Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Vest

Write Your Review

4.24 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Vest

4.24
True To Size
June 25, 2020

Vest is perfect!

True to size, comfortable and overall just perfect.

June 21, 2020

Light, warm and functional

Really love this vest. Its light, warm and super comfortable. Perfect for any adventure or lounging when its cooler out.

June 17, 2020

Light, warm and functional

Really love this vest. Its light, warm and super comfortable. Perfect for any adventure or lounging when its cooler out.

March 6, 2020

Super odd fit. Not all as expected

Not sure what happened with design of this vest. Its just wrong. I am 6 feet 3 inches tall and 230 lbs I wear an xl nano-puff vest almost every day. To work. Skiing. Touring. Hiking. Nano puff for is simply sublime and perfect. So I was excited to receive my xl micro puff vest, and I excitedly ripped open the package and put it on. I knew i... Read Moremmediately something was wrong. The arm holes are way too small. The neck is too tight to zip. Especially when over a couple of layers. The neck is too high. It rubs my face and ears weirdly. And the belly puffs out like Im pregnant. What? Yes it does. From a usage perspective, I spend most weekends in back country in winter with 3 mile uphill skin to summit and I wouldnt even consider wearing this vest as its just annoyingly weirdly sized.

January 1, 2020

Micro Puff Vest

Does not seem to be as warm as I thought it would be.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2020

Hi Peter, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the warmth of the vest. Overall, the Micro Puff Vest isn't the warmest option we offer and your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). If you're interested in a warmer option we'd suggest taking a look at the [Men's Down Sweater Vest](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-down-sweater-vest/84622.html?dwvar_84622_color=TATE&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=mens%2Bdown%2Bsweater%2Bvest&lang=en_US&start=1).

December 31, 2019

Love it!!

As expected I love it. It’s very light weight yet maintains my body heat. Packs easily into my backpack. Convenient to take it on the trails or to the mall. Keep it up!

December 19, 2019

The collar pops up

Love the Micro puff Vest in terms of weight and fit, but the collar doesn't sit down like in your other vests.... it pops up and is a bit annoying.

December 18, 2019

First thumb down for Patagonia designers

I wore it once and was enough. The collar is very high and straight, robbing the collar sides on your face (very annoying at the end of the day). Definitely it is a design mistake. I will return it as soon as I have a chance. I have a nano puff jacket which I love, I will exchange this vest for a nano puff vest.

December 17, 2019

Perfect vest

I purchased this vest for my dad. He is 6’2” and a larger, farmer type frame. XL is plenty roomy, almost too big but he can wear a sweater under it comfortably. Nice and long too. Love it!

December 16, 2019

Very light but warm

I was shocked when I opened the package upon arrival. The vest weighs next to nothing and I was quite skeptical it had any insulating value. However, I am impressed how warm it is.

December 15, 2019

Great product that is warm,

Great product that is warm, comfortable, and stylish.

December 14, 2019

Patagonia is life!

Great option. Light weight but warm. Very easy to pack and it takes no space. Fit is a bit slim but not uncomfortable.

December 13, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

December 13, 2019

Puff Vest Gift

Look no further! This product is 100% quality. Classy, warm and reasonably priced.

December 11, 2019

A great lightweight functional vest

Patagonia micro puff vest has been my everyday go-to vest since I got it in the mail. Some reviews mentioned an issue of the tall collar, here is what I do: Fold the collar inside which means there is no collar when you put the vest on. Flip the collar over when you feel cold.

December 6, 2019

Micro Puff the Magic Dragon!

Love the MIcro Puff vest. It's light, blocks the wind, has huge pockets, and is very warm.

December 5, 2019

Excellent overall. My only complaint

Excellent overall. My only complaint is that the collar turns upward when normally zipped and doesn't lie flat like it should

December 3, 2019

Classic MicroPuff Performance

Warmth to weight performance is unrivaled. Fits on the trim side which is good for wearing under shells etc. Zipper could use some improvement when fully zipped up, it is not the most comfortable on the chin/neck, otherwise a great piece of gear to have in the arsenal.

December 1, 2019

Great vest

It's incredibly light, the neck is a bit tight if you zipper it all the way. I don't mind the cut, unlike some other reviewers. It does have small arm holes, but if you take that sizing into account you might be able to avoid some trouble. Great for layering and packs up small.

November 23, 2019

Typically Patagonia

The excellent quality and features I expect from Patagonia. The only change I would like to see is a shorter length; since it is a vest I would prefer it end just below my waist. I exchanged a L for an XL so I would have sufficient room for a base layer and winter-weight shirt.

November 22, 2019

Ms Micro Puff Vest

Warmth to weight is excellent. The color is brighter than I expected but I love it! Good fit. Great insulating vest.

November 22, 2019

Excellent vest for everyday us

Excellent vest for everyday us on cold weather. Fit perfectly and looks great 👍🏼

November 14, 2019

A must have

Great warmth without the weight.

November 12, 2019

Love it!

Been wearing this nearly every day through the fall since I purchased. Works great on cool fall days or as an extra layer when it gets a little colder.

November 11, 2019

Small Arm Openings

I really wanted to like this vest and I'm sure it's as brilliant as all of the descriptions made it out to be if it fits you. For me the one giant shortcoming is that the arm openings were way too small. This appears to be by design since I first tried the medium which provided the insulating layer snugness that I was looking for, but was... Read More squeezing my arm socket all around. I moved up to a large which fluffed out a bit in front but still felt like a guaranteed rash during any outdoor activity.. I sadly returned them both and am still looking for the perfect vest. Note that I do not have exceptionally large arms, and I was unwilling to wait to see if it broke in a bit and loosened up that fit.

November 10, 2019

Looks great, feels great, toasty warm

I hardly know I’m wearing this item. I’ve even taken to wearing it at work. Amazingly warm without any bulk. My only complaint and the reason I did not give 5 stars, is that the arm holes are a little snug. I get used to it after a while of wearing, but it definitely is uncontrollable in the armpits at first.

November 10, 2019

Fits well and keeps warm!

This vest looks great for casual use, but also keeps me warm enough be use when I'm doing any activity outside. It's been a lifesaver for the late fall / early winter weather. Does very well in repelling the rainy weather too.

November 8, 2019

Magical Clothing

I own a Nano Puff jacket and it has been one of the best, warmest, most versatile pieces of clothing I’ve ever owned. I got this vest to reduce bulk a little bit more, and to be honest, despite looking so thin, I sometimes get too hot in the jacket. The Micro Puff wasn’t around when I got the jacket, but it too is incredible. Warm and perfectly fit... Read Moreting, so compact- I can’t say enough good things about this vest. HIGHLY recommend.

November 7, 2019

Perfect Vest

Super comfortable. Lightweight but very warm & easy to pack. Use as a mid layer for extra core warmth. Durable & non-restrictive fit. Dont waste time, make the purchase!

November 7, 2019

Love this vest!

Love this vest!

November 6, 2019

Warm and LIGHT

Have I mentioned LIGHT!!!!!

November 6, 2019

Perfect vest/mid layer for fall/spring

Perfect vest/mid layer for fall/spring skiing.

November 6, 2019

Everyday attire

Ordered this best on a whim, it's super warm, lightweight and fits any attire. I wear it to the Capitol building and on farms in the same day and nobody bats an eye. The only thing I don't like is how tall the collar is.

November 5, 2019

Why is it so long

Yes it is warm, but why is it so long?

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Hey Michael, thanks for your review! If you find that this vest is too long, we'd recommend the Nano Puff Vest as it is shorter by 1.25". Click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to start your return.

November 5, 2019

Great vest

Really nice lightweight vest but warm.

November 5, 2019

Solid piece

Great vest. Very lightweight which makes for a good layering piece. For as light as it is, it’s very warm.

November 4, 2019

Warm and comfortable, no complaints.

Warm and comfortable, no complaints. Maybe fits a bit large but not significantly so. I'm 6' even and right at 200lbs and have a large

November 3, 2019

Perfect-Warm, Lightweight, and Compressible

Fantastic Vest! Very Lightweight for the amount of warmth it provides! Haven’t actually gotten the chance to use it in very cold weather, but I am predicting it’s going to work well. Packs down very small, into its own pocket, but can get even smaller! Fits well over a light base layer and nice under an outer layer. I am 6’ 1” and 205 lbs, bought a... Read Moren XL and it isn’t too tight but not bulky either. Elastic in the armpit/ shoulder area is nice, doesn’t seem too restrictive but seals that area well. My only complaint, if I had to have one, is it is a little long. When wearing under an outer layer it is just as long or even longer than some outer layers so it can stick out the bottom. Wish it was an inch or so shorter, but that could just be how it fits me. Not a big complaint, I love this vest!

November 2, 2019

Great little vest for layering

Great little vest for layering in colder months

November 2, 2019

Not a good design

I have had 3 Patagucci fleece vests and many others clothing items, but the Micro Puff didn’t fit right, the collate was cut way too far forward and wasn’t comfortable when closed. Had to return.

November 1, 2019

Micro Puff Vest - Too Tight

Seems like a nice vest but too tight at the shoulders/arms, I bought the Micro Puff hoody in large with no issues. Recommend to size up for the vest if you have broad shoulders.

October 31, 2019

Good layer

Good additional light weight layer to throw on. Definitely like the fact that its so light and that I can put it on without feeling extra bulky.

October 30, 2019

Epic Vest

Comfortably warm in various conditions. Fits a little larger than expected. Packs down easily in pocket and have great storage for a minimal insulation piece.

October 29, 2019

Warm and soft

The micro puff vest is fantastic. It’s super light and warm. You feel the warmth as soon as you put it on. The elastic shouldWe cuffs fit snug to keep you warm. The collar height is little taller than the nano puff but no problem there. I ordered the Balkan blue. Wore It about five times so far and inside of the collar seemed to have darkened it lo... Read Moret consistently throughout. Perhaps because it is a light color Vest plus exposure to my skin so maybe black would have been better. Choice. Other than that complaint, it’s an incredible vest I would recommend.

October 24, 2019

Micro puff vest

Excellent product, minimalistic perfect for layering

October 14, 2019

Most Excellent Vest!

This is the vest I can put on under or over anything--best of all on a rainy day, and I don't have to worry about it losing insulation. Warm and comfy, the way a good vest should be!

October 9, 2019

Perfect

So much warmth but almost feels like there’s nothing there! Plus stays warm if it gets wet - better than down!

October 3, 2019

No surprise this is another

No surprise this is another nice high quality product from Patagonia. It fits me great but is probably a little bigger then one might expect from a medium. Very lightweight. Not as warm as the down sweater weight.

September 25, 2019

Such a Shame

Feels great and so lightweight but it's unwearable. The neck zipper is way too high, arm pits are too tight, sizing is off, I'd wish they'd fix this and I'd buy a bunch of them. Staying easily with the nano puff vests. If they would just fix the zipper length at the neck it'd make a huge impact. Same with the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
October 2, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the fit of the vest didn't work out. We are aware of the neck issue and have worked with our factories to improve the fit for our fall 19 season. For the vest, in particular, we did use pre-charged elastic for the hem and armholes to lock in heat instantly. Because of this, it can result in a tighter than usual fit. With all that being said we always want you to be happy with your gear so please feel free to return it to a local Patagonia store or [send it in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out privately to offer further assistance.

August 16, 2019

Strange fit

This product does not fit correctly. When zipped, it is very uncomfortable in the neck and arms. Strangely binding for a vest and when I tried a larger size, the body did not fit correctly. I switched to the nano puff and was much happier.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2019

We're glad to hear that you found what you were looking for in the Nano Puff! Although the Micro Puff fit meets our standard fit dimensions, its unfamiliar pattern lines can sometimes drape, unlike other similar products. Nonetheless, we apologize about the odd fit you experienced in the neck and arms with this, and thank you for your feedback.

August 12, 2019

Micro Puff

Lightweight comfortable and get for many applications

April 10, 2019

Not the Patagonia fit I'm used to

Piece is lightweight and packable as advertised - and provides plenty of warmth layered or standalone. I also think it looks great aesthetically. The overarching problem is the fit. Arm holes are too tight and collar is too tight / high when fully zipped, which is annoying under your chin. Other problem is in the body: when zipped, it bellows ou... Read Moret to create a camel hump, which I constantly find myself tugging at. The zipper needs to sit flat against the torso. For the price, and all of the marketing behind this collection, it's kind of a major fail to see the fit come out the way it did. Lastly - to others' point - the Nano Puff vest fits so much better and truer to 'Patagonia' by comparison. It seems they should just borrow the pattern / measurements from the Nano in the next (and hopefully soon) iteration of this franchise.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2019

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We fit this men’s product straight through the torso and hip, but when it rides up, the minimalist elasticized waist fit snug on the hip (designed this way to trap heat) can make the belly area bulge out. We agree that the [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-vest/84242.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84242_color=HAGO) is a better option if you're looking for a heavier/stiffer fabric, adjustable waist, and slightly wider hip dimension, which all help keep it from riding up.

February 28, 2019

More Than I Expected

I read all the catalogue information about Micro Puff and thought it would be a good choice for biking, skiing and other outdoor activity. The first thing I noticed when receiving the vest is that it was way lighter than I imagined. You will barely notice you are holding the thing in your hand. Some reviews thought it wasn't warm enough. All I... Read More know is that I find it as warm as needed for XC skiing in single digits. I've worn it as a mid layer and an outer layer all winter long and never felt cold. Yesterday I skied 90 minutes in temps that were just below freezing, wearing a lycra top and the vest over it. The wind was blowing at a consistent 20mph. The steady snow was wet as could be imagined. I didn't have any idea the vest was wet until I got indoors and took it off. The outside repelled water, and dried quickly after hanging in the living room. Best part was I never had any sense of being cold. Overall, the Micro Puff Vest far exceeds my expectations. It expect it to be an excellent cold weather biking vest. The only comment I might make is the size is a little large. That is because it doesn't have a narrow cut pattern. Not a big deal. It allows for easier layering.

February 7, 2019

Sizing off

Very snug in arm holes due to elastic, cut too wide in the waist, quite long in the torso. Completely different fit from Nano Puff vest, much less trim in the body. Ordered a large as usual, now trying a medium due to how large the body is. Generally seems inconsistent with Patagonia fit and sizing. Yes it is light weight.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2019

We appreciate your feedback regarding the fit. As this vest was designed with a minimalist intent, we used a pre-charged elastic at the hem and cuff to lock in heat instantly. This minimizes the weight, complexity, and vulnerability of breakable parts, which at the same time can result in armholes squeezing tighter than usual. Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if the large doesn't work out either so we can send you a free return label to send that back (US only).

December 27, 2018

Tight around arms, makes your shirt look like a Pirate shirt

I really wanted to love this super light vest but in the end had to return it. Unlike other size M garments that I own from Patagonia, this one was created with an unusual cinched in arm holes. Not kidding, it makes your shirt look like a Pirate shirt. Unless you are wearing this with a compression long sleeve shirt under it, you may want to try a ... Read Moresize up.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the way the arm holes fit. Keeping a minimal design in mind, we used a pre-charged elasticized hem and cuff/armhole constructions. As compared to typical adjustable parts, this actually minimizes the weight, complexity and vulnerability of breakable parts. This can result in the armholes being tighter than usual. We understand that this can be an issue to some, and invite you to take a look at our [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-vest/84242.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84242_color=HAGO) instead. Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions about your return!

December 18, 2018

Too small

I am 5’ 10” and a medium build but my lats make this jacket so tight in the armpit- like sealed tight and it rides up on my back. I am currently returning and waiting on a large (not sure how the waist will fit.) like the other reviewer, the neck tight was super tight. I don’t know what kind of men wear this vest but I’m a Marine and my muscles are... Read More slightly more developed than the normal hipster oxygen-sucker. So... I’ll see if the large pans out.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2019

We're sorry this ended up being too small for you. We've worked with our factory to fix the extremely tight fit of the neck, and should see this improvement on our Fall 2019 products. Additionally, the unfamiliar pattern lines of this vest can sometimes fit or drape unlike other similar fit products, which is why it may fit oddly to some. We completely understand if you choose to return it, and will be [happy to help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you need any assistance with that. Please feel free to take a look at our [Nano Puff](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-vest/84242.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_84242_color=HAGO), which has an adjustable waist and loose fitting armholes.

October 31, 2018

the best of both worlds

Living in Arizona this vest offers the best of both worlds with its is perfect for "everything & and anything", fits great, extremely durrable, lite, looks great, and the Plumafill has the perfect balance of warmth and wind blocker and water repelant (for those rare moments when it rains in the desert) for all my adventures in the cit... Read Morey or the mountains. Im 6'2 and have 32" waist so i wear a Medium and it fits perfect!

March 26, 2018

Very Disappointed

Bought 2 to try XL and XXL. One for layer,one for outdoor shell on nicer days. Not sure what Patagonia is thinking here. The fit is awful,no draw string at bottom,its baggy,the collar stands straight and digs into cheeks,there is zero fit or shape to this,and it looks like a garbage bag. The technology maybe great with the fill,but to put this in s... Read Moreuch a train wreck of a exterior product is really a shame. If the fill is so great,put it in the nano puff and call it good. I was hoping for a modern tech update to the nano puff but this is a disaster.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2019

Thank you very much for your detailed review and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit. The way the neck fits very tightly relative to the body fit is a discrepancy on our part and is something we've worked with our factory to fix. This should be improved in our Fall 2019 products. Although the fit (collar aside) meets our standard fit dimensions, its unfamiliar pattern lines can sometimes fit or drape unlike other similar fit products, which is why you may find it to fit oddly. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your vests if you haven't yet and remain unsatisfied with the fit.

February 8, 2018

It delivered on the claims

I hike ... a lot. I use only 850-900 down insulated gear for the warmth weight ratio (not Patagonia.) I use other Patagonia products (shirts,jackets and shorts) simply because they work. I did not believe there would ever be a synthetic fill that I would find acceptable. I have been testing this vest recently in Chicago with wind chills around 15-2... Read More0 degrees. I know these are not the conditions this product is meant to be used in but when I test any new gear,I push it past its intended use. My arms were freezing with only an expedition weight shirt,but,to my complete surprise,my body remained noticeably warm. I find the arm pits a bit tight but the tightness helps seal the wind out. Personally,I feel Patagonia hit this product out of the park. I will be purchasing a micro puff jacket shortly.

February 5, 2018

Very Disappointing

I've been wearing Patagonia clothing since my first pair of Stand Up shorts in the early seventies. I've never been disappointed before - so this is a difficult review to write. I was intrigued by the possibility having the weight and compressibility of down but with warmth when wet. While this vest may be OK in that respect,I think Patag... Read Moreonia may have released the product too early. The insulation is poorly distributed with large areas that are,as my wife opined,paper thin. There's basically nothing there but two layers of thin fabric. Other areas are acceptable,but I doubt I'll ever wear this outdoors. The fit is basically what I expect with the exception that the neck is waaaay too tight. I can't zip it up all the way and nobody would ever accuse me of having a thick neck.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Men's Micro Puff vest, Gary! We’re sorry that the neck fit on the vest is a bit too tight relative to the body. This is not as it was designed to fit, and is something we’ve worked with our factory to fix. We should see this improvement in new products arriving this Fall 2019. If you’re unsatisfied with the neck fit, a Nano Puff Vest may offer a better silhouette. The Micro Puff line is also our lightest and most packable product compared to its warmth vs weight ratio. The Nano Puff won't be as light but it will offer you more weight so it doesn't feel as thin.

January 25, 2018

Incredible lightweight + super warm

I was really intrigued by the weight to warmth ratio of this vest. I own an Ultrlight vest (2016 model),down sweater vest (2017 model) and a nano puff vest and jacket - and this blows them away.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches