2017

Man's not hot

Warm,huge,and most importantly,puffy. This thing is MASSIVE,but in a good way. Zipper gets stuck sometimes,slightly annoying and you would think Patagonia would have figured this out by now,but whatever I guess. The waist synchs are nice and kind of mandatory for a jacket this size. Hood is huge. Overall,I really like this piece and I plan on ownin... Read Moreg this for a while. When the inevitable hole gets torn in the fabric,I'll be patching it up #wornwear

November 27, 2017

If you are cold,you need this coat.

I am 6'4" with a slim build and the medium fits great. This thing is so warm,and the hood design lets you really take the warmth up a notch on those super cold days. It is nearly a perfect coat. The one thing I would change is the shoulders--they take all the weight and the down in that area collapses--so if the next version were to have... Read More twice the down in that shoulder panel,then I think it would be flawless.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches