Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Back to Product

Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 60 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
September 28, 2023

Love my Torrentshell!

I bought this jacket to use on an Iceland hiking trip, however I am using it a lot running errands and hiking close to home as well. Its lightweight and waterproof; you can also easily layer it in colder weather. I highly recommend this jacket for all kinds of foul weather!

September 24, 2023

Keeps You DRY and WARM!

I have many rain jackets but we were attending an outdoor concert in the rain, and needed to insure that we would stay dry! And this jacket fit the bill! Wore a fleece underneath and not a drop through - with the hood kept us warm and dry for 6 hours in pouring rain! Only criticism is that it runs a little small so I had to get a large to fit a swe... Read Moreater or anything bulky underneath, and sleeves long for me but there's velcro so that was fine too. My husband bought the men's version and totally happy too. GREAT PURCHASE!!!

September 24, 2023

Alaska

had to wait until I went to Alaska to review. I stayed dry during the down pours

September 21, 2023

Amazing

This jacket is amazing. I love it. I ordered a large and I am usually a medium. The large fits perfect -- with just enough room. It has so many great details but still very understated. I haven't been this happy with a purchase in a long time. I'm thinking about buying more for Christmas presents.

September 19, 2023

Really like the jacket. The

Really like the jacket. The longer fit and hood are great. I live in a rainy place and it is indeed waterproof. The only thing I think it needs is a zip pocket in the sleeve or breast I like to put a coin purse there for shopping. Thanks

September 14, 2023

Very wind and water resistant

Kept me very warm and dry on a hike in the Highlands! It worked well with extreme wind. It fit well yet had enough room for me to have layers underneath, including a packable down jacket.

September 13, 2023

Great Rain Jacket

I have tried numerous rain jackets from arcteryx, mountain hardwear to marmot. This is the best jacket you can get for its price.

September 11, 2023

Nice rain coat.

Very well made and comfortable to wear.

September 11, 2023

Not packable as advertised

I bought this to be able to take for travel. Said it packs into its pocket. Neither I nor my husband can get this to work!!!! Very disappointing!!! I have other packable Patagonia items.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Amy! We are also very sorry to hear that you had issues with stuffing your jacket into its pocket. We would recommend making sure that you are stuffing your jacket into the left handwarmer pocket and slowly stuffing the pocket from the inside to ensure the entire jacket fits.

September 6, 2023

Rain jacket

I love the jacket, I will just add it would be nice for " full figured" women have a size choice in the great colors. Working on getting in better condition so it will end up being ok.

September 5, 2023

Love it!!!

Omg im legit sitting here in 90 degree NYC weather hoping it rains just so i can rock my new raincoat! I love it. The style is cute, the fit is perfect and the color is this deep blue which is almost purplish a bit and goes w my rain proof purple uggs. So happy customer here for sure!!

September 5, 2023

Classic Patagonia

Have worn it for 2 rainy hikes out in WA and stayed completely dry. 5'6" 150lbs (muscular build): fits perfectly with room for my better sweater (size M) underneath.

September 5, 2023

fantastic, packable rain jacket

This jacket is lightweight, breathable and easily packable, yet totally waterproof. I love that it doesn't have velcro down the front zipper so it doesn't snag my shirt or a scarf. The hood is great and stays up. I wish I had found this jacket earlier! It's easily the best rain jacket I've ever tried.

September 4, 2023

True to size. Light weight

True to size. Light weight but excellent waterproof rain coat!

September 3, 2023

Superior

I’m fishing from a boat and am as dry as possible underneath. Great item!!

September 3, 2023

Lightweight Rain Defense

I purchased the Torrentshell 3L Rain jacket based on one that I borrowed from a friend. It is lightweight and has functional detailing such as adjustable wrist tabs, pit zips, storm flaps over zippers, and adjustable hood. The fabric sheds rain well. It is a bit loud however which may be from the type of waterproofing fabric that is used. Due to it... Read Mores lightweight nature I would like to extend its use by layering a fleece or sweatshirt underneath. I can use a base layer that is not too bulky. The jacket would also benefit from the use of a 2-way zipper because the length is at or a bit lower than the hips. A bit of ease with a 2-way zipper would be very nice. I chose the navy blue and am pleased with the color. Looking forward to wearing it during an upcoming camping/hiking trip to northern Michigan.

September 3, 2023

Rain jacket

Love the blue of rain jacket

September 2, 2023

Great raincoat

Fit perfect, color a great vibrant sky blue. Very happy with purchase!

September 1, 2023

Great rain coat

This jacket is extremely well constructed with high quality materials. Love the lago blue color. Highly recommend!

September 1, 2023

Love this jacket

This jacket is so well made. I love how the hood has a small flat top to shed rain. I just took a long hike in the rain and it worked great!

August 31, 2023

Waterproof Jacket for the win!

This summer has been quite rainy for the area I live in, so after countless times of being caught in the rain, I decided it was time to invest in a rain jacket. This one did not disappoint! I love that I can fold it into its pocket, so I can just keep it in my Patagonia tote bag that I bring to work for whenever it starts raining out of no where. T... Read Morehis thing keeps me so dry! I also love the arm cuffs so I get that nice detailed fit. So invest, you will thank yourself when you get caught in that rainstorm!!

August 30, 2023

Classic rain jacket

I haven’t used this jacket yet, but I think it will be good in rainy weather, especially when I travel.

August 30, 2023

Perfect

This was just what I was looking for. Lightweight easy to pack and fits over my warmer jacket if I need warmth. Haven’t had a chance to really use it in a heavy rain so I hope it doesn’t disappoint there.

August 30, 2023

Too large, a little stiffer

Too large, a little stiffer than I had hoped.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2023

Thank you so much for writing this review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you've encountered with this product. Please know that you are more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item as we want you to be completely satisfied with all of your Patagonia purchases. In the meantime, please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team.

August 29, 2023

Beautifully made, but way too tight at the hips

I could wear it with just a thin shirt,but I could never put on a sweater or sweatshirt and zip the jacket. I wear a size 6, ordered the small, I am not wide hipped, this is just unnaturally cut.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2023

Thank you for this feedback, Suzanne. It sounds like some customers are finding it snugger than expected in the hips. We're sorry this was the case for you, but glad to see you've returned it. We hope we can help you get set up with something else you will love!

August 29, 2023

Nicely Made

Awesome jacket, it's made so nicely and it's a game changer with the armpit zips. The only thing is the sleeves are way too long.

August 28, 2023

Good Jacket to wear in

Good Jacket to wear in the rain. Keeps you dry and warm.

August 28, 2023

Great rain jacket at a reasonable price

I bought this to replace a VERY old Patagonia rain jacket with older waterproofing technology. Took it on a hike this weekend and had to pull it out for about 2 miles' worth of steady rain. I stayed perfectly dry. It is a tiny bit stiff and a little noisy, but for all the features and technology, I think it's worth it. I was torn between ... Read Morethe S and the M (the cut is a little bit roomy), but I went with the M so I could layer a nanopuff underneath for walking to work when it's cold and raining. And I LOVE the color.

August 28, 2023

exceeded expectations

I had some frumpy rain jackets which I wanted to replace and this was perfect .I saw comments that it is slim fitting especially around the hips but in my case this was good as I have slimmer hips( larger on top large waist and narrower on bottom) .If you are more pear shaped I would say size up .I dont plan to wear bulky sweaters under it so I got... Read More the small( usually wear size 4-6)Color is nice got the dark blue I have a few Patagonia jackets and I always like the blues ,greens and burgundy or orange best .Best jacket ever was burgundy with an orange lining.

August 28, 2023

Women's 3L Torrentshell Jacket

I had borrowed a friend's Torrential jacket and really liked the features...the pit zips, the adjustable hood, high collar, zipper storm flap, and the light weight, to name a few. I had read reviews prior to purchase which stated that it may be a bit snug to layer for added warmth which was a consideration given my weather conditions. I am abl... Read Moree to wear a fleece or a light vest underneath. It is cut slightly narrow through the hip. A feature that would ease that issue would be to use a 2 way zipper especially given that the length is below the hip. Another feature that I noticed is that the fabric is a bit loud. Not sure if that has to do with the waterproof fabric. I am 5'9" and wear a Medium/8-10 in most Patagonia garments. The body and sleeve length cover well. I am very pleased with the blue color.

August 27, 2023

Great fit!

Love the fit but fabric makes a lot of noise when wearing. Would love to see it in a softer waterproof material.

August 26, 2023

Withstands it all!

Great rain jacket if you want some sturdy. I got it for an adventurous trip to Iceland (lots of "don't mind the weather" hikes) and after the first day it already proved its worth. Kept me warm (but not stifling) and dry for a six mile hike in harsh wind and rain. I'm usually between a small and medium. Went with a medium and i... Read Moret has plenty of room for layering underneath without being too bulky.

August 26, 2023

Nice jacket

I bought this for a trip to Iceland. Love that it's light weight, has venting, and packs down to a small size. The hood fits well and isn't overly big. We were lucky and only had one day of light rain. The jacket kept me dry.

August 26, 2023

Cut, Color, Cool!

The cut of this jacket is wonderful because it covers the top of my pants (rain rolls right down and away), and is shaped so there is no bulk. The jacket is light, the wrists are widely adjustable for a custom fit, and I love the color.

August 25, 2023

Very nice fitting

Very nice fitting

August 24, 2023

Keeps me dry and is

Keeps me dry and is so comfortable, and I can fit layers underneath.

August 23, 2023

really waterproof

Needed something that was truly waterproof. This did the trick! Might fit best for normal to tall people though. I'm a pear shaped 5'2" and the bottom hem hits at the widest part of my hips so it's not as loose there as I'd like. A larger size would've been too big everywhere else. Not not tight enough to restrict move... Read Morement but it affects what can be layered underneath.

August 22, 2023

great features

Love all the features and lightness of the jacket.

August 21, 2023

Great rain jacket at a reasonable price

I bought this to replace a very old Patagonia rain jacket had an older technology lining that was delaminating. I haven't worn it yet (waiting for rain), but I like the fit and LOVE the color. The longer length in back covers my butt, the sleeves are a good length, and it's cut loose enough to wear layers, but doesn't look baggy. I a... Read Moregree with other comments that it's a little bit stiff and makes a little noise, but for the price and the quality of the technology, I don't mind. I'll wear it when I walk to work and for hiking.

August 21, 2023

almost perfect

an excellent rain jacket with nice features. Gave it four stars because I could have used a double zipper (that also opens from the bottom). Otherwise it's a keeper.

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2023

Hi Kay, thank you for sharing this review! If you're interested in two-way zippers, the [parka length version](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-torrentshell-3l-city-rain-parka/27120.html?dwvar_27120_color=BLK&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-rainwear) of this Torrentshell does have them. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

August 20, 2023

Rain coat

Well made, nice color, great hood design.

August 20, 2023

Great quality jacket

Purchased for trip to Alaska - wanted to make sure it was roomy enough for layering - an XL probably would have been plenty.

August 19, 2023

Jacket is great

This jacket is very nice it replaced some bright rain jackets I had that didnt offer real protection .I have slim hips ( and a large waist and bust ) so the fit was great for me I can see if you have larger hips that you may need to size up.I like the small because once it gets cold even with a heavy sweater underneath it might not be warm enough.T... Read Morehis would fit over a slim fitting sweater or cardigan I am glad I didnt get the medium - 5 ft 4 inches and approx 125 lbs.This is really a nice jacket the deep blue is a lovely color.

August 18, 2023

Excellent rain jacket

My dad just got me this rain jacket - it's awesome! I got the color sound blue, and it is very nice. Super waterproof and very comfortable. I can't wait to use it for a long time!

August 16, 2023

Perfect!

I ordered this rain jacket so I could bring it on my cruise to Alaska and it was worth every penny! Unfortunately, it rained every day we were at port but this jacket kept me dry. It fit slightly large but that made it perfect for layering a tshirt and light sweatshirt underneath to keep me warm. I also wore it while walking laps around the outside... Read More pool deck in the mornings and it kept the wind out so I wasnt cold at all (in the 60s in august). Highly recommend!

August 15, 2023

Will save you from your own mistakes

Overall a great jacket in all the typical areas, good fit, hood stays on, yada yada Most importantly- I ran this jacket through the wash and accidentally left me AirPods and their case zipped into the pocket. This thing is actually so waterproof that I opened the pocket after they went through the whole cycle (to my horror) and they still worked. ... Read MoreIf that doesnt deserve 5 stars I dont know what does.

August 11, 2023

Great everyday raincoat

I bought this raincoat for myself and my young daughter on a whim when we got caught in a rainstorm close to a Patagonia store. I am happy I did! They fold up nicely in a purse and are perfect for everyday, casual wear. They will keep you dry in an average rainstorm.

July 20, 2023

Great jacket at a great price

Patagonia products are always great, and this jacket is no exception. It really hits the sweet spot between price and performance. The length is just right and the pit zips come in handy on muggy days. The hood gives great coverage without being too much. You really cant go wrong with this jacket. Only little I'd like would be a small zip pock... Read Moreet for a car key.

May 31, 2023

Great except for Hips

This jacket is wonderful - has all the features I want. Waterproof 3-layer, breathable, pit zips, & micro fleece collar is nice. Love that it's pfc-free and fair trade to boot. I may have to return it though because of fit. Medium fits great in the torso for me but Tight on hips. Large is too big all around - even a bit bulky with a fleece... Read More underneath. (Tried a men's small at local REI in hopes it would work, but it was too tight in hips too, too large elsewhere.) Patagonia, please make tech wear for pear-shaped folks.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2023

We appreciate all your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Cindy! We're sorry the fit wasn't quite right on this one. You might find that sizing up in our Women's slim fit [Slate Sky Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-slate-sky-waterproof-rain-jacket/85030.html) could work for you. Please reach out if you would like any assistance to return your purchases. We'll be more than happy to help!

May 15, 2023

Absolutely Beautiful Rain Jacket

My husband bought me this rain jacket in Evening Mauve for my birthday (77). My daughter advised him on the size, and it is perfect. My arms are a little short so I love the velcro wrist adjustment. I also love the cut of the hood. I can't wait for it to rain!

April 28, 2023

Hood fits all of my curly hair!

Perfect fit. Love the color. Actually keeps me dry. But my favorite part about this jacket is that I can put my hair in a puff and the hood still covers my head. It has taken me years to find a jacket that doesn't make it a pain to wear my hair curly.

April 16, 2023

Super Waterproof

This is my second Torrentshell jacket. My last one was close to 7 years old. I'm an avid walker in the Pacific NW so rain is always imminent. I sized up because I usually wear a vest underneath for added warmth when needed. I love that this jacket covers my hips and that this newer version uses a heavier fabric. This jacket is well-made as wel... Read Morel. I can tighten the hood and lower hem to keep the rain away from my body. I also appreciate and use all the pockets. In addition, the side vents are fantastic too, to allow for air circulation if I get too warm.

April 16, 2023

So Dry!

This jacket is fantastic! I lost my old rain jacket and had to buy a new one for a concert at Red Rocks that was supposed to rain all night. This jacket kept me so dry! My friends with me were all jealous. In the past I had gotten <$100 jackets, I was reluctant to fork over the cash but it was so worth it. You definitely get what you pay for wit... Read Moreh Patagonia. I have two complaints, I wish it had the double zipper. I have wide hips and hate going up to the next size because then my upper body is swimming in the jacket also an XXL was not available at the store I was at and I needed the jacket immediately. A double zipper allows me to unzip the bottom portion to accommodate my hips better. That leads me to my 2nd complaint, i wish the jacket flared out more at the bottom to cover the top of my bottom. I find Patagonia stuff is pretty straight and doesn't have much curve which is unfortunate for us curvy girls who want great gear. Curvy girls enjoy outdoor activities too and I think Patagonia can do a better job accommodating that. The quality of the jacket is superb, I just wish it had a better fit

March 13, 2023

Excited to use it for my trek

I tried this on at the Patagonia store and really liked it. Wore it on one hike so far where it only ended up lightly sprinkling so I cant comment on the waterproof part just yet. I really like the hood and it also has some extra room in it perfect to layer warmer gear underneath. The sleeves are long but I actually like that as sleeves can sometim... Read Morees run shorter on me. You have the Velcro on the sleeve to secure it around your wrist if needed. Looking forward to doing my trek in it!

March 12, 2023

Bone dry!

Wear a Patagonia small but sized up to a M to layer underneath on colder days. Bought the yellow for myself, the green for one daughter, and the light blue for my other daughter, and we get compliments everywhere! The yellow is Man with the yellow hat classic yellow. The light green is a very happy color. The blue is nice, too. These jackets have k... Read Moreept us very dry on dog walks during this usually wet CA winter! Zip pockets keep phone securely dry as well. The hood brim is also secure in the wind when adjusted and low enough to keep my glasses relatively dry is calmer rainy conditions. Arm pit zipper is excellent for ventilating when temps move into the 60s. 5 foot 6, athletic build. M fits with room to layer and sufficiently covers my bum.

March 5, 2023

fit not right

Using the Patagonia size chart I ordered a large - it was huge on me. I exchanged it for a medium, which fit except that the sleeves were so long that only my fingertips showed, my hands were completely covered. And the fit around the hips was too snug to accommodate a sweater. Also, the coral color was not as saturated and vivid as it appears in t... Read Morehe catalogue. It looked like cream of tomato soup made with skim milk - not flattering. Quality was great, but the fit didn't work, and at that price I want a color that I like.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2023

Thank you for writing us a review on the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket Katherine. We're sorry to hear about the disapointment with the fit and the appearance of the color in person. We truly appreciate hearing from our customers so we'll share this comments with our design team. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 22, 2023

Cute and perfect for rain or wind

Very lightweight enough to layer up and still look cute. Doesn't make you look boxy/wide like other jackets but I would say to size up if you need more space for your hips. I sized up and it fits perfectly how I like it! Would get it in other colors if it wasn't so expensive but anything Patagonia is pricey. Other than that, Im happy with... Read More it!

January 25, 2023

Not for curvy frames

The coat works great against the rain, however it's so tight on my hips, I can't properly wear it. It's probably a great jacket if you don't have hips, however if you do, I'd try a different brand. Unfortunately I ordered the largest size so I can't try a larger one (it would be too big up top anyways).

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2023

We're sorry to hear that the fit, sizing and design of this jacket is not working for you. We welcome a return under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), and we'll reach out to you by email to offer further assistance. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, Jen!

January 10, 2023

Really disappointed

I thought this was going to be a nice winter coat, but was shocked that it's thin as a poncho. When I opened the package it has a strong, cheap chemical smell..I was expecting better quality and not the use of all these chemicals. I thought this was a sustainable company and expected to have a nice quality, warm jacket without that gross smell... Read More. Will return

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2023

Hi Lo, thank you for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the rain jacket. This jacket doesn't feature any insulation as it's meant to be worn as a rain shell. We strive to produce the most environmentally friendly product possible. We're happy to say this product features a PFC-free DWR (durable water repellent) finish. We appreciate your feedback, and we'll share this with our design team.

December 30, 2022

Super Waterproof!

I wore this in a huge downpour while in Georgia and did not get wet at all. Super waterproof. I got a size larger to fit sweaters underneath and found it perfect :)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches