Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.21 /5

Filter Reviews

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottoms

4.21
Kinda Large
September 9, 2020

Light and Warm

These 7/8 length boot length bottoms are so comfy. My favorite thing is that they stay away from my ankle bones! There are too many layers in my boots when I wear regular full length long underwear. So, ThanksPatagonia!

September 5, 2020

Nice fit, soft material

If I had insulated ski pants, I would have kept these thermal bottoms. The pants I use for skiing, snowshoeing, etc... are a durable, waterproof shell (much like a ski jacket) that requires a thicker pair of thermals than this particular product. I won't replace them until I can no longer get them repaired, if needed... They are really 'm... Read Moreountaineering pants' and as such, are extremely durable (I've used them for nearly two decades and they haven't faded, gotten holes, are still waterproof, etc...!). I have three pairs of thermals that I've used for years, all varying thickness for different temperatures on the mountain. I really liked that these thermals are boot-length, as I have performance ski boots that are the stiffest (and lightest!) ski boot ever made for women, and I have found over time that I can only have socks inside the boot and be comfortable making these boots flex while riding due to my weight and height (5' 4.5", 125#). I absolutely love my Atomic Ultra Hawk performance ski boots- they're the last thing I'd give up in my gear, besides my Blizzard Black Pearl 98 skis! So, my thermals need to be replaced or trimmed & hemmed. I am glad Patagonia has boot-length thermals, I wish these had been thicker material, b/c the material was soft and comfortable and the fit was nice.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

Hello Victoria, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry the weight of the fabric did not meet your expectations, you are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them. As a side note, on really cold days, I will use the [Women's Lightweight Pack Out Crops](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-lightweight-pack-out-crops/21990.html?dwvar_21990_color=SNBL) under my ski pants as my insulation layer. If you have room for a heavier midlayer, this might do the trick.

September 4, 2020

I wish they fit

Im always looking for capris length base layers for wearing under ski pants. These would have been perfect. Lightweight breathable fabric but they were just too baggy on my legs. The search continues.

September 2, 2020

Very comfortable

I wear these lounging in the summer. But the main reason to wear them was for skiing so that I didn't have to pull up my base layer out of my ski boot. I will say for lounging the band in the waist could be a tad looser, but for sports and skiing, its spot on. So I wouldn't change a thing. they can be see-through and are really thin, but ... Read MoreI run hot and like the material weight.

August 21, 2020

Nonsensical fit

Got these for my wife as she likes the capilene AIR pants she has and these are a little heavier. They made these with a bizarre fit that goes up over her bellybutton. (her measurements are the ones I entered). We're both baffled why anyone would want to wear them that way as it's uncomfortable while doing active things. They were also ve... Read Morery loose around her legs, tight around waist, loose around belly. I have last year's men's version (not sure if they changed) which are terrific because they have an elastic waist right at your waist. Almost every patagonia thing we buy (mens or women's) now we have to return because it's great material / idea but atrocious fit and totally inconsistent sizing. Waste of time and shipping emissions at this point.

August 19, 2020

Runs large

I am 59 and 130 lbs. I purchased a medium and it was way too large. The butt area on the pants is massive. The bottom of the pants curled when I tried them on and layered another pair of pants on top. On a positive note, the pants were super comfortable when I tried them on. I would exchange for a small but they are out of stock.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

Hi Alena, sorry to hear that the fit was a bit off on the Capilene Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottoms. We'd be happy to help out with a return even if an exchange wasn't possible. Please feel free to begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 19, 2020

Waist oddly tiny

I wanted to love these thermals and was so excited to wear them skiing, but the elastic band in the waist was oddly teeny tiny. The rest of the pants fit perfectly, including the rest of the wide waist band, but the elastic part was soo tiny and not nearly as stretchy as the rest of the waist band. Thought about sizing up but I'm guessing the ... Read Morewaistband size wouldn't change much but the rest of the pants would be too big. Sad to have to send these back :(

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review on our Patagonia Women's Capilene Thermal Weight Boot-Length Bottom. We're sorry to hear there were some issues with the waistband. Unfortunately, it looks like we are currently running low on stock but the waist size will change between sizes. If you're interested, please check out our [Women's Capilene Thermal Weight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43692.html?dwvar_43692_color=CCNX&cgid=womens-baselayers).

August 7, 2020

You can see straight through them

This base layer is super soft and very comfortable but are see- through! I wanted to wear them under my wader or hunting pants but dont want people to see my underwear when swapping outtter layers or wearing just those home!

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2020

Hello Ciara, we're so sorry to hear these are see-through. If this issue worsens or if you're simply unsatisfied with your base layer bottoms because of this, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us for a refund.

June 9, 2020

Awesome

My wife loves these for under her ski pants. The keep her comfortable while skiing

February 16, 2020

Very comfortable base layer. Breathes

Very comfortable base layer. Breathes well. Wckes perspiration well.

January 29, 2020

Super comfy, not-wool base layer!

These are some of the most ridiculously comfortable, warm, not-wool base layer pants. I'm *mildly* allergic to wool, and these are fantastically warm and wicking. I love that they come in boot-length, it prevents the dreaded ankle/sock/baselayer/ski boot bunching that leads to pain and numbness. My only small complaint is that the end of the c... Read Moreapris are a little looser fitting (and I have massive calves, so that says something), so I can't wear these under skinny jeans or leggings without it looking awkward. That's not what I bought them for though, and under ski pants, these are a dream.

January 9, 2020

Great for skiing!

Perfect under snow pants for my ski trip in Park City. Tired of full-length leggings causing discomfort in my ski boots. Even talked my friend into wanting a pair. Only downfalls would be the pattern they leave on your skin after wear due to the bumpy fabric used to keep them insulating your legs and the sheerness of the fabric requiring another la... Read Moreyer on top if you plan to remove your snow pants for any reason.

December 20, 2019

Great base layer

They are super soft and make a great warm base layer. I love that they are boot length for skiing. I have two issues that overall are minor and don’t make a difference to me because functionality> over fashion. 1. Fits a little weird, fits tighter on my waist and the legs are baggy but going down a size was uncomfortably tight on my waist 2. The... Read Morey’re see through. None of that matters though because I’ll be wearing them under snow pants the whole time!

December 13, 2019

Great for Skiing

These are my 2nd pair. They are my go to Ski layer, I light the midweigth for most conditions other then spring skiing. The boot length cut is so genius I love it!

November 28, 2019

Way too big!

Why does Patagonia keep changing their sizing?! I purchased this same item 3 years ago for use as a ski patroller and I LOVED them. I wear them every day for work, and decided I needed a 2nd pair to rotate between. The fit is completely off on this new sizing. For reference, I am 5'2" 100lbs 00jeans 32A and have always worn an XS in every... Read Morething Patagonia, religiously. Holding this up to my old ones, the stretch waistband is the same length but there's almost an extra inch of fabric on either side at the hips and thighs! I put these on and they look swampy/baggy from the hips through the butt and thigh. NO THANKS. Patagonia, please stop changing your sizing so frequently! I previously tried the XXS in this new sizing and the body fit was great but waistband was way too tight so I figured my XS size was more appropriate. Not anymore. 3 stars because I love everything about this product EXCEPT for the new fit.

November 25, 2019

A little long for short

A little long for short people. And it was on the big size for me. Love the comfort and warmth of the thermal weight

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, Clarice! We're sorry to hear these pants were a bit long for you. If you'd like to return or exchange them for a different size or style, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 19, 2019

Perfect fit!

Accurate and perfect fit, comparible to most other products

November 12, 2019

Warm

Warm

November 5, 2019

Everything was perfect and the

Everything was perfect and the delivery time was so fast

March 18, 2017

Good color

I'm definitely a medium size person,5'4" 135 with an athletic build. Not only was the waist too loose,it was also too long,I had to roll them down x2 rolls. I tried to get a smaller size but they were sold out. I could have sized myself wrong??

March 5, 2017

Please bring these back!

I didn't know Patagonia made a boot-length version until it was too late and my size was gone! I would love to have some for skiing as I hate having the extra bulk of regular length in my boot,but I love the capilene pants and shirts! They are always so warm and comfortable,and fit just right.

February 21, 2017

Stretchy,warm and comfortable

Since these arrived,they've become my go-to layer for alpine and tele skiing. They're comfortable,stretchy and warm,work well with my knee pads and fit really well.

January 17, 2017

Love these!

Love the boot length. I don't want the extra layer of the pant in my ski boot,so these are the perfect thing. they are also much warmer than I assumed. I stay warm in teens/low 20s alpine skiing. they are also great under a pair of jeans for outdoor events.

January 13, 2017

Super comfy!

These thermal layer are soft,warm,and breath really well. The only thing I would note is that you can see through the ribbed layers and make out contrasting underwear,so do not feel as though these perform like other leggings that way.

January 11, 2017

JHole -14 at Base

Loved the mid calf. Kept me warm and dry in arctic conditions

January 11, 2017

Best ski LJs ever

In winter,I ski more days than I don't. Since purchasing these bottoms,I find myself reaching for them most mornings. The length is brilliant - I really don't need all that extra fabric overlapping with my ski socks or bunching up above my boots. The wide,curved waistband is super comfortable. The fabric is a bit thin for January in Briti... Read Moresh Columbia,and will be better once things warm up a bit. I've been wearing pile shorts underneath on the coldest days to keep my bum warm. Overall,an excellent piece of clothing.

November 19, 2015

Smartest pant design ever for skiing!

Whoever thought to make long underwear boot length was definitely thinking outside of the box. You're not supposed to have anything in your ski boot except your sock (ever notice how you feel the seam on the bottom of your long underwear if you do tuck them in?), so for years, I've been carefully folding up the bottom of my long underwear... Read More so as not to create discomfort when I ski (I should've really just cut the long underwear!). Problem solved.

October 31, 2015

Fit well

I have the long version of these from a few seasons ago. I wear this weight long underwear most of the season b/c my ski pants are not lined. I'm looking forward to trying the short version as I always scrunch up my long underwear when I put my skiboots on anyway. I like the addition of the elastic band around the waist. I haven't skied i... Read Moren the long underwear yet but they feel good and fit under my Fitted Corduroy Patagonia pants size 28. 135-ish lbs 5' 6" healthy/athletic sized thighs. Size Small long underwear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches