Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Driving Song Flannel Shirt

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Driving Song Flannel Shirt

4.3/5
March 15, 2022

Favorite flannel!

I personally love the cut and fit of this flannel. It is a looser fit, but I find it attractive and comfortable. I usually wear it with leggings and wear it open with a cami underneath. The length of the back covers my butt so it is perfect for leggings. As usual with Patagonia items, the quality is outstanding and this is an article of clothing th... Read Moreat performs. It keeps me just warm enough and I can tell it will last for years. I liked it so much I bought another! I bought my normal size small and it was perfect!

March 11, 2022

Too big

I wish I read the reviews before I bought this- I'm normally between S/M and ordered a M, it was a full two sizes too big. I had to return as a smaller size was no longer available. The fabric seemed comfortable, soft and very light.

February 26, 2022

Love the Dolomite Blue Fabric, the Fit Not So Much

I really liked the smaller scale & dark tones-only plaid of this shirt in blue which was no longer available in M at Patagonia -- new or worn -- when I went to buy. I tracked one down elsewhere. The fabric is lovely. But besides running large overall (even the sleeves are extra long), the shirt has a really odd fit with that giant back pleat &a... Read Moremp; the long back length. But I do like the dark small plaid & it is for casual wear, so I'll use it.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the fabric, fit and features. The Driving Song Flannel Shirt was a "relaxed" fit design which allows for a more generous flow. We hope you love it for years to come!

February 23, 2022

Comfortable, soft, flattering

This is one of my favorite pieces by Patagonia, and is definitely my favorite shirt to wear. I bought all four colors of this flannel, and wear them for farming, out and about, and even to bed sometimes. Its comfortable not only in the cool months but all summer (here in Vermont, anyway), and fits perfectly in all areas - arms, bust, stomach, etc. ... Read MoreThe longer cut means I can wear it with leggings if I want to, and being a few months postpartum at the moment, I appreciate the looser fit. I hope they continue to make it.

February 18, 2022

A bit more tailored

The only suggestion I have is for the waist to be a bit smaller. The bust worked well - however the straightness of the shirt makes it a bit bulky. Otherwise I love it!

December 31, 2021

Looser fit

This was purchased as a gift and needed to be returned. XS was still quite loose fitting bc of the style of the back, kind of a swing style, which was different from the desired fitted style, so has to be returned. The shirt itself was nice looking, good color and material.

December 15, 2021

Lovely!

I have a Patagonia organic flannel that is more than 20 years old and still hanging on. The Patagonias that I have bought in the interim have been very heavy, stiff, and shrink. NOT this purchase. It is soft, washes well, does not pill, does not shrink, not too heavy (not expedition weight) with just enough style as to be au Courant. Thank you Pata... Read Moregonia for a GREAT PRODUCT, with room to layer if it gets really cold.

December 6, 2021

Nice cut!

The other reviews were super helpful, which is why I bought an xsmall. The shirt fits loose but not baggy. The cut on the back gives a nice shape. Lovely!

November 30, 2021

Very oversized

I bought 2 of these shirts. One as a gift. Im returning both for smalls. The pleat in back makes this shirt very generous in size. Its definitely more than a relaxed fit. I have a spare 12 inches plus of extra fabric. The shirts are also missing care instructions in English. There are many languages on the inside white tags except English. I even h... Read Moread my husband double check. Care instructions are not found online either.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Thank you for your feedback! Those care tags are a little cumbersome to decipher sometimes but the care instructions for your Driving Song Flannel are as follow: Machine Wash Warm, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Warm Iron When Needed.

November 24, 2021

Its a nice quality shirt with great girl colors.

The fabric, quality, pattern, and feel are great. The particular style of a large overshirt was not my style. At first I thought it was the sizing so I ordered the small - still big - like a cape with sleeves. My husband said it made me look 25 pounds heavier, when Im really only 10 pounds too heavy. I sent them both back. Fabulous customer service... Read More! Not only does Patagonia have great eco friendly products, their customer service is stellar!

November 17, 2021

Not a big fan

Not a big fan of the material used to make this shirt. My other Patagonia flannel shirts fit and feel much nicer. I thought I was buying a similar shirt as before.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hello Linda! We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the feel of the material. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 14, 2021

Not really flannel

The fit was swell. The colors were also swell. What I didnt like was the flannel fabric which I think should be thick cozy and warm. This felt like a cotton shirt with no flannel characteristics.

October 2, 2021

Well made stylish flannel

I love this shirt. It runs a little large but is well made and I love the cut of the back of the shirt. Fun for fall. So glad I bought it. I am already wanting to get another in a different color!

September 28, 2021

Color and fabric are cozy

This shirt feels large, but I wanted something to fit over long sleeve tees, tanks etc. The fabric is soft and not super thick so can tuck in without bulk. I really like the burnt orange color for Fall and will expand my options to pair with stand up pants and overalls.

Response from Patagonia
October 6, 2021

We're glad you like this "relaxed" fit flannel shirt! You might want to take a look at our "regular" and "slim" fitting Heywood, Fjord or Farriers [shirts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-button-down-shirts) too.

September 17, 2021

Soft, thick flannel

Love the swingy fit and fold over pleat design in back

September 15, 2021

Very comfy

This flannel shirt has a loose fit which is what I was looking for. The sleeve length is perfect and body length hits me at about my hips. I like the back design. Makes it more fun than a traditional flannel shirt.

September 14, 2021

Beautiful and Comfy Shirt

I love the blue plaid & soft cotton but this is an over-sized, relaxed fit shirt. I exchanged the small for an XS & it's still too large at the shoulders with a lot of yardage. Wish there was an XXS. If you like a loose fit with a lot of fabric it will make a nice over-shirt when the weather chills.

September 12, 2021

Nice style

Love the fit and feel for those cool fall days. Looks great with leggings or jeans.

September 12, 2021

warm, soft roomy fit

love the quality of this flannel, would prefer a more shapely fit as is quite boxy, however I still love it. I bought a couple of items from Patagonia after reading of their stance in Jackson Hole Mountain Resort as I wanted to support this company that stands by their principles and stands by the health of this tiny planet and it's people. I ... Read Morewill be a supporter of Patagonia.

September 8, 2021

Great Soft Flannel

Love this flannel shirt. Nice feel. I can tell it will be a favorite so I bought two.

September 5, 2021

Great layer.

Warm and lightweight Beautiful color and feel.

August 25, 2021

Maternity sized

I'm 9 months pregnant and bought my pre-pregnancy size- Small- because I wanted a good button down flannel for breastfeeding and postpartum this fall. I'm shocked that it fits over my 9 month pregnant belly- easily. That's how large it is. That being said, it's comfy and should serve it's purpose, so I'm probably goin... Read Moreg to keep it. Maybe I'll be able to button it around the baby in the carrier, too...

July 23, 2021

Beautiful and well made

I wear flannels over t-shirts in the winter almost every day. This one fits the bill for days that aren't as cold as it is a little lighter than some of the other ones I wear. This would also be great on its own. Fits well and true to size. I tend to order things a little larger as I like a looser fit. I look forward to wearing this for many y... Read Moreears to come.

June 30, 2021

Had to return both L and M sizes

This is a beautiful shirt that just didn't work for me. I initially ordered it in Large and the sleeve seam fell well below the top of my shoulders. Then I tried a Medium which fit at the shoulders, but made the long shirttail hug my butt in an unflattering way. I'm about 5'8" and 165 lbs.

April 16, 2021

Warm in cool weather without being bulky

This shirt is nice to wear over a t-shirt when weather suddenly gets cool - like the length and extra room in the back so it doesn't ride up - sleeves are a little long but I just fold them up one turn - I wear XS in pants but size up to a S in shirts because I have a large bust, and it doesn't squish my breasts and doesn't pull at t... Read Morehe shoulders. I think I'll order another one in another color.

March 14, 2021

Really comfortable!

Great design. Fitted arms and the dropped, dolman like shoulder add mobility and make working and moving in it really comfortable. The unexpected back yoke wraps over itself and drops in back helps with ease of movement and adds coverage, too. The weight of the flannel is lighter and so soft. I usually wear a size medium and sized down to a small. ... Read MoreThe fit is perfect. Living here in the PNW, I can easily see this becoming a 4 season staple.

March 9, 2021

Love the Plaid and Color

A great layer over a T-shirt for another casual day working from home. The flannel shirt would be perfect if it did not have the pleat in the back that makes me look wide!

February 24, 2021

Poor Quality

I have been purchasing Patagonia clothing for about 30 years. Never once I returned an item back to you due to poor quality issues. I own three others flannel shirts from Patagonia and could not be happier. This one was cut from poor quality clothes and the buttons were very small and ready to fall off. The design team and the quality control team ... Read Moreneed to go back and review the key elements of what made Patagonia products great in the past. I am sad to have to provide this negative feedbacks but I have been disappointed with women shirts and pants in the last few years. I hope to see better products from you in the near future. If you need additional information please contact me. I am not abandoning your company and just bought a men shirt for myself that I really like. Thank you for listening.

February 19, 2021

Perfect Gift

I bought this for my wife and as soon as she logs off from work, she changes into more casual clothes (e.g., sweatpants and jersey :-) and throws on this shirt. She just loves it!

January 27, 2021

This runs crazy large

I usually flip between L (snap t)and XL (better sweater) depending on the fit. I went XL in this shirt because I like to layer with flannel and wanted room. Well, let me tell you, it looked like I was playing dress up. A family of bison could have fit in there with me. I think my snowboarding shell might be tighter. Anyway the large was what I was ... Read Morelooking for. Just a warning.

January 27, 2021

Comply flannel

I like the detail of the back and the pattern and weight of the flannel. The cuffs are a little snug, but overall I really like this shirt

January 27, 2021

Great oversize shirt

I received this shirt in red for Christmas and liked it so much I bought a second one in purple for myself. My complaint about the purple color is that it is a very pajama-y colorway and when I wear it in work Zoom calls, I worry it looks like I flagrantly am wearing pajamas. I dont feel this way with the red one, but after looking at the colors av... Read Moreailable with this in mind, I think it applies for most of them. I selected that this shirt is true-to-size because 1) the product description clearly states that the style of the shirt is oversize and 2) I find that much of Patagonia is undersized--I am fairly consistently a size small elsewhere but I find Patagonia shirts generally dont accommodate my wide shoulders and 32c boobs (and the pants don't fit my thighs or butt). I feel that this shirt fits the way a size small in an oversize styled shirt should fit. I did try the medium and it was much too big. The arms particularly seemed long, so if you are someone with particularly short arms it may not work for you. I wear this predominately around the house (because there's no where to go in COVID). I find i can layer tees or long sleeves under it, but it is also comfortable without a base layer. My house gets fairly cold in winter and this has been fantastic. I've honestly even slept in it.

December 9, 2020

Didn't work for me.

This shirt has a generous cut. I should have ordered a smaller size. However, I did not like the large back pleat. The length was too long for my height and I think would have been the same even in a smaller size. However it would look good with leggings if so inclined. I might have tried a smaller size if not for the back of the shirt.

November 30, 2020

Super comfortable high quality material fashionable

Slightly loose

November 29, 2020

Misinformed

Loved the look of this flannel. But the embellished flare in the back made this garment far too large for my frame. My bad, was a quick purchase as I thought all flannels were made alike. I am a traditional person looking for traditional flannel shirt.

November 13, 2020

Beautiful shirt but runs LARGE

I am a small across the board in pretty much all the Patagonia I own. Im 59, #140 and this shirt is suppose to be baggy but its still so big. I dont mind baggy things so its great. But could not believe an XS covers my butt and has a ton of extra fabric.

November 11, 2020

Love the color, but way too big

Should have gone with the extra small! I love the color but I was swimming in it. Had to return unfortunately.

November 5, 2020

Love this shirt!

I will be ordering another one soon. I am living in this and absolutely love it!

November 2, 2020

Luv it

Its a great shirt very comfortable

October 30, 2020

Cozy and comfortable

Looks great and love dealing with Patagonia.

October 23, 2020

Does not shrink in the arms!

This is the only flannel shir I have ever bought where the arms DID NOT shrink when I washed the shirt. This is monumental. Plus the cut is very nice and the fabric very comfortable.

October 14, 2020

Tall fit, not for shorties

Wish this shirt came in a petite sizing. It's nicely made and the purple color is pretty. Sadly the fit is definitely for a taller woman. Armholes are deep.

September 27, 2020

Cute look for a flannel

This flannel shirt is lightweight and will be great for fall in northern WI. The longer shirttail is perfect for wearing with leggings. I bought a small and the fit is generous. I was worried about sleeve length but its perfect.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches