Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Ascensionist Alpine Jacket

Write Your Review

5.0/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 14 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Ascensionist Alpine Jacket

5.0/5
True To Size
August 9, 2021

Tough (ish) and truly WP

This was an upgrade via gift from my rainshadow and wow, unreal. Next level. This is great for throwing on when it starts pouring and Im on my dual sport; its also fantastic for skiing (given that I have a bib and dont need the powder skirt). Hope it holds up for a decade otherwise Id be heartbroken.

July 13, 2021

Perfect go-to jacket

Multi-use waterproof jacket. Lightweight, nice fit. Patagonia continues to win the jacket wars!

July 5, 2021

True Year-Round Piece

As far as gore-tex goes, it's surprisingly breathable even without the vents. Using the zipper for the vents isn't as fluid as one would expect, although I imagine there is a reason. In general, great jacket though and I have no doubt this piece will last me years from slopes to streets.

May 26, 2021

Amazing Shell!

I've had a chance to use this jacket in some heavy downpours since I bought it and it works beautifully! My upper body stayed completely dry. Unfortunately, in a couple of the downpours, I was wearing regular khakis or shorts that were not water repellent/water resistant....so that was my fault for having wet bottoms. The Gore-Tex Active is de... Read Morefinitely less "crinkly" than regular Gore-Tex and the C-knit backer is very comfortable against the skin. So far I've been wearing just a T-shirt under the jacket because the weather has been warm where I live and there is no clammy feeling. There is room for layering when I eventually use it in colder weather. I experimented with layers and can comfortably wear my Nano Puff with a base layer under this shell with no restriction of movement. The body is cut a little longer than the 3L Torrentshell, but I appreciate the extra length- especially in a downpour. My favorite features are the 3L Gore-Tex Active construction, the light weight and breathability- partly due to the pit zips and also the hood's adjutability. The chest pocket is nice, but the zipper opening is a bit small. I managed to get my large smartphone in there by angling it just right. The interior stretch pocket will be useful to hold gloves or a beanie. Though the jacket doesn't pack into itself, it does roll up nicely into its hood and since it's SO light, it hardly takes up space in my backpack and I don't notice it's weight at all. I got mine on sale so that was awesome. Also want to give a BIG shout out to Patagonia's AMAZING customer service as always! They are very responsive, friendly, and knowledgeable which is one of the multiple reasons I continue to buy their products. Keep cranking out the awesome clothes and gear!

May 8, 2021

Light Weight and versatile

I was looking to replace an Arcteryx shell that ripped after 8 years or so. Old shell was Paclight. The Gore Active on this coat is the right weight for what I wanted and is very breathable. Medium was correct size for me at 60, 180lbs. Overall I like the cut, but shoulder room is a little tight. Pockets are well placed and useful. Fabric a little ... Read Morecrinkly but comfortable.

April 29, 2021

best technical/performance rain shell

6'1", 175. Super light and super dry. Easy to toss this in the backpack and forget its even there. Same when I am wearing it. Comfortable for any kind of alpine pursuit. I use this jacket all year long and don't get that sticky, clammy feel because of the backing fabric on the goretex. The material stains more easily than other shell... Read Mores that I have but that is not a deal breaker. This jacket is made for the most fun places you can find, not for walking around downtown. love it

April 15, 2021

Great Piece!

Super light, kinda crunchy sounding, completely waterproof, but the sleeves are a wee bit short. When I stretch fully during ski tours the sleeves reach their max and a pinch of wrist gets exposed. Being a long armed tall guy without bulk, I still decided on the large so I would not have the extra fabric on the rest of the coat. Great coat so far a... Read Morend we shall see if it meets the durability expectations over years of touring.

March 8, 2021

Great shell that regulates well!

Finally! I found my perfect shell that doesnt overheat and make me lose 5# of water weight after an hour of wearing it! Third time was a charm! :) This is a great jacket, very lightweight, lives up to all its claims (waterproof, windproof and breathable). I use it as a shell; my nano air and R1/R2s fit snuggly underneath. My only recommendation is... Read More to please add a second breast pocket.

February 10, 2021

Love this jacket

So far I love everything about this jacket. It is crazy light weight but also very warm with appropriate layering. Love the huge inside mesh pockets. And the one pull hood system is so easy. Thanks

January 30, 2021

Great jacket

I was deciding between this and the Powslayer jacket. This jacket is almost like you have gained the superpower of waterproofness, no strings attached. Its like wearing nothing, and is both wind and waterproof to a shower. Can't attest much to the durability, when I feel the ascensionist fabric it seems like it gives a little bit, not in a str... Read Moreetchy way (Like it is yielding). But I did a backcountry run and some cross country skiing and it is so packable that I am regretting sending it back. I went with the Powslayer only because when I wore it I felt indestructible, at the sacrifice of some breathability, packability, and cost. Keep it up, Patagonia.

January 2, 2021

Light and durable

Great jacket for climbing and backcountry skiing the PNW cascades. I can wear it with a mid-layer easily or a base layer and open the pits. This was exactly the jacket I was looking for.

December 29, 2020

I found the perfect shell

I love in Oregon and flyfish, snowboard, and hike, and need a year round shell for everything. Patagonia nailed it with the Ascentionist - light, breathable, waterproof, well-pocketed. Im 510 and 175, the Large is great for me and can fit over down puffy. In the summer with a t-shirt was a little baggy but its so light and sinchable not that big of... Read More an issue to throw in on in a downpour. Highly recommended.

September 24, 2020

My favorite things

My most loved hardshell ever! I teach avalanche safety courses early to mid-winter in the Colorado Front Range. It's a dry, cold and windy zone most of the season. I'm usually in the damp and foggy Alps starting in Spring. This jacket has worked well in both extremes. It breathes well enough that I can keep it on uphill on days when the t... Read Moreemperature is in the low twenties (F) or below. This jacket has replaced a bunch of soft shells that I used for different days. The jacket packs down small when it's not is use and the weight is unnoticeable in my pack. The jacket barely shows wear after a year of use (mostly snow but some alpine rock too). I'm 5'10" and 160 lbs and the medium has enough space for a base layer t-shirt and Nano-Air Hybrid Hoody to fit easily. When it's real nasty I can even get my Micro Puff Hoody inside too. Colder than that and I'm looking for my parka (which I throw over the Ascensionist). The cohesive cord locks work smoothly even with heavy gloves. The hand warmer pockets are just high enough to stay above my pack waist. I only have one request for Patagonia....never stop making this jacket. I'll be ready for a new one in a few years!

November 17, 2019

Sub 1 lb rock star!

The Amphitheater Trail, ice and melt water dancing off the trees in chunks and rivulets. The Flat Irons above Boulder, CO are laced with magnificent trails and world class climbing, the perfect venue for the sub 1 pound, Gore-Tex, ascensionist jacket. Temperatures barely above freezing had the iced up trees raining on me the entire hike. A cap four... Read More hoodie and the ascensionist kept me dry and comfortable. I’m 225, 6’2” and the XL fits perfect. Super impressed with sweat management inside and the bomber water proofing out. The pit zips are a bit small but on a 13 ounce jacket they’re an acceptable compromise. And, It stows down small in the pack!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches