Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Performance Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4 /5

Filter Reviews

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Performance Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

4.4
True To Size
September 15, 2020

Great fit. Love the little pocket.

This is my everyday spring/fall jacket, and I really love it. It hits the perfect place for me between warm and light for Indiana autumn. Highly recommended. ZCG1POra4jk not sure why that random set of characters just appeared; sorry! But it's a great jacket.

July 13, 2020

Great fit and nice jacket

Nice jacket. Fits slim, but that is in description

July 9, 2020

Great fit and nice jacket

Nice jacket. Fits slim, but that is in description

June 17, 2020

Very comfortable

It is super elastic, breathable and warm. I wear it almost daily in the house and outside. The one thing which happens is a bit of pilling on the fabric, which is wear and tear but would be best not to happen.

February 19, 2020

Tight fit around the arm pits

As much as I love Patagonia, I find most of the hoodies including this one run tight, especially around the arm pits. The length is fine but the tightness around the body make them quite uncomfortable and sizing up don't always work either. I wear M on the down sweater and its slightly loose, but M on this is just too tight. It's too bad ... Read Morebecause I do like the style.

January 27, 2020

More than Slim fit

A very nice weather, good warmth and style BUT it is incredibly small. You can't wear anything but a tee shirt under it. I tried a sport shirt and couldn't get my hands past the elbow area. Don't even think an XL would work and I always find L to be more than adequate.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Ken, we're sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the sizing of your Performance Better Sweater. You're more than welcome to return or exchange it for the correct fit. You can start your return/exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

December 27, 2019

Excellent

Excellent

December 23, 2019

Soft and warm

Breathable, fuzzy, and comfortable. Fit is actually slim.

December 20, 2019

Comfortable warmth with easy motion

Great fit that allows easy motion. The fit is perfect, slim enough to allow layering on top. Great for wearing by itself on a fall day, or for wearing inside jackets on those really cold days. My only gripe with this sweater is that it is somewhat of a pain to slip on top of a full hand shirt as it c'lings' to the cloth of the shirt.

December 19, 2019

love it

love it

December 18, 2019

It;s better

Great fitting jacket. Like the slim fit and would buy again. In fact, I just might.

December 7, 2019

Nice but sleeves are tight

Nice but sleeves are tight

December 2, 2019

Starting falling apart after 1 week

The cuffs on the jacket started fraying after 1 week of wear :(

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Maryna! We're sorry your jacket isn't holding up. We've emailed you a free shipping label in case you'd like to send that back to us under warranty. Thank you for your review.

November 22, 2019

better sweater jacket review

Great for a midlayer or by itself in 50-60 degree weather. Very comfortable. I am however not in favor of the patagonia slim fit style. It feels very tight across the chest and armpits when zipped up.

November 16, 2019

Breathable, but warm

This sweater is warm but also breathable, which made it the perfect choice for walking/jogging on chilly mornings. Snug fitting yet stretchable with the addition of the "racing stripes" . A great choice for those who want a sweater without overheating when taking a stroll in colder weather.

November 12, 2019

Great mid-layer

Good to have in your pack for when a summer hike turns chilly, nice slim fit for layering under a shell or puffy in the winter.

November 11, 2019

Better Sweater

Patagonia does it again! Great fitting and warm sweater jacket. Definitely recommend if you do not have one.

November 7, 2019

Good warmth for its weight

Good warmth for its weight

November 6, 2019

Great Jackets

Our office ordered 5 jackets and one of them was not in stocked. Patagonia allowed us to replace that jacket with a different one and they all came on time! Shipping was quick and the jackets were amazing! So warm, beautiful colors, and great product!

November 5, 2019

Better sweater

So far all products I have received from Patagonia are great !

November 4, 2019

Better Sweater Fit

The fit is just too snug. It can only be worn with a tee shirt and not a regular shirt. I reviewed the product description and then noticed the slim fit designation. This should be displayed more prominently. I based my size on the previous sweater I purchased.

November 4, 2019

It fits great, and it's

It fits great, and it's warmer than I expected it would be. It has a better feel than the Better Sweater.

October 31, 2019

Wool light jacket

Very tight in the armpits and around the girth. Sleeves are perfect length. XL the sleeves would be too long, but not as tight in the girth and armpits. Rins VERY small!

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Hi Jon! Thanks for your review! We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you. Please note, this style is a Slim Fit so it is intended to fit closer to the body. If you are looking for something a bit more relaxed, I would recommend checking out our [Better Sweater](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-better-sweater-fleece-jacket/25528.html?dwvar_25528_color=STH&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=better%2Bsweater&lang=en_US&start=1). You are welcome to initiate a return or exchange [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 30, 2019

Great fleece keeps you warm

Great fleece keeps you warm and still breaths well.

October 25, 2019

I bought the garment for

I bought the garment for my grandson...we are both Patagonia fans :) :) the fabric did not look like the real thing...sort of thin and the collar was all rumpled so sad...he wanted to keep it though so he's off to college with his Patagonia I would like to come back again though ??

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Thanks so much for your feedback, Nancy. A good thing to note is that since this is the Performance Better Sweater, it was designed to offer more breathability to the wearer, which is why that fabric is a bit thinner when compared to the regular Better Sweater. We're glad to hear your grandson decided to keep it, but if he changes his mind, he is welcome to [return it](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 21, 2019

GL 50

best looking sweater in my closet

October 21, 2019

Epic as Always

Disclaimer - I do work for REI but do not representing the company in anyway, I am reviewing completely independently. I love Patagonia's (Sweaters) Fleeces jackets. I've had another one for many years and they are indestructible, and no matter how many jackets I buy, and I do have a few, this jacket always becomes my 3-1/2 to 4 season ... Read Morejacket. Insistingly this version is thinner then the same older version I own, and I do feel the wind through this a bit more then my older one. I would definitely require an addition wind breaker/second layer in colder situations. I am in the Pacific NW and this is perfect for most damp and cool days we see here.

October 20, 2019

Found my Huckleberry

After two unsuccessful tries to own a Better Sweater Jacket, the Performance Better Sweater Jacket is just the right fit. Love it! It looks good and the tapering is just right for me. I’m a skinny dude. If you find the regular jacket a little bulky in the mid-section, this is your huckleberry!

October 7, 2019

Too small through the middle

Too small through the middle

Response from Patagonia
October 17, 2019

Hi Susan! We're sorry to hear about the fit. Feel free to send the jacket in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 4, 2019

Very satisfied. Only improvement might

Very satisfied. Only improvement might be to line the sleeves, but no worries.

October 3, 2019

Per usual, great product!

Fits true to size. Athletic fit. Great "sweatshirt". Warm and functional. Can wear anywhere; alone or as layer.

October 2, 2019

One annoying feature.

I really like this jacket - warm, functional, versatile. There are so many positives to describe about this jacket but other reviews have mentioned those so I will mention one design flaw that might irritate others as well. Unlike every other Patagonia jacket I own or have seen, this model lacks the zipper flaps that prevent the ends of the zipper ... Read Morefrom rubbing on your chin/neck. When unzipped the tips of the zippers, which are sharp, scratch me underneath my chin. I hope the design team sees this and corrects this. Then this would be a 5-star jacket.

September 30, 2019

Truly a better sweater

Great length on sleeves for those of us with longer arms. If you have wide shoulders/upper-back it'll be a little snug under the armpits but still very comfortable and doesn't restrict movement. Overall excellent fit.

September 19, 2019

Mid Layer

6'2". 170lbs. The chest/torso fit perfectly and the sleeves were long enough; however, the sleeves were too tight at the elbow when I bent my arms. I struggle to choose medium v. large. I intend to return this jacket, in exchange for the regular fit version, size medium.

August 31, 2019

Love our jackets

I like buying from Patagonia. It makes me feel good to buy from a company that has the environment as its priority. And I like their products. Our jackets are great and we have both already worn them. And yesterday I had a woman comment on my 3 or 4 year old crop pants and ask what brand they were. I keep all my old Patagonia gear. They each have m... Read Moreemories woven in the threads.

August 29, 2019

It's a great product with value

Fits perfectly and provides good warmth

August 29, 2019

Perfect as a mid-layer, too tight for casual jacket

Perfect as a mid-layer, too tight for casual jacket

August 15, 2019

Sweater Jacket

Great, just a little hard to take off as it clings easily to shirt et. al. underneath.

May 10, 2019

Men’s med/slim fit, I’m 5’10”, 154lbs.

I own an awesome four year old R2 jacket(sweater), the fit is right on. The body/sleeves length of my new sweater is one inch longer, otherwise, it’s great. There’s a small area of pilling on the back of the neck, I snipped it with sharp scissors. Why five star, because my wife said, I look good with it and it’s s lightweight and keeps me warm.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

We are glad to hear you are so stoked with your Performance Better Sweater Jacket! We will message you privately with some care instructions for the pilling and other warranty options just in case you need it.

May 8, 2019

Love the jacket

Good jacket for a variety of activities and for around town.

May 8, 2019

Better Sweater Hoodie

Beats the hell out of Walmart Hanes Beefy-T/Fruit of the Loom hoodies, and will outlast the lives of three comparable cotton ones.....

May 8, 2019

FINALLY...A slim fit better sweater!

I own several of the original better sweater and was always holding out hope for a more fitted version as I fall in between a MEDIUM and a LARGE. This jacket fits the bill! Love it! Love the addition of the tech fabric inserts as well.

January 28, 2019

Fits snug, but wraps you in just the right amount of warmth.

Over a t-shirt, whether it is just hanging around the house or after a workout at the pool, this jacket is just the right amount of warmth. Be warned that this piece fits snugly, but I much prefer this look than having clothing hanging off me!

January 16, 2019

Zipper issues

I love the slim fit. I love just about everything about this piece. Except the zipper becomes undone from the bottom. This has happened multiple times in the week I have owned this product. I am going to have to return it :( And I don't want to.

January 3, 2019

Should be called the "Best Sweater"

Few tops fit slim and smaller guys better than this jacket. I wear it constantly over a t-shirt or baselayer in winter. Trim fit helps trap air for more warmth, less bulk than the regular Better Sweater. (I have both.) XS sizing for 5'6" guys is most appreciated. Bummer there aren't many/any colours to choose from or I'd get an... Read Moreother.

January 1, 2019

Perfect fit

It is very fitted piece of warm and comfy jacket. I am nearly 6”1, 150lb. I can dress under 2 layers and this one on top of it. For me perfect fit. It is warm, allowing me to move and keeps me warm. Love You Patagonia....

September 26, 2018

It’s definitely a Slim Fit !!

I’m 5’ 10” 155 pounds and I feel it’s too close fitting. Fine over a short sleeve or close fitting long sleeve, but too snug for anything else. It really depends on how you want to use it. It wasn’t flexible enough for me. Quality is super!

March 12, 2018

Not Bad

I just received it and it is a great jacket. I can see where ppl find it constrictive though. It hugs you and is warm where I want just a touch more of a loose fit for airflow. I like to wear these types over plaid shirts at the office but it might be a bit warm for that. I am a regular fit though and for a slim fit,it fits perfectly.

January 25, 2018

nice fabric TERRIBLE ZIPPERS

I have four of these sweaters over the years and have paid to have the Zippers replaced. Low bid cheap zippers,open at the bottom of the sweater. For the cost of these sweaters they should have better zippers.

January 6, 2018

A "Must Have for Any Adventurer

A classic sweater/jacket that travels well in the late fall,winter,and early spring. Looks good regardless of whether you are drinking from a nalgene,titanium cup,a pint glass,or a wine flute. It is always ready to get on the trail,the train or the plane. Your boarding pass and passport or map and compass will claim the zippered chest pocket as hom... Read Moree and might get company from your mobile phone if that is not in one of the hand zip pockets. A large fits a 5ft 11 190 pound runner/hiker/wanderer like a soft warm hug from the girl he can't get enough of. Can't make your mind up on color? I say go with black and never look back.

November 6, 2017

Fit was strange

I bought this with high hopes of a great new fleece. Unfortunately,the fit of this is very strange. The entire fleece had a small body section but the sleeves were rather baggy and long and not really slim fit in the arms as it states on the website of being a slim fitted piece. Since I was looking for something more slim fitted all around,I will b... Read Moree returning this piece and will look elsewhere. That being said,when I tried it on,it was extremely warm and soft.

July 15, 2017

Perfect Fit!

I'm very happy with this fleece. I'm about 6' tall,155 lbs,with long arms,and the medium fits me perfectly. It's warm,it's comfortable,and it's easy put on and take off. It looks nice too. It's great for layering and on its own. Highly recommend.

May 29, 2017

Great fit

Great jacket. Fits very well,not too baggy. Also bought regular better sweater in same color - very different,both for different outfits/activities. Worth buying both.

May 15, 2017

Perfect spring jacket

I got this for my husband because of the packer colors. He has worn almost everyday. It's comfy and light.

May 14, 2017

Great fit

I'm 6 feet tall,145 pounds and a lifelong swimmer. Clothes simply do not fit me. Except this. Cheers to Patagonia for being one of the very few companies willing to mass produce clothes for people with truly athletic builds (long arms,broad shoulders,narrow waist). Never change.

May 6, 2017

too small

For an XXL it was just too small,so I returned it last week. Too snug and constrictive. Had it been proper size I would have loved it.

April 22, 2017

Awesome

This is exactly what I was looking for. It fits perfectly and will function as my only layer on cool and some cold days.

January 11, 2017

Great jacket!

Comfortable,warm,and athletic friendly! I use this jacket casually,for hiking,backpacking,and skiing!

December 4, 2016

Best of the Better Sweaters Yet

Bought 2 different colors right away. The lighter sweater material is the perfect weight. The slim fit means I can finally wear one of these - always wanted one,but the regular one is too huge to wear. The stretch material makes it more comfortable,and to top it off,it actually means there's no pilling problem because the sweater material does... Read Moren't rub against itself on the arms and sides. Call the other one the Better Sweater and this one the Best Sweater. Don't change anything. For the loyal Patagonia people like me,buy as many as you can before they change it.

October 18, 2016

Nice alternative to the previous better sweater

I really like this new version,it is thinner and cooler. It also looks less bulky. The sizing is definitely changed. I am 6' and 175 lbs. I usually wear medium jackets but needed the large for perf better seater.

October 15, 2016

Awesome Design

I just got this jacket. It looks great. One thing for sure is that it runs a lot slimmer than most other patagonia jackets. If you like your jackets on the roomier side I would definitely go a size up.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches