Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Primo Puff Ski/Snowboard Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Primo Puff Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
September 1, 2021

Not Quite

Described as "Our Warmest Jacket" on the product page, I expected a lot. While it has some great features, it's missing some of the warmth I've come to expect from my previous Patagonia parkas. It is not equivalent to a jacket with 800 fill power down. This product isn't bad, but the lack of warmth and loft relegate this ja... Read Morecket to more of a middleweight performer rather than a heavy weight that can handle everything that mother nature has to throw at it.

August 23, 2021

Perfect fit.

Waiting for winter to arrive to use this bad boy in the mountains. I purchased this item for a back up for those super cold days. All I can say know it fits perfect, super comfortable and cozy. I'm 6'0, 215lb with bigger broader shoulders and the regular fit XL fits perfect.

August 10, 2021

Cant wait for snow

I got the jacket this summer on sale and have only tried it on. I cant wait to give it a test this winter. Seems to be built well and warm

May 28, 2021

too big

i have ordered l size it is too large. i am afraid if i get M size maybe too tight. i do not know how i can choice regular M and L size , maybe in the future L slim is better.

April 9, 2021

Great Jacket

Excellent jacket. Only wish it had a removable hood and came in more normal colors only had black and smurf blue when I ordered.

April 8, 2021

Incredible jacket

Jacket is phenomenal. I tend to wear a Large in just about everything, but the L jacket I ordered was easily a typical XL (even taking layers into consideration). Medium fit well. My only complaint is the lack of jacket colors. When I ordered only smurf blue and black were offered. Also wish this jacket had a removable hood for around town use.

April 5, 2021

Built To Last

I am very pleased with my purchase. This jacket is substantial in every way and the Andes Blue is very sharp! As a ski instructor in the northeast I need a jacket (when free-skiing) that can stand up to the cold temps, and the ever-changing weather. This jacket does not disappoint. It keeps me very warm, has all the right pockets, and the hood fits... Read More nicely over my helmet when needed. I would not hesitate to recommend!

March 26, 2021

Really Nice

My wife was looking for a present for my birthday and I needed a casual, yet good looking outer jacket for all around use. This was perfect. Loved it the minute I tried it on.

March 21, 2021

Primo Jacket

This is my first Patagonia jacket. I am a ski instructor and I have to be out in various conditions... Including rain. I needed a good Gore-Tex jacket for my time on the snow. I looked at all the brands and all the styles and talked to lots of people and did a ton of homework. Lots of skiers like the Gore-Tex shell type jackets like the Powder Bowl... Read More, Untracked, and PowSlayer. The consensus seemed to be wear a shell plus personal base layers for warmth. I was turned away from the Primo Puff with the fear that it would be too warm. I know that's strange to say in a ski jacket... But, I was wrong... I went into the Pittsburgh store to try on some jackets. Once I picked up the Primo Puff I knew it was the jacket for me. I was impressed how light this jacket is with just the right amount of insulation for warmth and comfort. This is a super Gore-Tex jacket for PA skiing. I couldn't be more pleased with the style, color (Andes Blue is sharp), and comfort. Being 6'3" tall the large fit me perfectly in the arms with some room for base layers in the body and just the right mid butt length. Plus, the price was right with the end of season sales. Don't be afraid of the price or insulation of this jacket... I give it 2 thumbs up and look forward to many years of skiing bliss with this Patagonia Primo Puff!

March 8, 2021

Great Jacket

I have eyeballed various versions of this jacket for several years. Despite already owning a quite serviceable down ski jacket, I finally took the plunge on it this year and I'm glad I did. It's warm, well made, comfortable, has great features. I really like all the pockets. The water repellency has been excellent. The hand warmer pockets... Read More are felted and comfortable to the bare hand. The pit zips vent well, although not easy to pull, but that's the nature of a zipper meant to keep the elements out. I like that much of the material is recycled. I have one complaint (and in my experience this is true of all the Patagonia jackets that I own) in order for me to find a jacket that fits my shoulders, I end up with sleeves that are too long. Not a huge deal, especially with this jacket as I normally have gloves on while wearing it. My wife is now considering getting one, too, but is confused why the women's version costs the same, but has 1 less pocket.

February 24, 2021

Warmest jacket Ive ever owned

Ive owned many winter jackets over the years and the primo puff is by far the first one that checks all of the boxes. Warmest by far with all of the bells and whistles youd want from a technical winter jacket.

February 22, 2021

Perfect

I have owned this jacket for 3 years now and I cant say enough good things about it. I know this is designed for skiing as its main use but I use it for cycling among other uses, and its perfect. The hood expands to cover my cycling helmet and it keeps me warm without the need for multiple layers. One feature that I have extensively abused is the u... Read Morese under heavy rains. It has kept me dry in conditions that I would have expected some failures. Very well built. Heavy snow is easily kept at bay with the multiple pull tabs to adjust fit around the head and waist. I never use any other jacket anymore, excellent.

February 16, 2021

Performs as advertised.

If you wake up one day and find youre old, and a little weary of layering, this jacket is the goods.

February 14, 2021

Disappointed

Based on other reviews and price I thought this would be a great, warm ski jacket. I didn't get try it out until this winter due to all the ski areas closing last spring. I was cold skiing in it with 2 base layers underneath including a thick poly fleece. Now I will have to add an insulated vest to stay warm when using this jacket skiing, but ... Read Moreit won't be from Patagonia.

February 1, 2021

One of the best jackets I have

I live in Alaska and I had a lot of fieldwork at night time this winter. I bought this jacket after reading several positive reviews as I don't like too many layers. This jacket is very warm. I wear it over a sweater while going out at night (in minus temperatures). For any positive temperature, I wear it over a T-shirt. The only negative is t... Read Morehe size. The medium size fits tight for me, and the large is a bit too loose.

January 11, 2021

All the compliments

I got this jacket at the beginning of December 2020 and have primarily worn it for resort skiing in Utah. It's been an amazing jackets for skiing in the Wasatch when days start in the single digits but warm up to the upper 20's/low 30's F. I got the Andes blue colorway and I've gotten a ton of compliments on it! Functionally spe... Read Moreaking, the pit zips are great for dumping heat, zipper pulls are long enough but not ridiculous, and there are plenty of pockets with room for all my stuff. Also love the forearm pass pocket to keep my RFID pass away from everything else. Only way to improve this jacket would be to add wrist gaiters to keep it down over my gloves since I take them on and off on the lift to check my phone, but the arm holes are big enough so it's not a big deal.

January 5, 2021

Easily best ski jacket I've ever had..and I've been at it for a while..

Great jacket! So warm you can just wear a light sweater skiing under most circumstances. Can't go wrong with this.

December 29, 2020

Great, Great Jacket for winter/skiing

I was looking for a warmer ski coat that could "do it all" for me in the winter. Frankly, i was tired of layering so much with a shell and decided to invest in a one-stop-shop jacket - something for skiing and wearing casually in the winter in the Northeast. This jacket is so warm, but also has great pit vents to cool things off if needed... Read More. A long sleeve under this jacket is all I need for skiing. It is also really light weight despite being super warm. The pockets are great and plentiful. I am picky about hand pockets and do NOT like when they are super low down on the coat. The pockets on this jacket are perfect and allow your arms to rest (at around the bottom of rib cage) without feeling like they are on your hips. The hood works with a helmet on or off. Ive had jackets before that have "helmet compatible" hoods, but when you are not wear a helmet the hood is so big it covers your eyes. Not the case here. I really can't think of a negative here. Maybe, just maybe, if the jacket had a cuff on the sleeve with a thumb hole (whatever you call that feature) would be one more "feature" but definitely not necessary. The blue color is also really nice and not quite as bright as it appears in the pictures. Another great product from Patagonia that i hope to have for a long time.

December 9, 2020

Great For Winter/Early Spring in the North East

Bought it before COVID and thought it would be great apparel while waiting for the Boston commute outdoor in the winter. Notwithstanding not being as bulky as your regular down jacket, the synthetic warm puff provides enough insulation to keep the cold out. The hood is awesome! Even though it's not removable, it creates a good wrap around your... Read More entire head and stays where it is when you have your zipper all the way up. This was an essential feature for me because you don't want to expose your hand in the cold to hold the hood in order to prevent it from being blown away. I felt warm wearing it around the city even in the 30s, and I only had a short sleeve and one undergarment underneath, which shows you how versatile this jacket can be. I loved Patagonia's sizing! As someone of Asian descent, it's tough to find something that is close to the "slim fit" category. So I have done a lot of research on the aesthetics aspect of different brands. The one from the "northern NA hemisphere" has great looking down jackets with a longer cut, but the slimmest they get is size Small. Most other European brands also run to size Small only. But somehow Patagonia finds itself a niche market (or my preference!) for people with smaller struct who prefer winter clothes to be a little snug. So if you are in my category, you should downsize 1 size for the regular fit Patagonia cut (so XS instead of S if you normally wear S). But if the line is slim fit, then just order what you normally wear. I have bought 5 articles from Patagonia and they all follow this rule. Trust me, you don't want to waste time figuring things out when there is a sale going on. By the time you run out and try out for the correct size in the store, the item will most likely be OOS. Oh yea, I love the color that Patagonia offers! I had the red Primo Puff but looks like it was only a seasonal color. This jacket is a bit pricy comparing with the others. However, consider this as a long term investment because most stuff from Patagonia last for a while! Enjoy!

December 3, 2020

very warm

I have school outside because of Covid and this jacket has been a life saver.

November 15, 2020

Its probably me

I got this for Chicago winters and while its warm and fits well (although a little boxy and hood is large, since its made to fit helmets) I had to exchange my jacket for a newer version due to one of the hood cinches constantly coming loose. Unfortunately, the new model had the same problem, except with both hood cinches. Maybe this wouldnt be as... Read More much of an issue if you use this jacket just for skiing and wear a helmet with the hood, but for me, it wasnt cutting it in daily use. I ended up exchanging this for a Frozen Range 3-in-1 and that jacket has been excellent so far.

January 15, 2020

Best Warm Parka Yet From Patagonia

This is my 5th warm ski parka from Patagonia starting from 2008 . I live and ski in my parkas 4-5 months a year in Steamboat . The previous 4 were very good but each had its issues . Issues all resolved with this 2019-20 Primo Puff . The zipper is finally robust and does not jam or pull apart . The storm flap over the zipper does not catch . The ho... Read Moreod/collar work great in storms . The jacket is warmer then predecessors . There are 2 vest pockets which is super functional . The bottom hem circumference is just a little bigger so easier to manage layers and you don't pop the zipper when sitting down . I am 5'6" and 164 lbs , fit is fine for layers and maybe a touch long on me but that is just fine on chairs or in storms . Love it !

January 6, 2020

Love this jacket?

In my 57 years of New England weather I have had many different jackets. This is, without a doubt, the best I have owned. It keeps me dry in inclement weather and warm whether skiing or attending a cold weather Patriots game. I really don’t know how it all works, but the jacket seems to modulate my body heat. For example, if I wear the jacket insid... Read Moree for any significant time, like walking around Boston City Hall or a courthouse doing business, I don’t overheat. If I am outside in 15 degree weather, I am not cold. A strong wind will not penetrate the shell. It looks good in a sport setting like skiing and in a business setting with a suit under it. Don’t let the price scare you away, it really is worth it.

November 22, 2019

Comfortable and warm

Amazing product that is very warm. The jacket fits true to size. Whatever size you wear in a Patagonia fleece is the size that you should order for this jacket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches