Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® Lite Yulex® Long-Sleeved Wetsuit Top

Write Your Review

3.6/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® Lite Yulex® Long-Sleeved Wetsuit Top

3.6/5
Kinda Small
August 22, 2021

disappointing.

I bought the R1 top from REI in 2019 for surfing/bodysurfing. I was very happy with it during that season. The top is warm and the fit was good. The Yulex relaxed a bit after a few uses making it even more comfortable. I wore the top 2 -3 times a week for approximately 2 months. I followed the direction for care and did not abuse the top. During th... Read Moree the next summer season (2020) I noticed the neck had stretched out a bit, allowing water to easily enter. This summer, I wore the top only a few times. Recently, the material at the neck started to deteriorate. The inside material is separating from the outside and fraying. After each use, it becomes worse. I have other brands that are 10 plus years old and have not experienced this issues. Patagonia products are usually my first choice but I am completely disappointed with this one.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Hey Christopher! We're so sorry to hear that is happening. We want to make sure you're able to use your gear for the long run. We've reached out privately to set you up with our wetsuit team regarding return or repair.

August 14, 2021

Great option for travel

I purchased this top for a trip to Pacific Northwest. Olympic National Park. Not the warmest, but not designed for 53 deg water. Ruby beach and Kalaloch beach were beautiful. was perfect in letting me get in and enjoy the pacific ocean.

August 12, 2021

Too small

I thought I could squeeze into this then almost dislocated my shoulder trying to get it off. The return process was 5 stars! Thanks

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2021

Hey there Rob, thanks for the review. We're so sorry that the sizing was super small for you, our wetsuits are definitely intended to be really tight with first try on, but it shouldn't be that difficult! If you'd like some measurements to find a wetsuit that works, feel free to [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

July 23, 2021

Insanely Small Sizing

I originally bought a size medium (I'm 5'9"/165 lb), and it was like putting on a child-sized wetsuit. Couldn't get it passed my shoulders. I kept sizing up until I reached an XL, which is ridiculous for someone my size. It now fits well, although it's a bit too long in the torso, causing some folds. The material and stitch... Read Moreing itself is excellent. Butter-smooth and very flexible. Removing it, even in a size XL, is like giving birth in reverse. Recommend getting the front zip type, if you are down for the sizing rollercoaster associated with this product.

May 18, 2021

High quality

I've used this for a quick surf during early spring and on windy days in late spring/early summer. It's not going to help much in my view if truly a cold day but will make you more comfortable against wind while waiting in the line-up. Fits well, good looking, and worth having in your gear back.

January 13, 2021

Sizing is not accurate

Never had a chance to use this wetsuit, I purchased a medium (which I wear across all surfing brands for wetsuits) I could not even get it all the way on, and had to have help getting it off. All other sizes are discontinued so I will have to buy another brand

September 16, 2020

Way too small!

I have two patagonia wetsuits that I purchased years ago and they perform great and fit well. I purchased this top for prone paddleboarding. I purchased a large and it fits like an extra small! My other suits are mediums and I weigh 165. Also the material is very stiff compared to current suits from other brands that I own. I have asked for a credi... Read Moret but no one ever responded.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry that you've experienced inconsistent sizing with this purchase, we've passed this feedback on to our Design Team. You are absolutely welcome to return, you can reach our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) through a couple different channels. We'd also be able to provide you with measurements to ensure proper fit on future purchases. Please reach out to us today so we can get you situated, thanks!

June 21, 2020

Doesnt fit

I ordered an XL which is what I typically wear in other products and it was nowhere close to getting on my body. I returned it and ordered an XXL but it is still so tight I cant wear it. Ive had wetsuits before and this is even tighter. The product itself is great quality, I just cant wear it. I also dont want to keep going through the return proce... Read Moress however, so Im just going to save it for one of my kids.

June 17, 2020

Doesnt fit

I ordered an XL which is what I typically wear in other products and it was nowhere close to getting on my body. I returned it and ordered an XXL but it is still so tight I cant wear it. Ive had wetsuits before and this is even tighter. The product itself is great quality, I just cant wear it. I also dont want to keep going through the return proce... Read Moress however, so Im just going to save it for one of my kids.

April 9, 2020

Fit snug but cause neck chafing

I bought a size:S, fit snug, warm and flexible. The biggest downside is the stitch behind the neck cause chafing.

October 13, 2019

Best wetsuit top in the game

Simple design, great stretch, and right amount of warmth.

September 18, 2019

Want to like but...

I want to like this wetsuit top and Patagonia’s wetsuits in general because of how they are made, and their warranty is top notice. However, their material is, in my opinion, ten years behind other companies. It is heavy and not flexible / stretchy. Also, they are cut extremely small. I wear a medium fjords flannel and regular fit tee shirt and I n... Read Moreeeded at xl wetsuit top.

August 15, 2019

Best wetsuits in the industry

In Hawaii where we have lots of wind this top is perfect and keeps you warm on dawn patrol mornings or windy days. It also is tailored just right so I never get armpit rash like other wetsuit makers tend to do to me.

August 15, 2019

Great for sailing

I’ve been enjoying this top for sailing - it’s warm and comfortable. I’m 5’10” lean and the M fits good.

August 10, 2019

Looks good, functions good. A little on the small side

This works great keeping the sun off of my back and insulating my torso. It’s a little on the small side for a medium. I was on the verge of sizing up but I felt like I was getting stuck in the large size.

May 8, 2019

Yulex, Oh Yulex

Yulex! Oh Yulex! You're natural and pure You keep me warmer You're the best for sure Yulex! Oh Yulex! You fit me just right Like a big bear hug Comfy, not to tight Yulex! Oh Yulex! This year is the best yet Stretchy and durable I have not regrets!

March 17, 2019

Warmer when you need it

This is a great cool water rash guard. I used in Hawaii when the water was low 70’s. Fit is really short. If you are over 6’ tall you will look a little silly. But most Patagonia stuff runs short. Otherwise great product.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches