Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Lightweight Rugby Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Lightweight Rugby Shirt

4.7/5
Kinda Large
October 16, 2021

Perfect Fit / I Heart Patagonia

I was worried about short sleeves, but the fit is perfect. Top notch quality!

October 16, 2021

The fabric is legit

So this ran a bit smaller than i thought. I was considering returning it but honestly it feel so great when I have it on I decided to keep it even though it fits me like a sausage. kudos to Patagonia for making things with quality knits/fabrics. Dont forget about us larger dudes. We love your stuff but also dont want to look like a bicycle tire.

October 14, 2021

Awesome Shirt

I love this shirt and it fits super well!

October 7, 2021

Great quality and color

My son loves this shirt, great quality, the color is beautiful. Runs true to size and didnt shrink after washing.

September 11, 2021

nice shirt, well made

fits well, material is nice..

September 6, 2021

Very nice colors. High quality material.

Very nice color. High quality material. Feels soft/comfortable.

August 24, 2021

Stylish

This is the best shirt I have ever ordered from Patagonia, and currently my favorite shirt in my closet. Casual fit, super comfy, and just looks amazing. Great for a preppy casual wear at school and work.

August 22, 2021

Quality and Tradition

Traditional cut rugby shirt. Even has the rubber buttons on the neck like my real rugby jersey! Can't beat quality

September 17, 2020

Love this rugby shirt

This shirt is comfortable, not to heavy and not to light. I can wear it comfortably in summer and in winter with my Patagonia p-6 logo sweatshirt. I would definitely buy it again.

September 16, 2020

I have missed Rugby Shirts!

Yvon Chouinard brought these back from the UK years ago to climb in. Now I can see why. I used to have a ton of these in the 80s. I loved them. They disappeared. I'm glad Patagonia brought them back. They're great for anything you have in mind. I wore it yesterday since the temp finally dropped. It's super comfortable. I'm 5&#x2... Read More7;7" about 180. I got a large and it's a tad loose on me however it's perfect for what I use it for. The fabric weave is really unique too.

September 6, 2020

Evokes a world of memories.

I'm an ol' geezer now, but back in the day, I owned a few GPI ruby shirts, one of which looked similar to this one (blue). It was stiffer than the current iteration, but I really dug that shirt. When I saw this one, I hemmed and hawed about attachment, grasping, and buying another thing I really didn't need. Nonetheless, I moved on i... Read Moret, and I'm glad I did. I love this shirt! Its fit, feel, and look has truly stood the test of time.

September 6, 2020

Very nice

The shirt isnt as thick as ones I have bought before. It is a thin material with a little wavy pattern in the fabric. It did shrink a little bit in the wash. Very nice wearing shirt for a spring day.

September 4, 2020

Wish I could wear it every day

Youd think my first ever review of a piece of clothing would be a technical piece. I buy Patagonia for many reasons but mostly because I trust the quality of performance pieces for situations far from home where I want to be warm, dry, or have my gear protected. This is a casual shirt. Its cotton, so it doesnt do anything. But its still kind of gre... Read Moreat- the cotton is so soft. The colors are a little faded, looks like youve had it forever. And while Ive worn it camping, fly fishing, etc. Ive also thrown it on for work video calls and the collar keeps its shape to make it look like I didnt sleep in a tent the night before. And thats that- its a cotton rugby shirt. But it makes you excited for the next fall lineup hoping theres more in the pipeline.

July 22, 2020

Perfect as always

I'd had an older style of the Patagonia Rugby that I thrashed. I picked up a new one and It's still the same old shirt. It's like the porridge in Goldilocks, it's not too thin in the fall and it's not too hot in the summer. It's just right. And even wrinkled it's classy enough for about 90% of what I do (probably ... Read Moretoo classy for the other 10%).

July 13, 2020

Classic and timeless

Fabric is a lot lighter than most rugby shirts out there.sleeve length is perfect. A wardrobe essential. Wouldn't wear it for fishing but great for weekend casual wear and other non-intensive outdoor activities

July 10, 2020

Classic and timeless

Fabric is a lot lighter than most rugby shirts out there.sleeve length is perfect. A wardrobe essential. Wouldn't wear it for fishing but great for weekend casual wear and other non-intensive outdoor activities

June 27, 2020

Perfect!

It was a perfect fit and it is a very comfortable fabric to wear even on a hot day.

June 19, 2020

Classic comfort

I love a comfortable rugby. Throw it on after a day at the lake, or walking the dog at sunset. Fabric is comfortable and soft, yet sturdy. Fit is great: relaxed but flattering and for a shorter guy, the length is just about perfect.

May 20, 2020

Casual yet refined

I own two of these Rugby shirts and I am always impressed with the quality of the Patagonia product but the cut and finish of this product is impeccable. These shirts are perfect for fall afternoons outdoors or winter evenings around town. Just refined enough to get you noticed on casual Friday at work but also a casual fit for most social occasion... Read Mores. I am in my late forties and I am confident I will still be wearing these in my retirement years. A true versatile piece that justifies the price!

May 10, 2020

Rugby

Bought the rugby sometime ago and felt it was too large. Decided to throw in dryer, now its too small.

Response from Patagonia
May 26, 2020

Hi Nick, we're very sorry to hear about the shrinkage on the Lightweight Rugby Shirt. We'd be more than happy to return or exchange that for you. You can start your return here, [https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html].

January 11, 2020

Adam

I was surprised by how soft and comfortable the cotton sleeve and body were. The collar is stiff and holds it's shape. Great job!

December 26, 2019

Great shirt!

This is my husband’s favorite rugby shirt that he requested for Christmas. He’s had many of them over the years. They were like iron, launder well and look great.

December 19, 2019

Awesome shirt!

Comfortable, great fit, and rugby ready!

December 15, 2019

The Ruby Shirt I've Been Waiting For!

My football days are long, long past. But the allure of a great jersey always beckons. Finally Patagonia introduced this new hemp, Rugby work shirt! The hemp has a softer hand than cotten while appearing to be a thicker weave. It wears extremely well! I liked it so much when my first one arrived, I immediately ordered a second! If you are wearing i... Read Moret over a t-shirt or by itself, order down a size. If you plan on wearing it like a sweater, order your regular size. After several cold water washing with drying in an electric dryer, I have detected no shrinkage.

November 27, 2019

Anyday collared workshirt

more personality and less formal than a polo shirt. Open weave fabric provides stretch and give.

November 9, 2019

could be slightly longer

Well made shirt with a really distinctive look. My only knock on it is the length. I'm sure this would always be worn untucked and I think it needs to be a little bit longer for that reason. For reference I'm 5'9", 155 lbs and bought a small. Overall fit is great since I don't like shirts that have a lot of extra room in th... Read Moreem.

November 6, 2019

Great light shirt

Fits well, looks great, perfect for cool days if you are warm blooded

November 4, 2019

Amazing

I bought a bunch of things, They were shipped to me in 2 days and I didn't even get express shipping. All the items I bought are extremely well made and I wear them all the time. The nano puff mid-layer is the perfect amount of heat for cold days. Great stuff keep it up.

October 27, 2019

Feels and looks good. Sleeve

Feels and looks good. Sleeve length is perfect for me (short arms)

October 10, 2019

Rugby shirt

Great quality cotton and a warm but cool shirt. The model size was accurate, but did shrink just a little when drying it in the dryer. I probably wouldn’t go larger, it fits snug now

September 24, 2019

Great for work!

This is a great casual piece - so comfy, a perfect light weight, fits into lots of situations. Excited to get years of wear out of this!

September 18, 2019

Great color, comfortable but more

Great color, comfortable but more like a sweater than an old style rugby shirt. Shrunk with first washing.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you are welcome to do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

August 18, 2019

Ill fitting

Would not order again. Sizing is completely misleading and no return options.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the sizing didn't work out for you, but we are absolutely happy to help you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or exchange. You can return any items, at any time, that end up not working out for you. Please feel free to reach out and we can [assist](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) you throughout this process.

August 12, 2019

Love the rugby

Great mid later or top layer for summer evenings in the mountains. Love this thing.

August 9, 2019

Nikos

I agree with the last reviewer - excellent execution. I never had an original Patagonia rugby shirt but grew up wearing (for rugby) the local originals that I'm told inspired Patagonia while at school in the north of Scotland in the 70s. These lightweight shirts are a great update - even rugby players don't wear trad shirts for rugby anym... Read Moreore. Thanks to the Patagonia distributors in Lacanau where I just bought mine - good advice and real enthusiasm for the Patagonia values.

May 2, 2018

Excellent execution

I wore these in the 70's and this is a gorgeous re-creation. Fit is perfect,feel is fantastic. Great job,as usual,Patagonia

January 25, 2018

For night at the bars,not climbing!

So being an avid climber as well as Patagonia enthusiast not to be an "elitist" but simply due to the facts it's always functional/fashionable gear that comes from a company working for the integrity of the environmental crisis always sticking to their focal points,that being said I'm disappointing after getting into a store to ... Read Morepurchase this Rugby shirt. Assuming it'd have a nice,thick collar suitable for neck comfort (from cable harness) during climbs but no luck. Also pretty thin so leave this beauty behind on the adventures but it'll get tons of compliments for a night on the town!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches