burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Lightweight Better Sweater® Shelled Fleece Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Lightweight Better Sweater® Shelled Fleece Jacket

4.3/5
True To Size
December 24, 2022

Cute Jacket

I work from home and needed something cute but casual for last minute video meetings. This was it for me! Its perfect with jeans or leggings. It keeps me warm while at my desk. Material is great. I got mine on sale so its worth the sale price. Not very firm fitting but good jacket for being at home or a hike.

November 7, 2022

Love it ! True to ur size

My first time buying this brand, got the gray and peach color , on a Medium an it fits perfectly, Im 140lb , 5'4" , 34DD. usually a Mediums on North Face if it helps .

November 3, 2022

Originally, I ordered size Small,

Originally, I ordered size Small, which was tight. Request exchange for next size up (Medium) which fits perfectly. The exchange process was easy and hassle-free. Received the replacement jacket within days!

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2022

We appreciate your feedback! Note that if you ever need more than what our online processes offer, we recommend you reach out to the [Patagonia-owned retail store locations](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/) across your region. They can also help with repairs, returns and product information. Thanks so much for your review!

October 31, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Very nice quality, warm, and comfortable! Only thing I would change is have it slightly longer for my tall torso.

October 25, 2022

Super cozy; perfect jacket

Got this as a gift. Love the fit, which is really cozy. The sweater jacket seems so rich, if thats the word in terms of that feeling. The shell keeps away the light rain and the fleecy part keeps me warm.

October 19, 2022

Comfy and fashionable

Love the fit of this zip up, I was worried a medium would be snug because I have a busty chest but it fits perfectly. The color is also stunning.

October 16, 2022

Great jacket

Great jacket. Warm and breathable. Easy exchange/returns; I originally ordered a medium but it was a little snug. Was able to exchange if for a large quick and easy. Love the color combo ( terracotta/oat colors)

October 15, 2022

Odd fit

Odd fit with very tight chest and armpits. Shelled portion makes it hard to move arms freely. Otherwise fabric is nice. Wanted to like it but just couldnt imagine being comfortable in it. Sending back.

Response from Patagonia
October 17, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Anna! We also want to extend our sincerest apologies that this purchase led to a return. If you have any questions or concerns in regards to making a return, please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*3md0lm*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY2NjA0NDA5OS4xMTIuMS4xNjY2MDQ0MTAzLjAuMC4w) and we will be more than happy to help!

October 6, 2022

Great Fall Jacket

Super comfy and cozy. Great fall coat and fits well over sweaters.

September 27, 2022

Lightweight, But Warm Enough

I like the weight of the jacket, it's been perfect with just a tee shirt under it for the 45 degree mornings we've been having lately-- plus, usable pockets :) Score!

September 21, 2022

Great blue/purple color terrible fit

I own 2 1/4 zip better sweaters and thought this version with the full zip will fit me well. Unfortunately it fits like a big cylinder, very loose at the hips. The 2 front pockets are actually side pockets as they are placed in a very weird spot at the side seams. When you put your hands in the pockets, the jacket looks even baggier. The color is g... Read Morereat though, so maybe the jacket can be a good fit for some body types (with wider hips)

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Veneta. We're so sorry to hear that fit wasn't good on you! We're glad to see you've returned it. Please let us know if we can help you pick out something to replace it!

August 24, 2022

Bunching at armpits

Love the tone on tone grey but the way this jacket is constructed means there is bunching at the armpits. I had to size up for this reason. For some reason the sleeves are constructed so they are at a 90 degree angle to the body, instead of 45 degrees like most jackets. Wish Patagonia would fit test clothes before mass producing. Debating whether t... Read Moreo keep or not as I do like the color.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Patty. We're sorry to hear the design of these sleeves may not be working for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us. If you ever decide you don't want to keep it, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know any way we can help!

April 25, 2022

Perfect Snuggly Jacket for Cool Days

My new favorite. Even if the weather is about to turn too warm to wear it again until November.

April 21, 2022

Super Boxy

This jacket is not like the Better Sweater. They were sold out of the color I ordered. So I went ahead and tried out this version. It is a lot more boxy than anticipated. Its also very annoying that it doesnt have a zipper pocket in the shoulder. Due to that I will stick to the classic Better Sweater from now on.

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2022

Hey Eva, we're sorry to hear of your disappointment with this product. We'd like to mention some features on our website to help you better navigate in the future and give you an idea of fit. All of our items come in either form-fitting, slim, regular, or relaxed fits. You can check the fit on any item by going to it's product page and checking underneath the size range options. The original Better Sweater Jacket is a slim fit, and this one is a regular fit. As always, if you're not satisfied with your purchase, you're welcome to begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 5, 2022

Love The Color

Slightly large, the way I like it ! Excellent product that I know will last and last. Perfect for long walks with the dog.

March 29, 2022

I like it.

I like it very much. But the regular better sweater is better. This one is great but it lacks the shoulder pocket. And its a bit less fitted and although the inside of the pockets is soft the fabric is not as soft as on the better sweater. But it is very cozy and nice

February 18, 2022

Stylish, Warm, Perfect For Layering

This is one of my go-to zip ups for days I'm on campus, in clinical, and putting around the house getting stuff done. I also wear it fishing/snowboarding as a nice added layer that keeps you warm when you're in the lodge or car having a beer break.

December 30, 2021

Easy to love

Love this mix of fleece and windbreaker

December 27, 2021

Favorite Everyday Zip Up

This is my go to everyday zip up. Looks great with jeans, yoga, or climbing pants and is warm enough to layer for days in the powder.

September 21, 2021

Super Nice

Nice jacket, runs a tad bit small but overall it is exactly what I was looking for.

August 17, 2021

Looks better online than in person

In concept, this jacket looked awesome - I loved the color, the combination of the shell and the fleece, and the full zip-up. When I received it in the mail, I saw what others meant about it looking "boxy". I also felt like the jacket looked old. I plan on returning it soon.

August 4, 2021

Out Out

As a petite person, finding the right fit from Patagonia can be challenging. This jacket was a score! The jacket is slightly shorter than usual so the length is great for my petite frame. My usual S fits me without feeling too snug.

July 28, 2021

Love the style

It is a great jacket for a cool.day and feels really comfortable.

April 15, 2021

Super warm!

I love this jacket! Its made well, washes nicely and is super warm! Perfect for spring hiking and staying warm when a down layer isnt needed! 5 stars.

March 22, 2021

Perfect extra warm layer for colder ski days

I specifically purchased this for super warm 2nd or 3rd layer on those framing ski days. Fits great on my petite frame, including the sleeves. I will also wear in on cool days by itself.

March 10, 2021

Great fit

i first ordered a Medium size, and have to exchange it with a Small size, which was really easy and a quick process, and it is a perfect fit for me, thanks Patagonia team. Happy customer.

February 28, 2021

Perfect fit IMO if you size up!

Im in between sizes and I sized up to M. It has the perfect fit & cut in my opinion. Im 57 and it hits at the top of my hips. Very flattering and looks expensive : great quality. My husband tells me he loves the sweater every time I wear it.

February 28, 2021

A Gem

Saw this in the store, tried it on, loved it, but had to wait for a sale! Thankfully that day had arrived. Beautiful colors go well with my blonde hair. (I got the pumice one).

January 26, 2021

Super warm and super fitting

This jacket is amazing pockets are in the perfect areas for my hands and material is breathable.

November 21, 2020

Perfect!

I love this jacket & receive so many compliments! Im 54 and wear a small. It fits true to size. Its my go to jacket when I run a quick errand.

November 17, 2020

Weird Fit

The fit is weird between the arms and chest. The arms are small too. They don't reach the wrists completely. It feels loose at the torso and tight at the same time restricting proper arm movement. Disappointed.

June 2, 2020

Love

I sometimes struggle with Pategonia tops because Im smaller on top and am bigger on bottom (wide hips) and feel that Im between a medium and large but the medium in this one is perfect. Love that its a bit of a shorter cut - very modern. More beautiful in person for sure!

April 20, 2020

Weird fit

I was so excited to try this one on because of the cute colors! However, the fit just did not work for me. I am a petite person and the XS was too big and boxy in the torso. It also hit me at a weird spot around my neck. Would love to see a slimmer version.

April 4, 2020

Love the jacket, but runs small

I love, love, love this jacket!! It's perfect for a spring jacket. The only thing is, it runs small. I would recommend this jacket but would recommend a size up from your normal size.

March 10, 2020

Weird fit

Love the style of this jacket and the material is so comfortable. The sizing was very odd, however. Very baggy throughout torso, and very short sleeves.

February 20, 2020

Does not fit like better sweater

I loved the color of this jacket, and hoped that it would be a sturdier version of the better sweater. However, comparing M to M, this piece is shorter (hem and sleeves) and boxier, almost like a boxer jacket. Being tall, this does not work for me. For someone shorter, could be cute.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2020

Hi Annay, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches