Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

4.58 /5

Filter Reviews

All 19 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

4.58
True To Size
September 1, 2020

Great Fit

Fits really well and stretchy! very comfortable and warm suit.

June 17, 2020

The best wetsuit I've owned period.

The best wetsuit I've owned period. Does not take in water. I am toasty up in the Central Coast of CA where water is cold. The stretch in this suit is great. The only thing I'm not crazy about os chest zip. A little hard to zip at first because of the angle. Other than that great warm suit..

June 17, 2020

Comfortable and warm

Live where the water is an average temp of 50° this suit is perfect for surfing for hours without getting too cold or warm.

June 17, 2020

Comfortable and warm.

I have a R4 and the R3, hood is too big for my pinhead. Overall I'm very satisfied. I hope to get my R2 back from a retaping.

May 29, 2020

Great suit

Finding a quality suit that not only fits well, but can stand the abuses of everyday wear and keep me warm for more than a year has been a long journey. Not all wetsuits are created equally. While Patagonias first wetsuits were on the stiff side, they have come along way. I am 62 and 180 lbs. and the MT fits like a glove. With other brands I have e... Read Morexperienced ill fitting hoods that allow water to flush, not with this suit. Very flexible and has not broken down yet. My only complaint would be that with the size I am wearing, I have had the butt/crotch seam tear a little after a couple months of use. My next suit, I will try a size up and see if that solves the problem. Great suit for water temps in the 50-55F range. Thanks Patagonia for all your quality gear.

April 2, 2020

Warmth continues to impress...

I have used this suit 4 x's in the last month in ~40o air / ~42o water. The fit does seem to loosen up after a few uses as the suit is snug in the shoulders for me. What has been impressive is the fact that I am using an R3 in these temperatures.

March 16, 2020

Great Suit

I recently purchased this suit - R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit (size MT) - and I am very please with it. We had waves here in New England on Friday, 13-MAR and after trying this suit on I was concerned about the room in the shoulders so I decide to use my 2015 pre-Yulex Patagonia R4 (also a size MT). Air temps were in the low 50's w... Read Moreith wind and water temp was ~42o. After 5 years this suit does not disapoint. Two days later I decided to try the new R3. Air temp low 40's with a 42o water temp. I went for a flat water paddle with my 12'6" SUP and I was comfortably warm. I also swam and found the R3 suit

November 30, 2019

Decent suit letdown by durability and design issues

Picked up one of these after having the first gen wool lined suit for a LONG time. Opted for another Patagonia after that longevity, plus they are one of the few companies that make a tall that is actually for taller folks (O'neills are great too). Those wool ones were anchors when wet, the new one feels like amazing when worn back to back, bo... Read Moreth in terms of weight (both dry and wet) and flexibility. Out yesterday in fairly cold temps (air 28 at the start, water high 40s) and was surprisingly warm. HOWEVER, noticed that without the internal gasket the old suit had I would get cold water flushing through the left shoulder side, where the hood isn't connected to the body. Also noticed that the top face fabric is coming disconnected from the neoprene below after only three uses.

November 10, 2019

First wet suit owned, satisfied

Given I haven't owned any other wet suits, I'm not sure if it fits as it should or if it is kinda small. It's definitely tight, but I think that's how you want it. Surfed 3 times between Santa Cruz and San Francisco. So far, haven't been at all cold. Tried to by the Yulex 4, but between deciding and adding to cart, the pro... Read Moreduct was no longer available. Got the Yulex 3 and don't have any complaints.

November 5, 2019

Warmmmmmm

My husband has worn this wetsuit a few times now. It was a little tight to start but has already loosened up and starting to fit true to size. With northern CA chilly waters he says it’s incredibly warm!! He mentioned the seams were very well designed, it’s comfortable, most definitely warm, and seems as though it’ll last a very very long time. Def... Read Moreinitely worth the price. He’s 6’1” and wears an XL in most wetsuit brands and this stayed true with the Patagonia sizing.

October 31, 2019

It didn't work for me

I found the suit really too stiff. Also, the zipper is backwards--You need to line up the zipper ends to get it started, which is awkward when it's just below your chin. Most other suits do it the opposite way, where the zip is already joined and you just pull it closed. Mostly, my problem was the stiffness--especially considering how flexible... Read More most modern wet-suits are now. I sent it back.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

Hi David! Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear this wetsuit did not work out for you. If you have any questions regarding your return, please don't hesitate to [Contact Us](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact%20us).

October 21, 2019

Improved since a few years ago

This is my second patagonia suit and I love these things / will continue to buy them as long as they make 'em....also looks like they've made some noticeable improvements in seam strength as well as the way the inside of the suit feels comfort-wise. Good stuff as always.

May 8, 2019

Warmest wetsuit I have had, pleasantly surprised!

I have been surfing in Northern California for over 35 years and have had a lot of wetsuits in that time. This suit is by far the warmest I’ve owned. To be honest I was a bit skeptical about Patagonia wetsuits, the word in the water was stiff, heavy, and expensive. It is slightly bulkier than a normal 4/3mm suit but, lets be fair it is slightly thi... Read Morecker. As for it being “stiff” mine is very flexible and the fit is great, Especially in the hood. Patagonia is not the cheapest gear. That being said, this suit like every piece of Patagonia gear I own is well thought out and built to do it’s job and keep doing it. That to me is priceless…...

February 12, 2019

LS R3

amazing!!!! I forgot how warm the R3 is. I surf R2 every day but I decided to change because was a cold and ugly morning, best idea. I was so warm and the new wetsuits are so much flexible and stretchy.

September 6, 2018

Flexible, buttery and warm

This wetsuit does not feel like you are wearing a 4.5 x 3.5 suit. It feels more like a 3mil suit. Really comfortable getting in and out of and super easy to pull on and off of the shoulders. The hood fits comfortably, the way it should. The draw string on the hood isn't a hinderance at all, and it does the job its supposed to do without being ... Read Morea bother to the face. The overall warmth of this wetsuit is incredible, as I often find myself pulling down the hood to cool off in between waves.

August 29, 2018

Hubert

I bought this suit to use to explore Alaskan coastal waters via paddle board and to snorkel. Unless it's cold and rainy it's too hot to paddle in. It's very warm for snorkeling in 50 deg water. Great fit. No issues so far.

August 8, 2018

Major Improvements

Basically I needed the buddy system if I wanted to go surf last year. This years suits are hands down the best suit I have used. I have wore a lot of the other major brands, the new rubber feel very comparable to other brands. The R3 is warm, stretchy, true to size and dries relatively quick. The hood is very easy for me to put on and off during th... Read Moreose long paddles out, or in-between sets. After about 6 months of heavy use, it still has that same stretch and is extremely warm.

August 8, 2018

Got my new R3!

Well my last suit worked great and lasted a long time, so when I heard the newest R3 was even stretchier I was eager to try. And sure enough, the rubber stretches easier and fits like a glove. I am a straight medium and the fit is great. I love the built in hood and front zip combo; seems to work the best for me when your powering lots of duck dive... Read Mores. I'm skinny and get cold easily and have used an R4 also when the water is freezing, but this suit is probably the best for all around winter surf. Also the hood is comfortable when you want to pop it down around the neck so that's a big plus. I can't wait for next winter- bring it on!

August 4, 2018

This Is A FURNACE

If you live north of Santa Cruz, this is the one suit you need. I've lived and surfed everywhere from Alaska to the North East, worn everything from the old XCEL Infiniti suits when they first came out and crappy old back zips. This suit is stretchy for mobility, won't flush, and and way warmer than the competitors 4/3. I wear it primaril... Read Morey to surf in SF and North, but it would be the best suit you can get for Oregon, Washington, and Canada year round too. DURABILITY IS NOT AN ISSUE. After a year it's still just as warm as it was when I first got it, and just as stretchy.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches