Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Macro Puff® Hoody

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Macro Puff® Hoody

4.4/5
August 27, 2021

Comfy and Warm

This jacket is super light and warm. Great under vortex. I normally get a XL in patagonia for room in the shoulders, and to allow layers. Would get a Large in this jacket ( 6' and 205# ). Still very happy

August 27, 2021

Super warm mid layer under Gortex

This jacket is so light, and fits like a warm blanket layer. Excellent pockets, warmth around your neck and core. I usually get an XL in Patagonia to allow for a vest or layer. Would recommend going to a Large for 6'. 205 #. Would have plenty of mobility and fit a bit closer to body. I am still very happy.

August 25, 2021

Great Medium Fit

Really happy about the fit with this puffy. I'm 6'1 and 165lbs and a medium fits great. Usually Patagonia M's are to short in the length and sleeves, and the larges fit like trash bags. But this jacket is perfect fit- to layer over some fleece or wear by itself. Fit it more like a belay parka. Love it for high mountain backpacking an... Read Mored always carry it in my ski touring pack.

August 23, 2021

Odd sizing

I think the coat was fine but my dissatisfaction is with the sizing and with most of Patagonias sizing. The size large will fit someone 62 weighing 220# but the medium fits someone 510 weighing 160#. Their tee shirts fit similarly, so while I have several older Patagonia garments, I at 6 tall weighing 180, will not be buying anymore Patagonia items... Read More simply because of their sizing.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Hello George, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on the sizing. We are sorry that the garment did not work out and are sorry to lose you. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any Patagonia item if it does not meet your satisfaction. For what it is worth, we are happy to provide any garment measurements so you have a reference before making a purchase.

July 6, 2021

More for back to base than out on the trail

Perhaps more suitable for destinations than active duty, keeping it handy for meal breaks and post-hike because I like to hike cold and this thing is seriously warm and fits large. So large I could seriously consider this replacing a sleeping bag to go ultralight but haha my gear addiction and hut game will rule and Ill end up getting a quilt too.

June 18, 2021

Used for SAR as emergency puffy

I needed a puffy to use on SAR missions here in the Pac NW so I opted for the synthetic approach. This does mean a bit more bulk in the pack, but the coats warmth to weight is pretty good. The sleeves are long and it is sized a little generously. But not terribly so. Its best as a jacket to throw on after stopping versus trying to wear it while mov... Read Moreing (too warm). If you are between sizes, it might be wise to size down for a tighter fit.

April 14, 2021

Octopus arms

The Good: The hood is well designed and fits well over a helmet and over a hat. It is light and slightly warmer than a down sweater. The internal drop pockets fit skins well. The bad: The elastics on the cuffs and the top of the drop pockets aren't very stretchy. This makes the cuffs very large. The sleeves are longer than I would like and th... Read Moree loose cuffs allows them to hang low. Fit: I'm 6'1" 215 and built like a raft guide. XL usually fits me well. This a boxy fit. The shoulders fit me well but there is a lot of extra fabric in the gut.

April 10, 2021

Like a warm, all day hug.

Fishing has never been more comfortable on chilly days. Looks and feels great!

April 3, 2021

Great and super warm for the weight.

I am shocked at warm this jacket is for how light it is. it feels like literally nothing and its as warm as 4 oz of down. i am a huge fan!

March 29, 2021

Sleeves and cuffs too big.

I ordered a large based on chest measurements. It was huge. I exchanged for a medium. The medium fit well though out the chest and shoulders, but the sleeves were too long and the cuffs are way too big to hold the coat above your hand or seal out the cold. It's fit differs from my 6 other medium and large Patagonia coats/jackets. Great weight ... Read More, warmth and hood fit. 5'10" 169 44 in chest 31 waist. I'm trying the DAS next.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

We're so sorry to hear the sizing of the Macro Puff Hoody was inconsistent for you! We'd definitely recommend trying out the [DAS Light Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-das-light-hoody/85300.html?dwvar_85300_color=ANDB&cgid=root) for your hiking and belay hoody needs. It's also regular fit but the silhouette is a tad more sleek than the Macro Puff. Give us a call at 800-638-6464 or chat with us online if you would like help determining your size or an alternative jacket altogether.

March 22, 2021

Not as warm as promised, but still solid

The MacroPuff is billed as a down alternative, but don't let that deceive you: this is not as puffy or as warm as down. In fact, I find the "puff" moniker inaccurate. This coat lacks any of the loftiness of down. If you're expecting a big, lofty puffer, you'll be disappointed. That said, if you live someplace damp - such as... Read More SE Alaska - this is still a useful piece. It's warm enough for most days here, and the fact that it holds its warmth when damp is a plus. The jacket runs large, but this is fine if you're planning to layer beneath it. I enjoy the slightly boxy fit - it provides good coverage over your hips and stays in place when you're active, whether climbing or skiing. The construction is, as always with Patagonia, top notch. It's well-made, and it's attractive, and it has thoughtful features, like the interior drop pockets. I like this coat, it just feels a bit underwhelming for what it's claimed to be. I bought it expecting a serious cold weather piece that I could potentially take into the Alaskan interior. It's not warm enough for that, but it should come in handy enough in SE (I just already have other jackets for that purpose).

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey Justin! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. The Macro Puff was designed to be both warm and lightweight. If you're looking for something warmer, we'd recommend the [DAS Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-das-parka/85350.html?dwvar_85350_color=BLK), which also has synthetic insulation, or the Fitz Roy Down Hoody. We hope this helps!

March 15, 2021

Best coat ever

This is the ultimate winter coat, best warmth to weight ratio out there, and incredibly packable. Can be layered under a shell during wet weather, or used on its own. The only downside is the zipper can get snagged on the material at times. Needs a slightly wider margin. Otherwise best coat Ive ever owned.

March 13, 2021

Great Jacket

I love my nano puff jacket and it has been my overall favorite layer for snowboarding and hiking, but I wanted to try something with a little more warmth and comfort for those extra cold alpine hikes and snowboarding adventures. I went with the hood on the macro puff this time and am glad I did as it provides the additional heat retention you may n... Read Moreeed and fits over a helmet. The overall design is accommodating with the chest pocket as well the internal sleeves for gloves and the drawstrings really help to maximize body heat being held as well when you are not moving. I have gotten both jackets pretty wet and they do exactly as described, keep you warm even when soaked.

March 4, 2021

very warm and comfortable

The reason I sold my Micro Puff to buy the Macro-puff was the fact that the wrist cuffs are wider than the micro-puff jacket, which is too tight and expose the hands to cold if you don't wear gloves. But Patagonia still have size issues. It is very difficult to hit the right size when buying online. The micro-puff jacket I had is size Large, a... Read Morend worked fine (minus the tight wrist cuffs). The macro-puff I bought is a Medium and fits perfect. By the way, just returned a triolet jacket Large,(that was too big) for an exchange to a Medium. Highly recommend.

March 3, 2021

Doesnt fit

I love Patagonia. Sure its expensive but it lasts and its quality. I have been looking to update my go to winter jacket for a while and I thought this would do the trick. Wanted something warm with a hood. This looked like a winner. It fit me everywhere but my short arms. The arms were long on me and with little elastic there was nothing I could do... Read More about it. Tried the small and the arms fit but everything else was tight. I have other Patagonia gear and a medium fits me in everything but this jacket. Oops.

March 2, 2021

Good Puffy; could be GREAT with a small modification

This is a good piece of gear with some nice details (inside cargo pockets that will fit a water bottle and goggles and a nice set up for synching the hood.) Near perfect weight to warmth ratio for winter activities. Only one flaw- super tight fit in the shoulders (non-climbers might not notice this as much but it is a problem to this pieces functio... Read Morenality if worn while climbing.) One solution would be to size up and live with a baggy fit to get more room in the shoulders- but climbers also need a jacket to fit fairly snug at the waste. For this iteration, I will use it as a belay and bivy jacket. Still a good piece of gear and I'll be bringing mine to Alaska this year. Here's hoping that the next generation will be great!

March 2, 2021

Seriously toasty

What works- dependable warmth when cold out. Good fit and typical Patagonia quality make for a go to winter insulator. For the grab and go this jacket works for me- its justified as a warmer step up from the Micro Puff. What doesnt work? This is a serious product for warmth so I guess you could say that is a limiting factor depending upon the place... Read More and time and activity.

February 27, 2021

I like it

I snagged this on the winter sale and I am glad I did. I originally bought the microdown and found I was a little chilly; now I have a micro and a macro and the macro is V warm. I am stoked it is vegan and can take a little moisture, it also sheds rain well. It runs bigger in the fit vs the micro but that adds to the ability to layer; it feels like... Read More more of a technical piece of equipment over the micro.

February 26, 2021

Great Product

Even if it weights more, it is much more thicker and warmer compare to Mirco Puff. Also have a fits better than Micro Puff. Under cold weather, I can wear a T-shirt underneath it and still stay warm. Love the product.

February 26, 2021

Too big for a medium

I bought the medium thinking it would fit exactly like the 2 nano puff hoodies I have. But it is much bigger. So will probably return. Not sure if I will try the small.

February 25, 2021

Great coat

This is a great coat. I have two Nano puff coats without hoods that are perfect for what I wanted them for. I bought this coat because its longer and has a hood. There is a string pull on the back of the hood to adjust how the hood fits. I could not figure out how it worked and there was no information on the Patagonia web site. My grandson already... Read More had one of these and had figured out how the hood adjustment worked and explained it so now I am good.

February 25, 2021

Really warm. Really light.

It is hard to believe this jacket is as warm as it is being so light!

February 24, 2021

An Authentic Cold Weather Jacket

I ordered this jacket, owning a nano and micro puff already. The micro puff kept me warm, it just didnt have the length for prolonged exposure, to me. The depth of insulation is great, the external pocket is great. The external material is slick enough to deter puncture, and is also durable in and of itself. I researched and saw different version... Read Mores of this jacket, the initial offering had a separate stuff sack. With this version, one of the internal pockets was lined with a stretchy material that allowed for self stuffing. That is my only hiccup. I can appreciate the engineering behind being able to evolve from an external storage solution, to an internal one, and I appreciate it. Though, it seems that the measurement for the zip mechanics is off, when self stuffing. I find it hard to zip it closed easily. There is some tugging and hard stuffing, but in the end, I win. As a review, I would consider adding some material in some place that enables the self stuffing to be more easier. It wasnt such a hassle to return it, if it fail I will revert to worn wear for repair. In the future, I think that would be the only improvement, for me. This is a Great jacket. Thank you everyone!

February 21, 2021

Light, warm and comfortable.

Great light weight and warm. I usually wear size large but I got a medium because the Patagonia stuff seems to run a little bigger on me. Looking forward to testing it in the backcountry.

February 20, 2021

Love it

Light weight, warm, comfortable and on sale. Whats not to like.

January 26, 2021

Bad cuffs no belay zip

Ive ordered this jacket 3 times to try and figure out the sizing . The cuffs are so large they just hang off my hands . Someone at Patagonia explained that its on purpose , but it should say that in the description, in the photos the cuffs hug the models wrist , very deceiving . For a belay parka not to have a belay zipper is very weird . But since... Read More it had an adjustable hood , unlike the macro puff or nano puff that just falls over my eyes. I may take it in to get the cuffs fixed .

January 7, 2021

Comfortably warm when moving

I've been looking for a layer like this for cold hiking, snowshoeing and colder skiing. I have the Micro Puff and it's great for cool to colder days or around town. The Macro Puff jacket is not necessarily a warmer Micro Puff. So far I've found that the Macro Puff works best to keep you warm when you're moving. It is not a &qu... Read Moreot;belay" jacket (for me anyway); I can get chilled when idle in this jacket. However, it's fit is quite large as if intended as a "belay" layer over other layers. I've not had the opportunity yet, but I can foresee this jacket being best while snowshoeing or skiing in colder weather, with a base layer and fleece insulation layer underneath. I'll also take it on cold rainy days in Point Reyes National Seashore. It's a very cozy and comfortable jacket, the hood fits well. I just find the fit kind of confusing; not sure what the intent is. It might be that the warm air between the Macro and layers underneath deepen its effectiveness? As said, it is very warm when you're moving (and breathes well). My hunch is after using the jacket for some time my rating could increase to 5 stars.

January 6, 2021

Not warm enough

Nice garment. Well made. Super lightweight. Found after wearing on a 25-28 degree day that it wasnt warm enough for me. Will try one of the Patagonia down hoodies for our winter weather in Michigan.

December 28, 2020

Crazy warm and awesome, not perfect

After a few months with this jacket I am still surprised by how warm it is every time I put it on because the jacket is so insanely light. The fit is slightly large, but not baggy, which I think is perfect because it allows for layering underneath. It's a bit odd because the jacket isn't quite full-on parka warm, but the cut seems designe... Read Mored to throw on over all other layers. Hood is good and adjusts well and simply, but doesn't turn with my head very well. Brim, cuffs, collar, pockets, and most features are awesome. The internal shove pockets drive me insane and are really why this didn't get 5 stars. Whatever you put in the shove pockets ends up outside (away from your body) relative to the handwarmer pockets and they occupy the same space. This means if I take my gloves off in camp and put them in the internal pockets to keep them warm, my hands no longer fit in the handwarmer pockets. This is my primary use for shove pockets so it's annoying, but perhaps there is a benefit in a different situation. Overall still love this jacket. I've mostly been using it ski touring in WA and it works great for this purpose. The warmth for the weight is insane, the jacket withstands wet snow and weather well for a non-shell jacket, and the collar is one of the best I've found in that it comes up high when zipped but isn't in the way. I really look forward to using this on wet glacier climbs in spring and summer.

December 23, 2020

Extremely warm and lightweight

This jacket is outstanding. It keeps you very warm while at the same time being the lightest jacket I've ever owned. This is easily my top winter jacket. It also feels great with top quality stitching and pockets. I'm 6' 0", 165 lbs and a medium fit me nicely. It is a large fit so that you have room for layers underneath. Highly... Read More recommend!

December 22, 2020

Downgrade from Last Year

I purchased last years version of the Macro Puff and immediately fell in love, a year of hard hard use left me needing a new one. I purchased this years model and was disappointed. The cuff of the sleeves is huge, about double the size of my wrist which lets a ton of cold air in. The sleeves are also pretty dang long. And with a +4 ape index...that... Read Mores big. The zipper is way less burly than last years and is only one way. So no belaying in this one. The jacket is still warm, but feels way less lofty than previous macro puffs. The fit is pretty large as well, all my other jackets have been mediums but I just swim in this one. Downsize downsize downsize. Maybe I got a bad run with the sleeves.

December 15, 2020

Excellent warmth and fit. Durability...

Purchased this jacket for my 6'7" son for Boston winters while at university. He absolutely loves it. The jacket fits well, keeps him warm when temps drop too low for his NanoPuff, and he loves how lightweight and packable it is. The only weakness maybe durability, as the shell is very thin--he recently snagged it on something which produ... Read Morece a small tear. I hope that Patagonia might consider sacrificing a few ounces of weight for a little more durability in future iterations. Nevertheless, would absolutely buy again.

December 8, 2020

Great warm jacket

Wonderfully fitting winter jacket. Super lightweight but sheds out the winter chill. Can layer under it when temps drop to freezing or just pairs with shirts or a sweater on regular winter days. Highly recommend this puffer jacket.

December 4, 2020

My favorite go-to puffy

Love this jacket, especially for the Pacific NW. Not quite as lofty as I expected for the macro but definitely punches above its weight class in warmth. It actually feels less lofty than my down sweater hoody. Oversized fit is probably exactly what it's designed for but I sized down to medium to wear next to a base layer and it's perfect... Read More. A little snug in the hips but overall length, arm length, and chest are perfect and plenty long and roomy for me. A medium run similar to my large down sweater. For reference, I'm 6ft, 190lbs, with an athletic build. The hood is also fantastically designed with the extra elastic under the visor. Brilliant. Overall, this jacket rocks and perfect for cold, windy, and or drizzly days in the PNW.

December 1, 2020

No 2-way zip?

The previous original model is better, the two-way zip was clutch, great for sitting, nature calls, CC sidearm access etc. The Macro was originally a belay parka but maybe since theres now the new DAS & DAS light its seen now as more of a casual piece. Its now also a bit shorter, and the extra length to cover the (donkey) is a boon when its rea... Read Morelly cold to lock it all in with the pull cord. The original is still on sale for 1/2 off. Im sure the new model is overall great, but... The warmth is perfect, Im a 56 127 lb ectomorph runner, so not much natural lipid insulation and this has me comfy at 30°f standing around no exertion (0 MET) moderate wind w just a regular ol cotton Tee and 150 weight baselayer bottoms under jeans or any other pant. I dont go out into freezing cold w just a Tee under my coat, so if its that warm a cap air (the dream layer, its fragile but guaranteed so get it anyway) base is usually standard for me. If it got into the low twenties or teens Id add an R1 hoodie or even colder the R2 techface (another dream layer). I would go with the R2 tech before my Micro Puff under the Macro (that would be 155g Plumafill arms/ and damn near 200g body and hood) since while very warm, the pertex QG Fabric of the Micro isnt as breathable as the Macro shell fabric, but the R2 tech breathes like Ralph Smart. The hood is a thing of glory, period. If you got the non-hooded version thinking it wasnt worth the extra cash, or that it can be somehow cold enough to need a very warm coat but not a hood, you lied to yourself. The XS is perfect, and still fits under my XS Rainshadow like a glove. Its usual accomplice is the reversible Crankset vest or airshed (or both ) which are constant 4 season companions. Im only taking away one star for the unwise trade off of the belay zip and shorter length (and revised, slightly closer fit for a self-stuffing pocket. Pro tip: when standing around in the freezing cold trying light a joint while testing a plastic jacket always stand upwind.

December 1, 2020

Best Value for Winter Sports

The Macro is a better value, dollar for dollar, than other Patagonia synthetics. The 100+ g plumafil keeps you warmer than the Das Light while still packing respectably small, and better than the Das, into an interior pocket. Weird that there aren't many options, industry-wide, for a 100+ g synthetic with packability. For the current Patagonia... Read More line-up the Macro hits the skiing top layer and ice climbing belay jacket niche, albeit I replaced the zipper with a two-way (fix this, Patagonia). I'm 6'1, 195, and purposefully bought the XL to throw overtop other outer layers. A Large would be fine if seeking a more trim fit.

November 30, 2020

Great Jacket Except for Cuff Opening Size

I have owned may Patagonia jackets over several decades working as a field biologist, outdoor educator, and ski patroller. I always buys size Large. I LOVE patagonia! The sleeves on the Macro Puff Hoody I received hang down over my hands, unlike all my other jackets which are snug at the wrist. (I wear size XL gloves.) As always, Patgonia Customer ... Read MoreService has been stellar and provided a return. I really like this jacket, except for the cuff issue. I wonder if anyone else has had a smilar experience with this detail?

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

We're so happy to hear that you've already been taken care of, though we are sad to hear that the sleeves on our Macro Puff were a bit funky for you. Check out our [Men's DAS Light Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-das-light-hoody/85300.html?dwvar_85300_color=ANDB&cgid=root) and feel free to reach out anytime for garment measurements!

November 29, 2020

Warm trunk, thin insulation in the arms.

Generally a great piece! My only beefs are that the insulation is a little thin in the arms, and that due to the length, the zipper tends to work its way up at the bottom...

November 15, 2020

Good coat, bad fit

Was looking for a synthetic fill, warm enough for casual every day use. The coat itself fit the bill but the sleeves were much too long for me. Ive had many different Patagonia coats. This is the first to not fit because of the sleeves. Good coat, just not right for me.

November 4, 2020

Feather weight warmth

This jacket is deceptively warm for it's weight - although i haven't been in REALLY cold weather, it blocks wind well and i was very cozy in a very brisk and blustery day. The fit is good - it's a bit longer in the body than the previous jacket I had that this one replaced - really happy with it.

November 2, 2020

Quite warm

Love the coat. Kind of large but it might just be me. I seem to be squarely between Patagonia's L and XL.

August 21, 2020

Even For Casual Wear, This Works

I planned ahead for the winter season with this purchase (thanks to a really great discount), and I'm not disappointed. I'm not using this for anything technical, but even as a casual jacket it works quite well. Take it account the size of the hood, considering it was made to compliment rock-climbing and mountaineering. But overall, it&... Read More#x27;s warm, light, and easy to pack away when not used. Definitely recommend.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches