Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Prairie Dawn 3-in-1 Barn Coat

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 8 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Prairie Dawn 3-in-1 Barn Coat

4.6/5
May 12, 2021

Quality Made

I first purchased a size Medium assuming I would need it for the length, but I ended up exchanging it for the Small because the vest by itself was too large for my frame and the whole set seemed baggy together. The small fits great, I can even wear a layer underneath the set.

April 6, 2021

A little bit heavy (weight )

A little heavy material

April 5, 2021

I wanted to love this jacket!

The color was lovely, the style was perfect, but unfortunately the fit was tight in the shoulders in a small, but the medium was still snug in the shoulders but huge in the hips. Id say it runs small, but just in the shoulders/under the arms.

April 2, 2021

Comfortable & Versatile

Great overall jacket. Love the removable vest. The earth green color and the vests floral lining compliment each other. Comfortable fit.

February 2, 2021

Put to the test, and passed

I use this coat for farm work and have really given it a beating over the last five months and it's been great. Lots of opportunities for it to tear on loose wire, lose snaps or trim, stain, etc, but it looks brand new after I give it a rare washing. One of the first things I noticed was that the canvas is really not waterproof so I spent an e... Read Morevening going over it with a waterproofing wax (I had a bar of Fjallraven's Greenland wax, but I hear Otter is great, too), and while I don't think it would save me in a downpour, the coat is good enough now for any reasonable weather. I've kept the vest zipped in for most of the time that I've had it, but anticipate taking it out for spring and just layering a fleece or flannel under it until summer - one of the nicest things about it is that it's just one layer of relatively lightweight canvas, making it great for layering according to your own temp needs. Anyway, highly recommend! I hope Patagonia keeps a line of highly functional and sustainable workwear - it's great!

January 1, 2021

Extremely Accommodating

I love this Barn Jacket and I use it for, well, the barn. A desert dweller, I am up in winter dark, and cold mornings, so buy warm clothes large enough to fit a whole set of slightly less warm clothes inside. I am pleased with the green color, and enjoy the flowered vest. There could happily be more thoughtful engineering on the connection between... Read More the top of the vest and the top of the jacket lining. For me, it needs to be a slip on and run arrangement. I wear an extremely thin wind jacket inside, so as not to have to fight my way down the sleeves, but neither suggestion would stop me from buying this warm, tough useful and comfortable favorite.

December 18, 2020

Great

I have the very similar Prairie Dusk jacket from a couple years ago and knew I wanted this heavier weight one as soon as I saw it. Fit: I'm a size small in most brands, a size small in Patagonia jackets, and a medium in the better sweater. I bought this in a small, and it's a good, fitted look. I'll only be able to wear thin layers... Read More underneath with the vest inside. If you want to wear thicker layers underneath, I'd suggest sizing up. It does look a little bit bulky with the vest inside the jacket, but not terrible, and I won't mind the look when it's cold enough to wear it with the vest. Color: I had a hard time choosing what color to get. I have the dark camel-orangey brown in the Prairie Dusk jacket and wish this style came in the same. I tried Nest Brown, and it's much lighter in person. It looks a little too much like a work jacket on me. I can't pull off that look, so I went with the Basin Green. The green is a shade or two darker than the online photos. I'm a little disappointed it's not a touch lighter, but I'll keep it. It reminds me of that iconic British field jacket. Complaints about the vest: It has no fastening to the top of the jacket, meaning it's always trying to escape and separate from the main jacket when you're putting it on. It's actually very hard to get my second arm into the jacket armhole because the vest insists on flopping around. I do not look forward to taking this on and off in public. I also don't like the floral print on the interior of the vest. I only like neutral colors and would prefer it to be a plain color as well. But I'm glad the sherpa hood that was in other prairie jackets is gone. I prefer collared jackets to hooded and don't like sherpa interiors. Price: I got a great deal on sale, but I think it's quite overpriced at its full price, even for Patagonia.

November 12, 2020

Love this coat

Its a fun color, toasty for fall and for spring. Very versatile also with different options.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches